Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

As previous reviews this is a spotless well maintained site, through out all the facilities. The playgroud is a large adventure style climbing frame with the mini golf behind it £2 pp(with a £1 deposit returned) its not the best but what can you expect for a £1.

There is a variety of pitches to suit families or couples, but you have to request them, all pitches are a large grave base so beware if you are putting up an awning, the whole site seems to have good drainage as it poured down through the night but in the morning everything including the park was in good condition still.

The on site bar was nice and they serve food (which we did not try, but sounded nice)there is a soft play in the family room but it is basic and would only suit smaller children and the site camping shop is full to bursting with everything you could possibly need for camping and very well priced.

The site cost us £20 for up to 4 persons and electric, so is a real find for us, we will return, but you have to pre book as we had tried to get on this site in the past but was fully booked.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HymerB544 5 reviews from this member

Very nice site situated a 10-15 minute walk from the charming walled town of Berwick-upon-Tweed. There’s a pub 5 minutes walk from the site entrance. The majority of the site is taken up by “static”, but this gives it a more “community” feel. The pitches are set out well – the one we had was fully serviced with water, waste and a TV socket. The sanitary block is very clean and well equipped – there’s even a bath tub!

The staff were very friendly and gave us a whole load of maps and information about the local area.

The coastal cycle path to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne is a beautiful trail (12 miles each way) – but check the tides before you go! Would recommend the site to others as a base to explore the local area – there’s tonnes of castles and beautiful countryside to explore.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KevCheston 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for an overnight break on a weekend. Staff very friendly and the site is spotless. Toilets and showers are clean and warm with free showers etc.

Ideal location for walking into Berwick town centre which is about 1 1/2 miles way on a lit footpath. Nice park for kids on the site and we stayed in a quiet walled corner in an old orchard.

Would definitely stay again!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ikonos 2 reviews from this member

Great Site, would go again, camping/caravan shop brilliant, has all the little bits you would need,

Staff are brilliant and polite, playpark is great for kids, we were there for 4 nights and my kids played there all the time, and they are 9 and 6, also great football park,

Walk to tesco is 10 mins, for all your needs,

We were in D section, no problem getting in, pitch had water, waste, satellite and tv connection (fully serviced).

Toilets and showers were spotless, great dogwalk, never used the bar but no noise after 8pm, great to get kids to sleep

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laineymac 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend and were accompanied by friends in a separate tent.

The facilities were excellent, with a well stocked camping equipment shop on site and a small general store just outside the site. I even passed about 20 minutes in the games room!

Toilets were spotless as were the washing facilities. We stayed on pitch J5 in the orchard area. While the seclusion provided by the hedges gave a nice intimate feeling, we were plagued by the 'end of season' wasps due to the amount of greenery around us.

Our friends' 10 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed the play park and one key attraction for all the kids was collecting conkers - all harmless fun. We had hoped to play the crazy golf, but didn't get time, so possibly next time.

The site staff were helpful and friendly, providing a wealth of information about what was on in the surrounding area over the weekend, and in general. As there was a food and beer festival in Berwick, we took a taxi into town (about £4.50 each way). This meant that we didn't manage to try out the clubhouse on this occasion.

We have made a few attempts to book this site and they are very busy in the peak season, so book early or accept an off-season break.

Would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nufc 3 reviews from this member

Great site

we stayed in the D area bit tight getting tourer onto pitch but with help from GOOD neighbours no problem

Toilet and showers spotlessly clean. Site well maintained. Staff extremely helpful

Excellent accessory shop. Well run family pub with good food. Shop outside site entrance for basic needs

1 1/2 mile from Berwick. 1 mile to Asda. New Tesco opening approx end of sept 1/2 mile away .

If there is a negative there is a bit of a walk to empty the porta loo from the D area

So over all 8 out of 10

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tarny 5 reviews from this member

Nice site, but massive, our pitch was in the orchard close to the children's playground, but you cant have it all. Pub on site ok. Showers toilets etc clean and tidy. Great dog walk around site with loads of bins. There is a camping shop on site which sells just about everything you will need for camping/caravanning. There is a shop just across the road which sells the essentials if you run out of things. There is is a pub down the road 10min walk, went here one night, very nice and friendly. This site is not really my cup of tea, even so its a nice site with great facilities with kids in mind. Oh forgot to mention take some extra strong pegs and a lump hammer the ground in the orchard is like concrete, no I think it is concrete normal steel pegs would not go in bent loads.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

We had 6 nights here at the end of august. 2 adults and one 7 year old girl.

Facilities are excellent - plenty of toilets / showers /washing up sinks - all spotless and never busy.

Good kids play area, nice bar with a family room, pool tables, play area.

Good camp shop on site that sells everything - reasonably priced too.

Good little shop over the road from the site. Asda 5 mins drive away along with an M & S food shop.

We didn't notice too much noise at night.

The staff were constantly tidying up and they were all really friendly.

One thing to bear in mind if you are a camper is that this is really a 5 star caravan park and there are hundreds of statics on site. I always feel that these type of parks lose a bit of camp site atmosphere and this was the case here a little bit. Our pitch was fine though and large enough for an 8 berth, however we didn't see the sun from approx 3.00pm due to the woodland behind our tent. I think our pitch was D9.

Local places to visit include banburgh beach, seahouses, (a cracking little beach near seahouses called beadnall beach), chillingham castle was worth a visit for 1/2 a day - the most haunted castle in britain apparently!

We visited Chain Bridge honey farm which is free and well worth a visit - we really enjoyed that trip.

'pot a doodle do ' is just down the road and you pick a clay pot of your choice and then sit down and decorate them. For the 3 of us, it was £40 which was ok. You have to pick your pots up 2 days later after they have been in the kiln so ensure you leave enough time in your trip to pick them up.

There are many many other places to visit but we didn't get chance but the area as a whole is excellent.

All in all, a nice site but not really what we would look for. I wouldn't go again but only because its more of a caravan site.

I would go to the area again though - excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robbieewan 4 reviews from this member

The site is large and has very good facilities.

The play area footy pitch and clubhouse are very good,the tent pitches while small in number were fine.(some are quite small so a large tent (like ours)could be a problem.Luckily our pitch was fine.

The site is well situated to tour berwick and the coast. And an asda is only 1 mile away.

The park staff were friendly and toured regularly.

The toilets were clean but not sure the key entry system is needed.

Shame there wasn't more tent pitches but overall

8/10 we would return.

Bamburgh castle and beach is a must. But the fish and chips in seahouses is both over priced and poor quality.

Craster and dunstanburgh castle very pretty.

We didn't venture too far but berwick is ok.

Next time we plan to visit the aviation museum nr edinburgh.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ladyt75 1 review from this member

We have just arrived back and this is the first time I have felt strongly enough to leave a review of any site. This site was excellent. We have twins aged 7 who didn't want to leave. There is a large playground with equipment suitable from approximate age 4 up to 12, a crazy golf course, a table tennis table, a large football field and a small wooded area the kids spent a lot of time playing hide and seek in.

The shower block has everything you needed. There are 8 toilet cubicles in the ladies with baby changing facilities all of which were kept very clean. There are 4 showers in a separate room which again were kept spotlessly clean. Each shower cubicle had a fold down seat and 2 hooks (a big gripe of mine being that they never have enough hanging space).

Also 2 family rooms at the rear of the shower block were so useful. Each contained a double shower and a bath which made keeping the kids clean a lot easier than trying to cram into 1 shower cubicle. My only small disappointment with the showers was they were not very powerful and if somebody was running a bath in the family rooms the showers turned unto a dribble. I was very impressed though with the piped music being played into all the toilets and shower rooms.

We stayed on pitch c4 which was spacious with hard standing with electric and was in front of the playground so the kids were in view all the time. All in all a fantastic site, great base for attractions such as Lindisfarne, Bamburgh and Spitall beaches, plus easy access to nearby leisure centre with great pool, and shopping and food outlets in the town.

The site also has a great shop selling caravan gear with very helpful owner, small amusement arcade area, mini cafe and shop selling basic food and cleaning items.

These is also a club house/,pub selling food which we did not sample but looked ok.

Great site for a great family holiday !

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4845 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019