Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ord House Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Ord House Country Park Reviews

Ord House Country Park
East Ord
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2NS
Tel: 01289 305288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 127 Reviews
                9/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppyca 1 review from this member

We booked this site because our kids wanted a site with a playground. The playground was excellent and kept the kids entertained.

Toilets/showers were always clean, well done to those cleaners! and there was always hot water.

We were in a tent and now, due to the glamping pods (which are tiny sheds with beds), there are only 3 tent pitches which are well worn and stuck behind the toilet block.

I think they should either add more tent pitches or not have any at all because the very limited places to pitch did mean the ground directly outside the tent was either yellow grass or mud when it rained.

We did have electric hookup which we didn't use.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millymoo6 2 reviews from this member

Ord house is a well maintained caravan site, it is in a good location with plenty to do in the area, there are supermarkets close by, the toilets are clean and have baths which is great for small children.

My son enjoyed the playground, riding around on his bike and playing football.

However, if you like camping this may not be the site for you, there are only 3 pitches which are located by the side of the toilet block on the outskirts of the site, I always felt I was camping on a caravan site and so for me it didn't have the atmosphere and camaradarie of a camp site.

In place of pitches the owners have erected 'glamping pods' which are small garden sheds with two bunk beds at the end and two camping beds at the side - that's it! these 'pods' cost twice as much as a pitch which could explain why the owners have put them up, I feel this is detrimental and ruins what is otherwise a good site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinkerbell012 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from two nights spent at Ord House. Overall, this site has excellent facilities, although geared towards families, so from that point of view was not an ideal choice for us, being a couple in our sixties. The kids were still running around the site playing hide and seek around the vans at 11 pm!

The shower and toilet blocks are immaculate, probably due to the 10 key deposit required to operate the locks and the site barriers!

This site is huge, with lots of seasonal pitches as well as statics and holiday homes. The only slight niggle we had was that the person opposite us with a seasonal pitch thought it was alright to park next to our van in space we had paid for, and would have been where we would have put our table and chairs if given the opportunity! I mentioned it at reception as we left, and they agreed that this was not on, and said they would have a quiet word. If you have booked pitch A04, you will have no problem getting in and out, but it. 's quite near the play area.

Sunday lunch on site was excellent. There is also a lovely garden centre. Just through the village. You can get the bus to town from outside the site, or more frequently from Tesco, a ten minute walk away.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyandjanew 4 reviews from this member

This site came highly recommended and rightly so. We were sighted on the orchard which is superb,

The pitches are all hardstanding slightly sloping so remember your ramps. All these pitches are fully serviced however the TV connection is a bit strange as in you need a female connector.

The site has an excellent pub/restaurant and just down the road is the salmon inn. A very welcoming village pub with a good selection of beer and wine ( they also let the dog in the bar)

The site was full on our stay but the toilet and showers were immaculate all the time all in all a great stay. We will go back soon

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimrobo 2 reviews from this member

On paper this should have been an ideal site but the reality did not match the hype. We were allocated a very dark pitch and despite only using up the allocated pitch space we were charged extra for an awning. We were unable to get a TV reception and were told that this was the norm but many others on the site did not have this problem. The pitch was a long way from the toilet block which we could not get into sometimes as the key they gave us would not often work first time in the lock. In the ladies one shower was unable to be used as the door would not close at all and the tap pressure went down even if only one person was having a shower.

This site had good facilities for children and dogs providing you paid for them and also they inwardly digested some of the 98 or so rules ( a list so long even the subsections had subsections). I would not stay at this site again, I found the price very expensive for what was on offer

Management response: The pitch jimrobo was allocated is quite shaded but this is always explained on booking. There is a standard charge for an awning and this is hardly uncommon. TV reception in the area he was in is poor that is why we have tv points at all the pitches in that area, all Jimrobo had to do was ask and we would have provided a cable. Any faulty locks, keys etc are repaired or replaced when we are informed or if we find fault on our own checks. This customer did not once come to the reception to air his complaints and allow us to address them.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skyeplusfour 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Ord House. It was our first visit in our large tunnel tent with our 3 children and dog.

The site was immaculate with perfectly manicured lawns and beautiful flower beds dotted around the site. The toilets were cleaned regularly and showers were excellent (and free!).

The site is mainly taken up with static caravans with some tourers nearer to the reception area. The tent area is basically a slightly sloping grass area (next to the toilet block) and is big enough for 3 tents, we had enough space for our large tent, car and small trailer.

The adventure style playground is excellent for younger children and the crazy golf was popular with our kids also.

There is an excellent camping shop on site which sold all manner of camping equipment and seemed reasonably priced, the bar in the manor house looked very nice although we didn't have the opportunity to try it.

The dog walk around the perimeter of the site was great and was enjoyed several times by our border collie!

The site is conveniently situated near to 2 supermarkets and a pub within a 10 minute walk. Berwick and Spittal beach are a short car journey away.

Overall we found Ord Gouse to be an excellent site and would recommend it to others.

