Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vw dave 1 review from this member

Excellent value! We arrived and were shown to our plot by the owner, we were then given a guided tour of the facilities and site. Plenty of water points. Clean toilets and showers, Told us where the local shop and pub were, the owner even keeps the grass on the side of the fields cut creating a lovely path to the shop and pub! several areas to camp in, some looking straight at fields, some sheltered by hedging. The owner was always around to check everything was ok, cleaning the toilet / shower blocks. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

Just had a great weekend at Brighthouse.

Fantastic little campsite. Very welcoming owners. Everything spotlessly

Clean, including the toilet block. Lovely walks and loads of room for families. Our dog was made very welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Odell keeps the grounds looking lovely. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaz Ware 1 review from this member

We have just spent a lovely week at Brighthouse Farm. The site was wet when we arrived, but the owner had pre-warned us, and had made arrangements to tow all our party of caravans on to site. The site is beautifully maintained, grass was freshly cut. Plenty of electric hook-up points and water points. Washing up area was ideal.

Shower blocks have recently been renovated, very clean and fresh looking.

Location was ideal, very close to Bury St Edmunds, and su

Permarkets only a short drive away.

Plenty of places to visit locally, and lovely restaurant short walk from campsite.

Plenty of areas for walking dogs, child friendly site, plenty of space for children to play, .

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wruthie 7 reviews from this member

Our 1st visit to Brighthouse farm and we were very pleased with our stay. We were welcomed by the owner on arrival and shown round the site and where to find all the facilities we might need. The site was well marked out on the roads approaching and to the entrance which was a great help. We didn't use the toilets etc as we have our own in our van. We went into Sudbury to eat that evening as we were already out that way in the afternoon. Although it was very wet here this weekend (February so expected) we were offered a hard-standing area and use of the electrics which were all ready there for us to use. It looks like a beautiful site and would be lovely in the summer with the lovely views over towards the church.

All in all a highly recommend site if your looking for peace and tranquilly and considerate owners who are there whenever you may need them.

Good to find a site with electric open all year round and with reasonable charges we were more than happy.

Thanks for our stay.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toscas Mum 1 review from this member

I stay on this site at regular intervals since I also store the van there. I frequently stay on my own with just a dog for company and feel really safe. Odell and the family walk round daily to check up on everyone which I do appreciate and he has become a good friend to both my husband, myself and the dogs.

The site is not too big and has plenty of trees to make each area special. We generally pitch right by the fields to enjoy the beautiful views of Lawshall village. The Swan pub and the Bush pub both serve lovely meals and are within walking distance as is the local shop.

I have to say that we rarely venture off the site as we go for the peace and quiet and to chill out.

Our dogs feel very welcomed and enjoy running around. Odell keeps the edges of all his fields grassed to provide some lovely walks for those with dogs and without.

I gene rally use the wet rooms as they provide more space for me to move but the shower rooms are good for families as one can be in the shower whilst others are drying off.

Whilst the facilities are generally a bit old they are immaculately kept and the only time over the past 15 years that I have seen the toilets in a mess was one weekend when certain children ran amock with the toilet rolls. Even then Odell made sure we were all aware of why he had had to resort to removing the toilet rolls. How many owners do that.

We have seen this site develop from a 5 van site to its current size and I am really glad they do not intend to extend further as then it would lose its great atmosphere.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

We have had yet another very enjoyable stay at Brighthouse Farm.

The owners, especially Odell are very friendly and like to make sure you have the pitch of your choice. No overcrowding and wonderful views. The site itself is very well maintained. I can't understand the previous comments about the toilets being dirty!

I have never found that to be the case. There is no such thing as a dirty toilet, it's humans that use it!They should make sure it is left as they would wish to find it. I always take my grandchildren to the toilets and make sure they leave it clean and flushed. There is always an abundance of loo rolls and they are cleaned on a regular basis through out the day.

This site is a little jewel amid the beautiful Suffolk countryside.

Fantastic value for money being so close to Bury St. Edmunds and Lavenham.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ward19 3 reviews from this member

After returning from another fantastic holiday to Brighthouse farm we were disappointed to read negative reviews of this lovely site. We spent two separate weeks there in August, firstly on our own, then with friends who have also fallen for this gem of a site. The site has everything we need, lovely walks from and on the site, CLEAN facilities, spacious pitches and an owner who cannot do enough for you. Odell works very very hard and does his best to make everyone's stay pleasurable. We will be returning next year, with more friends and hope those who read reviews of this site ignore the negative comments made by others.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a site tucked away with views over the wheat fields to the church tower peeping over the distant woodland, this is for you. It must rank as one of the most peaceful and idyllic spots in England.

It was a little worrying when we arrived to find the entrance was only marginally wider than our fifth wheel and to make matters worse the track to the pitches had a power cable lower than our roof-top paraphernalia. We managed to squeezed through what can only be described as a hole in the hedge at the cost of a few bits of plastic on the sides but all in all, the tranquil site and the marvellous outlook made it worthwhile. Getting out was less traumatic and although the farmer helpfully offered us a route via the wheatfield stubble we declined after heavy overnight rain might well have made us a permanent fixture at the site.

Alas, you do pay the price for very cheap rates. The Toilet block in a dilapidated portacabin was filthy and no-one wants to share the shower with a family of mushrooms. In our case we have a full size bathroom so it didn't matter that much but I did speak to some people in tents who had the same view - spend a little cash on upgrading the facilities and cut back the trees at the entrance and you have the makings of one of the best sites in the country.

As a bonus I got the chance to ride in the combine harvester that was working in the fields next to us - fascinating to be in something bigger than our unit. It made up for any of the minor shortcomings.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wymondham camper 1 review from this member

Great spot and good pitches, but the condition of the facilities is appalling

Large washing up area with only two sinks was dilapidated & filthy, no bin for food waste so sinks were left full of waste (owners comment was that if bins were provided people would use them rather than the main waste bin area, which was overflowing by the end of the weekend)

Toilet blocks - absolutely filthy with years of grime, dead spiders and cobwebs in abundance. No evidence that these were cleaned over the weekend (tissue in the urinal and toothpaste up the side of the sink remained there all weekend)

Unisex showers/toilet as above with the addition of sinking uneven floors leaving dirty water pooling around the toilet. Mops and buckets provided but the water in these was filthy and there was no evidence of being refreshed over the weekend.

On a brighter note the new power shower wet rooms were very good (when there was hot water) but already showing signs for neglect and lack of cleaning

Electric hook up was bit dodgy with extension cables running all over the place which did trip out once on Sunday morning

Overall our weekend was value for money, we loved the open tent pitches and surrounding areas, it could have been so much better if a bit more effort went into cleaning.

Unfortunately unlikely to return while the facilities are in such a shabby dirty state

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulkerry32 2 reviews from this member

As mentioned many times before, the site is in a superb location, there's plenty of space but with the hedgerows and trees it's easy to find a secluded pitch if you want a bit of privercy. The pitches are level and the grass kept short

There's some nice walks across the farm to the local village pub. Bury St Edmonds 10 minute drive away and a lovely park in the village of Nowton.

The wet room showers are powerful but do tend to run out of the hot stuff, also there is no temperature control, so if you like a really hot shower don't use them. The other showers are electric so fully adjustable but not as powerful. The shower and toilet blocks really need updating and at 1 for a 4 min shower you would expect them to be spotless, unfortunately not, the dead bugs on ledges and light fittings are keeping the spiders very fat.

Plenty of electric hook up points, with numerous water taps scattered about, grey water waste point but chemical toilet emptying involves lifting a manhole cover which isn't secured so keep the kids away!

With a bit extra effort this site could be perfect!

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019