Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Libertay 1 review from this member

 This site was exactly as good as all the other reviews said. The facilities were brilliant, the views were brilliant the owners were brill and always there to help.

The site was clean as were the facilities they even recycle, and all for under seven pounds each a night you just cant go wrong.

The walk into robin hoods bay takes about five minutes and whitby takes two hours on either the cliff walk or the old railway walk, I recommend the bus to whitby and walk back on the cliff walk.

We had the best week I think is possible and I would recommend this site to any one and everyone. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsX 10 reviews from this member

 Can only confirm what other reviewers have said.

The welcome we received was very friendly, the farmer gave us a little tour of the facilities.

The view from the camping field is absolutely stunning and can't be faulted.

Field is on quite a slope, but that didn't bother us, slightly breezy - take your windbreak!

All facilities were clean and tidy. Shower blocks, toilets and pot washing area all immaculate.

Pub 10 minute walk (take your torch for the way back) Robin Hoods Bay is bliss, a beautiful, quaint seaside village.

Can't wait to stay again! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BearishBeef 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two day visit to Hooks House Farm. What a site! The view is stunning whichever way you look, I can only praise this venue even if it is a little windy.

The owners are friendly on this beautiful working sheep farm. The toilets and shower blocks were immaculate and so was the camping field even though they had previously been full for the Easter holidays.

The site also offers the use of 2 freezers 1 fridge, microwave and kettle free of charge which meant I saved quite a bit of gas (massive tea drinker!).

There is also a Disabled toilet for those who require.

I will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plossl 7 reviews from this member

 I must say that it lived up to all expectations The owners were always pleasant and could not do enough for everybody every caravan that came was asked if they wanted to be levelled and boy was he quick at it

The facilities were always spotless and there was never a queue but I stayed just after the Easter break

Locally there is always a lot to do as you have Whitby Scarborough and the North York Moors all within easy reach by bus or car Robin Hood's Bay is a 20 min walk but be warned the walk back up 'that' hill is not easy

I found the Grosvenor to be good value for money if your eating out it's right opposite the main car park 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz+Jamie 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in a beautiful location. The views over Robin Hoods Bay are stunning, for such wonderful views you have to bear the sloped landscape, which is steeper in some places than others. The site is also fairly open so make sure you take a windbreaker.

The facilities are brilliant, spotless and plentiful. There is also a fridge, freezer and kettle to use.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. The site is also great value for money.

The area is great for walking and there are many places to visit, including Whitby, Scarborough, Goathland etc.

It is only a short walk into Robin Hoods Bay, where there are places to eat, drink and buy essentials. We ate at 2 pubs, The Bay Hotel and The Dolphin, out of the 2 we would recommend The Dolphin as the food was lovely, the real ales were great and the atmosphere was good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sebasteeno 6 reviews from this member

 Having just spent two nights camping at Hooks House Farm over the easter period with my wife and three children (all under six) I thought I'd share my thoughts.

We had a bit of a nightmare finding a site that wasn't waterlogged as it had just been raining before our visit and sort of stumbled across this place but what a find! Superb views, quiet, great location for walking down to Robin Hoods bay and visiting Whitby and the Moors / Goathland etc, cheap at 7 per adult & 3 per child aged 3 and over

Clean & modern toilets & showers and very dry despite the bad weather and the owner was very friendly too.

Only downside is the site is quite open and offers very little protection from the wind ( make sure you have a wind break)

On the whole though we would highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Hook House Farm. This must be one of the best sites we have every been to. The views are to die for.

The toilets and showers are spotless. There are individual washrooms if you want privacy.

The owners and there sons cannot do enough for you.This was our second visit to this site and the owners have set us up both times.

When we were leaving the owners son even towed our caravan over the hill to a lay-by because he was worried about our cars towing ability.

The site looks down into Robin Hoods Bay and it is shear heaven. You never tire of this site, its views and watching the sun rise over the Bay.

The site is handily placed for Scarborough, Whitby, Bridlington, Flamborough, Staithes & Heartbeat Country is just up the road.

If you like walking there are lovely walks from Robin Hoods Bay to Whitby along the cliff top.

There is also another route long the old disused Whitby to Robin Hoods Bay Railway line.

I preferred the cliff route but they are both great walks. You can even ride your bikes along the old railway.

If you manage to get to Hook House make sure you go round to Ravenscar. There are some beautiful walks round the Ravenscar area and the scenery is gorgeous.

Take a tip from me and book early. Ask for a pitch with a good view. Ideally with the front of you caravan facing the Bay

We shall be returning soon. We would still be there now but when we got there we found we had a leak from the winter frosts so we had to return early to get it fixed. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northmetking 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in the summer for ten nights and did not move the car until it was time to go home. We found we had more than enough to keep us occupied within walking distance.

We did go to Whitby once on the bus. Be prepared to stand if you are going during the school holidays, as the bus gets very busy at peak times.

A word of warning though: I would advise you not to use the bus stop right outside the campsite during busy periods as you are likely to find there is no room for you on the bus as it goes past the site. Fortunately we had been warned and walked down into the village to catch the bus. It only just about got everyone on, and crawled up the hills, leaving some poor people standing at bus stops along the way with an hour to wait for the next bus, which could have been just as full.

The site itself is lovely and I can't add much to what other people have said about the great views and facilities etc.

One thing I can recommend thoroughly is walking along the old abandoned railway line. Follow this along towards Ravenscar; after about 3 miles you will come to Fyling Old Hall where you can sit in a lovely tea garden in furniture hand-carved by the owners and have scrumptious home-made cakes.

The walks from the campsite are lovely, whether you go towards Ravenscar or Whitby.

Only downsides were the windy location, but then without that, you wouldn't have the views, and the lack of any real play area for children. The tents are packed into the field a bit, not ridiculously close together or anything, but there's no playground, and nowhere really for a game of football or even frisbee. We had some fun games of croquet winding around the tent in the long grass, but be aware that if you have younger children (we haven't) there's not anywhere really for them to play other than just around the tents.

It was a 6-hour drive for us to get there, so we won't be returning for a year or two at least, but we'd definitely stay at Hooks House Farm again if we were holidaying in Yorkshire in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stressedandconfused 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in the summer, and do agree that the views are stunning and the site amenities very well kept. However, it is a very windy spot -- or it was when we were there -- and it was quite alarming to see how much our large tunnel tent flapped in the winds. This also made it quite noisy.
We were at the bottom end of the site, which meant we were right next to the views, but a bit far from the toilets -- not great with small kids, who always have to go in a hurry! It is also a long walk to the beach and back -- again, a bit much with small kids.
However, the beach is wonderful -- exactly as I'd remembered from my one previous visit in my teens -- all rock pools and crabs. Our older son (7) spent hours digging moats round sandcastles with friendly kids he met on the beach.
We would like to return to the area one day, but would probably avoid this windy site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wedgy3 2 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights at Hooks House Farm & I agree with all the positive comments made on this site.Gill & here staff are wonderful people & nothing is too much trouble for them.
The facilities are clean with loads of hot water.The fridge,freezer kettle & microwave are a really good bonus for those without their own & show the attention to detail provided.
All the local pubs stop serving meals at 21.00 so be sure to secure your place at busy times.We will return here next year for sure. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement