Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windy_69 3 reviews from this member

 Highly recommend this campsite if you are looking for a taste of relaxed, no frills, reasonably priced camping. The facilities were clean and more than adequate for a weekend, there was plenty of space between campers and even though it was busy there was no sense of 'lets see how many more we can squash in.'

The pitches were all level and spread across three fields separated by high hedges.

Another plus was the pub that was in walking distance called The Thatched Tavern, great for families, the owners were fantastic even making food for us even though we arrived after service had stopped. I would highly recommend a visit to both the site and the pub. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stalbans48 2 reviews from this member

 This is a small campsite with 3 fields and basic facilities but in a great location.

Eco toilets a plenty. Though a bit smelly, possibly due to the warm weather. Cleaned regularly. Showers up at the farmhouse and are also basic, some in portacabins which were tricky if trying to wash kids. Long lines in the morning so time your shower well!

Staff friendly and the chickens were a draw.

Personally, I felt that it was a bit cramped and though the staff tried to keep families and 'party' tents in separate fields, people were playing music well into the night. Then up with the larks at 5am so not a lot of sleep. I would have liked a bit more space / privacy and not have kids (even though I have 2) running around the back of my tent. Having said all that, it was a Bank Holiday and only to be expected for a coastal site.

Not my type of site as prefer more space and better showers etc but I can see the attraction for those who want to be less commercial. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Withnailnher 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely chilled & reasonably priced campsite, plenty of space in a huge grass field to lie out watching the clouds in the blue sky listening to the birds singing in the hedges.

Good vibe & most other campers on the site seemed friendly & pleasant, not your usual noisy drunken chavvy types that seem to frequent most of the south coast beach sites nowadays. This is probably due to the ecoloos, they are a pretty cool way of saving water & have the added benefit of deterring the more irritating urbanised crowd.

Weekdays were pretty quiet with the field pretty much to ourselves but weekends get busy like most of the coastal sites so it’s best to book in advance for Fridays & Saturdays as most of London seems to decamp to the South Coast nowadays. Gone are the days of just turning up on a sunny weekend but hey ho, c’est la vie!

On the plus side even over the busy bank holiday weekend there was a pleasant buzz about the site. The family that run the site are friendly & helpful & their free range eggs are “cracking” if you’ll forgive the pun, great for a breakfast fry up!

If you are not into the “Eco” scene there are plenty of ordinary flush loos & showers near the farmhouse which seem to have been refurbished recently.

It is a working farm so don’t come expecting a “Butlins” style site, its basic with no clubhouses or bars, simple but adequate & well maintained facilities but a really lovely, uncommercial old fashioned feel to it.

Do follow the directions on the website though & don’t rely on satnavs. There are some nice country lanes that lead to the beach & nearby villages but they are not suitable for driving down. Highly recommended site! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spinetti 6 reviews from this member

 Super old fashioned “eco friendly” site in a really lovely location near the famous Wittering beaches - we stayed for a week during the half term holidays and had a great time bottle feeding the spring lambs in the next field. This site is actually on a proper working farm, so many sites which call themselves 'farm sites' nowadays are not.

There is a spacious level field which is fairly well sheltered with nice hedges & plenty of room, you are not packed in like some sites. The owners are friendly & helpful & sell a few basics like free range eggs, honey & logs.

Showers are free & several have obviously been recently refurbished for the new season. There are plenty of toilets, both traditional flush toilets & “ecoloos” which are kept clean & tidy. It is an environmentally friendly site & you have a choice either of using the composting ecoloos (which are ok if rustic) or more conventional flush loos by the farmhouse. The site encourages you to be more eco friendly with recycling etc. But it is not in your face

There was loads of wildlife around including lots of different types of birds, rabbits, deer etc. & a friendly hedgehog who came out late each evening to investigate the remains of our bbq!. We found fellow campers were very considerate and it was very safe to let the kids roam freely without traffic worries. Great campsite. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hentyfamily 4 reviews from this member

 This site is quite a find as most south coast sites near the beaches are cramped, overdeveloped, noisy & expensive. It is a delightfully secluded site tucked away from the main roads down a long lane so no worries about kids & traffic. It is on a working sheep farm & has a lovely informal & un -commercial feel to it.

The facilities are not luxurious but are adequate, location is ideal for beaches, Chichester and the harbour. If you want bars, clubhouses & lots of facilities this is not the site for you but that is definitely part of its attraction for us! Another major plus is that it seems to attract a good group of friendly fellow campers, I guess the “chavs” & noisier “urban” elements are put off by rustic nature of this site, long may it continue!

We have used this site for all of 2009 and the owners are very helpful, friendly and laid back. Most of the time the site is very quiet but, like all south coast sites, it can get busy on hot summer holiday weekends & bank holidays.

One advantage of this site is that you can book in advance which is advisable for peak season weekends especially now as camping has got so popular recently.

