Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnnieyvonnebuster 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camping this season. We arrived in the sunshine on Friday evening and departed in the sunshine on Sunday afternoon after a delicious lunch at The Crown in Hartest.

What a delightful campsite with beautiful views and fabulous trees and shrubs. We had some excellent walks with our dog Buster. Very welcoming and helpful with perfectly adequate facilities. We liked the informal layout of the pitches and relaxed atmosphere.

Although deep in the country the site is well located for local hosteleries, village shop and our visit to Bury St Edmunds on Saturday was a joy - what a lovely town.

We shall certainly visit again.  


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BEDFORD 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay here with my husband and 6 year old. The site is flat well maintained with plenty of shelter as previously stated. You have beautiful country views and was a lovely quiet site. The picnic tables are a nice touch. Odell gave us options on our pitch and we choose a nice sunny spot. The local shop which was accessible by a route around the farm stocks everything you might need during your stay. We did not go to the pub.

Toilet and shower blocks left a lot to be desired. Both dated, cobweby and dirty did not look like they have been thoroughly cleaned for some time. Water was hot in both, mens without soap. The 1 shower gave you 5 minutes. The others were closed as end of season. No toilet paper as Odell said they had problems with people blocking the toilets. The 4 shower rooms also have basin and toilet which can be useful with small children and had a heater.

Washing up area also in need of a clean. There was plenty hot water but could do with rubbish bins on site none found. Also more water taps seemed to be 1 per field.

No play area so unless there are a group of children to entertain each other not a good site.

Buses run 2 a day 3 times a week so do need to have transport if you want to go further than the village.

Not the site for us unless we were going with a group. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pillsley 26 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, peaceful site with wonderful views across the Suffolk countryside. As we were there at the end of the season we had the site virtually to ourselves.

The only downside being that there was no loo roll provided and the showers and toilets weren't being cleaned so you had to do it yourself (reading the other reviews, I guess this is because the cleaner has gone home for the winter!).

Still, the camping was cheap enough not to mind a quick scrub. I found the showers hot enough and long enough for 1 a go and I liked the luxury of having a whole room with a toilet and sink to myself.

All in all, we loved it here and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rayandtrish 2 reviews from this member

 Have now been to this site twice in a month, the owners are very friendly especially Odell who could not be more helpful.

The site is in a lovely location with plenty of walks that the owners have created around there farmland.

Some very nice pubs especially the Bush the food there is excellent, it was raining when we left there and the landlady pulled along side us and gave us a lift to the campsite.

The Swan the closest pub needs a lesson in keeping beer as both real ales I tried were not very good and the food was average.

The Metcalfe arms is very good also nice beer and food, landlord was friendly.

But back to the campsite amenities are not top notch but then the prices reflect this, the site is so quite and away from everything and with the hospitality of the owners we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Club44 1 review from this member

 Just back from our third visit to this campsite in as many years and I feel that is now a home from home. The facilities are basic but kept clean and well stocked for toilet paper and soap.

Well stocked village shop only about 10 minutes walk away. The owners I cannot fault.

Odell is a lovely and informative man always with a smile and ready to help out at every opportunity, and Roberta is lovely too. We intend to return yet again either later this year or indeed next year.

There is also plenty of space to spread out and have fun and ball games are permitted. My kids love the freedom of the site and our dog enjoys it too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craig norman 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site twice in the space of three weeks (must have been good).

The site itself gives area of shelter if you are in a tent.

Owners are excellent and let you choose your pitch where available and are often seen around the site making sure all is ok with everyone.

Toilet block has seen better days but kept clean. The showers are excellent (only used the 50p ones!) although my daughter did experience a cold shower on one occasion as left it a bit late in the morning!

Will definitely be visiting this site again. The walks the campsite has are great we did all three whilst there. The pub took about twenty mins. Wasn't too impressed with the local shop as the drinks were in a fridge (soft and alcoholic) but the fridges weren't switched on! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emerys 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Brighthouse Farm.

This camp site is clean tidy, the showers were clean as were the toilets. There was a very large freezer which was for the campers to use. The site has lovely views, long walks, dogs welcome, room for children to run around and play games. Plenty of room to kick a football without anyone moaning.

There is a small shop close by along with the local pub. Bury 6 miles away.

Tents and caravans were mixed together - it is a very friendly camp site.

The site fees are very good 14. 00 per night including electric cheaper if your in a tent. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mannypups 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday weekend. Because of previous heavy rain no cars were allowed on the field and had to park around the farm barns, which was extremely awkward as there was not enough room for this.

Every time we went out for the day more cars would appear meaning parking became increasingly difficult (cars were often having to double park).

The toilets were very basic and after the first night there was no toilet paper for the rest of the weekend. Very disappointed as smaller sites than this have managed to provide toilet paper, and considering it was a bank holiday weekend you'd think they'd be prepared for this. The 1 showers were mucky and not worth the money as they were very short and couldn't keep to a steady temperature.

However, the swan pub is in walking distance and we had a good meal there. The views from the site were also very lovely.

Because of the bad organisation I would not use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glam09 5 reviews from this member

 1st visit to Brighthouse farm and I have to say, we loved it.

The owner (Odell) was very friendly and although we waited 10 or 15 mins when we got there, he showed us a few spots to pitch and we were able to choose where we went, he also came round during our stay to see how things were going. There were plenty of picnic tables for guests to use which was a nice touch.

We have 4 children and even though there is NO park, there is so much space for play because he doesn't cram everyone in and they really enjoyed the walks to the park and shop in the village.

The site itself is beautiful with lovely views and spacious level pitches. The only improvements I can see for this site are the toilets which are a bit dated. Even though there were mops outside the showers so you have a clean floor before you go in, they were just a little bit tired and old.

The massive area for washing up room could do with another sink and a good clean too. It wasn't helped by people leaving their slops on the side of the sink after washing up which made me feel a bit sick! I think a bin in there would help those lazy people clean up after themselves.

All in All we loved it here as it was relaxing, lovely surroundings, friendly and not too far from home which is all we ask for. Oh yeah, forgot to add how reasonable the price is too. We have tried to return but had to cancel but will definitely be returning this year and I think this will be a regular site for us in future. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pingvin 3 reviews from this member

 We - Mum and 2 kids - had only 2 nights here and were not too lucky with the weather, but we loved the place.

The owner, Odell, is very helpful.

The farmyard you have to drive through looks a bit like a breakers yard, but you have to remember that it is a working farm.

The campsite itself is beautiful, level and well kept, with a choice between more protected pitches surrounded by trees and hedges, and a field with a view over the countryside. It was very windy when we were there, but we didn't feel it at all on our pitch.

Some of the shower rooms and the toilets are a bit worn out; although we saw them being cleaned daily. The dishwashing area could do with some freshening up, too, but the water was very hot, and it was nice to find a freezer for freezing elements.

There is a beautiful walk with short grass all the way to the village where there is a little shop. If you need a supermarket, you can drive to Long Melford, which by the way is a nice little town with lots of small shops.

Although there is no play area, my children were never bored, there was a lot of space for them to play, as there was for the well behaving dogs we met while we were at the site.

A wonderful quiet - and cheap - site with friendly owners! 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement