Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eupton 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site 3 times and each time had a really warm welcome. Owner is very friendly and will assist with anything, never complaining about the noise (kids had a lot of water fights)!

Had our own field virtually and there was a big group of us. The surrounding countryside is nice and there are some good walks for the dogs.

Nearby is lovely Lavenham, which is definitely worth a visit, also not far to local shops and farmers market, which made for some great barbeques. Toilets kept clean and enough space, although hot water runs out quickly so get there early or wait till later! Also could do woth some more fridges and a freezer.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bonbon76 2 reviews from this member

Have stayed at Brighthouse 7 times now, it is a lovely site, owner is very friendly and helpful always wandering around,chats to customers and kids. Lots of space for children to play. Only one washing up sink however never a long wait. Toilets are basic but normally fairly clean. Showers 1 for family room 50p for wet room, hot and powerful however wash quick or your money runs out! Lovely farm walks, pub the other side of the farm has trampoline in gardens, fairly long walk but through the countryside so nice views. Love this site great for relaxing.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pocket.calculator 3 reviews from this member

We've been to Brighthouse several times now, which tells you all you need to know, really. Lovely, friendly owners, with a twisted sense of humour, relaxed atmosphere, beautiful setting and only a couple of hours from home. The wonderful village of Lavenham is on the doorstep and there's a couple of fine pubs within 30 minutes' walk.

One of our favourite sites anywhere and we'll be returning agasin and again

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mlsmit 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful campsite! Great friendly owners and when we arrived we were very pleased with the whole layout of the site. Pitches are in excellent condition and toilets and showers in close proximity to all sites and kept in very good order throughout the day. There is plenty of shade and of course sun catching pitches and it is set overlooking a beautiful wheat fields and hedges.

There were lots of kids there and even though there was no actual play park on site, the kids were on bicycles and playing ball games and loving just being out. There is however a small play park just a short walk away and lovely flat walks for all ages to enjoy leaving directly from the site.

The price of the site was very reasonable and because of this, we will definitely be back again in August. Beautiful area to explore and a great break from the busy London hustle.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Uksuffolk 1 review from this member

A very well kept site. Grass kept well cut. Toilets and showers all kept clean on a daily basis. Some good walks around here through the Suffolk countryside. Within easy reach of both Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury.

Pub within easy walking distance. Full electrics and water on site. Views across the farmland. A very co-operative and welcoming host. Found the locals in the village very friendly and helpful. A very good site in an exceptional countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Polod 1 review from this member

Overall the site is pleasant and in a quiet countryside location.

The facilities are rather basic and in need of both an upgrade and a good clean. Washroom doors that don't close and showers that run hot and cold don't add to the experience, and by the time you get the temperature adjusted your 1 pound coin will have been eaten.

The rest of the site was well maintained.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Becj53 1 review from this member

We spent the bank holiday weekend at this site eager to use our new tent!

When we arrived there was no visible check in point or even an arrow to point us in the right direction! very confusing for a 1st timer to the site.

Once this was sorted (more by luck than judgement) everything was great. Toilets were clean, had toilet roll and soap at the basins.

No children's play area, but we found this to be a refreshing change! our 7 year old found ways to entertain himself which was lovely.

Would definitely return (maybe when its a little warmer!)

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tweenyno2 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful site set in the fields of a working farm. Very friendly welcome, and nothing was too much trouble.

No cars were allowed on site, due to the weather, but then owner was more than helpful getting our stuff to our pitch in the back of his mini tractor, and the car park area was very close to the pitches. Often saw him towing caravans to their pitches as well. This, as he explained, was to try and preserve the state of the grass (worried cars may tear it all up, as it was so muddy and wet).

Only downside was the weather (short, sharp showers and very, very cold at night).

Toilets were clean and tidy, with good washing up facilities. Showers were lovely and hot, and for the cost, lasted a long time.

Bury St Edmunds is only 7 or so miles down the road, with all the major shops there. Lots of pubs nearby, and some beautiful countryside walks.

Not a great deal for children to do (although there is a small park nearby), but my children made friends easily with other children, and managed to find things to do (make dens, play outdoor games etc).

Would definitely return in the warmer months, as this is a very nice site that is not too far from home.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara Wilkins 2 reviews from this member

A lovely site, lots of tree's and great views, we had a friendly greeting, the facilities were all good and kept very clean.

The site was very dog friendly, our dog Bentley a bassett hound enjoyed his holiday and we will definitely be going to stay for longer next time.

The surrounding area was brilliant for things to do and see, I particularly liked exploring Lovejoy territory and Lavenham. There are great walks surrounding the site, also we saw lots of birds including a beautiful woodpecker.

There is a pub in the village and a shop, nearby towns of Sudbury and Bury st Edmunds have everything you could possibly need, all in all a great site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevegriffiths 4 reviews from this member

We had a 2 night stay with friends (2 tents - total of 4 adults, 2 children) - arriving at the site around 11am, we were met by Odell who showed us around the site and facilities - offering us several places to pitch. During the weekend he was often seen walking around the site, and happy to chat and answer questions.

The site was quiet, so plenty of space to pitch our two tents, one with hook up for lighting. The site and facilities were all clean, mostly in portable cabins or older buildings - and as mentioned elsewhere the gents toilets could be a bit of a squeeze!

Nice touches included picnic tables dotted around, the individual shower rooms which included toilet and sink (a pound for a shower) and a fridge and freezer in the washing up room. Arrival and departure times were flexible as well.

The kids (3 and a half, and nearly 3) loved the site - space to run around and they quickly made friends with a couple of girls who had visited the site several times before. Not having a park didn't matter - they played games with balls, frisbies, tag and hide and seek.

The local village has now lost it's shop so it's a bit of a trek to the nearest one.

We visited Melford Hall (NT), and Felixstowe (pebbles, sand and a few rides etc. For younger kids) during the weekend - and had recommendations of other places to visit from fellow campers. Also had lunch in a pub on the A134 towards Bury St. Edmunds - a Greene King offering two meals for 9. 95 - which were good for the price. It had a nice play area for kids as well.

All in all a nice quiet site, which we all enjoyed and which provided a good introduction to camping for ours friends. We would certainly return - top marks for value and service.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019