Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky69 20 reviews from this member

Just had 4 nights at Ord house, couldn't fault the place, just off the A1 south of Berwick (no road noise evident). Brilliant facilities and even a camping shop on site should you need anything.

Food available most days and prices seemed reasonable.Well placed for touring the area, we visited Cragside and would recommend for a day out. Would visit this site again without hesitation and would certainly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helencree 12 reviews from this member

Fabulous! Staff very friendly and helpful, lovely pitches, well sheltered from any wind (which does make a change)

The unsung hero's on this site really are the cleaners, we never saw them, but the facilities were always spotless. The family bathrooms were a real treat and made it much easier for us all and meant Mum didn't have to take the girls all the time!

The radio playing in the toilets was also nice. The whole site is very well thought out and planned.

The local pub the Salmon Inn is fantastic, only a short walk and the kids loved the park outside it. The local leisure centre was brilliant with a water slide and wave pool, we cycled there.

The only downside to the site itself was the club house - which does not have real ales and only does food Wed-Sun (and not Sunday night). This was not a problem, but you should be aware if you arrive hungry after a long drive.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WILLIAMTHEBRAVE 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 week, great location for touring border area, one minute and your on the main road north or south. Holy island was a good day trip as was the feeding of the seals at eyemouth, and the boat trip that left from eyemouth was very informative. The site itself was very clean and toilet block was cleaned regularly. Tent area was private and well situated. Disappointed with the club as there was no entertainment, only entertainment was one bingo night. Park area was good for children.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WINNIE56 1 review from this member

We had a great week at ord house great campsite. Very clean, and well kept. Toilets were great, me and my daughter had a bath. Food was ok, club house was ok, entertainment on sat and the following Friday. It was a shame it wasnt on every night as it was very quiet during the week. Great pub down the road will real ales and good food. Beware of the doves they give you an early morning call and don't leave food out at night as the local wildlife like to come and snack ! All the staff were very friendly too

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tibbsy 1 review from this member

Just back from Ord House, what a great site it is. Most of the tent pitches are a good size, easily enough for our family tent and car. Each pitch is kept quite private by hedges inbetween which we liked. There was plenty to keep our 5yr old amused, a large playing field for games, a large sandpit, children's park, crazy golf, table tennis. We ate in the clubhouse on the Friday night and the food was ok though not great. The prices were reasonable however and there was a soft play in back of the pub which meant we could enjoy a pint whilst our daughter played. Kids also have their own bar where they can buy juice, crisps and sweets. The staff were all very friendly and the toilets were very clean. The shower / toilet block was kept spotless clean. The showers were very spacious and free. Hairdryers (free also) were available. There is also a bath which is handy if your child doesn't like the shower. There is a small general shop just outside the site which sold most things inc.Newspapers, lottery etc On Sunday night we walked down to the Salmon Pub (approx 5 mins from the site) and found a very cosy little pub. Whilst we didn't eat there we were told the food was excellent and it certainly looked good. We will definitely return next year and would probably stay a little more than 2 nights.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: S Risk 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 weeks at Ord House and must say will not be returning.Touring pitches good size, all water, waste and toilet facilities within easy reach of most pitches. Toilet block spotless and never too busy. Meals lovely( especially Sunday roast) and very reasonable although 'the regulars' in the clubhouse look at you as if you have no right to be there. Staff on the whole helpful but quite abrupt with children

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy Ann 2 reviews from this member

Can not agree with previous comments enough, we are 2 x ad 2 x ch 6 man tent cost 23.50 per night and worth every penny. The toilet/shower/bath facilities are very clean and constantly maintained and has an area to plug in my hairdryer, very important! Have a separate family bathroom with big bath and double shower. Good play area and football pitch which kept the children entertained (age 10 & 11). Club house very good with family play room and soft paly area for under 8s my only criticism would be the food well priced but lasagne microwaved to within an inch of its life.

Would go back and I am a fussy camper. Good base to explore Berwick / Bamburgh which all have lovely beaches.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 89 reviews from this member

Called in here for three nights to 'recover' from a family holiday in northern Scotland. This was our second visit here.

This is a lovely four-star site - and you can see why! It may cost a bit more than many sites -but definitely get what you pay for here!

We were given a super-pitch in the old orchard - about a dozen in an old walled garden area - all individually screened. This is lovely - but can be quite difficult to get in an out of as the access road is only just the width of a caravan, so there is little space for reversing, or pulling out. Indeed the unit next to us had to be manhandled by every willing volunteer to get it out before it could be coupled up, and a similar thing happened with the one opposite to us - except that they got it out facing inwards (I was at the loo at the time) - and it took six of us to push it back and turn it to face the way out.

Fortunately I had not put my unit close by the hedge screen, and with the opposite pitch now vacant, was able to drive straight out, albeit over part of the opposite pitch! Really this area needs remodelling with a wider access road and the pitches moved back by about eight feet; (there is a lawned area behind which could be partly cannibalised for this).

However, apart from this the site is great. It has a club house and bar, which is very popular and serves a lovely chicken curry! No hand pulled ales a shortcoming.

There is no shop on site, but a small village store just opposite the entrance sells the essentials. There is a large excellent Morrisons just three miles up the A1. Berwick town is an easy walk of around half an hour, and has some uninspiring if functional shops. However the town wall is well worth walking round, whilst the harbour also provides a pleasant stroll.

Back on site the loos were always clean and there is even a bathroom in each shower block - sheer luxury after three weeks of having showers, and a day plodding round the town. Only the washing up sinks seemed to get into an untidy state - but that is caused by the people using them, and not cleaning them afterwards.

There is a play field for children, and at the weekend it got quite noisy with kids screaming and rampaging round on bikes. In fairness however the noise had ceased well before bedtime.

This is a Best of British site - and we agree! Will definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Limestone 1 review from this member

Excellent site, well drained pitches. Very clean toilets. Good play area for children. Post Office + shop just yards from the site. Good pub food within easy walking distance. Helpful staff on reception. No noise at night from the club house -reasonable drink prices. Will use this site again highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TheTurnbulls4 1 review from this member

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Ord House and certainly won't be our last. We stayed (2 families 7 in total) the Bank Holiday weekend for 3 nights, but were having such a good time we stayed an extra night.
What can I say, we think this site is fantastic, well maintained, good Manor House should you want to use it, play area for the kids and good food. The park area for the children is great and the whole site is very safe.
Staff all very helpful and friendly. The one thing we look for when camping, especially with children is the standard of the toilet / shower facilities, well what can I say fantastic, hats off to the cleaner she does a excellent job and is very friendly both me and my sister in law often chatted to her when we were in. She is definitely one in a million and deserve a big Bonus.
This site is a little more expensive than most but once you have been you will understand why. Will certainly be back this year. Keep up the good work.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019