Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Raeburns 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Ord House for a week at the end of July. We had a lovely holiday in Northumberland. Berwick is a nice town but once you've been in and spent a day there, that's pretty much it. We spent most of the time down the coast at Holy Island, Bamburgh and Seabouses - its absolutely stunning down there.

From the description of the caravan site I thought that there was going to be lots of space and open areas with it being set in a country park, but I was wrong. Every area is allocated to either statics (250 of them) or touring/tent pitches. The playpark is lovely and there is a large playing pitch for kids playing football, and the grounds are lovely and well maintained. But no open spaces apart from that.

The newly opened shop on site is fantastic and very well priced for all camping and caravanning needs.

The clubhouse is good - good food and drink and a small indoor soft play corner for the kids which keeps them happy while dining.

The main stumbling block we had with the site was the noise. Up until 10pm at the weekend sounds like a youth club outside your caravan, we travelled with two younger children who were in bed by 8-9pm and we then look to chill out with some vino but the noise level up until curfew doesn't allow for a relaxing evening! It is very different during the week, nice and quiet but our holiday spanned two weekends and it certainly seemed very noisy both weekends we were there. The wardens do seem to be on the ball enforcing noise after 10pm though.

All in all a lovely holiday, but Ord House just wasn't for us.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hull tiger 6 reviews from this member

I can only agree with others posts about this site is set up for caravanners with children in mind lots for the kids great. This site has a lot of resident tourers pitched & only has limited areas for touring caravanners now. Lots of static caravans with residents ,who were not very friendly towards us touring caravanners & kids.

We had a pitch next to statics, like others were. 1st morning we woke to building work starting on statics 08.00 - 21.00 without any notice given, could not be moved to another pitch site was fully booked.

Toilet block not 4 or 5 star standard, door locks broken, toilets leaking one day & flooded the next. Security an issue on this site, no barrier on entrance, anyone can come & go 24 hours a day unchallenged by staff.

Safety for children on this site, lots of families & children left un supervised riding around the site roads.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

This site goes straight into the top five of our favourites!

We booked in enclosure D which has super pitches separated by hedges, plenty of space and your own grass area, the other pitches looked a bit tight. There was some noise from the playground but being a sunny weekend in July - that's what you get. The staff did clear all the kids off to bed about 10pm which is an indication of how good they are!

The facilities are the best and cleanest we have ever seen - probably due to the 5 deposit key system for the loo's, which as we all know can be a pain but if its a price to pay for the cleanliness its worth it.

The site is kept very well has a good accessory shop, excellent bar, facilities for kids are great, brilliant playground and an indoor one in the bar. Shop on site is only basics but there's a good local one at the gate.

It is a fairly small site mainly statics but they do get all you need fitted in, including a neat dog walk around the perimeter.

Its all kept to a very high standard.

Berwick is walkable, albeit down busy roads, its a nice enough place but a little down trodden. We found the beach at Spittal which is a 25 min walk, and is well worth it, nice beach and a cafe.

We usually use public transport and leave the van parked up, but this is a challenge here, there is a local bus outside the gate but most options go from Berwick, so we used the van as transport.

You must got to Bambugh - lovely place and the beach is out of this world!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harton 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here on pitch number 1 for the weekend. Me the wife and our 5 year old in an adventureridge 6 man tent.

Our pitch was next to the immaculate toilet block on fairly level ground with loads of room.

The children's facilities were great. A football field,playground,crazy golf and giant chess board.

The clubhouse was also good for food and a family disco / karaoke on the saturday night.

We paid 47 for two nights which was probably just about worth it for the facilities on offer.

The weekend was a great success and we would return.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LordG 3 reviews from this member

Loved this site, we had a great hedge-lined pitch easily large enough for our Hartford XL, with electric hook up.

Tent pitches are close to small football pitch and new-looking park and crazy golf, so kids were happy.

Toilet and shower facilities clean, well maintained and close by.

