Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pevenseypeter 4 reviews from this member

 The actual camping area is nothing but superb and can't be faulted. Nor can the supply of hot water. However, the 4 days we were there no cleaning of toilets, showers or washing up area was done. The showers haven't even got a bin in them. This is a working farm so you expect a bit of a mess, but the whole place, away from the site, is like a tip. The bin area was disgusting and overflowing, broken bottle not cleared up for two days. It is such a shame, could and should be such a great place to camp and chill out, but there is no way we will go back there. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smitch999 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2-night stopover at Brighthouse Farm. We were very impressed by how well kept the site is, and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The pitches are open plan which ensures lots of space, and we chose a spot which had a lovely view across open fields. The Swan Inn at Lawshall is a must for a visit, the food is excellent.

There is a bus that goes from either Lawshall village or a mile up the road from the site. On a Saturday it runs back and forth to Bury St Eds once in the morning and brings you back at 1pm (no service after this). We found this site to be extremely peaceful and relaxing and would visit again. The only criticism I could make is that the showers operate by token, cost a pound each and (according to the owner) only last for 3 minutes. This would be too expensive for how long I take to have a shower, so I used the one in our van. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Foxylady83 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful 2 days at Brighthouse Farm and can highly recommend the site. Pitches are spacious with lovely views over the farm land and there is plenty of space for dog walking around the fields. Facilities are good, especially the showers, which require a 1 token but you get bags of hot water and lots of time for your money. My husband and I shared, with water to spare. There are plenty of toilet and shower combinations and a good indoor washing-up area. The outstanding features of the site for us were the hospitality shown by the owner , who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, the lack of officious rules and regulations and the general atmosphere of camaraderie. We would recommend:

1. Walking to the local pub The Swan for a brilliant meal (but book first). About 15-20 minutes walk across the farm and up the road, on a pavement

2. Walking the St Edmunds long distance footpath. We walked 17 miles to Lavenham and Long Melford with our dogs and had a great day out. It is well signed and mainly through arable land with no livestock

Many thanks. We will be back next year! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilnlou 1 review from this member

 This is our fourth visit over six years and this our first review of the site. This weeks stay has been another fabulous experience. What makes us come back again and again is many fold:

Huge huge huge pitches.

Beautiful farmland surroundings, yes its a farm - sorry reference to previous remarks but clue is in the name.

Site owner always greets you, allows you to pitch where you like best out of a choice or can pre book your favourite spot. Also he pops by in the evenings to make sure your stay is going well and if you need anything.

Most Important part of this review is obvious to regular campers, but first timers should read on. When someone reviews a site and marks it down for cleanliness, this site is definitely regularly cleaned. The people who down grade it are of very low intelligence, as they are grading the person who visited the loo or shower before them.

We have always recommended this site to fellow camping minded friends and they have have all thanked us for the recommendation.

Top tips to try-

The walks from the farm

The local pub

Ickworth house - cheaper than most places to visit and you can actually touch stuff.

Bury st edmonds - explore it you won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vw dave 1 review from this member

 Excellent value! We arrived and were shown to our plot by the owner, we were then given a guided tour of the facilities and site. Plenty of water points. Clean toilets and showers, Told us where the local shop and pub were, the owner even keeps the grass on the side of the fields cut creating a lovely path to the shop and pub! several areas to camp in, some looking straight at fields, some sheltered by hedging. The owner was always around to check everything was ok, cleaning the toilet / shower blocks. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

 Just had a great weekend at Brighthouse.

Fantastic little campsite. Very welcoming owners. Everything spotlessly

Clean, including the toilet block. Lovely walks and loads of room for families. Our dog was made very welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Odell keeps the grounds looking lovely. Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaz Ware 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a lovely week at Brighthouse Farm. The site was wet when we arrived, but the owner had pre-warned us, and had made arrangements to tow all our party of caravans on to site. The site is beautifully maintained, grass was freshly cut. Plenty of electric hook-up points and water points. Washing up area was ideal.

Shower blocks have recently been renovated, very clean and fresh looking.

Location was ideal, very close to Bury St Edmunds, and su

Permarkets only a short drive away.

Plenty of places to visit locally, and lovely restaurant short walk from campsite.

Plenty of areas for walking dogs, child friendly site, plenty of space for children to play, . 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wruthie 7 reviews from this member

 Our 1st visit to Brighthouse farm and we were very pleased with our stay. We were welcomed by the owner on arrival and shown round the site and where to find all the facilities we might need. The site was well marked out on the roads approaching and to the entrance which was a great help. We didn't use the toilets etc as we have our own in our van. We went into Sudbury to eat that evening as we were already out that way in the afternoon. Although it was very wet here this weekend (February so expected) we were offered a hard-standing area and use of the electrics which were all ready there for us to use. It looks like a beautiful site and would be lovely in the summer with the lovely views over towards the church.

All in all a highly recommend site if your looking for peace and tranquilly and considerate owners who are there whenever you may need them.

Good to find a site with electric open all year round and with reasonable charges we were more than happy.

Thanks for our stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toscas Mum 1 review from this member

 I stay on this site at regular intervals since I also store the van there. I frequently stay on my own with just a dog for company and feel really safe. Odell and the family walk round daily to check up on everyone which I do appreciate and he has become a good friend to both my husband, myself and the dogs.

The site is not too big and has plenty of trees to make each area special. We generally pitch right by the fields to enjoy the beautiful views of Lawshall village. The Swan pub and the Bush pub both serve lovely meals and are within walking distance as is the local shop.

I have to say that we rarely venture off the site as we go for the peace and quiet and to chill out.

Our dogs feel very welcomed and enjoy running around. Odell keeps the edges of all his fields grassed to provide some lovely walks for those with dogs and without.

I gene rally use the wet rooms as they provide more space for me to move but the shower rooms are good for families as one can be in the shower whilst others are drying off.

Whilst the facilities are generally a bit old they are immaculately kept and the only time over the past 15 years that I have seen the toilets in a mess was one weekend when certain children ran amock with the toilet rolls. Even then Odell made sure we were all aware of why he had had to resort to removing the toilet rolls. How many owners do that.

We have seen this site develop from a 5 van site to its current size and I am really glad they do not intend to extend further as then it would lose its great atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

 We have had yet another very enjoyable stay at Brighthouse Farm.

The owners, especially Odell are very friendly and like to make sure you have the pitch of your choice. No overcrowding and wonderful views. The site itself is very well maintained. I can't understand the previous comments about the toilets being dirty!

I have never found that to be the case. There is no such thing as a dirty toilet, it's humans that use it!They should make sure it is left as they would wish to find it. I always take my grandchildren to the toilets and make sure they leave it clean and flushed. There is always an abundance of loo rolls and they are cleaned on a regular basis through out the day.

This site is a little jewel amid the beautiful Suffolk countryside.

Fantastic value for money being so close to Bury St. Edmunds and Lavenham. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59894 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement