Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Miclou 6 reviews from this member

Just had my second visit to this site and will definitely be returning again.

O'Dell the owner is very friendly and helpful, facilities are clean, never had to queue for a shower and never run out of loo roll. Grass is well maintained and never cramped for space with units being well spaced and grass areas left for children to play ball games etc. Some lovely dog walks and views of the local countryside. Dog bins also placed around the site for deposits.

It is in a rural setting and quiet but that is what makes this site so wonderful. On my favourite list.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J+G01 4 reviews from this member

Was a bit concerned at first as had to drive through a farmyard, there was no reception to go to and didn't know who to see about pitch. Once sorted the pitches were very nice and level, grass was cut short and tidy and nice layout.

Facilities were a little hard to find as no-one told us where they were and there were no signs, but once again all was ok within a few hours. No children's play area.

Owner was very nice and friendly, there was no strict time that we had to leave, overall a very nice site and would visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mand1 14 reviews from this member

We just visited for our first time over Easter Bank Holiday as part of a group (many of whom have been there before) to celebrate a 'big' birthday. The fact it was non-regimented pitches was great and that catered for the tents, the tourers, the electric / non-electric users alike. We have never come across a friendlier or more helpful site-owner. We had a lovely relaxing break and the cleanliness of the toilet and shower blocks could not be faulted. Everything we needed was in easy driving distance and we also had a nice (25 min) walk on sunday to the village pub. We will definitely be going back again. Only thing we would like improved is proximity of drinking water to elsan.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark +3 2 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite friendly owner with plenty of local knowledge very reasonable prices , plenty of space to pitch your tent on short grass with soft ground (no rocks). Toilets & showers nice and clean (with handy mop &bucket outside to leave it clean for next guest).NO play area but children (4&5) had a great time running and cycling around without getting in anyones way. No local shops but everything you need in Bury st Edmunds 15 minute drive away, upto 2hrs free parking in waitrose. Didn't get to try the local pub 20 mins walk across fields (grass path). But The rose & crown at long melford by A134 very nice good food children welcome garden but no play area. Also The crown at Hartest is very nice good food children welcome large garden with play area. All in all we had great time will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mky337 22 reviews from this member

Nice location, great views over open countryside from some pitches. The owner was very helpful and showed us around the site when we arrived. There is indeed a nice pub about a 20 min walk through the fields, although we didn't eat there. The site was good value for money but only comment would be that the facilities were a little basic and not many of them considering the number of people that seemed to be on the site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VPClarke 7 reviews from this member

We found this site using this website's campsite search, when looking for a campsite close to the Rougham airshow (a great little airshow near Bury St Edmunds, well worth seeing). And what a gem it turned out to be- a secluded campsite hidden away in the depths of the Suffolk countryside. We had a pitch with lovely views directly over the fields and farmland stretching far and wide. We also found the 'camp where you like' attitude very refreshing- rather than having regimented pitches. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the campsite seemed to have all the usual facilities in working order- including a large kitchen with cooking facilities and fridges. This is also a good location to visit historic Bury St Edmunds (15 minutes away) and the picture postcard village of Lavenham (10 mins away). There is no shop close by, but the village does have a pub (although we didn't try it on this visit). We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummy2 2 reviews from this member

The site was nice. Very flat land, and the ground was soft. The owner was polite. Where we were pitched, it was quite a trek to the toilets and showers. However the toilets (only 3 ladies) were clean and stocked up.
No designated children's play area's but plenty of open space for them to play without intruding on others space. The only negative comments would be, it was just our luck, we had 'moany' tent neighbours who complained about the children playing too noisily! So this created a bit of a negative atmosphere as after this we felt too scared to speak!
However apart from this, nice site. BUT a word of warning, there is no shops nearby so make sure you are well stocked up for at least your first night until you venture further out into either sudbury or bury st edmunds, where there is a small tesco express. There is electricity hook ups if needed and water taps scattered about.
We stayed on a very rainy weekend so the mud was terrible, but when it dried up and the sun came out it was lovely. Definitely a place to go if you want no noise or entertainment and just to sit out and relax. Small tents were 7 pound a night and large tents were 9 pounds a night.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Careyclan 2 reviews from this member

We were very lucky to have found this lovely campsite with a super friendly owner and beautiful surroundings.

The toilets were always very clean and the showers were nice and hot with plenty of water. Just a tip, use the 50p ones because the water runs out very quickly on the 1 ones.

The only set back was the fact that we had to drive for about 15 min to get the basics like bread and milk because there is no shop on site, apart from that we loved the site and will be back again.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheMightyFloss 3 reviews from this member

Really nice location with views over open fields.

We were there when there was a VW camper rally in the nearby (and well worth a visit) village of Lavenham and despite being pretty much full up the site was fine and facilities generally seemed to cope. The only criticism would be that there were limited washing up facilities - there's a huge room but only two sinks!

The owner was really helpful and made us really welcome.

There was no official children's play area but the layout of the site meant they could play safely and without interfering with others' enjoyment.

Although we didn't try the local hostelries the site owner was able to provide us with directions and a menu for what is said to be a good local pub.

There is a farm walk and plenty of other paths to the nearby village and pubs.

A lovely campsite that I'd be happy to re-visit and to recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wardies 1 review from this member

Lovely, lovely site. Nice flat spacious pitches surrounded by mature and newly planted trees with views across open fields. Lots of room for the children to run around and play and still not get in anyone's way.
Grass kept nice and short. Despite small number of loos, no queues and we were there when the site was full. Showers a bit dated, but good & warm. We were part of a group of 13 adults and 10 children (age between 8 and 11) and everyone had a fab time. Will be back again.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019