Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adejg 1 review from this member

 Just got home from a very pleasant 2 night stay at this site.

It is clearly marked of a134 and very easy to find access is good. Nice fairly level site. Loads of space for children to play.

The owners are very welcoming and provide a first class service,

The toilet and showers are excellent and always clean when we used them. Local shop and pub is only a short walk from the site

Along a foot path that the owners have made. Veiws from site are very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked a return visit. Thank you to the owners for providing such an excellent site 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philjudy168 2 reviews from this member

 Our first stay in our new (to us) caravan. The site was very picturesque, very relaxed site and the owners were very friendly and helpful, toilet/ wash Facilities were above standard, nothing special but clean tidy. A nice touch was the many picnic benches which allowed us to dine alfresco. We had two dogs at the time and the walks from the site were fantastic, we met a lovely couple who were local and knew the area well and gave us some superb places to visit, off the top of my head the stand out places were Long Melford lots of antique, gift and coffee shops, and Lavenham, very pretty wonky houses, nice pub to have a drink and watch the world go by, would recommend a stay here 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rice Rice Baby 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our 2nd trip to Bright House Farm this month. The campsite is spacious and well maintained. There was no designated pitches which gave more flexibility with pitching our tent.

The owner was very friendly, relaxed, helpful and welcoming. The views from our pitch 'Hall View' were superb. A few weeks ago we chose the pitch 'Top of the World' equally as stunning.

The campsite is extremely peaceful. The owners have created some beautiful walks through their farmland. One walk (20 minutes)takes you to the local shop and playground. The shop was well stocked with items from ice cream, replacement gas canisters for cooking and a variety of alcohol. Our children had a great time on site making the most of the space. Not far away we enjoyed visiting Bury St Edmunds and the Abbey and Ickworth House. Our children enjoyed the gardens and ruins. A few miles more and you have Kentwell Hall and Melford Hall to visit. All in all this campsite is great value for money. We will be coming back next summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wispy 7 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have just returned from our first weekend visit to Brighthouse farm and really enjoyed it.

Pulling in, we found ourselves driving directly into a farm courtyard (which we found a little odd) but we carefully made our way through and down to the bottom left corner and through a gap in the trees, to find a really nice site. On pulling over we were immediately greeted by the owner who showed us the best pitches and the facilities.

The view we had was great, and on a site which was well cut and trimmed with lots of hook ups and picnic tables scattered around the site.

The mens showers were large and clean and lasted longer than I really needed, but the porta cabin toilets were rather small and cramped. But adequate, but the toilet rolls had to be removed for a while as some kids had made a mess in the ladies toilets, but were replaced when they left.

The site has a very relaxed atmosphere, and you can leave when you like. Children and dogs are allowed to run free around the site, which while the majority of dog owners were responsible. One or two were not! and some dog mess was found when the site almost emptied on Sunday.

The owner can be seen walking around the site on a number of occasions each day, and will often stop for a chat. And even made a point of waving us goodbye as we left!

Even though we thought that some areas could be tidied up a bit, we liked Brighthouse Farm, and will return and would recommend it. Just don't be put off by the entrance. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Den + Caroline 5 reviews from this member

 A real 'you could be anywhere' site, especially as we enjoyed the first of this year's really sunny weather. This site is charming, extremely flat and easy for tent pitching. We stayed in the area adjacent to the shower/toilet blocks and apart from some unruly children using the sinks for a water fight (with the usual lack of parental consideration for other campers)we had an extremely enjoyable weekend. Thank you to Odell, who has the unenviable task of keeping everything ship shape and clearing up after the previously mentioned children! a lovely man who is very interesting to talk to.

The coin operated showers have now been replaced with token machines - tokens are all 1 each, but as the pitch fee is at a very reasonable rate this is a small price to pay (especially the wet rooms which provide you with more than enough shower time for the money). We will definitely be returning and will recommend to other campers but out of choice, our return will not be during school holidays.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ward19 3 reviews from this member

 We are just back from another stay at Brighthouse Farm. Having spent a week there last year we wanted to take our friends this time, showing them the wonderful site and incredible countryside. We were not disappointed.

The owner who runs the site is full of knowledge of the local area and never too busy to stop for a chat. The site has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and its nice that you can look round the site and pick a spot that suits you. First time visitors are shown all the facilities on site, which are of a good standard.

The last reviewer failed to find the large wheelie bins and recycling point that are made apparent when booking in to the site. The choice of shower room caters for all, whether it is 50p for the wet room or 1 for a room consisting of shower, toilet and sink. We didn't use the washing up area but it is what it is, a room for washing up, more than adequate.

All in all we think this site is fantastic value for money, great for walking, as there are many walks on and around the site, with an array of wildlife, we saw a herd of deer which thrilled our children.

We have booked to go back in August and can't wait, we are even taking a third family to enjoy what is Brighthouse Farm. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tymauk 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Brighthouse over May Bank Holiday and found that both site and Host were fantastic! On arrival we were met by the owner and he walked us into the the field and gave us a choice of locations where to put the van. He was very helpful, showing us the path to the shop and telling us where the walks were so we could walk our dogs.

As previous reviews state, the atmosphere was lovely, very laid back indeed and there was no 'you must be off site by. '. As for the grounds they were lovely. I was really impressed of how well the grass looked, considering the amount of cars / vans / kids / dogs / footballs etc that trundle over it. Really nice location too, lovely views, just a totally relaxing weekend!

As for the facilities, there aren't any children's play areas (swings etc) but there is ample space for children to play (football, cricket etc. ). The toilets were clean as clean can be so no problem there. I cant comment on the showers or the washing up area as we never used them.

All in all a lovely weekend and I will be going back there at some point.

Thanks, keep up the good work! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drewk1 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here on a cycling holiday with a friend.

The owner was very friendly and helpful and the site itself was very good with a couple of small things which let it down.

The positives are the great choice of pitches, location and general laid back feel of the whole site.

Its not plastered with signs telling people what not to do.

The negatives are the washing up room could do with a spruce up and we felt that 1 for a shower was rather expensive but you did get a reasonable time for your 1.

Also no bins ? We had to use the dog mess bin to deposit our litter as we were cycling and had no space to carry it home with us.

On the subject of dogs, the owners dog ( poor old thing ) does wander around and one day we returned to find he had chewed through our rubbish bag even though we left it on a table as high up a we could.

The local pub is closed but we had a very good meal at the Bush in Shimpling which is not far.

We would return but please put some bins around the site and maybe give the washing up room a coat of paint and replace the mouldy curtains. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs398 38 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over bank holiday weekend for 3 nights with ehu, it was our first visit to the site but won't be our last as we have rebooked for the bank holiday weekend at the end of may, we enjoyed it that much.

Friendly welcome, shown to pitch and shown all the facilities, 4 wet rooms at 50p, long enough for full shower with hair wash, the other shower rooms comprised of shower, toilet and sink and were 1 a time, didn't use these so cant comment. I would describe the facilities as basic but adequate. 2 sinks for washing up meant a short wait at times but not really a problem.

Beautifully kept grass, surrounded by mature trees, picnic tables provided which was a nice added extra, I think the thing we really liked about this site was the lovely relaxed atmosphere, no rush to be off site on your leaving day, just leave when you're ready which is a real bonus if you have a wet tent to pack up (not a problem in the glorious sunshine of this weekend though).

We used the site as a base and enjoyed lots of cycling and walking in the area then chilled in the evening with a meal and a few beers.

We purposely avoided the coastal areas as we knew the campsites would be rammed at bank holiday, this site was fairly full but definitely not over crowded, which is the main reason we are returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandthetinies 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we've camped at Brighthouse Farm and we had a brilliant time. Odell was wonderful as always and so friendly. Brilliant pitch looking down towards the fields, we are just sad that we can't have it again when we go back at the end of this month (its a popular spot!). Some noise but it was bank hol weekend so anyone expecting a quiet campsite anywhere that welcomes families at this time of year should stay at home! Drench shower brilliant at 50p a shot and plenty of time to get showered. All the facilities you'd expect, had to queue a bit for the washing up but that's no hardship. 10-15 min walk to small mini market and 15 min drive to main facilities including Waitrose and M&S. We took our 2 dogs who had a great time. Some picnic benches available for use and well kept pitches. Odell is helpful in finding you the right spot for your needs. This is a popular site so early booking is recommended as we couldn't get a hook up as left it too late. I've only given 7 for child friendliness as there's not swings and it is a working farm with machines nearby but all the kids on the site seemed happy playing games with footballs and on bikes or cricket in teams so it doesn't really matter! Thanks Odell for another great stay and see you at half term! 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


61588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement