Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debgreen 33 reviews from this member

Arrived on a cold bank holiday Friday. No-one to tell us where to pitch, even though we were arrived exactly at the time we said we would. We started to pitch, feet down, groundsheet laid for awning, leccy plugged in, and it started to pour down.

Then Odell arrives to tell us to move. So we had to upsticks and move. It also happened to the next van arrival. I realised Odell is very busy with the B&B etc but a name on a stick where he wants you to pitch would be very useful. This my only gripe; moan over.

The site is very pretty with great views. Flat and level. Lots of picnic tables for tents. Not regimented at all. Lovely dog walks on Odellís land, with about half an hour walk to the local pub, the Swan, which is lovely, with great food.

There is no shop - it is shut - and itís a long way to the next one, so take want you need for the first day or two. We only used the site loos a couple of times as have our own, but they were clean and tidy. There is a huge room for washing up, with fridge etc - could be used for board games in wet weather?

This is a working farm with equipment parked around, so you need to keep an eye on young kids. However, there are a couple of grass areas for playing games.

We chose this site as had tickets for tour and tasting at the Greene King brewery in Bury St Edmunds bought as a gift. We went there (pre-booked) on the Bank Holiday Saturday.

Tour and Bury lovely, apart from the rain and sleet! Loved Sudbury too. Will return another day.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scuffling buck 1 review from this member

Lovely place to wind down. Gorgeous views across open fields. Odell is a very friendly host, with a very relaxed attitude.

The facilities here might be dated but the relaxed atmosphere of the campsite is far more important. I have stayed here many times because of that reason.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Wellseasoned 1 review from this member

This is an amazing working farm that offers great walks and a few lovely pubs withing walking distance across the fields. The location is very quiet ideal for those relaxing weekends and the owners are truly lovely and very welcoming. So if your at a loss for something to do pop down to bright house farm and relax, your be glad you did. We'll be definitely going back. This weekend actually.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bikemerlin 1 review from this member

Just got home from a lovely relaxing weekend at this site, entrance via working farm yard that leads to well maintained lawns. Plenty of space, very easy going site owner, clean and tidy toilets and showers. Well worth a visit.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HanM 1 review from this member

This was a lovely campsite and we had a brilliant weekend. It was a very hot weekend, but the mature trees provided plenty of shade so we were able to stay cool.

This was the first time my children (aged 7 and 5) had been camping and I couldn't have picked a better campsite. Good toilets and showers, but with no other facilities it was very quiet and exactly what I think camping should be about! The space between the pitches meant that we really didn't see (or hear) very many other people.

Odell was a lovely host, popping to see us both days we were there to check that everything was well.

We particularly enjoyed the circular walk around the farm, which was well kept and well marked. And we walked into the village as well (approx 1 mile) to get to the pub where we had a very lovely dinner. We only live a few miles from this campsite, but it was like being in a different world and I would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Piprush 1 review from this member

This was the second time I have had the pleasure of visiting Odell at his wonderful campsite and again I was not disappointed. This time I brought along my parents who had not been camping in three years. We had a fabulous time, the pitches were perfect with lots of space for the children and dog to play. It was boiling hot so a game of capture the flag using water bombs was in order!

Odell could not be more accommodating, he comes around to see everyone on a daily basis and is always helpful and chatty. The site itself is so well laid out with trees and greenery that you feel like you could be anywhere - rather than the nine miles we travelled to camp!

Thank you Odell for a wonderful stay and we look forward to coming again soon.

Pip, Howard, Tony, Carol, Jacob and Megan (not forgetting Murphy who is still pining for Spice!)

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Gardner 1 review from this member

Just had a lovely stay at Brighthouse Farm. Stunning views, very dog friendly which is important to us. Odell was an excellent host who came for a walk with his dog and gave a very interesting tour with some great local history and farm facts.

Lots of space on a level site. Lots of hook ups. Very peaceful. Showers and toilets are a bit dated and could use a good clean. The wet rooms have excellent pressure and temperature and the tokens (£1 each) last a reasonable amount of time for a shower.

When booking I spoke to Dad who perhaps steered me to believe a different price than we paid, but hey ho, it was a lovely site and if we will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: All weather 1 review from this member

Another lovely stay at brighthouse farm. This time we spent a week. The site is set out well with space for everything, and lots of room for the children to play game's.

The toilets and showers are clean and tidy and we never had to queue to use them. There are lovely walks for the families and dogs.

We used two of the local pubs and found both of them friendly.

The owner was very helpful and friendly and a nice man to have a laugh and chat with. Will be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazza50 6 reviews from this member

What a fab site. First time for us here and we will definitely come again. Fantastic rural setting and stunning views.

Different parts set up for different tourers. We were in quiet section but lovely large families section.

All facilities good and clean. Dog friendly. Lovely walks in the area that we made the most of.

Big town about 30 minutes away and an hour to the seaside.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Liz and Roy 1 review from this member

Our first visit to Brighthouse Farm was this Easter, for a long weekend. We loved it so much that we returned for a week in June. The site is in a beautiful setting with far-reaching views across the countryside. The pitches are extremely spacious and very well kept. There are wooden picnic tables and benches for outside dining.

The toilets and shower blocks are dated but fully functional. There are individual showers with loo and wash basin plus family showers. Excellent quality soap and toilet rolls made a pleasant change from some of the places we have stayed!

The farm is on a quiet country road with Sudbury, Bury St Edmunds, Long Melford and Lavenham a short drive away.

The Swan pub has a lovely garden area and the food at The Bush is excellent.

If you like to get away from it all, breathe in the fresh air and relax Brighthouse Farm is the destination for you.

A warm welcome awaits you from Odell and his beautiful Weimaraner Spice.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4881 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019