Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend (bargain at £10 per night) and the site was full - but there was a nice bit of space in between units. The toilets and showers were always clean. No play area but the kids were more than happy just running about and soon made some friends.
Lots of dogs on site - and plenty of surrounding fields to walk them in - dogs did not bother us but this is not the place if you don't like dogs! Very peaceful site, and very rural - lovely views over the farmland. Friendly and helpful owners.
Only downside that we found was there is no shop nearby - so nearest place we found to buy basic supplies was over 5 miles drive away - which is a long way for a pint of milk for my breakfast. That is okay if you are organised and prepared for it. Another point to note is that it was very windy when we went - but noticeably more sheltered in the 'garden' part of the campsite which is surrounded by high trees.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wellinever 1 review from this member

We have just had the most lovely weekend at Brighthouse farm. The site is beautiful and well kempt, owner friendly and helpful, toilets clean, men's a little small I heard but nothing drastic.

I loved that you could set up pitch where ever you wanted, and leave when you were ready on Monday, we weren't hurried off, but encouraged to take our time and enjoy the sunshine. Not having cars on the field was lovely, you didn't have to worry about children kicking balls and damaging other peoples cars, they could also run around quite freely, I hope other campsites do the same, it made a real difference.

The 50p showers were a bit old and grubby, but serviceable, they could of been improved by having a mop and bucket in them so people could clear up after themselves.

The owner was really helpful and had great advice and local knowledge, we told him what we fancied doing and he had great suggestions for bike rides and places to eat.

There was quite a noisy group on the field (you know who you are) they weren't outrageous but did have voices that carried, to the the early hours. How they managed to be up so early the following morning I'll never know. (stomachs of steel!)

I hope to be back at this campsite very soon for another wonderful weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carpenter18 4 reviews from this member

We booked for Saturday night, as my partner left work early on the Friday, I phoned to see if it was ok to come a day early, this was no problem.

We arived and O'dell came out and helped us to unhitch and pulled the Van onto the site as the ground was very wet and he was not letting cars on.

Within a few moments we where pluged in and the tea was on.

The showers and toilets where very clean and worked well.

We Spent all weekend on the site, this was a very quite and relaxing site even down to the way the vans where pitched, no regimented set out that you had to follow, you faced the way you wanted.

So if your looking for a quite retreat to relax then this is a site that you should visit. It would also make a good site to base visits from.

When Sunday came, and time to leave, O'dell came around and asked us what time we would like to leave, we plumbed for 3'ish, he arived in his little green thing and towed the van to our car and helped to hitch up.

Thank you for a very relaxed stay. We will be back when we next need some relaxation time.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzoe 1 review from this member

We stayed here in the last couple of days in March, horrible weather but lovely campsite with welcoming and friendly owners. Our stay was short lived due to weather conditions (so hardly used the facilities at the site) but felt from what we saw that they were to an average standard. The campsite had great views all around and was extremly peaceful.

If your looking for somewhere to eat out we would recommend 'The Bush' in Lawshall, we had a fantastic meal there which we really enjoyed and felt that it was a decent price.

The price for our stay was extremly good and we would love to go back again (hopefully with better weather). To sum up our stay we were very welcomed and enjoyed ourselves.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darryn 2 reviews from this member

After a long drive around the M25 to get to Suffolk, it was such a welcome to finally reach the site and be greeted by the friendly owner who showed us around the grounds and the facilities available. Whilst pitching camp on an immaculately kept lawn surrounded by well- placed trees (that ensured protection from the wind and privacy without blocking sunlight and causing dmaping of soil) our one year old and nearly three year old sons played happily on the grass.

The family showers are good value for one's 50p - can shower baby and yourself (although you do need two adults: one to shower baby and then other to dress baby whilst you soap yourself off). Although the showers were marked male/female, we took liberty of this since it was out of season and this worked well for us.

Toilet block nice and clean. And it was nice to have a light on during the night should you need to use the amenities!

The pubs within the area are fab! Highly recommend The Bush in Shimpling St and the local Swan (which you can walk to from the campsite).

Having access to a fridge was sooooo nice and also appreciated the touch of a hair dryer in the ladies. Many thanks to the Truins for being so thoughtful!

