Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Q Gunderson 2 reviews from this member

 We were camping here in a group and had an enjoyable few days. We were pleased to see that the site wasn't very full, because the pitch sizes are not very generous.

We could only just fit our family tent on it, so I don't know where we would have parked the car if the space next to ours was occupied.

Positives: the area is very nice, excellent and reasonably priced shop, quiet and friendly site.

Negatives: site access (long bumpy track), Ecoloos stank, no hot water for washing up, which at £25 pounds a night you'd expect, also a lack of a decent shower block. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper1972 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights over the weekend with friends, so 4 adults 4 children and must admit, could not have stayed any longer. The site itself is very nice, albeit busy, we had a total of 8 tents in our corner, none of which took into account the 6 metre rule.

The owners are very pleasant and friendly. The shop is small but stocks most of what you may need, however we felt we were intruding into their home.

You have to pay for your ice packs to be frozen so we kept buying bags of ice from outside the site as it was cheaper. In busy times, you could be queueing for a long time. (Our son queued for nearly an hour to buy some fire logs)

I understand the ethos of eco loos and only cold water for washing up, however, the toilets were very smelly and even the men in our group couldn't bring themselves to use them.

The flushing toilets and showers were in what looked liked sheds / portacabins and we always had to queue, however, they were always stocked with toilet paper but nothing to dry your hands with. Also, one toilet and shower were at the front of the shop.

On one of the days we decided to go to the local leisure centre, only 15 mins drive away, in order to shower properly and dry my hair. This was the best 50p I have ever spent.

The nearest beach is a 20 min walk down a lane unsuitable for any car other than a 4X4, we should know as our sat nav took us this way, or a few minutes drive.

Campsite itself is in a very nice location and if you are not worried about washing and therefore the way you look, this is ideal. In the main field at the end, it can get very windy.

If you want to go in a group, each tent has to pay a £20 bond, which you do get back if you have not had a complaint against you. We also had to pay extra for having a larger tent, we have been to many other campsites which you don't as you are just in a field and that costs less than this site with better facilities.

There was some noise in the field and along the lane gone 11pm, but it was bearable.

We did enjoy the fact that you could have fires as long as they were off the ground.

There wasn't really anything for children to do, ours would ride their bikes, so if staying on the campsite you will need to take plenty of games for them, or do as we did, which was to go fishing, crab fishing and to the beach.

Sorry to say, but wouldn't rush back here in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: White Fang 3 reviews from this member

 This was our third camping trip and first with the three grandchildren (11, 9 and 6). It was also the longest. We arrived and were a little disappointed to be stuck in a corner of the field under trees. The space permitted was well marked but did not seem to leave space for the car. However the spaces on either side of us were not used at all while we were there so this was not an issue.

The actual area for pitching the tent had been so well used that there was little grass and was covered in twigs etc from the trees - just as well that we had invested in a carpet for the living area of the tent! We had to wash pigeon poo from the tent before we packed it up for the trip home.

However there were water taps between every three or four pitches so really easy to fill kettles etc. The site is split into a number of smaller fields giving the impression of a small friendly little camp-site.

There were also no rules about kids playing in the camping field other than quiet between 11pm and 8 am. As all the tents/caravans are around the edges with a big open space in the middle all the kids were out playing with each other and making new friends.

We didn't have bikes or hire them but it was possible and all the farm lanes around would make this a really safe place for kids to ride bikes. A 20 minute walk got us into East Wittering and the shops. So location is fantastic.

The site says it is eco-friendly and recycles etc. Actually what this means is there is no hot water at the washing up sinks. The eco-loos are disgustingly smelly and full of flies! Almost all of the showers and toilets are in portable units and are rarely cleaned. There are 8 loos and six showers - but at least 3 of the toilets are in the shower rooms!

The showers were busy at peak times but this is normal on most campsites. The temperature is preset and actually very pleasant. The extra space in the shedlike showers is BRILLIANT when you have kids to shower. The rubbish recycling means there are not enough ordinary bins and the day before rubbish collection were very full.

The shop is very small and expensive - 1 litre of milk and a pack of non-branded ibuprofen was £2. 60! Really it is just a couple of shelves put up in the back of the reception area. However very useful if you run out of something. The lady in the shop is very helpful and pleasant.

In summary a rather grubby, very basic site but fantastic for kids and access to the beautiful West Wittering beach. Would we go back - only if we were taking the kids and there was no where else available in the same area! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AliFD 2 reviews from this member

 As others have said, a simple, rural campsite with well meaning environmentally minded owners who would like to do more if the local council would let them.

At the moment, however, the facilities are basic. The nearest toilets to our tent were the composting toilets which were very smelly. And the tap outside them provided cold water only, no soap.

The washing up sinks also had cold water only and sometimes that stopped completely. There are flushable toilets near the farmhouse but they weren't very handy for us. I also didn't think there were as clean as they could have been. Similarly the showers were ok but normally busy and with varying flow and temperature.

The owners were pleasant enough. Check in was quite lengthy involving explanation of the map and campsite rules, which I think I would have been happier reading later on myself.

I was also slightly offended when trying to pay by cheque to be told that the site didn't accept cheques anymore and that my bank should have told me about changes to cheque guarantee system. So, even though cheques are not obsolete yet, and the campsite leaflet still says they accept them, I was made to feel at fault for trying to pay by cheque.

Similarly, the campsite appears to have changed its rules on groups and the amount of 'good behaviour bond' payable. This caused a bit of confusion in our group and head scratching as we re-sorted out cash between each other.

You also have to pay for ice packs (like many other sites) which I resent somewhat, especially as they doubled the price for two of our flat ones (that are no larger volume wise than smaller rectangular cuboid ones).

Aside from these grumblings, the campsite is in a good location for the Witterings beaches. Recommend East Head at the far end of the car park at West Wittering for a quiet, beautiful beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyfreeman 2 reviews from this member

 This site has a nostalgic feeling of what camping used to be like, a proper “farmers field”. It’s a simple, un-commercialised, no frills site. Charges are modest & facilities are pretty good for a rural site though.

It does have all the basics you need, showers (all free which is unusual nowadays !), flush loos & “ecoloos”, drinking water & washing up facilities which were all well maintained during our stay.

There is also a great little site shop selling a good range of camping essentials, food & toiletries as well as logs and barbecue goodies. Do try the honey produced on the farm it is really yummy!

The site is nicely tucked away but still within walking distance of East Wittering Village & beaches or Bracklesham Bay. Although, word of warning, don’t forget to check out the directions provided on their website and blindly follow your Sat-Nav, there are three lanes that lead to the farm one is well maintained but two of them are rough farm lanes only really suitable for tractors & 4WD vehicles.

They are nice to walk to the beaches as there is no traffic but not really suitable for driving down. The location is great for a longer break, we were there for 10 days and when the kids got fed up with the beach there were plenty of good family days out close by, the Weald & Downland Open Air Museum & Amberley Working Museum both being well worth a visit.

We liked the eco friendly approach, & the fact that it is a proper working farm, it seems to attract a good bunch of friendly, like minded campers. There are no static caravans, bars clubhouses, or carefully manicured gardens just a pretty field, hedges, trees, sheep and lots of wildflowers & wildlife.

The family that run the farm & campsite are friendly & when the busy farm schedule permits, the owner Simon (also known as “Farmer Green” to the kids! – yes that is his real name!) cycles around the site for a chat & to check everything is OK which is a nice touch.

Might not be everyone’s cup of tea but for us that’s part of the attraction especially as the noisy “chav” element so prevalent on many coastal campsites are thankfully absent! We loved it & will be back soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Withnailnher 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site after an enjoyable holiday last year. Since our last visit the owners have much improved the site, there are extra showers & toilets, new washing up sinks, one of the ecoloo blocks has been rebuilt and best of all a new campsite shop!

The shop sells a good range of reasonably priced camping basics, groceries, toiletries etc. They sell their own eggs & honey as well as locally produced bbq burgers, sausages & bacon which is delicious. If you are staying for a week like we did, the shop is a real bonus as you don't need to make endless trips to the shops for supplies.

It is a cheap & cheerful, peaceful & secluded family run site and very different to the other big commercial sites in the area. The location is great & you can walk to the nearby beaches & villages.

The owners are friendly and helpful and the site attracts a similar friendly and fairly chilled out bunch of fellow campers. It is a working farm & Simon ('Farmer Green to our kids!) takes time in the evening to go round & have a chat (and the odd beer!).

The site has a nice holiday 'buzz' in the evenings and quietens down after the 11pm 'quiet hours' threshold.

Facilities are pretty good for a rural farm site, the ecolloos are basic but OK, if you don't want to use them there is a good selection of flush loos & showers around the farmhouse that are kept clean & well maintained. Even over a busy bank holiday weekend you did not have to wait too long for a shower even at peak times unlike some other sites in the area we have been to.

As a rural site it might not be to everyone's tastes but if you are looking for a traditional old fashioned style camping site then this one is well worth trying. It might not be suitable if you are an urban city dweller though as was demonstrated by a family two pitches down which gave us endless hours of entertainment moaning about no TV, not having any hot water to wash up, having to wait at peak times in the morning for a shower, no hairdryer facilities in the tent, no cooked breakfast provided etc etc.

Anyhow we enjoyed it & will be back again - highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steveandjo 1 review from this member

 We booked the site for it's location, the Witterings have some fantastic beaches. The site it self is basic. The use of ECO toilets made a change but you did have a choice of a few 'normal' loos if you wanted them. The showers were quite basic too and not in a shower block so if the weather's bad you get a shower before you get a shower! The washing up facilities only had cold water which could of been better but I suppose would of gone against the 'eco' feel of the site. In general I would say the site is basic, a very basic camp shop and no children's area.The town and beach are walking distance and has every thing you need there. Although the site was basic the general feel and atmosphere was good and Myself,my wife, my 2 girls,sister,brother in law and nephew had a great time. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Happycamperuk 2 reviews from this member

 The site is approached via a fairly long single track gravel / bumpy road. I wouldn't really want to meet another towing vehicle as it would be really hard to pass.

We thought the site was fairly over priced for what it offers. First we had to pay in cash on arrival as they wouldn't take card. The owner was friendly but that was the last time we saw them. We never saw them on site which wasn't great given that there were some 'loud' campers going on past 11pm and they didn't appear to shut the gate which meant some guy was pitching up gone 11pm.

The loos weren't great. If you are used to tidy clean loo / shower blocks this is not for you. We only found 2 loos that had hot water and they were so hot you couldn't put your hand under it for more than a second.

Most were just cold taps only and the water pressure sometimes left a trickle coming out which made it hard to wash at times. None of the loos had shelves or hooks to put stuff on which is a pain if you want to go to the loo and wash in one visit.

There were often long queues (6+ people) for the showers. These were the posh loos (if you count a porta cabin and converted sheds as posh) the rest were eco loos - enough said. Both weren't that clean.

There are a few dish washing places on site but none with hot water and water so cold I'm amazed it didn't freeze! and not enough for when the site is busy.

If there were no spaces anywhere else in the area we would stay there again (just!) 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trolleydolly 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site, we came two years ago & the owners have made a lot of improvements. Since last time there are more showers & conventional flush toilets and a new improved ecoloo unit.

It is nice to have the choice of using either the 'ecoloos' or the flush loos, I don't mind the basic nature of the ecoloos but my teenage daughter is of a more sensitive nature & preferred the flush loos,

The hedges have matured & provide good shelter & seclusion from other campers.

The showers are good most of the time although at peak times on a busy weekend pressure can be low. This is a problem we have found on other campsites in the area due to the water main being unable to cope with the extra demand from the influx of tourists but it is a small price to pay considering the great, almost Mediterranean feel to the local beaches.

This site really is a hidden gem, there are no signs so do follow the instructions on their website. It is secluded but not isolated & the nearby villages of East Wittering & Bracklesham Bay both have good shops & places to eat and are within walking distance. The location is a good base for a longer holiday as there are plenty of attractions & things to do locally.

It is a working farm with an old fashioned feel to the campsite, very reminiscent of Pa Larkins farm from the Darling Buds of May. The kids loved the lambs & chickens. Do try their home produced honey, great on toast for breakfast! All In all a great site if you are open minded enough to accept it for what it is & like the environmentally friendly aspects. If you are a five star urbanite it might not be for you but we will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shannah-lympany 2 reviews from this member

 I went to Stubcroft Farm with my girlfriend and our two kids. Unfortunately I had a very bad experience there. The site wasn't clean and they had these terrible toilets which smelt.

The pitch we had was full of animal droppings and there was always a queue to use the showers.

The only good thing about our holiday was when we got away to the beach where there were much better facilities.

Unfortunately our kids wanted to go home after the first night and that put a negative feeling for the rest of the holidays. I don't recommend  


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3282 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement