Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Club44 1 review from this member

Just back from our third visit to this campsite in as many years and I feel that is now a home from home. The facilities are basic but kept clean and well stocked for toilet paper and soap.

Well stocked village shop only about 10 minutes walk away. The owners I cannot fault.

Odell is a lovely and informative man always with a smile and ready to help out at every opportunity, and Roberta is lovely too. We intend to return yet again either later this year or indeed next year.

There is also plenty of space to spread out and have fun and ball games are permitted. My kids love the freedom of the site and our dog enjoys it too.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craig norman 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site twice in the space of three weeks (must have been good).

The site itself gives area of shelter if you are in a tent.

Owners are excellent and let you choose your pitch where available and are often seen around the site making sure all is ok with everyone.

Toilet block has seen better days but kept clean. The showers are excellent (only used the 50p ones!) although my daughter did experience a cold shower on one occasion as left it a bit late in the morning!

Will definitely be visiting this site again. The walks the campsite has are great we did all three whilst there. The pub took about twenty mins. Wasn't too impressed with the local shop as the drinks were in a fridge (soft and alcoholic) but the fridges weren't switched on!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emerys 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Brighthouse Farm.

This camp site is clean tidy, the showers were clean as were the toilets. There was a very large freezer which was for the campers to use. The site has lovely views, long walks, dogs welcome, room for children to run around and play games. Plenty of room to kick a football without anyone moaning.

There is a small shop close by along with the local pub. Bury 6 miles away.

Tents and caravans were mixed together - it is a very friendly camp site.

The site fees are very good 14. 00 per night including electric cheaper if your in a tent.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mannypups 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday weekend. Because of previous heavy rain no cars were allowed on the field and had to park around the farm barns, which was extremely awkward as there was not enough room for this.

Every time we went out for the day more cars would appear meaning parking became increasingly difficult (cars were often having to double park).

The toilets were very basic and after the first night there was no toilet paper for the rest of the weekend. Very disappointed as smaller sites than this have managed to provide toilet paper, and considering it was a bank holiday weekend you'd think they'd be prepared for this. The 1 showers were mucky and not worth the money as they were very short and couldn't keep to a steady temperature.

However, the swan pub is in walking distance and we had a good meal there. The views from the site were also very lovely.

Because of the bad organisation I would not use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glam09 5 reviews from this member

1st visit to Brighthouse farm and I have to say, we loved it.

The owner (Odell) was very friendly and although we waited 10 or 15 mins when we got there, he showed us a few spots to pitch and we were able to choose where we went, he also came round during our stay to see how things were going. There were plenty of picnic tables for guests to use which was a nice touch.

We have 4 children and even though there is NO park, there is so much space for play because he doesn't cram everyone in and they really enjoyed the walks to the park and shop in the village.

The site itself is beautiful with lovely views and spacious level pitches. The only improvements I can see for this site are the toilets which are a bit dated. Even though there were mops outside the showers so you have a clean floor before you go in, they were just a little bit tired and old.

The massive area for washing up room could do with another sink and a good clean too. It wasn't helped by people leaving their slops on the side of the sink after washing up which made me feel a bit sick! I think a bin in there would help those lazy people clean up after themselves.

All in All we loved it here as it was relaxing, lovely surroundings, friendly and not too far from home which is all we ask for. Oh yeah, forgot to add how reasonable the price is too. We have tried to return but had to cancel but will definitely be returning this year and I think this will be a regular site for us in future.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pingvin 3 reviews from this member

We - Mum and 2 kids - had only 2 nights here and were not too lucky with the weather, but we loved the place.

The owner, Odell, is very helpful.

The farmyard you have to drive through looks a bit like a breakers yard, but you have to remember that it is a working farm.

The campsite itself is beautiful, level and well kept, with a choice between more protected pitches surrounded by trees and hedges, and a field with a view over the countryside. It was very windy when we were there, but we didn't feel it at all on our pitch.

Some of the shower rooms and the toilets are a bit worn out; although we saw them being cleaned daily. The dishwashing area could do with some freshening up, too, but the water was very hot, and it was nice to find a freezer for freezing elements.

There is a beautiful walk with short grass all the way to the village where there is a little shop. If you need a supermarket, you can drive to Long Melford, which by the way is a nice little town with lots of small shops.

Although there is no play area, my children were never bored, there was a lot of space for them to play, as there was for the well behaving dogs we met while we were at the site.

A wonderful quiet - and cheap - site with friendly owners!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsNoviceCamper 10 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. We made a last minute booking and were not disappointed! The owner was there when we arrived to give us a few pitching options. We opted for one overlooking a field, with the most beautiful view of the local countryside.

The showers and loos were nice and clean. There were 4 'bathrooms' which were 1 for the shower, and 4 wet rooms (2 male and 2 female), which were 50p. The washing up sink always had hot water. There was a freezer for freezer blocks and a handy sheet detailing walks around the farm, and most importantly, how to get to the local pub!

Great site. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie56 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site for the 5th/6th time and yet again have had the most fantastic stay.

If its relaxation, beautiful views,clean showers and toilet blocks, fantastic walking and plenty of very good pubs all in walking distance, then this is the site for you.

We have camped for 30+ years and this is without doubt one of our favourite places to stay.

The owner is one of the most pleasant and helpful people we have met during our camping life. If you haven't been to this campsite before I really do advise you to give it a try, you will not be sorry.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul R T 13 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, kept spotlessly clean, but run in a very friendly way by the owners. The informal pitches are arranged on a number of grassy areas, including one with great views out over the countryside. The facilities appeared clean and adequate (although we always use our own loo and shower in the caravan). The site is dog friendly - happy that well-controlled dogs do not need to be kept on the lead constantly. There is a dog-walk immediately adjacent. If touring with a caravan, we would recommend you approach from the A134 via Lawstall village (turning off the A134 at GR 888536). Other routes are fairly bumpy as well as narrow.

The surrounding area is pleasant rolling countryside with some good walks. We strongly recommend a visit to Lavenham, a well-preserved/restored early Tudor village.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert Connolly 1 review from this member

Great site, views over fields to church in distance, lovely walk to local shop. Weather was fantastic watched the sunrise every morning whilst enjoying the dawn chorus. Facilities very good, site enhanced with daffodils and lots of different trees. Easy access to A134 to visit Sudbury or Bury St Emunds, Long Melford well worth a visit if only to see the church. Site Manager Odell always on hand and willing to offer help and advice if needed.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019