Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

Situated adjacent to a working farm which, unfortunately, you have to drive through. Reminded me of a breakers yard, but the site itself is lovely. Wonderful views, pitches well screened with mature and newly planted trees.

There is a choice of walks around the local countryside. The 50p 'wet rooms' were great. Enough room to swing several cats and lots of hot water.

The other toilets were adequate, but could have been cleaner and the washup room with the fridge/freezer was grim. The local shop was well stocked. The pub took us 25mins to walk to, but it was dog friendly. We liked this site and would be happy to come again.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SmileySam 1 review from this member

Our first ever camping trip and we had a really lovely weekend at Brighthouse Farm and would thoroughly recommend it. We were made very welcome, the pitches were spacious and not 'all in rows'.

A playground for the children would have been a nice extra but there was lots of space to run around. We followed the lovely walk to 'The Swan' where we were also made very welcome, had a tasty 'Sunday Roast'.

Toilets and showers worked perfectly and were clean. Although a bit of a drive, Aldeburgh and Southwold are well worth a visit from here.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The foursome 1 review from this member

After a long journey from Spain, we were most welcomed by both the landlady and the keeper, who gave us all kinds of support.

The site offers nice and clean toilets, a big washing room, a space for disposing of chemical wastewaters, and it's got plenty of room for kids (and grown-ups!) to play.

It's also full of trees for a bit of shadow, the grass is always in good condition, and there are a few walks around the cornfields to take, the nearest pub being just a mile or so away. There is a mini-market that comes in handy for the occasional bread or juice, or the morning paper.

Me and my daughters enjoyed the lovely talk here and there with other families who came from different places around England, and the atmosphere was simply very familiar.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Summerill 2 reviews from this member

We have just got back from spending 2 nights at Brighthouse Farm and can't recommend it highly enough. We would have stayed longer but the weather forecast was really grim and we had already lived through the Suffolk Tornado!

The site has a lovely relaxed feel about it and is bordered by corn fields or trees depending on which field you go in. The pitches aren't strictly laid out although the electric hook ups do define spaces to a degree but there is plenty of space.

The facilities are basic but were clean the whole time we were there. We only used the £1 showers and they were more than sufficient, plenty of hot water and lasted long enough. The freezer in the kitchen area wasn't working brilliantly but was fine for freezer blocks but I wouldn't have wanted to keep food in there.

The owner was friendly and helpful and kept a close eye on a large group of school leavers who were there and we were not disturbed by them at all as a result.

Will definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowwitch666 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a long weekend at Brighthouse, Campsite was found easily, O'dell was there on arrival and showed us around and told us to pick any pitch we wanted, Chose one overlooking the wheat field. Plenty of room for children to run around, though no playground for them. Nature walks around the fields. Toilets were regularly cleaned, and filled with liquid hand wash and toilets rools. Used the £1 shower which was lovely and hot and plenty of water. Washing up facility was adequate but probably could do with an extra sink. Would recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynton dave 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from an enjoyable weekend, the site is in a lovely spot. The pitches are fine, the site was busy and every time anyone used the washing up room the water died leaving you in a mess and there were not enough showers or wc,s. The local pub (The Swan) was great but a good hike when you have had a few.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nutthome 2 reviews from this member

Just had a great long weekend at brighthouse farm, yes the facilities are basic and sometimes not the cleanest but the location and easy going attitude are just great, and not to mention the fantastic value for money you are getting, it cost us 24 pounds for 3 nights away, say no more! all in all a great little site that welcomes you back, as we are already planning our next stay there.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Xxtaffxx 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site, clean showers spotless flat pitches, no wind due to cover from the trees & plenty of room for the kids to run around.Dog walks are available going around the surrounding fields, one of which leads to the local mini mart (about ten minutes walk)

The only fault I could find was that the shower would run out of water if someone was washing dishes next door, not good as the showers are coin operated. All in all a great clean and friendly site, cant wait to call again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkle* 3 reviews from this member

Set within very picturesque part of Suffolk. Lots of space for children to play, but disappointed by the toilet facilities which needed a thorough clean. No soap was provided, & one of the lady’s toilets had a completely broken seat.

The shower required 2 x £1 to give enough time for shower plus hair washing.

The setting was nice but the entrance would benefit from resurfacing to sort out the pot-holes. This site would be fine if you had your own shower & toilet facilities.

We never found the rubbish bins; recycling available in the village but not on site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eupton 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site 3 times and each time had a really warm welcome. Owner is very friendly and will assist with anything, never complaining about the noise (kids had a lot of water fights)!

Had our own field virtually and there was a big group of us. The surrounding countryside is nice and there are some good walks for the dogs.

Nearby is lovely Lavenham, which is definitely worth a visit, also not far to local shops and farmers market, which made for some great barbeques. Toilets kept clean and enough space, although hot water runs out quickly so get there early or wait till later! Also could do woth some more fridges and a freezer.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4202 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019