Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ward19 3 reviews from this member

 After returning from another fantastic holiday to Brighthouse farm we were disappointed to read negative reviews of this lovely site. We spent two separate weeks there in August, firstly on our own, then with friends who have also fallen for this gem of a site. The site has everything we need, lovely walks from and on the site, CLEAN facilities, spacious pitches and an owner who cannot do enough for you. Odell works very very hard and does his best to make everyone's stay pleasurable. We will be returning next year, with more friends and hope those who read reviews of this site ignore the negative comments made by others. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a site tucked away with views over the wheat fields to the church tower peeping over the distant woodland, this is for you. It must rank as one of the most peaceful and idyllic spots in England.

It was a little worrying when we arrived to find the entrance was only marginally wider than our fifth wheel and to make matters worse the track to the pitches had a power cable lower than our roof-top paraphernalia. We managed to squeezed through what can only be described as a hole in the hedge at the cost of a few bits of plastic on the sides but all in all, the tranquil site and the marvellous outlook made it worthwhile. Getting out was less traumatic and although the farmer helpfully offered us a route via the wheatfield stubble we declined after heavy overnight rain might well have made us a permanent fixture at the site.

Alas, you do pay the price for very cheap rates. The Toilet block in a dilapidated portacabin was filthy and no-one wants to share the shower with a family of mushrooms. In our case we have a full size bathroom so it didn't matter that much but I did speak to some people in tents who had the same view - spend a little cash on upgrading the facilities and cut back the trees at the entrance and you have the makings of one of the best sites in the country.

As a bonus I got the chance to ride in the combine harvester that was working in the fields next to us - fascinating to be in something bigger than our unit. It made up for any of the minor shortcomings. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wymondham camper 1 review from this member

 Great spot and good pitches, but the condition of the facilities is appalling

Large washing up area with only two sinks was dilapidated & filthy, no bin for food waste so sinks were left full of waste (owners comment was that if bins were provided people would use them rather than the main waste bin area, which was overflowing by the end of the weekend)

Toilet blocks - absolutely filthy with years of grime, dead spiders and cobwebs in abundance. No evidence that these were cleaned over the weekend (tissue in the urinal and toothpaste up the side of the sink remained there all weekend)

Unisex showers/toilet as above with the addition of sinking uneven floors leaving dirty water pooling around the toilet. Mops and buckets provided but the water in these was filthy and there was no evidence of being refreshed over the weekend.

On a brighter note the new power shower wet rooms were very good (when there was hot water) but already showing signs for neglect and lack of cleaning

Electric hook up was bit dodgy with extension cables running all over the place which did trip out once on Sunday morning

Overall our weekend was value for money, we loved the open tent pitches and surrounding areas, it could have been so much better if a bit more effort went into cleaning.

Unfortunately unlikely to return while the facilities are in such a shabby dirty state 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulkerry32 2 reviews from this member

 As mentioned many times before, the site is in a superb location, there's plenty of space but with the hedgerows and trees it's easy to find a secluded pitch if you want a bit of privercy. The pitches are level and the grass kept short

There's some nice walks across the farm to the local village pub. Bury St Edmonds 10 minute drive away and a lovely park in the village of Nowton.

The wet room showers are powerful but do tend to run out of the hot stuff, also there is no temperature control, so if you like a really hot shower don't use them. The other showers are electric so fully adjustable but not as powerful. The shower and toilet blocks really need updating and at 1 for a 4 min shower you would expect them to be spotless, unfortunately not, the dead bugs on ledges and light fittings are keeping the spiders very fat.

Plenty of electric hook up points, with numerous water taps scattered about, grey water waste point but chemical toilet emptying involves lifting a manhole cover which isn't secured so keep the kids away!

With a bit extra effort this site could be perfect! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Queencat 1 review from this member

 Second visit to Brighthouse Farm and just as pleasant as the first one at least 5 years earlier. The campsite is well-placed amid characteristic farmland, surrounded by ripe wheatfields. My daughter and I like the mown grass walking trail around the field. Dog friendly place complete with poop bins. All dog owners were responsible as far as we could see. Nice family groupings, happy kids playing games in the open spaces or content to ride bicycles around. Pitches are quite flat. Enough trees to provide windbreak and shade. Plenty of water-taps about. An excellent base for touring local countryside or to just relax and read a book in shade or sun. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robotwarlord 1 review from this member

 I've been to quite a few sites in my time, always in a tent as opposed to a camper or (shudder) a caravan. This is one of my favourite ever. There area is nicely dotted with trees and benches. Good flat pitches with no stones in the ground. It's surrounded by the owners farmland which he has cut paths through. Local shop and pub are easily walkable and Bury St Edmunds is easily driveable. The whole site is nicely divided up with trees and hedges and there are no set pitches so you can easily find a cosy little corner. There are benches liberally spread about and a friendly atmosphere without being crowded (despite the fact that the weather has been amazing and it was a weekend). I felt totally confident in letting the kids go feral. It's pretty cheap and the owner is friendly and chilled out. My only gripe is that the showers are 1 a session and don't really last long enough. Even so, I will definitely be back. This place is a total gem. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rustyarrow 10 reviews from this member

 Site is nice, plenty of room with lots of 'areas' you can choose from, grass good, the 'toilet block' has had it day really but there are some other toilets in with showers plus some 'wet rooms' all of which worked but could do with a good deep clean. Walk to the local pub is 30 minutes through the back of the site, the pub was really nice with beer and food very good and priced. Knocked it down a few points because of the toilets etc, if they were sorted would have given a ten! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here recently for a couple of nights while visiting Kentwell's HE re-enactment day.

The site is really well kept - quite manicured. We pitched in a lovely spot at the top of the first field. We had tons of room and virtually had the field to ourselves. The owner is keen not to overcrowd the place, said that he would only allow four tents in the area we camped in which was probably getting on for of an acre - nice unmarked pitches. There are picnic tables dotted around the place for campers to use.

The loo/shower block was in the next field. Nice facilities, cleaned daily. The showers (hot and fairly good flow of water) require a token, cost 1 which lasted for longer than I needed it to. There is even a wired in hairdryer in the ladies shower block if you need one.

There are paths mown at the edges of the fields to walk to the village, I didn't use them as we were out all day but a nice option.

The owner is very sweet - he offered to keep an eye on our dog for us when we had to leave her in the tent for a bit. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Casslsemes 1 review from this member

 We first visited this site over the Easter bank holiday. We really enjoyed our stay and have been back a couple of times since. The site is well maintained and very family friendly. The pitches are spacious mostly level with easy access to water and electric hook up. The toilet block has seen better days but is cleaned regularly. The showers run on a token system which are obtained from the owner. The owner is a friendly guy who is seen often walking around the site chatting and laughing with his guests. He has always been extremely helpful and polite. There is a lovely path cut through the fields to the local village it has a shop and pub. In which we had a lovely meal. We would recommend this site for scenic views and a friendly family atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abie123 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic bank holiday stay at Brighthouse Farm. We booked as a party of six families with children under the age of 11. There was plenty of room to spread out leaving enough room for the children to play and explore without bothering other campers.

The campsite is well maintained with lovely views over the country side. The trees and bushes have been carefully planted to offer privacy, shade and a screen from the wind. The owner offered advice regarding walks and places to visit during our stay which was very helpful.

The facilities were as you would expect - hot showers, clean loos and somewhere to wash up.

There is also a B & B on site which is very handy if not all your party enjoy or are able to camp. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement