Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 29 reviews from this member

 The good points-well kept grass and nice location. We thought it looked great when we arrived

We had booked for a week but left after one night

Despite the boast of non regimented sites, we were told to go where we liked on arrival. Came back from a nice trip out to Lavenham in our car to find the owner waiting for us and wanting us to move in case he had a large group come in. His suggestion of an alternative position was not nearly as nice but he did not want us to move until the next morning in case someone else wanted it. He also wanted to have the right to get the van moved again during the week

We will not be back- we feel very let down and had great difficulty finding another site 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muppetdave 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site!

We decided to pop over to Brighthouse Farm for two nights to let the mother-in-law try her hand at camping, and having read lots of very positive reviews decided this was the place to go.

On arrival we were met by Odell, who was most helpful. As the season is dying out, there were only a handful of other campers, so there were plenty of spots on the site to choose from. Odell took us around all of the facilities to show us where everything was and to help select a pitch. We went on what I assume to be a newer field facing with younger trees, the open fields and stunning panoramic views over the Suffolk countryside.

It was nice to be able to select our spot totally at will, rather than having prescribed pitches.

The facilities were ok, and generally clean. Whilst I wouldn't call them dirty, they perhaps could have a little more love lavished on them, in particular the washing up area. I did get the impression though that Odell really cares for his campsite and I'd hope to see improvements in those areas in the near future.

As others have stated, Odell is full of information. As we only visited for two nights we had everything we needed, but we saw plenty of people wandering across the fields to the local shop. The walks around the fields were lovely though and a nice bonus for the dog! We popped to Bury St Edmunds which is well worth a visit - in particular the Abbey Gardens which were beautiful.

All in all, this is a very pleasant site to visit, great value for money and we hope to go back next year for another weekend away. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rainbowwitch 3 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd visit to this campsite, we love the openness of the site, Odell is a lovely bloke always cheerful. When we arrived we were told to just set up where we wanted, no regimented places here. The toilets/showers could do with a little update, but for camping they work fine. Price was very reasonable too 23.00 for two nights for 3 adults and a child, bargain. Lovely huge fields to walk around, Everything you need shop a small walk away. A Great place to stay, will be back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shajan 4 reviews from this member

 A last minute invite from friends meant we turned up for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend here. The site grounds are lovely, the space and freedom to set up worked well for us as we pitched next to our friends with wonderful views over the fields. And, as per previous reviews, Odell was absolutely lovely and kind and very helpful. It was just a shame that there were so many unruly, noisy kids and also one of the caravans playing loud music until the wee small hours that was incredibly disturbing.

We usually choose adult only sites as we have no kids, so it came as a bit of a shock when you realise how much mess people seem happy to leave the showers and toilets in. We worked out the first morning that Odell cleans the toilet and showers about half 6 so we made it to them early but by the end of the day they were not so nice.

The sink area was also in need of a good deep clean.

We paid 10 per night and then another 1 each for showers.

We won't go back to this site as we much prefer the peace and tidiness of adults only but I am sure it works better for families. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billandjules 1 review from this member

 We tried out this site after reading the reviews, and were not disappointed, we arrived on site and were shown various spaces by Odell, as we were trying out our new tent for the first time we picked a nice corner spot. The site is laid out interspersed with trees which give it character, much better than just an open field. Also your not all lined up side by side and too close to each another. The wet rooms were great with lots of hot water, there were also separate showers for men and woman. Toilets were adequate and a separate washing up area was very handy, with freezer for ice packs etc. Local shop was a nice walk away. All in all a lovely campsite well run and friendly. Our Grandchildren and (our dog) can't wait to go back again a make new friends. We will definitely use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doris 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 day weekend with friends to this site. What a little gem of a site. Beautiful views across the Suffolk countryside.

Plenty of space for the kids to play and a nice little walk through the specially trimmed filed to the local shop & playground - the kids loved this. We had 4 kids aged from 2-13 and all were happy.

The showers were fine - I used both and preferred the wet room at 50p as you felt as though you'd had a proper shower as you get soaked - make sure you hang all your things on the back of the door, otherwise everything gets wet. I would recommend the use of flip flops too.

As the shower blocks are straight off the camp field there can be quite a bit of grass/mud on the floors - but there are mops for cleaning the showers before & after use, which is fine and very useful I found.

There is a big ice-cream freezer available in the washing up room for ice packs etc. The was room could do with an up date and there are only 2 sinks -but saying that I never had to wait for a sink.

Odell & his family are lovely and nothing is too much trouble, Odell is a mind of useful local information.

I would recommend a trip into Bury st. Edmunds as it's a really lovely little town and the abbey gardens and ruin are a lovely walk.

I will definitely return to this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

 It was lovely to be able to arrive late at the site and know that our booking was safe. Odele was a great host with a lovely relaxed attitude.

We chose a space overlooking the fields which was a great view but the disadvantage of being quite far from the toilet block, which I was pleased to see had plenty of toilet roll, liquid soap and hand dryer.

The other disadvantage of the non-divided fields is that everyone can see what you are up to and the noise of the kids travelled (our mistake for going during the school holidays). 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loader22001 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a wonderful weekend at this site, even the good old British weather could not put us off,

Lovely reception on arrival, fantastic views, the facilities are more than adequate,

All in all a lovely place to chill out and spend some quality time,

The site owner was more than happy to tow my friends caravan to our pitch to save him having to put his vehicle on the damp grass,

All in all a great find, will we be going back you bet we will and the sooner the better 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CoopersBed 3 reviews from this member

 We were greeted by a warm and friendly Odell on arrival, given a choice of pitch and shown round.

The site is beautifully kept. The grass is neatly mown and there are a mass of mature trees providing shelter and interest. Lovely!

As mentioned in previous reviews, the facilities are dated, but they are perfectly functional and do exactly what you need them to do. The water is hot (not always true on some sites), the showers fairly powerful and the toilets functional. I noticed criticism on other reviews for the cleanliness of the facilities and found the only problem to be other people! Had others cleaned up after themselves, everything would have been fine. E. G. Someone had shaved their legs in one shower and left shaving foam and hair everywhere, toilets left unflushed, sinks full of hair, food in plughole.

The site was beautifully peaceful during our stay, with the exception of being woken at 6 am on our second morning by a pair of children being allowed to run riot.

It would be very unfair of me to mark the site down because of the laziness and rudeness of some of the other people staying there. This is a lovely place to stay. We were made to feel very welcome by Odell and the inconsiderate attitude of a few will not put us off using the site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooliepig 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Bright House Farm, the first being at Easter and then again this weekend. This campsite is well maintained and Odell is the most welcoming and helpful owner I have ever met. Nothing is to much trouble, we wanted to know where the local pubs, shops etc were and he was the font of all knowledge. We even forgot eggs and on mentioning we awoke to 4 left in a bowl the following morning! We love this campsite as it states it is NON regimented. This is how we like it, we like the freedom of not being placed in a row like sardines like other campsites, the site is full of trees, birds twittering and beautiful views across the countryside, the fees are very reasonable and I am in love with the wet room facilities - 50p for a couple of minutes of powerful warm water beating down on you (pure heaven). All in all if you want a quiet relaxing break away from the hussle and bussle of life then this is the place to stay. We will be back to visit again! 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement