Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bowlin 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with beautiful views. Good toilet facilities.

The owner was very friendly and made sure you were happy with everything.

We will definitely be coming back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helen Matthews 1 review from this member

 This well kept site has beautiful views from areas known as “the top of the world” and “room with a view”. It is very relaxed - no long list of rules and Odell is a wonderful host.

Everyone we spoke to was a returning visitor and shared our view that this campsite is a gem. It’s peaceful and located in a picturesque area of Suffolk.

The site is on a large farm with plenty of beautiful walks within the farmland. We will definitely be returning!

The facilities are relatively basic but perfectly adequate (always had hot water) - we didn’t queue once.

Thank you Odell. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bikertrev 1 review from this member

 We arrived at Brighthouse Farm early afternoon. went to the house and Odell the owner was pleased to show us round the site pointing out all the facilities etc. he then said if any stored van was in a position we liked he would soon move it he could not have done more to make our stay any better.

The only criticism we had was the showers only gave time to wash our hair before turning off but this got better as our week went on

All in all a great site with a very friendly owner. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scuffling buck 2 reviews from this member

 We have been coming here for many years. Odell is the perfect host and makes everyone feel very welcome.

The surrounding countryside is stunning by day. And sitting by the campfire under a canopy of stars at night is even more stunning. The atmosphere of the whole place is very chilled and relaxing. Many people that have discovered this campsite for the first time have come back many times to enjoy this little gem.

If your looking for a little slice of relaxation come give it a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debgreen 36 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a cold bank holiday Friday. No-one to tell us where to pitch, even though we were arrived exactly at the time we said we would. We started to pitch, feet down, groundsheet laid for awning, leccy plugged in, and it started to pour down.

Then Odell arrives to tell us to move. So we had to upsticks and move. It also happened to the next van arrival. I realised Odell is very busy with the B&B etc but a name on a stick where he wants you to pitch would be very useful. This my only gripe; moan over.

The site is very pretty with great views. Flat and level. Lots of picnic tables for tents. Not regimented at all. Lovely dog walks on Odell’s land, with about half an hour walk to the local pub, the Swan, which is lovely, with great food.

There is no shop - it is shut - and it’s a long way to the next one, so take want you need for the first day or two. We only used the site loos a couple of times as have our own, but they were clean and tidy. There is a huge room for washing up, with fridge etc - could be used for board games in wet weather?

This is a working farm with equipment parked around, so you need to keep an eye on young kids. However, there are a couple of grass areas for playing games.

We chose this site as had tickets for tour and tasting at the Greene King brewery in Bury St Edmunds bought as a gift. We went there (pre-booked) on the Bank Holiday Saturday.

Tour and Bury lovely, apart from the rain and sleet! Loved Sudbury too. Will return another day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scuffling buck 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely place to wind down. Gorgeous views across open fields. Odell is a very friendly host, with a very relaxed attitude.

The facilities here might be dated but the relaxed atmosphere of the campsite is far more important. I have stayed here many times because of that reason. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Wellseasoned 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing working farm that offers great walks and a few lovely pubs withing walking distance across the fields. The location is very quiet ideal for those relaxing weekends and the owners are truly lovely and very welcoming. So if your at a loss for something to do pop down to bright house farm and relax, your be glad you did. We'll be definitely going back. This weekend actually. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bikemerlin 3 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a lovely relaxing weekend at this site, entrance via working farm yard that leads to well maintained lawns. Plenty of space, very easy going site owner, clean and tidy toilets and showers. Well worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HanM 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely campsite and we had a brilliant weekend. It was a very hot weekend, but the mature trees provided plenty of shade so we were able to stay cool.

This was the first time my children (aged 7 and 5) had been camping and I couldn't have picked a better campsite. Good toilets and showers, but with no other facilities it was very quiet and exactly what I think camping should be about! The space between the pitches meant that we really didn't see (or hear) very many other people.

Odell was a lovely host, popping to see us both days we were there to check that everything was well.

We particularly enjoyed the circular walk around the farm, which was well kept and well marked. And we walked into the village as well (approx 1 mile) to get to the pub where we had a very lovely dinner. We only live a few miles from this campsite, but it was like being in a different world and I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Piprush 1 review from this member

 This was the second time I have had the pleasure of visiting Odell at his wonderful campsite and again I was not disappointed. This time I brought along my parents who had not been camping in three years. We had a fabulous time, the pitches were perfect with lots of space for the children and dog to play. It was boiling hot so a game of capture the flag using water bombs was in order!

Odell could not be more accommodating, he comes around to see everyone on a daily basis and is always helpful and chatty. The site itself is so well laid out with trees and greenery that you feel like you could be anywhere - rather than the nine miles we travelled to camp!

Thank you Odell for a wonderful stay and we look forward to coming again soon.

Pip, Howard, Tony, Carol, Jacob and Megan (not forgetting Murphy who is still pining for Spice!) 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement