Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HMills86 1 review from this member

 I found booking with the campsite very easy. The manager was very informative and helpful.

Arrived at the campsite late afternoon. The road is very much a track and extremely bumpy and more suited to a tractor!

One of the main reasons for visiting this campsite was the bike hire that was offered. When we arrived and enquired about the bike hire, we were given a number to call to arrange bikes. When calling the number, we were greeted with a voicemail informing us that they were closed for a few days. When letting the campsite know, they clearly had no idea that the bike company were closed. We were incredibly disappointed and had pretty much planned our weekend around going for a few bike rides. The website does not state at all that they do not provide the bikes and they use an outside company. If you are wishing to hire bikes, this is worth checking before you book.

The campsite shop is very very small. You could only get 3 people in there (including the member of staff!). Whilst it does state that all produce is seasonally provided, don't rely on it for food as there was nothing there when we arrived!

The eco toilets were ok. But as you expect, smelly and dank. The rest of the toilets were better however the showers were just filthy. They ask you to mop the floor after your use, however the mop and bucket provided was equally as filthy so no wonder no one used it! They are building a new shower block however it seems to be a long time in the making!

Our pitch was ok. Reasonably sized. We decided to try and find a quiet spot however 2 families pitched up opposite us and along side us resulting in both evenings being spoilt by a large number of children running around with torches screeching. Whilst I appreciate children having fun, it was clear that the parents didn't give a hoot what their kids were up to.

Overall, the campsite was ok. They are clearly trying to put as many pitches in a field without a huge regard to people's privacy and enjoyment. The facilities are average and generally look run down. If you have a family, then this campsite would be ideal as all there were a large number of children all around but I would not recommend it if you were a couple looking for a weekend away.

Whilst not the worst campsite I have ever been to, I will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsHRigg 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Stubcroft Farm over the weekend Saturday until Monday morning and loved it. From the excellent communication and ease of booking and paying a deposit to the don't follow the sat nav follow these directions it was great.

I was panicking about the weather all week - it was glorious sunshine making every camping trip that much more pleasant!

Down a bit of a bumpy windy lane, quickly swished through reception great instructions and maps of the locality to pitch 26. My downside was we were right beside a drinking water stand pipe so the ground around was a bit soggy and it was accessed by all other campers - but not to any great degree of causing annoyance.

Facilities on the site were fine - lve been in more modern but these were perfect - hot water for showers, eco loos and at no time did l have to queue.

The shop on site was small but well stocked - sausages and burgers were fabulously tasty.

The shingle beach a nice 20 minute amble with a cafe/diner and icecream kiosk.

The camping areas were in sets so great for the kids to run wild and play yet they were visible.

Maybe it was the weather or the relaxed atmosphere but there was a real family feel - our neighbours were friendly and helpful - leaving charcoal with us to letting us use their electric pump for the airbeds. My stepson ran about played tennis, cricket rounders and he gave the little ones loom band lessons.

Stubcroft Farm Campsite was brilliant - we hope to get another visit fitted in before the summer leaves us as we had such a great time. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loulou6t9 5 reviews from this member

 We visited during August bank holiday and the site was well maintained and well set up but the facilities could not cope with the large volume of people on site.

I'm all for a bit of Eco, but playing the Eco card to their own financial advantage meant that the Eco loos were a no go zone, there was no hot water, at times no cold water and occasionally no electric.

The approach lane nearly rattled my poor car apart even at a top speed of 7 mph

Our weekend ended with the family from hell being placed next to us despite the fact that most of the field was empty.

The price per night seemed a lot for the facilities offered!

Will not be revisiting! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minoush 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Stayed here with my family at the end of July. Lovely tidy and clean. Owners very friendly and helpful. The showers are a bit basic but there is a new block being built, to be honest though if the water is hot and you get clean what does it really matter how basic or outdated they are. The information on the website about nearby pubs and places to eat is a bit outdated but we would recommend the Thatched Tavern which is a great but fairly short walk away through the fields and past some Alpacas which the kids loved and also the Pasta and Pizza pub which is a 10 min drive, really great family pub. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campycamp 2 reviews from this member

 We (my Partner and I) recently stayed for 5 nights at Stubcroft, and it was our least favourite campsite so far. Very far from relaxing or fun for either of us, with a distinct feeling of being totally ripped off. I will explain with some pros and cons.

Pros: Flat ground; relatively sheltered; good location

Cons:

This is described as a peaceful site, when it was anything but. Screaming children ran amok and ball games were allowed anywhere which meant it was impossible to relax, even by our own tent. The fact is, there are simply too many pitches for the area – 110 in total (up from 90 when the review in Cool Camping was written) which is far too many. Not only are they close to one another in the same field, but the hedgerows are thin so that the noise from the neighbouring field comes straight in too. Groups of families set up next to each other and the adults sat around drinking while the children were left to run riot.

