Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 126 Reviews
                9/10 from 126 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Easy to find the site, nice friendly welcome with all the local information I needed. Our pitch was in a small cul-de-sac with maybe 10 pitches in total each separated by hedges.

The site is big but wasn't very busy when we were there. The shower block and toilets are the best I've ever been in, it also has a family room which has a bath.

The grounds are kept immaculate. About 30 min walk into the delightful town of Berwick. Walked along the walls, down the river to what's left of the castle and sampled a few Beers. The market on Wednesday was small and disappointing.

Nearer to the site is the child and dog friendly Salmon Inn Pub at East Ord, a 5 minute walk left out of the main gate.

Landlord and locals very friendly and talkative plus the ale was lovely. They do food but we didn't have any.

The site was a bit more expensive than we normally go for but it was well worth it.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Magore 1 review from this member

We stayed here in our campervan for a number of nights on our visit to Northumbria. The campsite was very well kept and all the staff were very helpful.

The facilities were excellent. I loved the family room with an actual bath and large shower. Having the bar and restaurant on site was very handy.

The site was really well placed for visiting many attractions in Northumbria. It is an easy short walk to Tesco Superstore for provisions. It is near enough to walk in to Berwick upon Tweed too, so we didn't have to move the campervan or worry about parking. We enjoyed a visit to the Food and Beer Festival in the town.

We could highly recommend this site and use it again on a further visit to the area.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

No smile on arrival and very business like. Receptionist pulled it around and eventually became helpful but this should be automatic! It was a country park at one time but is a big estate now. Very well kept. Very good shower facilities. Nice restaurants on site with good value and tasty meals. Barmaid very friendly.

Half an hour walk into Berwick upon Tweed. Uphill going back so hopped into a taxi fir a fiver. Too big a site for me but others with children might enjoy the facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikethebike1127 5 reviews from this member

Site is immaculate with level gravel pitches so screw in pegs are required if you have an awning. Toilets/ showers/ dish washing facilities are the most modern and cleanest I've come across on any site. It has it's own bar with well priced drinks which serves food - we never ate there but the plates of food we saw looked nice. Mostly statics hence a very quite site.

Great base for exploring that part of the country. Will definitely use again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hud1 11 reviews from this member

Good base to explore Berwick and the Scottish Borders. Park caters mainly for statics but touring pitches are a decent size and level.

Park is dog friendly with a dog walk around perimeter.

Tesco and Morrisons both close by.

Berwick is easily accessible, if you have your 4 legged friend with you in Berwick 2 dog friendly pubs to look out for- The Barrels Alehouse(Bridge St. ) and The Brown Bear (Hide Hill)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Klavertjes 5 reviews from this member

Quiet campsite in a good location, we stayed here for one week with our folding camper. Had a good pitch near the playing field, toilets and showers/washing up area nearby. Touring is a bit of an underdog at this park, since there are a huge amount of privately owned static caravans.

Toilets and showers usually very clean. The key, for which you had to leave a deposit of 10 pounds to enter the facilities, was sometimes bit annoying, since you always had to wait for the other to come back, or to open the door to the ladies before going to the mens.

Went to the clubhouse/pub for a drink a few times, and a meal on our last night. Friendly service, and not too expensive.

Wifi near clubhouse ok, signal not good enough at the pitch. Not too bad, since it was free.

Great location for: Berwick upon Tweed, nice city, interesting walk possible on the city walls; walking the coastal path; a visit to Alnwick Castle and Holy Island.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ron22 20 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site as we wanted to explore Berwick and do some walking. The site is huge and mainly statics but with pockets dotted around the site for tourers, all with full services. The site is immaculate and even in February all the flower beds were planted up. The facilities are excellent and there is a superb, modern children's playground. It took about 20 - 25 minutes to walk into Berwick which is worth exploring once off the main street.

We didn't visit the on site bar but the Salmon Inn in the village (5 minutes walk) is superb. Do not be put off by its present tired appearance inside, the welcome is brilliant and the food superb. They do a seniors special 2 or 3 course lunch on Thursdays, very good value. They also have an ever changing variety of real ales. This pub is dog friendl and the log fire is very inviting on a cold night.

There is a 2 hour bus service from the gate to Galashiels which goes all the way through the borders and another 2 hour service a 10 minute walk from the gate to Wooler. (turn right outside the gate and walk to the T junction) This is a spectacular journey to this delightful market town with plenty of refreshment stops.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

Visited for a weekend at the end of January for a chance to walk some of the Northumberland coastal trail. The park is BIG with a lot of statics and seasonal pitches. We were given free reign to pick wherever we wanted to pitch up and chose area D which was quiet and secluded. The pitches separated by hedges and with own water and drainage.

Toilet block was immaculate and had a bath for a change wi plenty hot water. Staff wee helpful and the area is brilliant for walking and visiting castles etc.

Will return to the area later in the year however might use a different site as we suspect this one will get busy. It was quiet due to he time of year but quite a few pods and good play areas for kids means loads of kids around in the summer months. Good for families with young children.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lochinvar23 13 reviews from this member

Site easy to get to, sited just of the A1. Berwick is a twenty minute walk away and a Tesco just two minutes from park. Staff are very friendly and clearly maintain the very high standards. Excellent play area for kids and dog walk encircles the park Toilet block is spotless and has laundry etc. Quality club house which serves lovely meals, soft play area for kids

A first class park which provides a relaxing holiday experience.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AhgdP 8 reviews from this member

It took a while to 'check in' here; we arrived just after reception had closed and had to find the elusive 'red button' to call the warden. He finally showed up ten minutes later and other than showing us our pitch he seemed solely focused on getting another £10 from us after which he left us to it, without giving us any further information about the site. We were given one of the D pitches which was in the old Orchard area; this was perfect as motorhomes were definitely in the minority in this site used predominantly by static caravans. The ground was not level but this was easily rectified with blocks under our wheels. We were very close to the play area which the children seemed to enjoy.

A while later, a lady turned up with some information booklets which we were apparently supposed to have been given! As it was getting late for the children, we decided to eat at Maguires' which despite its less than salubrious appearance afforded a reasonably priced, decent quality and plentiful meal. We were pleasantly surprised.

We were thrilled to find spotless baths, as well as showers, in the wash areas and we certainly enjoyed this luxury although in terms of decor, the area was certainly rather dated.

Although wifi was 'free' we found just one tiny spot where it could be accessed!

Berwick is a short drive away and although a little run down, is certainly worth a peruse due to its interesting historical context. For fantastic cheap, fresh fish, visit the harbour; the lobster is more than fresh, being alive and awaiting your selection! The following day, having driven to Beal, we cycled over to Lindisfarne and had a fantastic day on the island.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019