Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsNoviceCamper 10 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic. We made a last minute booking and were not disappointed! The owner was there when we arrived to give us a few pitching options. We opted for one overlooking a field, with the most beautiful view of the local countryside.

The showers and loos were nice and clean. There were 4 'bathrooms' which were 1 for the shower, and 4 wet rooms (2 male and 2 female), which were 50p. The washing up sink always had hot water. There was a freezer for freezer blocks and a handy sheet detailing walks around the farm, and most importantly, how to get to the local pub!

Great site. Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pixie56 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site for the 5th/6th time and yet again have had the most fantastic stay.

If its relaxation, beautiful views,clean showers and toilet blocks, fantastic walking and plenty of very good pubs all in walking distance, then this is the site for you.

We have camped for 30+ years and this is without doubt one of our favourite places to stay.

The owner is one of the most pleasant and helpful people we have met during our camping life. If you haven't been to this campsite before I really do advise you to give it a try, you will not be sorry. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul R T 14 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, kept spotlessly clean, but run in a very friendly way by the owners. The informal pitches are arranged on a number of grassy areas, including one with great views out over the countryside. The facilities appeared clean and adequate (although we always use our own loo and shower in the caravan). The site is dog friendly - happy that well-controlled dogs do not need to be kept on the lead constantly. There is a dog-walk immediately adjacent. If touring with a caravan, we would recommend you approach from the A134 via Lawstall village (turning off the A134 at GR 888536). Other routes are fairly bumpy as well as narrow.

The surrounding area is pleasant rolling countryside with some good walks. We strongly recommend a visit to Lavenham, a well-preserved/restored early Tudor village. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robert Connolly 1 review from this member

 Great site, views over fields to church in distance, lovely walk to local shop. Weather was fantastic watched the sunrise every morning whilst enjoying the dawn chorus. Facilities very good, site enhanced with daffodils and lots of different trees. Easy access to A134 to visit Sudbury or Bury St Emunds, Long Melford well worth a visit if only to see the church. Site Manager Odell always on hand and willing to offer help and advice if needed. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

 Situated adjacent to a working farm which, unfortunately, you have to drive through. Reminded me of a breakers yard, but the site itself is lovely. Wonderful views, pitches well screened with mature and newly planted trees.

There is a choice of walks around the local countryside. The 50p 'wet rooms' were great. Enough room to swing several cats and lots of hot water.

The other toilets were adequate, but could have been cleaner and the washup room with the fridge/freezer was grim. The local shop was well stocked. The pub took us 25mins to walk to, but it was dog friendly. We liked this site and would be happy to come again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SmileySam 1 review from this member

 Our first ever camping trip and we had a really lovely weekend at Brighthouse Farm and would thoroughly recommend it. We were made very welcome, the pitches were spacious and not 'all in rows'.

A playground for the children would have been a nice extra but there was lots of space to run around. We followed the lovely walk to 'The Swan' where we were also made very welcome, had a tasty 'Sunday Roast'.

Toilets and showers worked perfectly and were clean. Although a bit of a drive, Aldeburgh and Southwold are well worth a visit from here. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The foursome 1 review from this member

 After a long journey from Spain, we were most welcomed by both the landlady and the keeper, who gave us all kinds of support.

The site offers nice and clean toilets, a big washing room, a space for disposing of chemical wastewaters, and it's got plenty of room for kids (and grown-ups!) to play.

It's also full of trees for a bit of shadow, the grass is always in good condition, and there are a few walks around the cornfields to take, the nearest pub being just a mile or so away. There is a mini-market that comes in handy for the occasional bread or juice, or the morning paper.

Me and my daughters enjoyed the lovely talk here and there with other families who came from different places around England, and the atmosphere was simply very familiar. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Summerill 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from spending 2 nights at Brighthouse Farm and can't recommend it highly enough. We would have stayed longer but the weather forecast was really grim and we had already lived through the Suffolk Tornado!

The site has a lovely relaxed feel about it and is bordered by corn fields or trees depending on which field you go in. The pitches aren't strictly laid out although the electric hook ups do define spaces to a degree but there is plenty of space.

The facilities are basic but were clean the whole time we were there. We only used the 1 showers and they were more than sufficient, plenty of hot water and lasted long enough. The freezer in the kitchen area wasn't working brilliantly but was fine for freezer blocks but I wouldn't have wanted to keep food in there.

The owner was friendly and helpful and kept a close eye on a large group of school leavers who were there and we were not disturbed by them at all as a result.

Will definitely come back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rainbowwitch666 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a long weekend at Brighthouse, Campsite was found easily, O'dell was there on arrival and showed us around and told us to pick any pitch we wanted, Chose one overlooking the wheat field. Plenty of room for children to run around, though no playground for them. Nature walks around the fields. Toilets were regularly cleaned, and filled with liquid hand wash and toilets rools. Used the 1 shower which was lovely and hot and plenty of water. Washing up facility was adequate but probably could do with an extra sink. Would recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynton dave 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from an enjoyable weekend, the site is in a lovely spot. The pitches are fine, the site was busy and every time anyone used the washing up room the water died leaving you in a mess and there were not enough showers or wc,s. The local pub (The Swan) was great but a good hike when you have had a few. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59630 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement