Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VMac 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite with a large group (5 couples, 1 10 year old and a 6 month old). Found the campsite easily using the directions from the website. They mean it when they say don't use your satnav to find the site - our friends did this and the road it takes you down is truely not suitbale for vehicles.

On arrival, had to queue at the house to pay and were then shown to our pitch (one couple had not gone to the house and so had to move their tent.). Given a list of rules / regs / info and such. Weren't expected to pay for a friend who had to work at short notice, so that was a bonus.

Toilet and shower block not the best I have ever seen, but clean and maintained. Eco loos are great and we used these as they were the closest. Queues for the showers at most times but only 10 minutes or so, and you can watch the chickens while you wait (the owner will take little ones in while she feeds if you're there at the right time).

The beach is a fair (30 min) walk and we only discovered the not so great, pebbly bit (not the fab golden bit that everyone talks about). Friends hired bikes from the site - good rates, but they had to wait AGES for them to be serviced / usable.

Not much to do on site, but that doesn't bother us, but if you are looking for an all-in site with stuff for the kids to do, this isn't it (and I recommend you go to Butlins.).

Tesco 10 mins in the car, but plenty of farm shops on the way.

Great site, great owners/staff, good rates, would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darlingbuds 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly & uncommercial site in a cracking location. Plenty of space in a large field near the farmhouse which is level & well sheltered by pretty hedges. Good beaches within walking distance nearby.

The site is on a working sheep farm run by a friendly family & has an old fashioned camping feel to it. There is a mix of conventional flush loos & showers near the farmhouse & 'ecoloos' on the field. We stayed on a fairly busy weekend & unlike many south coast sites we have stayed on, we never had to queue or wait. Facilities were serviced regularly & well maintained.

Prices are reasonable, there are no clubhouses or bars but for us that was part of the attraction. Fellow campers were friendly & there seemed a good atmosphere. The site has a 'quiet hours' policy after 11pm & the owner does a friendly check which was reassuring.

All in all a site to be recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Baker 9 reviews from this member

 We visited as a group of dads with kids. Arrival on Friday afternoon was a little basic - you are essentially camping in the owner's (large) back garden and to book and pay you visit an extended part of their house. This is not a slick commercial operation, but as others have said that's part of its charm. To be fair, they did take the time to point out where the loos etc. Were and walk our party to our field and point out where to camp.

Location is great. The huge West Wittering beach, one of the best in the country, is only 5 minutes drive. The campsite itself is not easy to find and, strangely, not signposted from the main road which I though rather odd.

There are several fields, the furthest of which was used for groups on our visit. This field has eco loos, a washing up sink and tap. All handy facilities which save a longer walk to the farmhouse.

At the farmhouse itself you'll find several showers and 'proper' toilets all of which were clean and well presented during our trip. We did not experience queues.

There is no play area or club house. During our visit the middle of the field was used by all the kids as a general play area for cricket, frisbees, the usual. A nice atmosphere.

During our visit late night noise was kept to an absolute minimum thanks to the owner coming round and chatting to all the groups at about 11.30 - thumbs up for that.

Bottom line, would we visit again? Yes certainly but only if we could not get in to the other sites in the area which (from the reviews) sound even better. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cotty 5 reviews from this member

 This site really is a hidden gem. It is a very simple, reasonably priced site on a working farm & may not appeal to urban townies who want lots of facilities & clubhouses etc. But if you want an old fashioned campsite in a farmers field this is the place for you. We stayed for two weeks & had a great time. It is well located for the beach which is a 15 min walk down a pretty farm lane. There are plenty of village shops & places to eat nearby.

Weekdays were idyllic with hardly anyone around on the beaches & campsite but like everywhere on the south coast on a hot weekend London descends to the south coast! However although the site was busy there was a pleasant buzz & it attracts a friendly bunch of fellow campers unlike some sites we have stayed on. They have a quiet hours policy after 11pm which works well.

Facilities are well maintained & cleaned regularly. The owners have put extra showers & toilets in since our last stay & refurbished one of the old showers rooms into a modern wetroom shower which is really nice. Like all sites along the coast there can be a short wait at peak times on a busy weekend but that is only to be expected, we timed our showers during the day & never had to wait. From Sunday midday through the week we virtually had the site to ourselves.

The washing up sinks are cold water only so you have to take a kettle of water to do the washing up or use a washing bowl by the tent but that's no problem. There was no sign of a blocked sink as mentioned by a previous comment so I guess it has been fixed. If you are feeling lazy there is a great pizza place locally that delivers to the campsite!

Great campsite, friendly people, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DaveJan 4 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a nice weekend at this site, with many of the features mentioned by reviewers. However, there were also a number of negatives :

1) the site was full for the early July weekend, and the number of showers was far too small - there were seemingly permanent long queues for them all. And there weren't even any washbasins to take the strain except in some individual lavatories

2) it's nice that the site rents out bikes, and the surrounding flat countryside, with nearby sea side areas, is excellent for cycling. But the bikes weren't that well maintained.

3) the blocked washing up sink mentioned in earlier reviews still seems to be blocked !

4) the water pressure occasionally reduced to nothing (presumably when taps were turned on elsewhere)

We think that, for the number of people accepted onto the site at busy times, the owners need to invest a bit more in facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinsfamily 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly family run site with an non-commercial & delightful 'old fashioned' feel to it. The site is flat & well protected by pretty hedges & trees & well away from any roads so it felt very safe for the children. Super location close to some great beaches.

The site is on a working farm & they sell some of their own produce like eggs & honey. As well as the great beaches nearby there is plenty to do. The Weald & Downland open air museum was a hit with the kids as was the harbour tour from nearby Itchenor. Good shops & places to eat in the village which is within walking distance of the site.

Decent facilities, you can either be 'eco friendly' & use the composting loos or there are a good selection of modern flush loos near the farmhouse. There are two sets of ecoloos, one has recently been replaced with an updated design that works well. There are 5 showers near the farmhouse(not three as someone else posted) including a newly refurbished modern 'wet room' suite. Facilities were regularly cleaned & maintained.

All in all highly recommended if you want a decent old fashioned campsite - we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gihan 1 review from this member

 Decided to brave a half term camping, compared to previous years when we've stuck to quieter times. We arrived on a wet Tuesday with our ten month old.

There were 4 fields ( 3 for tents and 1 for caravans) Due to the inclement weather there was plenty of space to pitch. We chose the site for their allowance of campfires. Unfortunately the campfires are only allowed within suitable containers raised about 10-20 inches above ground level. We were told by one of the staff prior to arriving that we would be able to use one of their containers, however regardless of the lack of campers, they were still unable to provide us with a container when we arrived. Nonetheless we were able to use our own bbq to good use when not cooking.

There are compost loos which, despite other comments, surprisingly didn't smell too bad, though I couldn't spend too long in there.

There are portable loos, sheds with showers and toilets in and a wet room, all of which had hot water and was generally clean and well stocked with toilet paper even when it got a lot busier during the week.

There is an outdoor sink in each field for washing up, though one sink was completely blocked throughout our stay and the water is permanently cold.

Noise was minimum after kids had gone to bed and the ability to buy fresh eggs from the farmhouse was a nice touch.

The biggest plus is undoubtedly West wittering beach which is a ten-15 minute drive away. A simply stunning sandy beach, on of the best we've been to on the south coast. The beach at East Wittering is closer, a 10-15 minute walk but is not quite so appealing as when the tide comes in you are only left with pebbles to walk on.

The biggest negative was the unpleasant sight of mountains of rubbish in their bins, which they attributed to a busy bank holiday

All in all, a decent campsite in a great location. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chewjam 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site at the end of the half term week and it was fairly busy. We had to go to the farmhouse to book ourselves in and be shown to our pitch. After a ten minute wait we were shown to our pitch, my sister had also booked on this site and unbeknown to myself had asked for us to be together but the owner walked pasted her pitch and said that we could not go there as there was not enough room for a tent! We were shown to the next field and told to park our car on one side and tent on the other which we did. The pitches are not marked out at all and it became very confusing during our stay as the people one side of us had to move their car because they had taken up too much space although they had only done as they had been told when they arrived. We then had to move our car to accommodate people who arrived later on and wanted to pitch 3 small tents next to us, as I say all very confusing. We felt that the pitches should be marked in some way, either painted or burning would be enough.

This maybe an eco site, but there is no need for the smell and the lack of basic facilities. We went there with the intention of using the eco loos which we did a couple of times, but they became unbearable due to the smell and lack of sinks nearby to wash your hands. The flushable toilets were always busy and to use the showers you had to be up really early or be prepared to queue for a while, even then the chances of getting a hot shower were slim.

West Wittering beach is great and parking costs were not as bad as we had anticipated. We spent the whole day there and had a great time. East Wittering is a pebbly beach which is not great, but it does have all the shops that you will need and is within a 20 min walk from the site.

Due to its location it could be a really good site if the facilities were upgraded. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ditzeeblonde 5 reviews from this member

 Campsite is divided into 3 small fields & 1 larger field, we were there with our 2 young kids & were directed to a field with similar families which was fabulous for the children.

The noise on the campsite always quietened by 11pm & we were never woken up by anyone else before 0700.

The open air composting loo's took a bit of getting used too but they were clean, always well stocked & didn't smell too bad! My only gripe would be the fact there are only 3 showers for the entire campsite. One of which is a portaloo size!

We will be returning to this lovely campsite ideally situated for the gorgeous beaches at West Wittering. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyt-c 2 reviews from this member

 We returned for the 2nd year running to camp with 4 other families over the May bank holiday. The owners seem to be adjusting slowly to demand, and improving facilities year on year. Kids love the lambs and chickens

There are more ecoloos, you can now buy logs and eggs from the farm and there's an extra shower. There are still long queues / loss of water pressure at peak wash-times, but this is normal for a busy site so, just shower another time!

Lovely lanes to walk to the town, a short drive to the beaches, but beware the 5 parking at the EW beach car park. No hassle with loud music or late-night noise apart from a family of magpies screeching above the hedge at 4 am.

The owner is good at doing the rounds and checking up on everyone, and allocating groups in a sensible way. No sense of being squashed too near to anyone else.

Facilities and loos tended regularly (as long as you aren't too sensitive to compost loo smells over busy periods). Anyway I really like this site, proper camping for proper campers and it's secluded, pretty and sheltered.

Also like the new 'Group Bond' arrangement which makes group payment less complex. Good thinking. All in all a lovely weekend. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement