Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
                9/10 from 228 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 47 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights at end of Aug 2018 to 1st Sept, very hilly roads everywhere around here, site also very hilly but warden does fantastic job of taking your caravan to your pitch with his 4x4 and doing all the levelling for you with their chunky wooden the chocks.

The view is to die for, probably from all pitches.

Helpful wardens running this family site, good facilities and would definitely recommend if you want to stay this way.

We cycled into Whitby on the Cinder-track about 13 mile round trip and also cycled the other direction to Ravenscar about 10 mile round trip.

£24 per night with EHU + awning

We used our caravan facilities mostly but we did think it would be a bit of a hike for people in tents to the toilets

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fernack 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights last week. Very helpful kind owners. Facilities spot on. The views gorgeous. Nice sized pitches. EHU pitches at the top of the site slightly less sloping. Would return and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights with electric at the top of the site, although next to the road it wasn't too busy. Site was busy but the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Friendly greeting from the 'ladies' in the reception van, although site is sloping we were expertly levelled up with wooden blocks in no time. Great facilities, toilets and showers were portacabin based but clean and tidy. Super location for walking to Robin Hoods Bay and surrounding area. Bus stop outside site with hourly buses to Whitby.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thud14 2 reviews from this member

Lovely, dog and human-friendly campsite, really helpful owners who were around when needed on arrival but left you in peace to enjoy the fabulous views of coast and countryside. Clean, well-maintained facilities which did what they said on the tin - showers hot and powerful if basic. Good to have easily accessible water-fill for on-board tank. Good mix of hard-standing and grass pitches with levelling ramps available from the owner. Great location for walking into Robin Hood's Bay and the surrounding countryside. Hourly bus to Whitby at the entrance to the campsite which we would certainly take advantage of next time. Great pubs and eating in the village and a digestion-settling, stiff walk up the hill afterwards! Will definitely return to this little gem of a campsite.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Akpeel 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. We rang ahead to advise that we would be arriving late and in darkness. This was not a problem with an eta of 7. 30, but later than that and it may have been, I add this to discourage others not as a reflection on the owners who were very helpful. On arrival our van was hitched up to their Ninety and we watched, amazed as a three strong team quickly and skillfully pitched our van for us on the sloping location. Amazing service!

Woke the next day to stunning views out across the bay, I don't think you could find a pitch on the site without a great vista.

All facilities are clean, well maintained and look virtually new. Tons of hot water. Very conveniently located just above the village of Robin Hoods Bay and a very short drive into Whitby. Our pitch was at the top of the site so it was adjacent to the local road. However traffic is pretty light and virtually non existent at night so we didn't feel disturbed, besides the tail end of Hurricane Brian meant the wind drowned most noise out anyway.

Some of the pitches are a little distant from the water/waste point but if that's a downside choose a closer pitch, ours was fine.

Overall this site is a perfect spot and excellent value run by very friendly and welcoming people. We will return.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dianemm 2 reviews from this member

Super site, stayed 2 nights this weekend and had a great time and will return next year. Site is easy to access, the owner helped us set up level on a hard standing with grass to the side. The wash facilities are nice, very clean with plenty of hot water and lighting good to see your way round. The site does slope however the pitch we had was level. Phone signal was good but no wifi which added to the relaxing time for me. Very friendly people and the views out across the bay are wonderful, you have access to a path from the site which takes you down a steep hill to join the path into Robin Hoods bay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenny McArdle 4 reviews from this member

This site is absolutely beautiful. The views from every part of the site are incredible. This is our first visit to Whitby, and to Yorkshire though we live only a jump away in Derbyshire and we LOVED it.

The owners are very friendly and so well organized. The site is quiet, despite being on a main road (which is practically deserted after dark) which makes the site easy to find for first time vizitors.

Robin Hood's Bay is a short walk away down the hill (can a long walk back up again). In the village you will find magnificent local beers at the pubs and fish 'n' chips that will be just about the best you've ever tasted (unless you managed to visit the Magpie in Whitby itself.

I will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rotate 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Hooks House Farm and it certainly won’t be the last.

We have a caravan which was pitched for us given the field is sloping, it was levelled up and chocked by the very friendly staff saving us the pain of doing this ourselves, the view over Robin Hoods Bay was magnificent.

The facilities are spotless, everything being located in one place.

You can walk via a public footpath from the farm down to Robin Hoods Bay across farm fields, which brings you out at the church; this takes 10-15 minutes, a little longer coming back as it is obviously uphill.

The atmosphere on the site was great with a mix of tents, motorhomes and caravans on grass pitches. Looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 9 reviews from this member

We travel from Scotland to Yorkshire every year in our caravan at some point in the year to incorporate a holiday with visiting family. On those trips we have tried a number of times to get a pitch on this site and (because we are last minute in our plans) the site has always been full. This time we planned ahead and had a pitch with glorious views for four nights. The owners were extremely helpful and gave us a pitch beside a family member with their van. In fact the two things that make this site special are the views and the attitude of the owners. We saw many times how much they made efforts to make everyone feel welcome as well as running a very tight ship in terms of getting vans into pitches and looking after the condition of the grass. If we could give 11/10 for customer service we would. We loved the walk down through the field to Robin Hood's Bay (enough exercise coming back up the hill to make us feel we'd earned a drink when we got back). Facilities were spotless and perfectly adequate if not luxurious. Some thought had been given to putting up plenty of hooks in the showers. We just loved the whole experience and will very certainly make sure we go back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 14 reviews from this member

I really liked this site. Fantastic views, good clean facilities and friendly owners,

One of our dogs is quite old now and can't walk as far as he used to so the fact that we could get the bus from right outside the site was brilliant. The buses ran every half hour and went to Robin Hood's Bay and Scarborough one way and to Whitby the other. We got the bus to and from Fylingthorpe to go to the pub a couple of times. We went to Whitby twice, once to the dog friendly abbey and once for a little bit of shopping. We always made use of the bus on the way back from town.

The pubs in Robin Hood's bay were dog friendly. Our favourite was Ye Dolphin, we ate there twice. We also liked the Laurel but they didn't do food. Some areas of the Fylingdales Inn were dog friendly.

We had some neighbours who played quite loud music on the one afternoon and the owner came over and dealt with it very well. It wasn't really bothering us but I think it is a slippery slope if not nipped in the bud. No nastiness just a quiet word. Overall a quiet and peaceful site.

There were 3 male and 3 female showers. I only had to wait once on a day the site was full, but I think had I gone 20minutes earlier or later I wouldn't have waited at all. I never waited for the loo even when the site was full There were sinks inside for washing up in the room with the fridge and freezers. The best washing up was outside though with views straight ahead across the bay. There was also a separate barn with wash rooms for both sexes, about three of each.

It is quite slopey but there were plenty of wedges etc to level cupboards to make cooking etc easier.

Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019