Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happyclap 8 reviews from this member

Overall very nice site, clusters of pitches separated by trees or overlooking open farmland. Great walks, lots of choice of pubs, pleasant owner who seemed to be friendly and relaxed. Toilets/showers old, 50p showers not used, 100p showers old and a little rudimentary but clean but were self contained with private toilet/shower/sink and we'll return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oaksmere 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at this site, and to say we had a great time is an understatement! On arrival we were greeted by O'Dell who showed us around the site and made sure we knew where everything was. We camped with our two teenage daughters,and my parents, sister and nephew on an adjacent site, which was ideal, and the pitches we were given were clean, spacious and had a great view across the corn fields. We were very fortunate in that we only had one day of rain, and the rest of the time was hot and sunny.

The facilities on the site are clean and well maintained. Even when it was really busy over the weekend, we only had to wait about 5 minutes at the most for a shower if we were using the self contained rooms. The 50p showers were always available, and our daughter assured us, more than adequate. There was also adequate washing up facilities with free hot water, and even a fridge and freezer for the use of guests.

This is the friendliest site we have ever been to. O'Dell or his Mum, go around the site several times a day to ensure that all campers are ok. We asked about telephone numbers for riding stables, and O'Dell kindly provided us with a yellow pages to find what we needed. We were even told to go and help ourselves to plums from the garden before we left!

We will, without a doubt return to this site. We only live about an hour away, but with sites like this, who needs to travel further?

This site is a must to visit. Believe us, you will not be disappointed, and will return again and again!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sneekymum 1 review from this member

This was our first proper camping for our family (2 adults, 3 kids and a dog). Lovely site, very friendly owners. Site is spacious and very well laid out and cared for. Facilities are good.

We did have a problem with a large group who were less than considerate to others, including practically putting their tent on top of ours! Odell was very helpful in sorting this out.

Really can't fault this site or owners, very considerate. We definitely plan to stay there again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: L15A 3 reviews from this member

As others have stated O'dell is a friendly guy, and this site is Gay friendly as we found out !. The pitches are a nice size, the facilities though in my opinion were a let down. Great price for us, 2 adults and 3 kids with electric for 14. We were recommended to go to the Swan pub, we did this and went on a Sunday for the roast, it was overpriced at 9 for a child sized portion which was overcooked. Would def return to this campsite but not go to the swan to eat.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rod Pudney 10 reviews from this member

We wanted a site close to our Essex home so we could go after work Friday night and pitch our new tent for the first time. We liked Brighthouse Farm so much we went back the next weekend also.

Previous reviews accurately cover the site's facilities, but no-one seems to have mentioned Lavenham, only a short drive away and well worth a visit - very good butchers, several tea rooms and loads of timbered houses - we enjoyed just wandering around, although it did give us an appetite for the cream tea.

We'll definitely go back to Brighthouse Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Albert 54 1 review from this member

A beautiful site, glorious views, pitches well maintained, friendly, welcoming relaxed owner. This site has great potential, but missed the mark in a number of ways:

The toilets were not cleaned regularly during the week remaining filthy for a couple of days. Much better maintenance at busy weekend period.

The kitchen area could only be described as squalid on our arrival. By the next day someone had done a quick tidy up, but I suspect it was another camper, as dirt on floor had only been swept into a pile that then stayed for the rest of visit. No bin in kitchen, so people left rubbish around.

Shabby dated facilities are fine if they are thoroughly clean.

This would be an outstanding site if these matters were addressed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allan_1983a 7 reviews from this member

This is a great little site. Reasonable price for facilities available, always clean and the man that runs the site is always around and regularly stops for a chat. Only drawback was the first time campers who didn't understand 7am is a little early for cricket but that cant be helped! lovely location, very peaceful and near enough to everything you could possibly want (Bury St Edmunds is 6 miles) the owner had designed some great walks to the local pubs, but we didn't get chance to try them.

We will be going back here and sooner rather than later hopefully!'

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ridgey 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Four night stay Monday to Friday.

Read all the reviews before we went and it is was exactly how everyone had described, Fab!

We were greeted by O'dell and given a tour of the site and allowed to pitch pretty much where we wanted.

We were two families [four adults, five children and two dogs]and had two very large tents so we choose our pitch next to the corn field.Pitches were non regimented and the grass was well kept and the site was fairly level with no stones.

The site was not busy so we had lots of room to play ball games with the children and they could ride there bikes around the lovely paths/walks routed around the farm.

The toilets [the mens anyway] were a little out dated and small but pefectly servicable.

The shower rooms were good. 1 got you a room with tolilet [6ftx 8ft],basin and shower cubicle. Enough time to shower two children [if your quick] before the pound finished.

Value for money was excellent. The surrounding area is very pretty with some lovely historic villages, Great walks all in all a very chilled and relaxing site!

We like many before will return

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salenalfcra91 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back this last week from this campsite and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. We pre-booked about 2 months ago with no problem. We were a large tent with 4 adults and 5 kids.

We arrived about 3pm Thursday, and pulled into the farm. There was no-where obvious to check in, but within minutes Odell appeared and we were off to our pitch. Even with recent rain, the site was firm, grassy, even and well kept. We were taken to our pitch with hookup, right by a water point, and 30 sec walk of the showers etc, as requested.

Good Points = Other than already outlined.Very friendly.Very good price (Large tent, 4 adults, 2 cars, 5 kids, 4 nights 66.! in August). Not too busy (we understand people were being turned away once campsite was full). Very quiet and relaxed feel to the site. Odell was pleasant & approachable and did the rounds each night ensuring everyone was happy.

Fair Points = Wouldnt want to criticise any area and anything from this point wouldn't stop us returning.But, only 1 sink to wash up in, which meant more often than not queueing to wash up which was a pain. Could do with more.

Loo`s. Mens area had 2 loo`s which were extremely tight.And 2 urinals which were also too tight (two average guys couldn't stand next to each other).There were 3 loo`s in the womens area which were ok (got a bit grubby apparently).?!

There were 4 rooms, each containing sink, loo and shower. Shower was a pound and you had the room to yourself. Either timing, luck or waiting was the key to nabbing one of these.

Some stand alone showers on another block, 2 I think.? 50p a throw.

We only used showers in the room for a 1 and they were hot or cold, no inbetween, and ran out by the time you had hopped about.

Extras= Anytime we ventured out we took the car, as not too much in walking distance. Very big tesco about 10 mins down the road with everything you need. On the one rainy afternoon we went to the 'KingFisher' pool down in Sudbury near shop called Roys.3.60 for adult 2 for kids.Water slides and waves kept all amused for hours.Great little pizza parlour in the town, very good with kids, very tasty and reasonable price.

We would go back and would recommend to others

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maddogs 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site as our 3rd camping trip with a large 10 man tent, 2 adults, 2 tots and 3 dogs accompanied by 1 man and his dog in a smaller 2 man tent. This is an excellent site if you want peace and quiet. Beautiful views and 3 excellent on site walks around the fields one of which leads to a very nice pub doing food (child and dog friendly) and in another direction a lovely park for the children. There are a number of hook up points and we were allowed to choose our own site choosing for the first time a non hook up point and found it spacious and relaxed. The friendly owner had had trouble the previous night with a large noisy party and seemed a little jaded by inconsiderate and messy visitors. He had asked them to leave so it is nice to know your tranquillity will be protected should there be other noisy revellers . The facilities are adequate in number. The toilets are a little small but spacious wet rooms including toilet and shower are also available. As we were only there 1 night we did not use them. There is a washing up sink in a separate barn and a fridge and facility to freeze packs.There are no on site play areas or entertainment for children and no shop so come prepared, however There is a waitrose within 10 mins drive and another excellent park for children or those who enjoy a good walk. This is a friendly relaxing site both child and dog friendly in a lovely friendly area to which we will return.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1518 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019