There are good shops within walking distance and a very nice pub 5-10 minutes walk from the campsite. The food is fantastic & booking is recommended in busy periods! All in all if you want a nice old fashioned traditional site without all the modern day trimmings, this is a lovely site in a lovely location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DLM09 1 review from this member

 I stayed for a couple of days mid-week in August, just me and the dog. The site was absolutely fantastic, owners really friendly and helpful. The very fact that the facilities are quite basic is the appeal. If you want a holiday park, go to a holiday park!

The site was busy, but not heaving (probably because it was weekdays) and there was plenty of space.

The showers were fine so long as you didn't need to have one at peak time. I had mine about tea-time and didn't queue.

Having read other reviews, I was a bit wary of the ecoloos, but I was in the end field, where the washing up sink is attached to the loos, and despite it being particularly warm those days, there was no smell and I used the ecoloos rather than walk back to the farmhouse.

Even though it was August, certain parts of the beach were still open for dogs, particularly at East Wittering where I was told 'to the left for people, to the right for dogs'. At Bracklesham Bay, it was ' past the third groyne for dogs' Miles of sand when the tide was out - dog heaven!

I can't recommend Stubcroft highly enough but if you go there, have respect for their ethos and their gently enforced rules, then everyone has a good time. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trolleydolly 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a real gem, sheltered, secluded and level with plenty of room between pitches unlike many sites where you are packed in like sardines. The site is not regimented like most modern sites & has a delightful informal, old fashioned feel about it. It is on a working sheep farm - we were there during shearing and it was a real experience for the children to watch the shearers at work. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. “Farmer Green” as our kids called him, does an evening walk around the site which is a nice touch.

We especially like the 'eco friendliness' of the site which is fairly unique. The camping field is surrounded by attractive hedges which are full of wildlife & birds. Facilities are limited but there is drinking water on the field, showers, a choice of ecoloo or flush toilets, washbasins, recycling area and chemical waste disposal. There is sometimes a bit of a queue for facilities at peak times but it is such a delightful location it is worth putting up with this minor inconvenience.

It is a lovely small campsite for those who want a traditional old fashioned site without commercialism. It is probably not for those urban townies who want lots of facilities but if you want simple “back to basics” camping as it should be, then we recommend this site.

A word of warning: remember to print out the directions provided on their website and don't blindly follow your Sat-Nav, some of the lanes around the farm are tractor tracks, nice to walk or cycle to the beach but not suitable for normal cars and not easy to turn round on once you realise this!

Will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grimsdykecampers 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from the August bank holiday weekend at Stubcroft Farm and feel compelled to add to the list of reviews.

On the plus side, the location is fantastic. Nice safe walk/cycle to a very child friendly beach.

Also good was the fact that as a group, we were allowed to camp close together, making it a very friendly set up.

However, I felt that the website and the comments from other campers have not highlighted the fact that the toilet and shower facilities were inadequate for the number of people on the site. Perhaps on a less popular weekend, the eco-loos would have been ok but this weekend we felt they presented a serious unpleasantness and probably a health hazard as well by the end of the weekend.

While this site has the potential to be absolutely delightful, I feel the lack of investment lets it down 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Runewhite 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from August Bank Holiday at Stubcroft. We were camping as a group of 5 families and the site was happy to accommodate us. The site was a 15 minute walk to East Wittering and our children (Ages 10 - 14) enjoyed the independence of going to the town on their own.

At first the adults embraced the idea of eco-loos but the children (especially the girls) were not as enthusiastic. The showers were not very reliable and there were only three for the whole site. There was nowhere with hot water to wash up. The warden said that he hadn't worked out how to get hot water up the fields but it would have been easy to install a proper washing up place near the farmhouse.

The site was busy and we felt that we were being asked to camp in a smaller space than if we had booked as 5 separate families.

Finally we felt that the site was expensive, especially considering the lack of amenities. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MightyAtom42 6 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a weekend here. The site is nice in terms of the camping fields, the chickens, quail and sheep (which my little one loved) and I appreciate the sentiment with the eco loos.

You could get a shower before 7:15am or after 9pm, otherwise you queued. The showers were not always hot, which is not on when you have paid £1 for one. The flushing toilets were generally always being queued for and I found all of the showers and toilets to be pretty dirty. I am sure they were cleaned, but with this amount of people sharing 4 showers and 5 flushing loos(all in portacabins/wooden sheds) they just got muddy really quickly. I was almost more concerned about the rubbish situation - bin bags overflowing the wheelie bins, covered in wasps and files. Again, I appreciate it was a busy summer holiday weekend, but we were told by the recycling collector that they only collect once a fortnight. For a site this busy, they need to get a private company to collect at least twice a fortnight in the busy months. No hot water for washing up (all w/up sinks are outside only, so would be difficult in the rain) was a bit annoying.

The local area is nice, West Wittering beach (although v expensive to park) is lovely and you can get to the sea from the site on foot or by bike. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement