Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tweenyno2 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site set in the fields of a working farm. Very friendly welcome, and nothing was too much trouble.

No cars were allowed on site, due to the weather, but then owner was more than helpful getting our stuff to our pitch in the back of his mini tractor, and the car park area was very close to the pitches. Often saw him towing caravans to their pitches as well. This, as he explained, was to try and preserve the state of the grass (worried cars may tear it all up, as it was so muddy and wet).

Only downside was the weather (short, sharp showers and very, very cold at night).

Toilets were clean and tidy, with good washing up facilities. Showers were lovely and hot, and for the cost, lasted a long time.

Bury St Edmunds is only 7 or so miles down the road, with all the major shops there. Lots of pubs nearby, and some beautiful countryside walks.

Not a great deal for children to do (although there is a small park nearby), but my children made friends easily with other children, and managed to find things to do (make dens, play outdoor games etc).

Would definitely return in the warmer months, as this is a very nice site that is not too far from home. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbara Wilkins 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, lots of tree's and great views, we had a friendly greeting, the facilities were all good and kept very clean.

The site was very dog friendly, our dog Bentley a bassett hound enjoyed his holiday and we will definitely be going to stay for longer next time.

The surrounding area was brilliant for things to do and see, I particularly liked exploring Lovejoy territory and Lavenham. There are great walks surrounding the site, also we saw lots of birds including a beautiful woodpecker.

There is a pub in the village and a shop, nearby towns of Sudbury and Bury st Edmunds have everything you could possibly need, all in all a great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevegriffiths 4 reviews from this member

 We had a 2 night stay with friends (2 tents - total of 4 adults, 2 children) - arriving at the site around 11am, we were met by Odell who showed us around the site and facilities - offering us several places to pitch. During the weekend he was often seen walking around the site, and happy to chat and answer questions.

The site was quiet, so plenty of space to pitch our two tents, one with hook up for lighting. The site and facilities were all clean, mostly in portable cabins or older buildings - and as mentioned elsewhere the gents toilets could be a bit of a squeeze!

Nice touches included picnic tables dotted around, the individual shower rooms which included toilet and sink (a pound for a shower) and a fridge and freezer in the washing up room. Arrival and departure times were flexible as well.

The kids (3 and a half, and nearly 3) loved the site - space to run around and they quickly made friends with a couple of girls who had visited the site several times before. Not having a park didn't matter - they played games with balls, frisbies, tag and hide and seek.

The local village has now lost it's shop so it's a bit of a trek to the nearest one.

We visited Melford Hall (NT), and Felixstowe (pebbles, sand and a few rides etc. For younger kids) during the weekend - and had recommendations of other places to visit from fellow campers. Also had lunch in a pub on the A134 towards Bury St. Edmunds - a Greene King offering two meals for 9. 95 - which were good for the price. It had a nice play area for kids as well.

All in all a nice quiet site, which we all enjoyed and which provided a good introduction to camping for ours friends. We would certainly return - top marks for value and service. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happyclap 8 reviews from this member

 Overall very nice site, clusters of pitches separated by trees or overlooking open farmland. Great walks, lots of choice of pubs, pleasant owner who seemed to be friendly and relaxed. Toilets/showers old, 50p showers not used, 100p showers old and a little rudimentary but clean but were self contained with private toilet/shower/sink and we'll return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oaksmere 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an 11 night stay at this site, and to say we had a great time is an understatement! On arrival we were greeted by O'Dell who showed us around the site and made sure we knew where everything was. We camped with our two teenage daughters,and my parents, sister and nephew on an adjacent site, which was ideal, and the pitches we were given were clean, spacious and had a great view across the corn fields. We were very fortunate in that we only had one day of rain, and the rest of the time was hot and sunny.

The facilities on the site are clean and well maintained. Even when it was really busy over the weekend, we only had to wait about 5 minutes at the most for a shower if we were using the self contained rooms. The 50p showers were always available, and our daughter assured us, more than adequate. There was also adequate washing up facilities with free hot water, and even a fridge and freezer for the use of guests.

This is the friendliest site we have ever been to. O'Dell or his Mum, go around the site several times a day to ensure that all campers are ok. We asked about telephone numbers for riding stables, and O'Dell kindly provided us with a yellow pages to find what we needed. We were even told to go and help ourselves to plums from the garden before we left!

We will, without a doubt return to this site. We only live about an hour away, but with sites like this, who needs to travel further?

This site is a must to visit. Believe us, you will not be disappointed, and will return again and again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sneekymum 1 review from this member

 This was our first proper camping for our family (2 adults, 3 kids and a dog). Lovely site, very friendly owners. Site is spacious and very well laid out and cared for. Facilities are good.

We did have a problem with a large group who were less than considerate to others, including practically putting their tent on top of ours! Odell was very helpful in sorting this out.

Really can't fault this site or owners, very considerate. We definitely plan to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: L15A 3 reviews from this member

 As others have stated O'dell is a friendly guy, and this site is Gay friendly as we found out !. The pitches are a nice size, the facilities though in my opinion were a let down. Great price for us, 2 adults and 3 kids with electric for 14. We were recommended to go to the Swan pub, we did this and went on a Sunday for the roast, it was overpriced at 9 for a child sized portion which was overcooked. Would def return to this campsite but not go to the swan to eat. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rod Pudney 10 reviews from this member

 We wanted a site close to our Essex home so we could go after work Friday night and pitch our new tent for the first time. We liked Brighthouse Farm so much we went back the next weekend also.

Previous reviews accurately cover the site's facilities, but no-one seems to have mentioned Lavenham, only a short drive away and well worth a visit - very good butchers, several tea rooms and loads of timbered houses - we enjoyed just wandering around, although it did give us an appetite for the cream tea.

We'll definitely go back to Brighthouse Farm. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Albert 54 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site, glorious views, pitches well maintained, friendly, welcoming relaxed owner. This site has great potential, but missed the mark in a number of ways:

The toilets were not cleaned regularly during the week remaining filthy for a couple of days. Much better maintenance at busy weekend period.

The kitchen area could only be described as squalid on our arrival. By the next day someone had done a quick tidy up, but I suspect it was another camper, as dirt on floor had only been swept into a pile that then stayed for the rest of visit. No bin in kitchen, so people left rubbish around.

Shabby dated facilities are fine if they are thoroughly clean.

This would be an outstanding site if these matters were addressed. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allan_1983a 8 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site. Reasonable price for facilities available, always clean and the man that runs the site is always around and regularly stops for a chat. Only drawback was the first time campers who didn't understand 7am is a little early for cricket but that cant be helped! lovely location, very peaceful and near enough to everything you could possibly want (Bury St Edmunds is 6 miles) the owner had designed some great walks to the local pubs, but we didn't get chance to try them.

We will be going back here and sooner rather than later hopefully!' 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


61004 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement