Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 232 Reviews
                9/10 from 232 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  232 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Globaltraveller 2 reviews from this member

What a great Campsite, such a well run place with great views and just a short walk to a beautiful bay with great pubs and cafe's.

Very relaxed, easy going site with the cleanest facilities I have come across whilst camping. Charges are per adult with no extras for dogs, awnings etc, EHU is additional but that's expected.

Well done to all involved in keeping this site so clean and beautiful.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Waspypc 3 reviews from this member

Just got back after staying six nights. I have to say this is one of the best sites I've stayed at. The family running it are great. They helped me level my camper and were always helpful and around.

The site has stunning sea views from most if not all the pitches.

Despite being a BH weekend the facilities were incredibly clean. The showers were hot and never had to wait. The shower and toilet blocks weren't heated which is a bonus as it encourages people to shower and leave! There were only a few rules that were perfectly reasonable, keep the noise down, dogs on lead and I can't remember the last!

The site was really busy over the BH weekend but had a great friendly atmosphere. I used it as a base for walks and cycle rides. You gave the Cinder path that takes you south or north and the coastal path. As the family are local they can give great advice in where to go. At their suggestion I went to the Ye Dolphin in the bay Fiday night for Folk night.

I had a great fish pie and the Folk night was really enjoyable. Made very welcome by everyone. I don't normally return to sites as I like to visit new places everytime.

However I plan to visit again because it was so wonderful.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sonsto 1 review from this member

Hooks House Farm campsite is beautifully located with a stunning view of Robin Hood's Bay on the Yorkshire coast.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, the campsite itself was quite big and the facilities were clean. We arrived without prebooking (first come, first serve) in end of May Bank Holiday Saturday at 10:00 am and there still were spaces for tents.

Just outside the Farm is a bus stop from where you can get to Whitby and Scarborough (it's a well known bus company in UK, so if you have a monthly ticket take it with you).

We had the best weekend of our lives!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjvw 2 reviews from this member

Great site, great view, clean and very quiet. Got the local private hire taxi into Whitby, very reasonable price and did some sightseeing. Gordon helped level our motorhome up with large wooden chocks. Will return. Will bring our bikes next time as the Cinder Path to Whitby is close to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 49 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights at end of Aug 2018 to 1st Sept, very hilly roads everywhere around here, site also very hilly but warden does fantastic job of taking your caravan to your pitch with his 4x4 and doing all the levelling for you with their chunky wooden the chocks.

The view is to die for, probably from all pitches.

Helpful wardens running this family site, good facilities and would definitely recommend if you want to stay this way.

We cycled into Whitby on the Cinder-track about 13 mile round trip and also cycled the other direction to Ravenscar about 10 mile round trip.

24 per night with EHU + awning

We used our caravan facilities mostly but we did think it would be a bit of a hike for people in tents to the toilets

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fernack 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights last week. Very helpful kind owners. Facilities spot on. The views gorgeous. Nice sized pitches. EHU pitches at the top of the site slightly less sloping. Would return and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights with electric at the top of the site, although next to the road it wasn't too busy. Site was busy but the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Friendly greeting from the 'ladies' in the reception van, although site is sloping we were expertly levelled up with wooden blocks in no time. Great facilities, toilets and showers were portacabin based but clean and tidy. Super location for walking to Robin Hoods Bay and surrounding area. Bus stop outside site with hourly buses to Whitby.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thud14 2 reviews from this member

Lovely, dog and human-friendly campsite, really helpful owners who were around when needed on arrival but left you in peace to enjoy the fabulous views of coast and countryside. Clean, well-maintained facilities which did what they said on the tin - showers hot and powerful if basic. Good to have easily accessible water-fill for on-board tank. Good mix of hard-standing and grass pitches with levelling ramps available from the owner. Great location for walking into Robin Hood's Bay and the surrounding countryside. Hourly bus to Whitby at the entrance to the campsite which we would certainly take advantage of next time. Great pubs and eating in the village and a digestion-settling, stiff walk up the hill afterwards! Will definitely return to this little gem of a campsite.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Akpeel 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. We rang ahead to advise that we would be arriving late and in darkness. This was not a problem with an eta of 7. 30, but later than that and it may have been, I add this to discourage others not as a reflection on the owners who were very helpful. On arrival our van was hitched up to their Ninety and we watched, amazed as a three strong team quickly and skillfully pitched our van for us on the sloping location. Amazing service!

Woke the next day to stunning views out across the bay, I don't think you could find a pitch on the site without a great vista.

All facilities are clean, well maintained and look virtually new. Tons of hot water. Very conveniently located just above the village of Robin Hoods Bay and a very short drive into Whitby. Our pitch was at the top of the site so it was adjacent to the local road. However traffic is pretty light and virtually non existent at night so we didn't feel disturbed, besides the tail end of Hurricane Brian meant the wind drowned most noise out anyway.

Some of the pitches are a little distant from the water/waste point but if that's a downside choose a closer pitch, ours was fine.

Overall this site is a perfect spot and excellent value run by very friendly and welcoming people. We will return.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dianemm 2 reviews from this member

Super site, stayed 2 nights this weekend and had a great time and will return next year. Site is easy to access, the owner helped us set up level on a hard standing with grass to the side. The wash facilities are nice, very clean with plenty of hot water and lighting good to see your way round. The site does slope however the pitch we had was level. Phone signal was good but no wifi which added to the relaxing time for me. Very friendly people and the views out across the bay are wonderful, you have access to a path from the site which takes you down a steep hill to join the path into Robin Hoods bay.

Previous     232 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019