Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Queencat 1 review from this member

Second visit to Brighthouse Farm and just as pleasant as the first one at least 5 years earlier. The campsite is well-placed amid characteristic farmland, surrounded by ripe wheatfields. My daughter and I like the mown grass walking trail around the field. Dog friendly place complete with poop bins. All dog owners were responsible as far as we could see. Nice family groupings, happy kids playing games in the open spaces or content to ride bicycles around. Pitches are quite flat. Enough trees to provide windbreak and shade. Plenty of water-taps about. An excellent base for touring local countryside or to just relax and read a book in shade or sun.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robotwarlord 1 review from this member

I've been to quite a few sites in my time, always in a tent as opposed to a camper or (shudder) a caravan. This is one of my favourite ever. There area is nicely dotted with trees and benches. Good flat pitches with no stones in the ground. It's surrounded by the owners farmland which he has cut paths through. Local shop and pub are easily walkable and Bury St Edmunds is easily driveable. The whole site is nicely divided up with trees and hedges and there are no set pitches so you can easily find a cosy little corner. There are benches liberally spread about and a friendly atmosphere without being crowded (despite the fact that the weather has been amazing and it was a weekend). I felt totally confident in letting the kids go feral. It's pretty cheap and the owner is friendly and chilled out. My only gripe is that the showers are 1 a session and don't really last long enough. Even so, I will definitely be back. This place is a total gem.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustyarrow 10 reviews from this member

Site is nice, plenty of room with lots of 'areas' you can choose from, grass good, the 'toilet block' has had it day really but there are some other toilets in with showers plus some 'wet rooms' all of which worked but could do with a good deep clean. Walk to the local pub is 30 minutes through the back of the site, the pub was really nice with beer and food very good and priced. Knocked it down a few points because of the toilets etc, if they were sorted would have given a ten!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights while visiting Kentwell's HE re-enactment day.

The site is really well kept - quite manicured. We pitched in a lovely spot at the top of the first field. We had tons of room and virtually had the field to ourselves. The owner is keen not to overcrowd the place, said that he would only allow four tents in the area we camped in which was probably getting on for of an acre - nice unmarked pitches. There are picnic tables dotted around the place for campers to use.

The loo/shower block was in the next field. Nice facilities, cleaned daily. The showers (hot and fairly good flow of water) require a token, cost 1 which lasted for longer than I needed it to. There is even a wired in hairdryer in the ladies shower block if you need one.

There are paths mown at the edges of the fields to walk to the village, I didn't use them as we were out all day but a nice option.

The owner is very sweet - he offered to keep an eye on our dog for us when we had to leave her in the tent for a bit.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Casslsemes 1 review from this member

We first visited this site over the Easter bank holiday. We really enjoyed our stay and have been back a couple of times since. The site is well maintained and very family friendly. The pitches are spacious mostly level with easy access to water and electric hook up. The toilet block has seen better days but is cleaned regularly. The showers run on a token system which are obtained from the owner. The owner is a friendly guy who is seen often walking around the site chatting and laughing with his guests. He has always been extremely helpful and polite. There is a lovely path cut through the fields to the local village it has a shop and pub. In which we had a lovely meal. We would recommend this site for scenic views and a friendly family atmosphere.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Abie123 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic bank holiday stay at Brighthouse Farm. We booked as a party of six families with children under the age of 11. There was plenty of room to spread out leaving enough room for the children to play and explore without bothering other campers.

The campsite is well maintained with lovely views over the country side. The trees and bushes have been carefully planted to offer privacy, shade and a screen from the wind. The owner offered advice regarding walks and places to visit during our stay which was very helpful.

The facilities were as you would expect - hot showers, clean loos and somewhere to wash up.

There is also a B & B on site which is very handy if not all your party enjoy or are able to camp.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adejg 1 review from this member

Just got home from a very pleasant 2 night stay at this site.

It is clearly marked of a134 and very easy to find access is good. Nice fairly level site. Loads of space for children to play.

The owners are very welcoming and provide a first class service,

The toilet and showers are excellent and always clean when we used them. Local shop and pub is only a short walk from the site

Along a foot path that the owners have made. Veiws from site are very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked a return visit. Thank you to the owners for providing such an excellent site

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philjudy168 2 reviews from this member

Our first stay in our new (to us) caravan. The site was very picturesque, very relaxed site and the owners were very friendly and helpful, toilet/ wash Facilities were above standard, nothing special but clean tidy. A nice touch was the many picnic benches which allowed us to dine alfresco. We had two dogs at the time and the walks from the site were fantastic, we met a lovely couple who were local and knew the area well and gave us some superb places to visit, off the top of my head the stand out places were Long Melford lots of antique, gift and coffee shops, and Lavenham, very pretty wonky houses, nice pub to have a drink and watch the world go by, would recommend a stay here

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rice Rice Baby 1 review from this member

Just returned from our 2nd trip to Bright House Farm this month. The campsite is spacious and well maintained. There was no designated pitches which gave more flexibility with pitching our tent.

The owner was very friendly, relaxed, helpful and welcoming. The views from our pitch 'Hall View' were superb. A few weeks ago we chose the pitch 'Top of the World' equally as stunning.

The campsite is extremely peaceful. The owners have created some beautiful walks through their farmland. One walk (20 minutes)takes you to the local shop and playground. The shop was well stocked with items from ice cream, replacement gas canisters for cooking and a variety of alcohol. Our children had a great time on site making the most of the space. Not far away we enjoyed visiting Bury St Edmunds and the Abbey and Ickworth House. Our children enjoyed the gardens and ruins. A few miles more and you have Kentwell Hall and Melford Hall to visit. All in all this campsite is great value for money. We will be coming back next summer.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wispy 7 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just returned from our first weekend visit to Brighthouse farm and really enjoyed it.

Pulling in, we found ourselves driving directly into a farm courtyard (which we found a little odd) but we carefully made our way through and down to the bottom left corner and through a gap in the trees, to find a really nice site. On pulling over we were immediately greeted by the owner who showed us the best pitches and the facilities.

The view we had was great, and on a site which was well cut and trimmed with lots of hook ups and picnic tables scattered around the site.

The mens showers were large and clean and lasted longer than I really needed, but the porta cabin toilets were rather small and cramped. But adequate, but the toilet rolls had to be removed for a while as some kids had made a mess in the ladies toilets, but were replaced when they left.

The site has a very relaxed atmosphere, and you can leave when you like. Children and dogs are allowed to run free around the site, which while the majority of dog owners were responsible. One or two were not! and some dog mess was found when the site almost emptied on Sunday.

The owner can be seen walking around the site on a number of occasions each day, and will often stop for a chat. And even made a point of waving us goodbye as we left!

Even though we thought that some areas could be tidied up a bit, we liked Brighthouse Farm, and will return and would recommend it. Just don't be put off by the entrance.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5783 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019