Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbie65 27 reviews from this member

We are just back today after a 6 night stay at the brilliant Ord House with our touring caravan. We were lucky to have a serviced pitch in the area of the park called the Orchard - if you are booking then it is worth asking if a pitch there is available - lovely secluded and spacious pitches with a great grassy area at the back for use by the vans - a real sheltered sun trap, we caught the sun right up until about 8pm and could sit out on our chairs on the grassy area. If you've got children (our 2 aged 11 and 13 were with us) then this area is perfect; secluded but near enough to the park. Some of the other pitches for tourers on the site looked a wee bit cramped and haphazard.

Here are the things that really make this site special:

Beautiful grounds: well maintained, brilliant for bike rides, a great walk for dogs or humans around the perimeter of this park. Fantastic playpark for the kids including giant table tennis, crazy golf etc. Bring your own bats, golf clubs etc if you can.

Great location: just outside Berwick Upon Tweed, 2 min drive from a Tesco, 5 min from Morrisons, 10 mins from Asda. Great base for touring and visiting this particular area of Northumberland. We went to Alnwick Castle, Bambrough, Holy Isle, etc and enjoyed it all (Alnwick is VERY expensive in our opinion though - an eye watering 65 for 2 adults and 2 children to enter the Castle and the Gardens).

Nice wee bar with pool, soft play area etc on site, not too busy and reasonable prices for the drinks - food is ok, nothing special, if you want a really nice bar meal try the Salmon Inn about 10 minute walk away from the site into East Ord, booking essential but lovely food.

Couple of things that could be improved upon to make this site totally amazing:

Loos and showers are a real hike from the Orchard area and are a bit dated although very clean - never had to queue for a shower and the water was always hot - showers are the old push button type (grr, my personal hate)but they were adequate. You pay a 10 returnable deposit for 1 loo key which is a bit of a scutter - sharing 1 loo key between 4 is a nuisance. I think that they should just do away with the keys for the loos and showers, there are barriers to the park to stop random people coming in and I've seen the 'open door' option work so well at loads of other sites so not sure why they still insist on locked loos and showers - a bit of a palaver. One really good thing about the loos and showers is that they did not close for an hour or so every day for cleaning, the cleaner was in and out at regular intervals during the day. Found this to be really a good idea. They could do with a bit of an upgrade though and are a wee bit dated.

All in all a fantastic site though, despite the wee niggles we have already booked to go back there next summer on the same pitch, so I guess that speaks for itself. Totally recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Farrer 7 reviews from this member

Brilliant brilliant brilliant. Kids had a Great time, toilets/showers very clean. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here highly recommended. I fact the children keep asking when they can go back I think it was the huge playpark that made it for them hours of endless fun! We will definitely returning. Wardens always visible even late t night patrolling stopping any unwanted behaviour. Sandpit and big recreational field. Even though the site is large it didn't appear congested.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

Just back from what can only be described as 'a fantastic site'! Strange to mention the toilet block first but these are the cleanest touring park toilets ever, the only criticism if you like are the fact that they are the old push button type and the temperature is dial set individually so you have to watch that the dial is not set super hot/cold or you could be in for a shock!

There is a quite large field for football (could easily be cut in half to provide a pool which would benefit this site no end) and a children's adventure play area that is well maintained both of which the wardens empty of children at a reasonable time. There is also a 9 hole crazy golf and table tennis table to use for a small fee.

The on site shop is mainly for accessories but does a small selection of food also, forgetting to mention that the reception staff are a friendly bunch too. The club serves a fantastic array of food and all reasonably priced the only complaint I heard was some man not having veg with his steak but it does not say veg comes with the steak so read the menu before you order, most things appear to be available as extras anyway.

There is a soft play area for youngsters and a games room for families and for real ale drinkers there are 3 real ales available (though down in Berwick there is a pub on bridge street called the barrels which is a real ale heaven). Tesco is a 20 min walk away ant the town is 40 min stroll (check out the great wall take away and they deliver to site for 2). Just down the road is The Swallow which is a charming pub but pricey on food but plenty of local ales and a children's play area to the side of pub make it worth a visit.

Plenty of things to do within a 20 mile radius but unfortunately you do need a car to get around so if you do not mind the driving this is an ideal site (all except the pool)!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy_I 1 review from this member

Fifth time here and the standard remains as we found on our first visit, absolutely excellent!

Toilet blocks are always immaculate and diligently cleaned. The dog walk around the perimeter is first class and the site is a great base for visiting Northumberland and the Borders, we don't use the club but facilities there look fine.

The nearby Cocklawburn Beach is a great favourite of ours, no facilities but miles of great beach and interesting rock formations

We'll be back again next year,

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sargie 2 reviews from this member

Highly recommend this site, we've stayed here 3 times now and enjoyed each visit. Our children are both under 5 and the park and play areas are great for their ages. The meals in the bar area are fine, but very reasonably priced. The site itself is lovely, touring area well spaced and we have met some nice people on site. We even looked into booking a seasonal pitch for the winter here. Will be returning this year.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site on the run up to, and after the new year. Really nice site. Great bar and children's play area and food served (Not doggy friendly), but there is a little pub 5 mins walk where dogs are welcome.

The site itself is great for just about everybody. Great dog walk, playground for youngsters and nice bar. Amenities spot on. Price ok. Staff friendly and helpful.

Local area is good, very handy for berwick and spittal, we walked there, 2 miles approx

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ukblueuk 9 reviews from this member

Extremely clean site which is more geared towards static caravans and seasonal pitches. We were pitched in the 'orchard' area which was nice and enclosed which was fine as there were only a couple of tourers on, if the site was full I wouldn't be so keen on the area. Was quite a walk to the toilet/showers, which were immaculate. Nice pleasant quite a long dog walk. Nice dog friendly pub just a few minutes walk from the site. Bar on site but did not try as no dogs are allowed. Quite a walk into Berwick. Not much near site apart from the pub mentioned earlier. Staff pleasant and helpful. Cleanest toilet facilities ever but marked them down for the distance to them

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dieseldonkey 5 reviews from this member

This is the third 'Best of British' site we have stayed at this year. Picked this one as the other two were both excellent. This site is well placed to visit local attractions. Chain Bridge Honey Farm, Heatherslaw Railway, Ford, Etal, Bamburgh, Lindisfarne are all worth a visit.

The site is ideal for kids. We asked for a pitch close to the play park, and were given a pitch near by. It was also in one of the more open parts's of the site, area 'C'. However the site was very quite with many of the tourers permanently sited but unoccupied at the time we visited.

Toilets and showers were immaculate. The shop is well stocked with camping equipment but a bit sparse on groceries. However there is a small corner shop outside the main gate and a Tesco's 2 minutes drive away.

The only real complaints are the cost. 27. 50 a night for a caravan/porch awning with two adults and a child is a bit steep. Especially as that wasn't for a fully serviced pitch and we only had EHU and secondly, it was a bit of a trek to get water. However we did get to stay on the pitch beyond the mid day departure time for a few hours without being charged, which was nice.

Very close to the A1 so would make a good stop off site for cross border campers. Good TV reception too and child friendly.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sushutch 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Ord House which was recommended to us.

We are a couple who love peace and tranquillity on our weekends and this site fits the bill. However, it is important to note that we are located within the Orchard, which is a secluded part of the site within a walled garden, with little hedges in between units for extra privacy. FAB Touch.

The site is geared up for families as well, with what looked like a fab play area, with children also able to ride their little bikes and scooters safely. Whilst my children are grown up I do like to think that sites cater for families and this one certainly does without it being obtrusive. Children need to have fun and enjoy holidays and I guess this is where they can come. There is a massive adventure play ground with tree houses etc. I didn't really take much notice but there were kids playing who seemed to be having fun.

We visited on what seemed a quiet part of the season, and after a week of torrential rain many people probably didn't relish caravanning.

I can imagine it being a very busy tight in the height of the season.

Anyway, we hit lucky as the sun shone during our visit so we were able to walk, quite comfortably and enjoy a stroll into Berwick which took about half an hour. There are buses from outside the site and a reasonable tesco down the road where the buses are more frequent I believe. Nice little shops in Berwick although its a shame as there were some empty shop units as well. Lots of shops and cafes were dog friendly.

AMENITIES

DOG WALK - fabuolous for owners of caravans and dog owners. The walk is like walking though woods and an orchard right round the site. This is a fab idea as you don't have to walk past anyones caravan to reach it, you can get to it from any point on the site. There are plenty of dog bins at frequent points around So all in all you don't have to bother people who are not dog lovers and you don't have to be bothered by dogs if your not a dog lover. We are and we loved it.

TOILETS /SHOWERS

Although a little dated in that the shower is a push button and situated quite high on the wall so not so powerful, the water was always hot, the showers are in a separate room from the loos so always smell fresh and are extremely clean. The toilets are immaculate too, warm, hot water for handwashing, baby changing bench etc and I believe there is a family room so this means that if you have children you don't feel you are intruding on people who are not so keen on being bothered by children in the facilities. There was always a radio on which is a nice touch, sorry to the people who have to listen to me singing whilst in the shower!

There is a washing up area too which is inside and very clean and warm.

There are a few water points around the site - we were on a service pitch so this wasn't a problem for us.

Previous reviews mention the tv signal - we have satellite dish and had no problem getting signal and were among trees.

Camping shop on site - very well stocked with absolutely everything you would ever need if you run out of anything, reasonably priced.

Tourist information room which is well stocked with up to date info PLUS, for those dog walkers among us, free poop scoops.

Reception was closed when we arrived but the night warden service was extremely efficient and the security on the site second to none.

We didn't go into the pub as we like our own company but it looked nice.

Reception was open early on a morning and staff were very helpful.

What more can I say? Other than we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MJE1 4 reviews from this member

Ord House is a very large caravan and camping site with lots of static caravans.

The facilities were very good and the park was very big, but we found that lots of teenagers were bouncing on the climbing fames and swings which are designed for younger children while we were there.

The caravans where we were placed were very close together so it was lucky we didn't have an awning or we would have had even less space, we had to drive on the grass to get to our caravan as it was pitched in between caravans and trees at the back so we had a bit of a struggle getting in and out.

The position of the site is great, within walking distance into Berwick-upon-Tweed and the surrounding area is beautiful, with Edinburgh only about 55 miles away. There are lots of lovely beaches nearby such as Spittal and Scremington.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019