Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billandjules 1 review from this member

We tried out this site after reading the reviews, and were not disappointed, we arrived on site and were shown various spaces by Odell, as we were trying out our new tent for the first time we picked a nice corner spot. The site is laid out interspersed with trees which give it character, much better than just an open field. Also your not all lined up side by side and too close to each another. The wet rooms were great with lots of hot water, there were also separate showers for men and woman. Toilets were adequate and a separate washing up area was very handy, with freezer for ice packs etc. Local shop was a nice walk away. All in all a lovely campsite well run and friendly. Our Grandchildren and (our dog) can't wait to go back again a make new friends. We will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doris 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 day weekend with friends to this site. What a little gem of a site. Beautiful views across the Suffolk countryside.

Plenty of space for the kids to play and a nice little walk through the specially trimmed filed to the local shop & playground - the kids loved this. We had 4 kids aged from 2-13 and all were happy.

The showers were fine - I used both and preferred the wet room at 50p as you felt as though you'd had a proper shower as you get soaked - make sure you hang all your things on the back of the door, otherwise everything gets wet. I would recommend the use of flip flops too.

As the shower blocks are straight off the camp field there can be quite a bit of grass/mud on the floors - but there are mops for cleaning the showers before & after use, which is fine and very useful I found.

There is a big ice-cream freezer available in the washing up room for ice packs etc. The was room could do with an up date and there are only 2 sinks -but saying that I never had to wait for a sink.

Odell & his family are lovely and nothing is too much trouble, Odell is a mind of useful local information.

I would recommend a trip into Bury st. Edmunds as it's a really lovely little town and the abbey gardens and ruin are a lovely walk.

I will definitely return to this site again

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

It was lovely to be able to arrive late at the site and know that our booking was safe. Odele was a great host with a lovely relaxed attitude.

We chose a space overlooking the fields which was a great view but the disadvantage of being quite far from the toilet block, which I was pleased to see had plenty of toilet roll, liquid soap and hand dryer.

The other disadvantage of the non-divided fields is that everyone can see what you are up to and the noise of the kids travelled (our mistake for going during the school holidays).

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loader22001 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a wonderful weekend at this site, even the good old British weather could not put us off,

Lovely reception on arrival, fantastic views, the facilities are more than adequate,

All in all a lovely place to chill out and spend some quality time,

The site owner was more than happy to tow my friends caravan to our pitch to save him having to put his vehicle on the damp grass,

All in all a great find, will we be going back you bet we will and the sooner the better

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CoopersBed 3 reviews from this member

We were greeted by a warm and friendly Odell on arrival, given a choice of pitch and shown round.

The site is beautifully kept. The grass is neatly mown and there are a mass of mature trees providing shelter and interest. Lovely!

As mentioned in previous reviews, the facilities are dated, but they are perfectly functional and do exactly what you need them to do. The water is hot (not always true on some sites), the showers fairly powerful and the toilets functional. I noticed criticism on other reviews for the cleanliness of the facilities and found the only problem to be other people! Had others cleaned up after themselves, everything would have been fine. E. G. Someone had shaved their legs in one shower and left shaving foam and hair everywhere, toilets left unflushed, sinks full of hair, food in plughole.

The site was beautifully peaceful during our stay, with the exception of being woken at 6 am on our second morning by a pair of children being allowed to run riot.

It would be very unfair of me to mark the site down because of the laziness and rudeness of some of the other people staying there. This is a lovely place to stay. We were made to feel very welcome by Odell and the inconsiderate attitude of a few will not put us off using the site again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooliepig 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Bright House Farm, the first being at Easter and then again this weekend. This campsite is well maintained and Odell is the most welcoming and helpful owner I have ever met. Nothing is to much trouble, we wanted to know where the local pubs, shops etc were and he was the font of all knowledge. We even forgot eggs and on mentioning we awoke to 4 left in a bowl the following morning! We love this campsite as it states it is NON regimented. This is how we like it, we like the freedom of not being placed in a row like sardines like other campsites, the site is full of trees, birds twittering and beautiful views across the countryside, the fees are very reasonable and I am in love with the wet room facilities - 50p for a couple of minutes of powerful warm water beating down on you (pure heaven). All in all if you want a quiet relaxing break away from the hussle and bussle of life then this is the place to stay. We will be back to visit again!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnieyvonnebuster 2 reviews from this member

Our first camping this season. We arrived in the sunshine on Friday evening and departed in the sunshine on Sunday afternoon after a delicious lunch at The Crown in Hartest.

What a delightful campsite with beautiful views and fabulous trees and shrubs. We had some excellent walks with our dog Buster. Very welcoming and helpful with perfectly adequate facilities. We liked the informal layout of the pitches and relaxed atmosphere.

Although deep in the country the site is well located for local hosteleries, village shop and our visit to Bury St Edmunds on Saturday was a joy - what a lovely town.

We shall certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BEDFORD 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay here with my husband and 6 year old. The site is flat well maintained with plenty of shelter as previously stated. You have beautiful country views and was a lovely quiet site. The picnic tables are a nice touch. Odell gave us options on our pitch and we choose a nice sunny spot. The local shop which was accessible by a route around the farm stocks everything you might need during your stay. We did not go to the pub.

Toilet and shower blocks left a lot to be desired. Both dated, cobweby and dirty did not look like they have been thoroughly cleaned for some time. Water was hot in both, mens without soap. The 1 shower gave you 5 minutes. The others were closed as end of season. No toilet paper as Odell said they had problems with people blocking the toilets. The 4 shower rooms also have basin and toilet which can be useful with small children and had a heater.

Washing up area also in need of a clean. There was plenty hot water but could do with rubbish bins on site none found. Also more water taps seemed to be 1 per field.

No play area so unless there are a group of children to entertain each other not a good site.

Buses run 2 a day 3 times a week so do need to have transport if you want to go further than the village.

Not the site for us unless we were going with a group.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pillsley 23 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, peaceful site with wonderful views across the Suffolk countryside. As we were there at the end of the season we had the site virtually to ourselves.

The only downside being that there was no loo roll provided and the showers and toilets weren't being cleaned so you had to do it yourself (reading the other reviews, I guess this is because the cleaner has gone home for the winter!).

Still, the camping was cheap enough not to mind a quick scrub. I found the showers hot enough and long enough for 1 a go and I liked the luxury of having a whole room with a toilet and sink to myself.

All in all, we loved it here and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rayandtrish 2 reviews from this member

Have now been to this site twice in a month, the owners are very friendly especially Odell who could not be more helpful.

The site is in a lovely location with plenty of walks that the owners have created around there farmland.

Some very nice pubs especially the Bush the food there is excellent, it was raining when we left there and the landlady pulled along side us and gave us a lift to the campsite.

The Swan the closest pub needs a lesson in keeping beer as both real ales I tried were not very good and the food was average.

The Metcalfe arms is very good also nice beer and food, landlord was friendly.

But back to the campsite amenities are not top notch but then the prices reflect this, the site is so quite and away from everything and with the hospitality of the owners we will be back.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019