The site has a pretty neglected feel – the bins were totally overflowing on our visit – every single one of them was totally stuffed full so people were forced to leave bags lying around them. There is a new wash block due but it has been delayed, and we really got the sense that the owners have neglected the current facilities while they are waiting – the showers had mould in the grouting and around the seal, and not one washbasin or shower drained properly.

There was no hot water to wash dishes which is frankly unhygienic – there is a helpful sign telling you to boil a kettle for hot water, but quite honestly at these prices we shouldn’t have to.

The eco loos are revolting and not cleaned or emptied often enough. We have used many eco loos on camping trips and festivals and these were the smelliest and dirtiest we have ever experienced. The stench and the flies were totally off-putting.

There are signs everywhere telling you what to do and what not to do – there are threats of being fined everywhere and it comes across as very unfriendly.

The cost of the firepit, while clearly advertised and obviously not compulsory, seemed very steep to us.

We were disappointed with the eggs – despite the signs telling us they were fresh from the farm, they were actually just supermarket eggs so we wished we had bought some from the Farm Shop opposite the lane leading to the site.

The water pressure disappears at regular intervals, making showering an unpleasant experience. Although some of this is owing to local issues, the fact remains that 110 pitches is simply too many for the facilities and infrastructure.

We were thoroughly disappointed as we had expected a lot more from this premium price. Tales of friendly farmers, animals and a “cool” atmosphere couldn’t have been further from our experience. It seems to us that this started off as a fun place to be but it is a victim of its own success. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familybousfield 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights and really liked the site. Pitches were an OK size and we were lucky enough to get a corner plot with our friends next door to us.

The shop was really useful and not overpriced as you might expect (burgers were lovely).

Friendly welcome.

There does seem to be a lot of rules and regulations but to be fair they are all pretty reasonable and I think it just nips any anti social behaviour in the bud.

Facilities were good but basic but and there was no hot water when I showered at about midday. That said they are building a new shower and toilet block and I'm sure these will be great once finished. Will be back next year.

Great location, easy to get to the beach and East Wittering shops etc. Just an all round great place. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M1dge 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with other family members over the bank holiday period for the best part of a week, the road to the campsite is very poor and full of potholes and I cant remember the last time I drove down such a poor road. The first thing you see when you arrive are the large collection of waste bins at the entrance which is hardly inviting. The eco toilets are a complete joke unless you don't have a sense of smell as for the other toilets and showers they are hardly in good order sometimes they even have no water. The new toilet block mentioned in the adverts looks like it has been under construction for some years and is some way off completion. The washing up sinks only have cold water apparently because they are trying to go green so all campers have to use their gas to heat up the washing up water and I cant remember how many years it is since I had to do that. The shop was tiny without much stock and the owners tend to be a bit aggressive if you mention things like the electric tripping out or no water in the showers (a problem they have been dealing with for some years). Bearing in mind the camping fees are at the top end of camping prices with the facilities at the bottom end I cannot recommend this site to anyone especially at the prices charged. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VMcCallion 1 review from this member

 The campsite was easy to find, directions on the site are easy to follow. Friendly welcome, especially as we arrived with no shower gel, or mugs and had forgotten all cutlery and plates! Well stocked little shop, we got everything we needed from there. The beach is less than 20 mins walk away.

The showers were hot, and clean, same with the toilets. Plenty of facilities to go around. Even the other campers were polite and friendly, staying quiet after 11pm. We did feel that Saturday night was a little *too* busy (for us personally) but this wasn't an issue on Friday at all.

Will be going there again, during the week this time (probably), as the campsite fills up quite quickly Friday/Saturday night.

Thank you for a lovely couple of nights stay! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cotty 5 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit & has become our children’s favourite site. It reminds us of what old fashioned camping used to be like, a very simple and un-commercialised, no frills site. Prices are very reasonable for this area as well. It’s not luxurious but perfectly adequate and does have all the basics you need, showers, flush loos & “ecoloos”, drinking water & washing up facilities which were well maintained. Showers are near the farmhouse no problems during weekdays and as long as you avoid the obvious morning rush at weekends, there were no major queues. On the odd occasion I did have to wait in the morning it was quite relaxing seeing “Farmer Green’s” amazing vegetable garden & listening to him answering everyone’s questions, a bit like a live version of Gardeners World! Cold water in every field with sinks for washing up - no hot water though but easy enough to take a kettle of hot water. There is a small but useful shop on site with very reasonably priced decent ice creams at only 60p each! Since our last visit, a new shower and toilet block also looks like it is nearly finished.

