Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sunnywagon 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a fantastic weekend at this site. We are a family of 4 and we went with a small group. The site is split into different fields, with clearly marked pitches. , it's flat and wasn't too muddy despite some heavy rain over the weekend. The flushing toilets were always spotless with lots of toilet paper, and whilst 4 showers doesn't sound a lot there was never more than 2 or 3 people queuing at peak times and 2 of the showers were roomy enough to go in with the children as a family. I personally had a bad experience with the Eco loos, someone had clearly misunderstood the concept, but these were also clean and didn't smell. We did the walk from the campsite to East Wittering and then on to West Wittering along the beach and back and it was really enjoyable. We. Ate in the cafe at West Wittering. Beach car park, that was great food considering it was a busy cafe and we also ate at The Lamb, which was a half hour walk from the campsite, reasonably easy paths with a bit of a struggle for little legs through the rapeseed field. The food and service at The Lamb was fantastic. No play area for the children but ours happily pedalled up and down on their bikes and climbed trees. The beaches are windy, so easy to get sunburnt, and if you are willing to carry your stuff for a bit you can aim for East Head which is more sheltered and has lots of boats sailing in and out to watch.

There were a couple of negatives, the site allows dogs and it is a sad fact that some dog owners do not clear up after their dogs, which is not great when there are lots of children about. And the campsite shop was perhaps a little overpriced but the quality of produce was good so not too much of a problem.

They are in the process of building a new shower block, which will be even better. Overall a great site, we will definitely return. 

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Airyfairybull 4 reviews from this member

 Visited with a few family's with very young children


Good location


Scared to breath

Paid for pitches we didn't receive

Spoke to a lot of other campers who felt very uncomfortable with the way they were spoken to by the management.

We have been camping almost weekly in the summer months with our two young children for 9 yrs and we have never experienced such an uncomfortable setting. There were a group of teenagers near us who were so terrified of the staff which made everyone nearby feel similarly uncomfortable add to this that the staff stopped by to each pitch 2300/(11pm) to tell everyone their deposits would be taken away because they were still making noise resulted in everyone feeling uptight. So would honestly say avoid at all costs if you like to relax. If you only want somewhere to sleep with cold water taps for dishes & scary staff & scared campers then this the place for you, if not enjoy somewhere else. 

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missy Atko 12 reviews from this member

 The owners & staff of this campsite are so helpful & friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The campsite is in a fairly central position. It's a well situated site for the beaches of Witttering (walking or driving) & there are shops & restaurants close by or the campsite has a well stocked shop where you can also hire fire pits and BBQ's. The owners also give you very helpful info leaflets on the local restaurants & beaches with good directions and maps.

The road leading to the campsite is absolutely full of pot holes. You will probably be put off 'popping out' for anything as the road is awful. You can't get above 5mph due to the potholes and it's a long road. There is no other way in or out unfortunately.

Whilst we were staying, the new toilet block was being built. We were put right next to these works & whilst the builders are discreet, polite, friendly etc, it was not a view I expect to pay £24 a night for. We got the last electric pitch & I feel that we could have been warned at the time of booking. It was a messy unkept, overgrown pitch.

The field we were in had very overgrown grass, it was higher than my ankles so we always had wet feet in the morning after the trips to the wash areas etc. The other fields were much neater, I have no idea why the grass here was so long and not maintained.

The current toilets are actually portaloos, again, I didn't expect this. They weren't very clean at all. The actual toilets & sink were cleaned, but the portaloos were grubby & need a good scrub.

The showers are in sheds, these were ok, very basic, which is fine but again grubby and in need of a clean.

The toilets (individual cubicles) and showers are unisex. Personal preference, but I didn't like this.

I would have rated this site higher if the new washrooms had been built, so please consider this if you are booking and they are complete as overall it's not a bad site. 
Management response: We thank you for your comments.

With regards to the approach lane, unfortunately, like many roads the bad winter did cause a number of potholes to appear but since this review was posted the lane has now been made up & the pot holes filled.

We had hoped to have the new shower & toilet block ready for the new season however the bad winter weather has delayed this but the exterior building work has now been completed & the interior fitting out will not now affect campers.

Like many campsites recently we have struggled to keep the grass mowed during the showery weather as damp grass clogs the mowers.

With regards to the showers & toilets, we are a bit perplexed as there are several conventional shower & toilet rooms as well as a few deluxe portable cabins. Full descriptions & photographs are available on our website. Whilst they are cleaned regularly & re-stocked several times a day, we cannot unfortunately clean up muddy footprints after every customer during showery weather but mops & buckets are provided and if customers report any problems to reception they are dealt with immediately.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haribo1221 1 review from this member

 Yet another great weekend at Stubcroft Farm. Three lovely evenings sat around the fire pit keeping warm! Loads to do in the local area. The village is a short walk down a track from the farm. The owners are lovely, very friendly and always stop for a chat!

The new eco friendly amenities block, housing 15 toilets, 10 showers, a washing up room (hot & cold water)and a shop / reception is near completion and will be a great asset to the site (although the current facilities are always clean and well stocked).

We visit the site regularly for a weekend break as we live locally. 

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinsk 2 reviews from this member

 Peaceful spot, and a pleasant walk to the coast. About a mile to East Wittering Beach, two miles to West Wittering, three to East Head. Well laid out with field divisions and nice and level. The Witterings are a popular place to visit, however I can't see a reasonable justification for the pitch prices. Why too high? The access road is a half mile continuous pot hole. The wash up area is cold water only and the showers/toilets are portacabins. Wont be going back, sorry. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: N swain 1 review from this member

 A very relaxing campsite, everyone very helpful. A great campsite. Will be back again. The site was well kept and well set out. The showers and toilets were kept clean and tidy. The owners of the site were so helpful. We had plenty of room for our camper van and our drive away owning. We took our two dogs as well and we had a family plot and there was a lot of room for them to be on a long lead. Lots of things to do and see the site is in a great location very quite and peaceful lots of wild life to see. 

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colegade 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely child friendly campsite. Spent 4 nights here over the bank holiday weekend. It was busy, but still did not feel crowded as the pitches are well spaced and spread over a number of fields.

We have a 4 person family tent and could fit our car alongside it against the hedgerows separating the fields. This is better as parking in front of the tent obstructs the children's games of Frisbee and footie.

Great location as not far from Chichester and the famous sandy beaches of Whittering. Only drawback for me was the rather bumpy single car track to get to the site which made me think twice about popping out for cold beers more than once a day.

There are not many showers, about 6 and there were always queues at peak times, so easy to work around them if you are not in a hurry. If you are brave then try the eco loos. Perfectly fine if you can hold your breath for the duration as the smell if pretty awful from the pit below. We all stuck to the regular flushing jobs which we rarely needed to queue for. Washing up basins provided at the end of each field was great for the lazy inclined along with drinking water taps a plenty.

There is a well stocked shop which I used once for milk but sadly no licence to sell alcohol

Best of all for us was the ability to make your own camp fire. Fire pits are available for hire but we brought our own and stoked it each night till 11pm working our way through two massive tubs of marshmallows.

Will definitely go back 

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellsbells 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights at Stubcroft for the first time and was really impressed. Didn't arrive till after 9pm and the lady who greeted us was very pleasant and helpful and told us where everything was. I think there were 4 fields in total all with sinks to wash up and compost loos at the bottom which were a bit smelly, but that's to be expected, and there was always loads of toilet paper. The pitch sizes were really good, had loads of room for our tent and car and space to set up blankets/chairs/ fires. We forgot our camping chairs but luckily the campsite shop had some for sale at £10 each. The showers and main toilets by the reception were fine, it did get busy for the showers at peak times, early mornings and early evenings but I did see them being cleaned out a couple of times and again loads of loo roll. We hired a fire pit for £5 a night which I found reasonable and bought some logs for about £5. The customer service was brilliant too. We had to leave before the reception opened Sunday morning and the owner was more than happy for us to ring the doorbell to get our deposit back for the firepits an hour before opening. There were couples, families, and small groups of friends and everyone respected each other which made the whole experience enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and will be staying there again. 

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 21 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here from Saturday to Wednesday on one of the hottest weekends of the year. The site was full over the weekend but mostly empty by Sunday night.

We stayed in the 1st field with the EHUs which we were using for the first time.

The location of the site is lovely, not far from Chichester but at the end of a bumpy farm track so it is lovely and rural (no danger of road noise!) and just a 5 minute drive to the nearest beach.

The pitches are well marked and well laid out. There was plenty of room in the middle of the field for children to play.

The owners and staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful (they had to sort out some noise from a young group one night) and keen to give you information about the local area. The tiny shop is incredibly well stocked and the prices are very reasonable, they don't take advantage of a captive audience like some sites. It was particularly nice to be able to buy local sausages and burgers to cook on our fire pit, and a large sack of logs too.

The facilities are basic and when the site was full there were frequent queues (just 6 showers for 110 pitches) but if (like us) you weren't in a hurry to do anything it is fine. There are plenty of toilets as there are eco-loos as well as normal ones. These were OK even in the heat, although obviously some people don't like them. They are apparently due to start building a new facilities block ready for next year and I hope this happens for them as they have been waiting a long time.

There are walks from the farm along tracks to nearby villages, a bit far for our two young children but still nice to amble along looking at the flora and fauna. It is a farm so you do need to keep an eye on younger children, but it was lovely letting them explore and see the chickens and plants being grown.

All in all we had a fantastic stay, and would thoroughly recommend it. Only caveat would be for those who prefer less basic facilities, but we were fine with what was there and it was kept clean and tidy even when it was busy. Lovely location and well worth a visit. 

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Ridings 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly booking by phone and pleasant lady doing check in. However, this is where the pleasantness stopped. The area around the shop and toilet block is dirty and nothing like the photos on the owners website. This was a very busy campsite with poor facilities, toilet or showers at this site were very busy and not clean.

This is a working farm but I think overpriced in their campsite fees and extra add on costs for everything. Shame really that the site did not live up to the website which you need to read very carefully for all the rules and regulations which if you donít follow to the letter your are fined for! Only 6amp electric supply so canít use microwave and another appliance as blows the system and costs £3 to be re-set. Canít use a kettle as this blows system on its own. Have to calculate each time you use something in case it overloads Ė not exactly what you want to do on holiday. Never had this on an electric hook up before.

Owner was quite rude when approached about poor standard of bathing facilities, and cost of firepits at £11.00 per night including logs as he said we should have read website properly and that details were provided at check in, which were not, then changed his mind when challenged. Also told us to go to other sites if we not happy with the standard Ė find this to be quite poor customer relations. Stayed for convenience to Goodwood and surrounding area but would not return again. 
Management response: Many thanks for your review, we are sorry you hear you had some complaints, but would like to set the record straight.

In the report you say that we charge a £3 reset fee for electric hook-ups - this is not true. In 22 years of running our campsite we have never charged a reset fee! The feedback complains about what you can & cannot run on a hookup. We clearly display on our website (on the site facilities page) a downloadable leaflet about hook-ups at Stubcroft based on guidance advice from the Camping & Caravanning club as many people have unrealistic expectations of camping hook-ups & expect to use domestic kettles, grills & heaters etc. A copy of this leaflet is also handed out to everyone booking a hookup on arrival.

You also complain about our firepit hire & log sales, expecting them to be provided free of charge which is completely unrealistic. We clearly display on our website under the "campfires" section all information including a downloadable leaflet which clearly sets out our fire safety policy & hire rates for the various equipment we hire out.

So far this season we have spent nearly £2000 on purchasing new firebaskets, & BBQs etc. which are renewed at the beginning of each season & the fee we charge covers this cost. A fire basket or half drum BBQ is only £5 per night to hire out which is not unreasonable. We sell bags of kiln dried logs from £4.99 for a value log bag to £6.99 for a premium log bag. Therefore you can have an evenings firepit plus logs for under a tenner! Customers are welcome to bring their own BBQ's &
firepits if they don't wish to hire one of ours.

You can see from our other recent feedback, that the comments about staff attitude is out of line as we pride ourselves on being friendly & helpful. This customer concerned was caught helping himself to one of our fire baskets which are clearly marked for hire. He was asked to pay
for the hire fee but refused saying they should be provided free of charge & threatened us that if we did not give him one free he would
post negative feedback

Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022