Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prior5 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights at Brighthouse Farm, on our first family camping adventure. 2 adults and 3 children, the site was lovely, quiet but busy enough that the kids could run around and not disturb anyone else. The amenities were very good, we liked the idea of a freezer to use, o'dell was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this site. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosie2007 10 reviews from this member

Wonderful. Don't know what else to say.

We have been back home 24 hours after 8 nights at this site and have already booked again for another 9 nights in 2 weeks time.

Pitches are well spaced,the many toilet/showers blocks are clean, there is a fridge and freezer that you can use and the owner is very friendly, he tours the site every morning and throughout the day making sure everything is ok.

I cannot add to any of the other reviews, can't fault this site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stownes 1 review from this member

As camping 'virgins' we decided that we would like to go to a quiet site, fairly close to home to determine whether life under canvas was for us. We chose Brighthouse Farm as it had exactly what we wanted - views, walks, quiet environment and no gaudy swimming pools, play areas etc. On arrival, there were only a few campers and we pretty much had the pick of where we wanted. On leaving on Saturday, the site was pretty full but still plenty of space between pitches and a lovely open area in the middle for the children to play.

Unfortunately the weather was none to kind and several thunderstorms happened whilst we were there, even lightning striking a nearby barn! However, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Brighthouse and will definitely revisit in the future.

There was a lovely walk (so my husband and son tell me) and Bury with all its big name shops and lovely boutiques is a 15 minute drive away.

My only small niggle was that the lighting in the ladies toilet needs to be improved.

I'd recommend this site if you are after peace and quiet at a bargain price (we paid 11 a night).

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deg3y 6 reviews from this member

Having been to the site on many an occasion, it was really lovely to go back again. All the toilet blocks have been tiled & decorated, the site was as clean & well kept as normal, the owner, O'dell could not do enough for you. A great place to visit nearby Sudbuy & Bury St. Edmunds, where there is a market on Saturday in the old part of town, great bargains to be had, & a boot fair on the Sunday about 15 minutes drive away.

The Bush in the next village does great evening meals, a great old pub & well worth a visit.

Would highly recommend this site if you have not been here before.

It was not my first visit, & it will not be my last.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolines 29 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a wonderful week on this campsite.

We were met by Odell on our arrival who gave us a tour of the campsite, and we could choose where to pitch. We choose a fabulous site on the edge of the wheat field, with uninterrupted views across the fields, with the ancient stone tower of Lawshall Church in the back ground. Heaven!

We did not need electric hook up, but there were lots of points around the site.

There is a toilet block which is always well maintained, and through Odells diligent attention, cleaned and kept fresh and topped up with loo paper and liquid soap.

There are a choice of shower blocks, 50p gives you a very good shower, just remember to hang all your clothes up before you put the 50p in the meter otherwise everything gets wet! A newer block which is open in busy times costs 1 and you get shower loo and hand basin in the cubicle. Ideal for families.

For us minimalist campers we were very grateful for the indoor washing up facilities : 2 basins with constant free hot water, plus a small fridge and a freezer. Name your ice blocks. And bring named bags to put our fridge bits in.

We even managed to freeze some ice blocks for our G&Ts.Now that is luxury!

We loved the site. It is part of a 400 acre working farm in Lawshall. Right in the middle of the Suffolk countryside surrounded by fields as far as the eye can see. It is a working farm so families with children are warned to take care across the farmyard where tractors and machinery may be moving. We loved the camping areas, lots of little areas to camp or park your caravan/camper in.

The site is rung with a light touch, the owners come and say hello, explain a few basic rules.The main one being common sense, and consideration to other campers, and this works wonderfully well. Dogs are welcome on site.Not being dog owners we wondered how this would work and were very pleasantly surprised. No problems at all. Bins all over the campsite for dog owners to use. No mess no noise, fantastic!

No play ground which pleased us but very family friendly, and the children we say were having a wonderful time.

The owners have devised some lovely walks, the edges of the fields all have grassy lanes cut down the side of them which make lovely strolls any time of the day.

The campsite was peaceful at night which is a must for us, just the gentle murmur of conversation and the waft of a BBQ on the summer breeze.

If you are a bird watcher it is a lovely place to be, we saw and heard sky larks all the time just beyond our tent, plus a myriad of other birds and butterflies.

And of course, a pub within walking distance across the fields!

Lots of lovely Suffolk villages near by, Lavenham, Long Melford, Bury St Edmunds. Get an OS map, a book of Suffolk walks and one about Suffolk villages, and take you national Trust card . A lovely rural retreat, and wonderful value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

As first time campers (about to set off on a month and two week camping holiday across the UK with a tent), we picked this spot due to reviews on here and it was only 2 hours outside London and we were going with experienced campers (they have a camper van).

Upon arrival O'Dell gave us a quick tour of the area. He gave us a pitch area big enough for our tent (a '5 person' tent with dome) and their camper van - in fact it was larger space than I would have imagined.

Our closest neighbours were a bit away. The land was flat and very well kept. It is on a working farm so to get to the camping area you drive through the farm.

There are two sets of showers, communal mens with two showers and I believe there are two in the womens. These cost 50p per go. Then there are four 'private' cubicles that contain a shower and toilet. These are a pound a go. I used both and found the 50p ones were adequate when only needing to shower. If you need a shave, you might want to go for the pound ones. There are separate toilet block area for men and women.

O'Dell has a wonderful detailed walking trail document that tells you of great walks around the many fields. Very nice to be able to walk without dodging people like here in London.

On our last day, O'Dell gave us a tour of the farm and the surrounding gardens which was lovely.

There are a couple of pubs within walking distance (one about a nice 20 minute walk, the other about a 30 minute walk). Great for taking a stroll, getting tipsy and then walking back.

This is an absolutely lovely spot. O'Dell, if you're reading, add another washing up sink in the kitchen area for dishes! :)

OH, there is also a fridge/freezer in the farm kitchen area that can be used for your ice packs and fridge for keeping your food in just in case the coolbox ice has melted.

Will definitely be back there next year!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rmayes 1 review from this member

Our 3rd visit to this site and we're very loathe to go elsewhere as it has everything you would want and some superb surrounding countryside.

Odell is so helpful and friendly and shows you around the site on your arrival on most occasions giving us a choice of pitches.

The facilities are excellent, showers & loos kept clean and stocked with loo paper and soap.

A washup area with fridge and freezer also available.

Very family friendly and nice that you can play ball games and have BBQ's.

Some good walks around the surrounding area,lots of places of interest to visit as well and swimming close by in Sudbury.

No shops in walking distance but we never found this a problem, tried out the pub at Shimpling, good basic food and friendly staff.

No problems to report except the fact we had to come home, but will be back again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyem 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site, and we were very impressed.

The owner, O'dell cannot do enough for you, he gives you a guided tour on arrival, and if you need anything, all you have to do is ask! He wanders around the site during the day and chats to all and sundry!

The site itself is very pretty, and is non regimented, something which I love about sites! We found a lovely corner behind a row of young trees, it was beautifully quiet and had the sun from sun up to sun down! There was probably room for about 40 units in total, and there was hook ups dotted around the site!

The facilities were perfectly adequate, I never had to queue, and they were always clean, the 50p wet rooms were better value than the 1 cubicles, but the cubicles were ideal for families!

The site is about 15 mins from Bury St Edmunds where there is a Waitrose, Tesco and Asda, but there are no shops closer to the site than this! However, there was a fridge / freezer on site, so we just stocked up and moved a day's worth of food to the cool-box at a time!

I would recommend this site, as long as you don't want to be too close to civilisation. We just love sitting outside our tent in the sun, moving only to get another beer, so this was our idea of heaven!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JeanetteB 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this camp. It is a very pretty, clean and tidy site. The showers we used were 50p, but they did last a long time. Had showers with the kids, as they are huge and saves on the pennies.
Very nice welcome from Odell who showed us round the site. The kids loved it and were constantly disappearing, exploring and making new friends. There was a little tuck shop which sold penny sweets for the kids - highlight of the day for them.
The drive in to the site is a little disappointing - but once you round the corner it is beautiful. Our first visit and would easily recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markos 6 reviews from this member

Since our last visit here the site owners have expanded their backfield and opened up new pitches. This backfield gives you views of field after field of various crops.

It's a working farm growing various crops, and it's in a very remote area. You won't find many shops near by, but Bury St Edmunds is only 15 minutes away.

The guy who runs it is a friendly chap, and gave us a guided tour of all the new improvements they've made.

You're invited to pitch where ever you want, which left my wife and I sat there for ages saying 'Oh. Well. You choose, no you choose' etc! But I much prefer this to allocated pitches.

There are four cabins housing modern electric showers in a cubicle, plus a toilet and basin. These cabins are ideal for us with an 18 month old daughter. Cabins cost 1 to use on a timed meter. A mop is sited outside for people to clean the floors afterwards.

There are also 50p showers, but I haven't used them so cannot comment.

The washing up area is indoors - a double sink/drainer with plenty of hot water. There's also a larder fridge with a freezer so you can freeze your blocks should you need to.

We didn't visit any of the pubs, but spent our two days relaxing and playing with our daughter.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019