Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Den + Caroline 5 reviews from this member

A real 'you could be anywhere' site, especially as we enjoyed the first of this year's really sunny weather. This site is charming, extremely flat and easy for tent pitching. We stayed in the area adjacent to the shower/toilet blocks and apart from some unruly children using the sinks for a water fight (with the usual lack of parental consideration for other campers)we had an extremely enjoyable weekend. Thank you to Odell, who has the unenviable task of keeping everything ship shape and clearing up after the previously mentioned children! a lovely man who is very interesting to talk to.

The coin operated showers have now been replaced with token machines - tokens are all 1 each, but as the pitch fee is at a very reasonable rate this is a small price to pay (especially the wet rooms which provide you with more than enough shower time for the money). We will definitely be returning and will recommend to other campers but out of choice, our return will not be during school holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ward19 3 reviews from this member

We are just back from another stay at Brighthouse Farm. Having spent a week there last year we wanted to take our friends this time, showing them the wonderful site and incredible countryside. We were not disappointed.

The owner who runs the site is full of knowledge of the local area and never too busy to stop for a chat. The site has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and its nice that you can look round the site and pick a spot that suits you. First time visitors are shown all the facilities on site, which are of a good standard.

The last reviewer failed to find the large wheelie bins and recycling point that are made apparent when booking in to the site. The choice of shower room caters for all, whether it is 50p for the wet room or 1 for a room consisting of shower, toilet and sink. We didn't use the washing up area but it is what it is, a room for washing up, more than adequate.

All in all we think this site is fantastic value for money, great for walking, as there are many walks on and around the site, with an array of wildlife, we saw a herd of deer which thrilled our children.

We have booked to go back in August and can't wait, we are even taking a third family to enjoy what is Brighthouse Farm.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tymauk 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at Brighthouse over May Bank Holiday and found that both site and Host were fantastic! On arrival we were met by the owner and he walked us into the the field and gave us a choice of locations where to put the van. He was very helpful, showing us the path to the shop and telling us where the walks were so we could walk our dogs.

As previous reviews state, the atmosphere was lovely, very laid back indeed and there was no 'you must be off site by. '. As for the grounds they were lovely. I was really impressed of how well the grass looked, considering the amount of cars / vans / kids / dogs / footballs etc that trundle over it. Really nice location too, lovely views, just a totally relaxing weekend!

As for the facilities, there aren't any children's play areas (swings etc) but there is ample space for children to play (football, cricket etc. ). The toilets were clean as clean can be so no problem there. I cant comment on the showers or the washing up area as we never used them.

All in all a lovely weekend and I will be going back there at some point.

Thanks, keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drewk1 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here on a cycling holiday with a friend.

The owner was very friendly and helpful and the site itself was very good with a couple of small things which let it down.

The positives are the great choice of pitches, location and general laid back feel of the whole site.

Its not plastered with signs telling people what not to do.

The negatives are the washing up room could do with a spruce up and we felt that 1 for a shower was rather expensive but you did get a reasonable time for your 1.

Also no bins ? We had to use the dog mess bin to deposit our litter as we were cycling and had no space to carry it home with us.

On the subject of dogs, the owners dog ( poor old thing ) does wander around and one day we returned to find he had chewed through our rubbish bag even though we left it on a table as high up a we could.

The local pub is closed but we had a very good meal at the Bush in Shimpling which is not far.

We would return but please put some bins around the site and maybe give the washing up room a coat of paint and replace the mouldy curtains.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debs398 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here over bank holiday weekend for 3 nights with ehu, it was our first visit to the site but won't be our last as we have rebooked for the bank holiday weekend at the end of may, we enjoyed it that much.

Friendly welcome, shown to pitch and shown all the facilities, 4 wet rooms at 50p, long enough for full shower with hair wash, the other shower rooms comprised of shower, toilet and sink and were 1 a time, didn't use these so cant comment. I would describe the facilities as basic but adequate. 2 sinks for washing up meant a short wait at times but not really a problem.

Beautifully kept grass, surrounded by mature trees, picnic tables provided which was a nice added extra, I think the thing we really liked about this site was the lovely relaxed atmosphere, no rush to be off site on your leaving day, just leave when you're ready which is a real bonus if you have a wet tent to pack up (not a problem in the glorious sunshine of this weekend though).

We used the site as a base and enjoyed lots of cycling and walking in the area then chilled in the evening with a meal and a few beers.

We purposely avoided the coastal areas as we knew the campsites would be rammed at bank holiday, this site was fairly full but definitely not over crowded, which is the main reason we are returning.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meandthetinies 1 review from this member

This is the second time we've camped at Brighthouse Farm and we had a brilliant time. Odell was wonderful as always and so friendly. Brilliant pitch looking down towards the fields, we are just sad that we can't have it again when we go back at the end of this month (its a popular spot!). Some noise but it was bank hol weekend so anyone expecting a quiet campsite anywhere that welcomes families at this time of year should stay at home! Drench shower brilliant at 50p a shot and plenty of time to get showered. All the facilities you'd expect, had to queue a bit for the washing up but that's no hardship. 10-15 min walk to small mini market and 15 min drive to main facilities including Waitrose and M&S. We took our 2 dogs who had a great time. Some picnic benches available for use and well kept pitches. Odell is helpful in finding you the right spot for your needs. This is a popular site so early booking is recommended as we couldn't get a hook up as left it too late. I've only given 7 for child friendliness as there's not swings and it is a working farm with machines nearby but all the kids on the site seemed happy playing games with footballs and on bikes or cricket in teams so it doesn't really matter! Thanks Odell for another great stay and see you at half term!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

The good points-well kept grass and nice location. We thought it looked great when we arrived

We had booked for a week but left after one night

Despite the boast of non regimented sites, we were told to go where we liked on arrival. Came back from a nice trip out to Lavenham in our car to find the owner waiting for us and wanting us to move in case he had a large group come in. His suggestion of an alternative position was not nearly as nice but he did not want us to move until the next morning in case someone else wanted it. He also wanted to have the right to get the van moved again during the week

We will not be back- we feel very let down and had great difficulty finding another site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Muppetdave 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site!

We decided to pop over to Brighthouse Farm for two nights to let the mother-in-law try her hand at camping, and having read lots of very positive reviews decided this was the place to go.

On arrival we were met by Odell, who was most helpful. As the season is dying out, there were only a handful of other campers, so there were plenty of spots on the site to choose from. Odell took us around all of the facilities to show us where everything was and to help select a pitch. We went on what I assume to be a newer field facing with younger trees, the open fields and stunning panoramic views over the Suffolk countryside.

It was nice to be able to select our spot totally at will, rather than having prescribed pitches.

The facilities were ok, and generally clean. Whilst I wouldn't call them dirty, they perhaps could have a little more love lavished on them, in particular the washing up area. I did get the impression though that Odell really cares for his campsite and I'd hope to see improvements in those areas in the near future.

As others have stated, Odell is full of information. As we only visited for two nights we had everything we needed, but we saw plenty of people wandering across the fields to the local shop. The walks around the fields were lovely though and a nice bonus for the dog! We popped to Bury St Edmunds which is well worth a visit - in particular the Abbey Gardens which were beautiful.

All in all, this is a very pleasant site to visit, great value for money and we hope to go back next year for another weekend away.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowwitch 2 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit to this campsite, we love the openness of the site, Odell is a lovely bloke always cheerful. When we arrived we were told to just set up where we wanted, no regimented places here. The toilets/showers could do with a little update, but for camping they work fine. Price was very reasonable too 23.00 for two nights for 3 adults and a child, bargain. Lovely huge fields to walk around, Everything you need shop a small walk away. A Great place to stay, will be back again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shajan 4 reviews from this member

A last minute invite from friends meant we turned up for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend here. The site grounds are lovely, the space and freedom to set up worked well for us as we pitched next to our friends with wonderful views over the fields. And, as per previous reviews, Odell was absolutely lovely and kind and very helpful. It was just a shame that there were so many unruly, noisy kids and also one of the caravans playing loud music until the wee small hours that was incredibly disturbing.

We usually choose adult only sites as we have no kids, so it came as a bit of a shock when you realise how much mess people seem happy to leave the showers and toilets in. We worked out the first morning that Odell cleans the toilet and showers about half 6 so we made it to them early but by the end of the day they were not so nice.

The sink area was also in need of a good deep clean.

We paid 10 per night and then another 1 each for showers.

We won't go back to this site as we much prefer the peace and tidiness of adults only but I am sure it works better for families.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019