Visits to Sudbury and Bury St Edmunds a must. We also did the Colne Valley Steam Railway; it was a 'Day out with Thomas' - a real birthday treat for the 'three' year old. Had a great time!

Highly recommended. Would love to come back.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eric Ward 14 reviews from this member

What an excellent site. First I give you the run down on the usual: Toilets absolutely spotless, ground level, showers £1 a go but clean, tidy and very hot, local pub within walking distance but about 3 miles away and finally the location; lovely views across open farm land. This site is perfect for a relaxing weekend or longer holiday.
The grounds are immaculate but informal. The owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed there at short notice but were concerned due the the very bad weather that we may get stuck. No problem, we were told that if the ground was too wet they would pull us in place and pull us off if necessary. Fortunately the ground was OK and the weather turned out to be fine and sunny. There are some lovely places to visit in the surrounding areas. I would recommend this site for all occasions. At only £11 with hook up it cant be bad.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian Stevens 1 review from this member

We recently stayed for one night at Odell`s camp site - we were not disappointed - Odell was lovely (despite not telling us that there was a  short cut to the Bush pub! )
Facilities were excellent, we used the 50p showers and had no complaints, the site was very clean & tidy.
 
It was very peaceful and lots of nice bushes dotted around. It was very relaxed and everyone was pleasant and chatty. We hope to go back there mid September - we are not looking elsewhere as Odells site met all our needs.
 
I am told Lavenham is the place to visit so we are going there for a cream tea as we will stay longer this time. The rest has been said by other very satisfied campers.
 
Trust me you will love it
 
 
PS - Check out the lovely tranquil water feature and plants by the showers - such a nice touch. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 31 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site. Shower and toilet blocks in good order. Hot water no problem.
Strictly the area without mains hook up is nearly level, you might need some leveling chocks. The non regimented nature of the site means that if you have no awning erected and go out for the day you take pot luck on the pitch when you return. The view from the outer field we used really is across arable fields, no hedge or fence between field and pitch.
You will need to get organised, before putting your £1.00 in the slot for a shower or you might find yourself with shampoo still in your hair.
We never did find the facility for freezing your ice packs and should have asked.
I would recommend the site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacko21 4 reviews from this member

Upon arriving we were told we could choose a pitch, so chose one with electrical hookup and near the toilet block.  Just started to set up but unfortunately the owner came along to greet us and explained that pitch was already booked, but showed us other places and we quickly got set up, with him apologising profusely.   The site was spaced out nicely, not too busy and set in a very quiet area away from major roads. 
A lovely drive through the countryside to get there. Two sinks for dishes in a room with a fridge/freezer there also for use.  Great to refreeze ice blocks and storing fridge items whilse they froze. 
No childrens playarea, which wasnt a problem for our children, they played with other children and all shared eachothers games. 
Footballs and kites were allowed on site and no problems with tents being bashed.  We used the 50p showers which were not very warm, but not a problem, we were advised by other campers that the pound showers were also not very warm, but it was fine to clean up in.   It did seem that by the evening the toilet rolls had run out there (replenished in the mornings) so maybe an idea to take a loo roll incase of emergencies. 
Dogs are allowed on site.  There is the farm trail walk, we did it, but our young children did get a little bored and we cut back across the field.  But I would say ideal for dog walking.   Did not try to local pubs, but heard positive comments on them.  Bury St Edmunds is 5 miles away, only negative comment would be that the only supermarket we found is Bury is Waitrose and it was very expensive, we later found out there is a Tescos in other direction, we would suggest using that.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G Bates 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed here in April what a lovely site, the grass is well cut (almost manicured) the owner takes great pride in the site.
The toilets are portacabin type but are lovely and clean. Excellent showers which you pay for I would suggest using the single showers rather than the family room as you seem to get longer for your money.
The site is surrounded by fields and is really scenic, there is a farm walk signposted which is worth doing also a village shop a short walk across a footpath although the shop was up for sale whilst we were there. A very quiet and peaceful site, midway between Bury and Sudbury, we will be back next year. The owner is very helpful if you need anything just ask, also he was doing an offer of 7 nights for the price of 6, Worth asking!

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019