The only bad points were:

1. The noisy door on the toilet block which slammed shut whenever anyone entered or exited, this was annoying and could easily be rectified by fitting a closing mechanism.

2. The lack of a shop on site selling essentials like bread, milk etc (although there was a shop within a 2 minute walk from the entrance).

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonia12 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in the Easter school holidays.

We spent a lot of time choosing a site and were not disappointed. Ord House is an immaculate site, we were pitched in area D and the pitches were very spacious and private with plenty sunlight despite walled surrounding and trees.

Pitches were very tight to reverse into when fully occupied.

Toilet block was very clean and plenty cubicles and hot water. Everyone is given a key to access toilets and washing up areas. The only negative was that locks were very difficult for children to use.

Bar/restaurant was very nice with reasonably priced food and drink. Pool tables great for kids and a soft play area for younger kids.

Play area and football pitch super.

Shop was great for caravan accessories and Tescos was close by for everything else.

Berwick town was surprisingly better than expected for shops and restaurants.

Surrounding area was great with golf at Haggerston Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Lindesfarne, Alnwick nearby.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: R_gelder 2 reviews from this member

The family and I visited this excellent site for a week in the Easter break having read the reviews on this site and deciding that Northumberland had plenty to offer us in terms of places of interest. I can honestly say that we weren't disappointed with anything about this site (or the holiday).

Upon arrival we were efficiently dealt with by reception and given directions to our pitch on field 'D' (the old orchard). After pitching up we set about exploring the site. This pitch was by far the largest we have experienced and although it did suffer slightly from being next to the waste water point and bins for the field we were never unduly bothered by either noise or smell.

The kids made short work of exploring the nearby playground and crazy golf course and thought that this was fantastic - mum and dad didn't mind it either as it gave us 'quiet time' to enjoy catching up on our reading and enjoying the odd glass of wine.

Everything which has been written about the toilet block is as described - spotlessly clean and well equipped including free hair dryers in both the male, female and family shower blocks. The water pressure was a bit of an issue on a number of occasions where people in the 'other' family bathroom were running baths but patience as ever is a virtue and water was soon restored. The family bathrooms were superb and the twin shower with separate bath were well tested on a number of occasions.

We only visited the club house on one occasion - Easter Sunday lunch. The menu was limited to a Sunday lunch for our visit but during the rest of the week usual pub fair is available at very reasonable prices. The standard of food and speed of service was good. Drinks were reasonably priced and the children's soft play area in the family room was again tried and tested by the children who thought it was ok.

The on-site caravan shop looked well stocked but we didn't need to replenish anything so didn't visit it this time. Food shopping is more than covered with all major supermarkets very close - Tesco (3mins), Asda (4mins), Morrisons (5mins) and Sainsburys (15mins).

Overall would highly recommend this site and will be looking to return again in the future although at 180miles towing distance we will need to restrict this to longer school holidays.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meg6 2 reviews from this member

This is a superb site, which my family and I thoroughly enjoyed. The touring caravan pitches were spacious and very well maintained, but don't forget your rock pegs if you choose a hardstanding. The toilets/shower block and the site in general were immaculate. The kids' play park was excellent(a lot better than the limited offerings at the CCC sites we've been to so far) and there's as a neat crazy golf course and a footie pitch complete with 5-a-side sized nets which my sons loved. There is a fantastic on-site clubhouse with bar, family lounge and small soft play facility for tots. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The on-site caravan shop was well stocked and the proprietor very helpful.

It is quite a large site, with many static caravans, so I'd imagine it will get very busy in high season.

I was also pleasantly surprised by Berwick-upon-Tweed itself which I always remember as a kid (albeit 30 years ago) seemed pretty grim. It now has a good range of shops and pubs to match the terrific coastline and countryside that the town is set in. We will definitely return for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailk 18 reviews from this member

This site is only around 15 miles away from home, and we only really went there as we were having a new bathroom fitted, so fancied a trip away from the mess!

When OH phoned to book, on the morning of the day we wanted to arrive, the staff were really helpful and we were allocated to the 'secluded & quiet' area - The Orchard - section D.

Check in was fine, although we were told to reverse onto our pitch, which proved a problem. There wasn't the space to go forward due to a wall, and as the pitch opposite was occupied we had no 'swing' to get on. Top Tip - if you're going for section D, try to avoid pitch 12 and 6 which are at the end of the row, it's too tight to reverse in. The others are lovely, separated by a hedge so very private.

Aside from this, the pitches were spacious, with water, waste, EHU and tv aerial socket.

The toilet block was spotless with showers & a bath. They also had a separate family bathroom which seemed very well equiped. There is a playpark for the kids and also a club house.

We went for a couple of drinks there, and had a lovely Sunday lunch.

Ord House isn't the type of site we would usually go for, it's very geared for children (we're a couple with a dog!) and we don't usually go for clubhouse type sites. But it was superb, the staff were outstandingly friendly, from the bar staff to the reception staff, really good and the facilities were great. The only slight negative for us is that the price includes 4 people, so in high season it will be quite expensive for us. It hasn't put us off though - we've booked to go again :-)

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019