Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AhgdP 8 reviews from this member

It took a while to 'check in' here; we arrived just after reception had closed and had to find the elusive 'red button' to call the warden. He finally showed up ten minutes later and other than showing us our pitch he seemed solely focused on getting another 10 from us after which he left us to it, without giving us any further information about the site. We were given one of the D pitches which was in the old Orchard area; this was perfect as motorhomes were definitely in the minority in this site used predominantly by static caravans. The ground was not level but this was easily rectified with blocks under our wheels. We were very close to the play area which the children seemed to enjoy.

A while later, a lady turned up with some information booklets which we were apparently supposed to have been given! As it was getting late for the children, we decided to eat at Maguires' which despite its less than salubrious appearance afforded a reasonably priced, decent quality and plentiful meal. We were pleasantly surprised.

We were thrilled to find spotless baths, as well as showers, in the wash areas and we certainly enjoyed this luxury although in terms of decor, the area was certainly rather dated.

Although wifi was 'free' we found just one tiny spot where it could be accessed!

Berwick is a short drive away and although a little run down, is certainly worth a peruse due to its interesting historical context. For fantastic cheap, fresh fish, visit the harbour; the lobster is more than fresh, being alive and awaiting your selection! The following day, having driven to Beal, we cycled over to Lindisfarne and had a fantastic day on the island.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jake48ged 2 reviews from this member

Having visited this site a few times over the years with our tent we decided to treat ourselves to one of the wishbone lodges, a little bit of glamping as they say. The pod was roomy with bunkbeds and two camp beds and a wee heater to keep you cosy at night. As always the toilet and shower block were immaculate, the grounds are well kept and the play area for younger kids is fab. All in all a great base to see all the lovely places the area has to offer.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lady Wareham 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this wonderful site. We were allocated pitch A4 which seemed to be on the main drag of the park. Lots to watch including slightly irritating young children back and forwards on scooters and bikes. Toilets, showers and prep areas all in one block. Nice and clean and an abundance of hot water in the showers but occasionally luke warm water on offer to wash up your dishes. Fantastic dog walking around perimeter of the park with plenty poo bins. There's even a very lovely garden of remembrance for beloved pooches which we found very touching. Clubhouse is lovely with something for everyone broken into three sections - sports bar, dining lounge and finally a room with pool tables and soft play. Altogether a great weekend, with fab weather too. We are returning in August. Whoppee.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krismcewan 10 reviews from this member

We live an hour up the road and chose here to try out the awning we bought for the caravan and do a shakedown for the season. We had stayed here before many years ago and were keen to see what had changed. It still is a fantastically clean site with great play park for kids.

Touring pitches are mostly hard standing and its refreshing to see tourers near the Clubhouse not pushed to the back of the statics like allot of other sites.

Good dog walk and plenty of room for the kids. The on site bar and restaurant is lovely with entertainment at weekends. Food is decent pub grub and good portions and reasonable prices.

Berwick is only 5 mins drive away, it is walk-able in 30 mins There was an on site camping shop when we were there that was thinking of closing down. I hope it didn't as the staff were brilliant at helping me get the spares I needed for the season ahead. I got all the gas fittings for the Propane and awning spares that were missing. Staff at the Maguires reception were very helpful

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We decided to head out for a couple of days and normally stay near seahouses but the site we use was closed so we headed north as I realised Ord House is open all year. Arrived at 6 pm so it was nearly dark. Found the office and a nice couple said we could stay in area E on any pitch. The pitch had its own water supply and waste point and the showers were just over the road as we were near the entrance. Have to say we had a great time at Ord House. The walk into Berwick is an easy 20 minute stroll and the town is steeped in history and has great walks around the walls of the fort. We found the club house closed but the local pub is worth a visit The Salmon we had a meal here on the second night. Highly recommended. We took a walk around the site and found more touring areas so its got a pitch to suit all tastes and we would be back this year. The caravan Shop was open and the people who run it are very nice and helpful. I imagine its a great atmosphere when all the full timers are on site and the club is open. All in all we loved Ord house, good location well run by nice people. I would say its a good site for kids if you have any as good play parks etc etc.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperlck 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights as a last minute get away for the season. The site is situated just on the outskirts of Berwick-Upon-Tweed which is a lovely old town.

The site is a large commercial site, predominantly for static caravans. I would estimate around 80% of the site is for statics, around 15% is for fairly permanent seasonal pitches (caravans aligned inch perfect to decking areas etc), and only around 5% for touring. However this focus on more residential holidays does bring with it significant facilities.

We were in the walled garden (or Orchard as some people have named it here). It contains 12 good sized super pitches, with own water, drainage and decent hedging between pitches. The walled garden has a nice feel to it, and somewhat tucked away from the rest of the site. Note though that there was some road noise from in the walled garden as it is right next to the road that runs alongside the site.

Whilst the pitches were spacious, ours was not particularly level side to side. I didn't spot this until we'd pitched up so spent the weekend slightly off level. It would be worth using a ramp on one side. Some of the other pitches (not in the walled garden) were very sloping (front to back).

The toilets are quite dated but spotlessly clean. How much of that was because it was so quiet I don't know. In the 4 nights we were there, there were only 4 touring caravans / motorhomes on site at any time and sometimes less.

There are good recycling facilities and bins, however there are no dog poo bins. Given there is an excellent dog walk on site, the lack of poo bins seemed a bit of an oversight. The dog walk circuits much of the site and cuts in between sections, through gates in the walled garden, down the back of trees etc - it is well done.

Note that the site advertises that is has free Wifi. I scanned for it numerous times and never once found it. At reception they confirmed that it wasn't very reliable.

There are many camping pods, a fabulous looking play area that includes crazy golf and giant draughts, a separate football pitch. There is also a bar & restaurant on site (Maguires) but we didn't use either as there wasn't a single vegetarian dish on the menu.

We did eat at the Magna Indian in Berwick and the food was up to its usual high standard.

Berwick is a lovely town and well worth visiting. There is an almost 100% complete town wall that can be walked, there was a Christmas market on the Sunday with lots of local delicacies, there is Spital promenade, there are good facilities such as a Tesco, Morrisons and so on. It is also not far from Bamburgh which has a fabulous long beach well worth walking.

We generally try to go for adult only quiet sites, but this is a challenge at this time of year. We had a great time here and would definitely return, but only at a similar time of year - any more in season this site would be heaving with kids and people - not for us.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Grace01 1 review from this member

Stopped in a wishbone pod at ord house country park in Northumberland and had a fantastic time. Toilets very clean, staff very friendly especially vivinne the domestic cleaner. Meals in the pub are gorgeous especially the 2 steaks for twenty pounds WOOW!

Everything was to a very high standard and they definitely deserve the 'the best green park award'

The play park is really good and the kids loved the soft play in the pub.

The walk around the park is absolutely beautiful as well.

Well worth a visit definitely going again

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Henda 2 reviews from this member

Sadly arrived here on Friday afternoon, booked in, went to spot, it's not level you need a jack and breeze blocks to level. The electric kept tripping out. Showers are clean but dated. Our pitch was dark on the evening time. There was no reception for tv or satellite due to surrounding trees and buildings. The club house is fine but it's an hours wait for frozen food. The site is nice however avoid pitches. E. And F unless you carry high lift jacks. We will not return to this site because at 25 per night I would have expected a lot more. And there is no discount for mentioning UKCampsite. Co. Uk

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Koalagrabber 2 reviews from this member

Booking in was a bit of a stramash as we arrived at changeover time for the day and night shift (5pm) and it all seemed a bit disorganised. We were shown to our pitch and provided with one toilet key and barrier pass for a 10 deposit

We had booked fairly well in advance so I was a bit appalled to find the quality of our pitch. I've NEVER been shown to a pitch before where a big wad in the middle was basically bare earth, with the grass being completely dead from overuse. Fortunately it was fairly dry so the mud issue did not affect us. We had to pitch our tent sideways on, and it was on a fair slope, so we spent our two nights rolling downhill a bit and had to put wedges under our tables and cooking stove.

Also we had been placed right next to the toilet block, which had a huge light, which didn't seem to ever go off. On the first morning I was woken by a lot of banging and clattering just after 6am (as was my 6 year old son) and it turned out that that's their usual time for cleaning all the toilet block. I did ask the girl if it was usually done at that time and she informed me that it was, and when I mentioned that the racket had woken the bairn she was very apologetic and promised to be quieter the next morning, which she was (but it still woke me, but fortunately not the kids)

We had a BBQ the first night, in our fire pit, and the kids did their usual trundling about in the surrounding woodland picking up deadwood and sticks off the ground so we could have a fire. Granted, because the twigs were a bit damp and there was dried leaves on some of it, it was a bit smoky, but we were a bit appalled by the reaction. One of the staff showed up and demanded to know where we had got the wood, accused us TWICE of cutting wood from the trees even though we categorically told him we had picked up deadwood only and pointed out all the leaves on the bits we had were well and truly already dead. He then demanded we put it all back and started grabbing at stuff, at which I told him to stop, we would do it. Apparently fires are not allowed (we could find nothing in their paperwork regarding this), and we always use a firepit so we do not damage grass (not that we could have damaged the grass as we had placed it on the muddy bit anyway!) We remained calm and polite throughout, which is more than we could have said for the staff member, who was rather aggressive, and could easily have caused an argument.

There are ample taps for drinking water, plenty of bins, washing up facilities, and the toilet and shower space is generous and very clean. Having only one key for the four of us was a total pain.

Overall, camping at this site is definitely an afterthought. They seem to have done away with most of their pitches in favour of the wishbones (which our friends had) and the rest of it is caravans. It looks like there are only 3 tent pitches left and I suspect they will be replaced by wishbones by the end of 2014!

It is a beautiful site, perfectly clean, with excellent facilities. The playpark is fantastic, they have crazy golf for 1 which the kids liked. Also a ball pitch in between the camping and glamping section. The shop was well stocked with allsorts of bits and we changed our gas bottle there for a reasonable 16. Barring the grumpy bloke about the fire all the rest of the staff were pleasant and helpful.

I'd not recommend it for camping, but I think it would probably be wonderfull in a caravan

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ravelin 13 reviews from this member

Not much I can say about Ord House that hasn't already been covered. We stayed for 10 nights in Aug during the school holidays so the site was very busy. It's a mixture of all sorts i. E statics, cabins, touring pitches but we'd specifically asked to be in the Walled Garden/Orchard area, which screens you off to an extent from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the site (not sure I'd like to be outwith the walled area, but that's personal preference).

The facilities are what you'd expect from a large holiday site and the toilet blocks were clean and spacious, there's large clubhouse/restaurant and a fantastic play area for the kids (so good even I wanted a play on it). Our pitch had full EHU, waste & water but I'm not sure if the ones outside the orchard do.

Berwick is a nice town, retaining some of it's charm due to the walls, but also looks a little shabby at times (it could be so much nicer with a bit of investment). There's also plenty to do in the surrounding area if you want to visit the Northumberland coast or the Scottish border towns, and there's more castles and abbeys in the area than you could find time to visit.

If you want to eat out then the on-site restaurant is fine but you won't be disappointed if you the extra effort of a 5 min walk to The Salmon Inn.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5696 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019