Excellent camping equipment shop on site with small games room, newsagents for basic provisions across road from entrance, supermarket five minutes away.

On site bar with reasonably priced drinks.

This is mainly a site for statics and tourers, tents are definitely in the minority, but staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Northumberland coast and attractions all within a short drive.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Len barson 29 reviews from this member

Just the two of us, but were never too overwhelmed by children or dogs.

Full site, but facilities always coped (showers were a bit cool at certain times am) and were generally of a good standard.

I do, however, think it is too expensive for those not requiring children's facilities etc.

Staff extremely helpful.

Knock us a couple of quid off per night and we'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wsseaman 65 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 nights here on a tourer 'super' pitch, which has electric hook up, water and tv aerial. Pitch fees worked out at 32.00 per night which included pitch, awning, 2 adults and 2 dogs, which we felt were high but it was over a bank holiday weekend.

The touring pitches are v.Generous, almost square in size but the gang-way isn't very wide which meant more manoeuvring than usual to get into the pitch. Pitches are bordered either side by large mature hedging and are situated nearest the road but a high wall around most of the perimeter of the camp site ensures minimum road noise and a secluded, reasonably quiet spot.

There is a newly-opened shop on site but it is primarily a camping shop (albeit very comprehensively stocked) so you'll still have to visit the small village shop directly opposite the camp site for your daily newspaper.

The camp site itself is very nicely kept with large areas left to encourage wildlife, a large children's play area, club house and a large grassed area for football. There is a dog walk around the perimeter of the site which takes approx half an hour to complete but it would have been nice to have had an enclosed dog exercise area, given the amount of room dedicated to wildlife/wild planting.

There is an open grassed village green just five mins down the road but it is very open and unfortunately wasn't suited to my dog's inquisitive nature. The town of Berwick is an easy walk of approx 25 mins and is a good base for exploring Northumberland, with Lindisfarne only ten mins drive away and Alnwick only 30 miles away.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful too.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stokesy71 1 review from this member

Site was immaculate, couldn't fault it! Staff all very friendly & helpful, guy in camp shop so trusting & friendly & helpful, we bought a table off him, we weren't sure it would fit, he told us to take it with us and if it ok pay him when we pass!

Play area for kids was fab, great for young & older kids, great funky crazy golf next to play area, lots of nice seating areas scattered all over the park! Lovely dog walk around outskirts of site!

We stayed in Old Orchard D area which was lovely & sheltered from any windsm also they had fully serviced pitches here including a connection for satellite tv & normal tv. We hired a cable off reception 20 deposit which you get back when you leave which was great!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

Superb site. Clean, well organised, great facilities & good location. Staff really friendly. Site rules re noise etc well-observed by guests when we were there.

Food very good in club house & reasonably priced. Only disappointment was that we couldn't get a TV signal on either digital or analogue & the children's playground was out of action due to mud. Will definitely revisit. A+++++

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camptastic007 1 review from this member

Ord house is a fabulous campsite where me, my husband, my two children (11 and 7) and dog stayed for 4 nights. There was friendly staff, well sheltered pitches, immaculately clean facilities, big fun safe play ground, brilliant crazy golf and very cheap prices and the newly opened shop- which sells everything!

The weather was lovely even though we went in the beginning of April. I recommend going in the spring or summer due to all the outdoor activities which would not be as enjoyable in bad weather.

There are many attractions near by which both me and my family thoroughly enjoyed such as all the wonderful castles, Alnwick gardens, Craster, Lidis Farne, beaches and lots more. There is also a sainsburys a morrisons and an m&s which are all good quality and are very near the campsite. They are not huge but they arnt small either.

I rate ord house 9/10 the things letting it slip is the food served at the pub which isn't bad but isn't wow.

One of the best camps I've ever had because of the attractions the location it is really safe for small kids and even though it blew a gail on the beaches we were very very sheltered on site. Not the first site I'd recommend but it would be on the list somewhere.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1328 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019