It is very secluded and safe with lovely private lanes to walk down to the beaches. There is a good village within walking distance with a plenty of shops & places to eat! Very children friendly too, our kids loved it and especially helping collecting the eggs & feeding the lambs! There was plenty of room between pitches & plenty of room for the children to play.

Weekdays were very peaceful & although the weekends were busy due to the hot weather there was a nice atmosphere to the site. One big plus is that they allow campfires although they are very strict about fire safety. They have to be in proper containers which you can hire out, very useful as ours was a bit bulky & we did not want to make our car dirty by bringing it. Logs & even marshmallows to toast on the campfire were available from the farmhouse much to the delight of our children! Even when it was full at the weekend it was still surprisingly quiet at night, one or two groups chatting quietly around campfires but no noisy drunks or loud music that tend to plague many of the south coast sites nowadays.

We liked the eco friendly approach, & the fact that it is a proper working farm as well. It seems to attract a good bunch of friendly, like minded campers. The eco approach might not be to everyone’s taste but for us that’s part of the rather unique attraction of this site.

Do print off the map & directions on the website, there are no signs to this site until you get to the farm entrance. Don’t rely on satnavs we did the first time we came & it took us up the wrong and rather bumpy farm lane! I suspect from one or two previous comments about bumpy lanes that we probably were not the first but if you follow the instructions the main approach road to the site is well made up. Also take your bikes, its flat easy cycling and quicker to the local beaches and villages and there are some super rides around the harbour. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Isaidright! 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Stubcroft farm, a fun time with some interesting places to see. Firstly the endless notices and warnings etc are a bit much, but I guess if guests have been foolish in the past, perhaps necessary, but it does feel like one brush tarring all. The approach lane is half a mile of bump which if you have a caravan will seriously stress test the frame, screws, bolts etc. The arrival area is OK but not too easy for caravans to pull up without blocking the road off. Check in was a bit hit and miss as the site was packed on the holiday weekend. The field grass was very long, making it a damp walk to the toilet blocks. Perhaps the centre of the field could be cut shorter, but maybe I have missed the point.

The pitches are good size mostly and nicely spaced around the fields which are split by hedges. This setup was good, but then came the power. Warnings before we arrived made it clear that the site couldn't cope well with high loads and it was obvious why. The power posts are few and far between with three pitches sharing a feed back to one point. This meant that six pitches were fed from one power post, which I am sure cant be great, we tripped the power almost hourly and had very little on. Put it this way, we NEVER trip other campsites.

However, it worked in the main and perhaps we had a camper joined up to our feed with a household kettle, which are two or three kilowatts, why do people do this?

Anyway, settled in and on to the water fill. Again, this was obviously geared up for campers not caravans as the flow was so slow it took 15mins to fill a roller container. So don't be in a hurry for water, there are plenty of taps however. Next up the showers, what an eclectic mix of cabins and cubicles. All pumped out hot showers even if they seem to herald from the 1950's. To be fare a new showerblock is a few months from completion and will be much welcomed I suspect. The owner talked enthusiastically about this venture and I was convinced that good sound design had gone into the build, however it was a shame it had overrun into the early summer season.

The site is mostly quiet, however and very oddly, the noise levels where much higher than I would expect, I think because of the number of tents. It seems that campers forget that you can hear EVERYTHING through the this canvas. It wasn't too bad, quiet by 11pm with plenty of glowing braziers burning away. The site shop is tiny, I mean really tiny, but boy do the owners pack some goods into it, well done. The sausages and burgers were good if a bit pricy, but I guess you save your car from that lane! If you want a quick walk, ten minutes and you are into East Wittering, not much to see there but some shops, Co-Op and Tesco Express.

Back to the site, plenty of wildlife to see, Green Woodpeckers, butterflies and bird song a plenty. Nearby is West Wittering with glorious sand beach, £7. 50 to park, so maybe make a walk of it. The Historic Docks will set you back £50 for a family but it is a full day and the tickets last a year. We visited Kingly Vale with the old Yews, it was good for a few hours walking. Finally we went to Dell Quay to the pub for a quick drink, nice view over Chichester Harbour, food looked good, beer was pricey.

So overall, a good site, some quirky ways, mostly the signs, for everything, nice environment, geared up for campers more than caravans(waste water beyond the blue toilets through the gate)and I guess in dry weather a better experience than wet. No kids playground, but that is what the country is for, right? 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement