Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thedobbies 5 reviews from this member

 Took a risk going out so early in the season but glad we did. We arrived in glorious sunshine after driving down a pretty private lane and virtually had the place to ourselves during the weekdays. We were shown around by a friendly girl who showed us where everything was & gave us a map of the area. It was a bit busier on Friday & Saturday evenings with the arrival of some 'weekenders' but the site seemed to attract a pleasant bunch of fellow campers and our children soon made some good friends. It is a working farm and they were in the middle of lambing, the children adored watching the very cute lambs in the next door field, especially at feeding time. They especially like 'Patch' & wanted to take her home with us!

It is in a great location, the beaches are fantastic but you need to check the tide times. At low tide there are acres of sand & dunes & the harbour is worth exploring too with good walks & nice flat cycling, bliss after camping in Cornwall last year!

The field is surrounded by pretty hedges, just beginning to burst into blossom and every morning you wake to a 'dawn chorus' from the birds. Campfires were a plus to ward of the evening chill & they sell bags of logs.

Facilities were clean & tidy & the owners were in the process of refurbishing some areas ready for the main season. The Ecoloos seemed fine & there was a good selection of normal flushing toilets & showers near the farmhouse. There are good shops, a Co-op supermarket & cafes in Bracklesham Bay & East Wittering, both about a 15-20 min walk from the site. We highly recommend the Samphire restaurant in East Wittering but it is small so make sure to book and the Thatched Tavern nearby is only a 10 min walk and also does good food.

We liked the simplicity & 'back to nature' feel of this site and will be back to sunbathe in the dunes in the summer - highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SmiffyP 2 reviews from this member

 The good bits - flat, even fields, good-sized pitches, lovely countryside, pleasant walk to beach, shops and a pub.

The bad bits - very basic showers, very low water pressure, washing up in cold water only, reception area looks likes Steptoe's Yard.

The livestock had obviously only recently vacated the camping fields, so there was plenty of sheep dung on the grass.

We tried to fill our motorhome water tank, but the site water pressure was so low that the water would not travel up the hose! We found a tap near the farmhouse with more water pressure and manoeuvred the motorhome to within about 30 feet of it, so that we could then fill our water tank (with difficulty).

However, there was nowhere that we found to empty our grey water. We did not go there expecting luxury, but the price charged was almost that of a 'full-facilities' site - in other words, it was very poor value for money. The area is lovely, but we will find a different site next time we visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hentyfamily 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing of the season & were lucky to have great weather despite it still being a bit chilly at night. We have used this site before & it is one of our favourites due to its close proximity to the beach & especially at this time of year during lambing. The owners are always friendly & the kids love bottle feeding the lambs.

The owners have been busy since the end of last season putting in some extra flush toilets & showers & also replacing the old washing up sinks with new units & refurbishing the existing facilities.

It is an 'eco' site so go with an open mind. You have a choice of using the composting water saving ecoloos or if you are more of a townie there is now a good choice of conventional flush loos & showers around the farmhouse. Despite the changes since last time we were here it still retains its secluded country simplicity. Dont expect 5 star luxury facilities, it is still a simple working farm site but for us that is part of its attraction. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Dootsons 7 reviews from this member

 A wonderful traditional working farm campsite. Basic but clean facilities. Very helpful and friendly owners. No play park for the children, just space to run around, make friends and enjoy themselves. Our kids can't wait to go back.

We went as a group and were welcomed, very unusual in this area.

The local pub did a good meal with a children's play park and chickens.

West Wittering beach is glorious, but private so expect to pay to drive to it.

No shop on site so go prepared! You can however buy Firewood (yes and use it!) and honey from the farm shop 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sausage Sizzler 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in a fantastic location - our children really enjoyed West Wittering beach (5 mins drive). Plus the quality of the fields / pitches are great ie No slopes, stones, sticks etc - just lovely lush green grass.

The eco toilets were dreadful - they don't have to be this bad! Some brave souls were camped close to them while we were there.They must have been hard!

The site wasn't busy by any means but the flushing toilets and showers were grubby. We have two young boys who are usually impervious to dirty rooms but even they didn't like going to the flushing toilets.

We were only there overnight so could cope without a shower.

There is a minimum charge of 2 nights' stay, as shown their website. There was no flexibility on this, and we were obliged to commit as we were meeting friends who were there longer.

If you want to visit the Witterings and don't mind roughing it for a couple of nights, this site might be worth a go. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thedobbies 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely & reasonably priced site in a super location near some of the best beaches on the south coast. We had our annual holiday here & the weather was fantastic with 30 degrees on some days & a very 'Mediterranean' feel to it.

This area is nicknamed 'Gods pocket' & according to the locals has a micro climate in the lee of the Isle of Wight. It had obviously had very little rain during the summer as it was hard to bang in the tent pegs. The field was level & well sheltered with dividing hedges which gives plenty of privacy.

It is a working farm so don't expect 5 star facilities but there were plenty of showers & a choice of ecoloos for the more environmentally minded or flush loos for those of a more sensitive disposition. The facilities were well maintained with plenty of toilet paper & regularly topped up.

The site is family owned & very friendly service & the kids loved watching the sheep & chickens. They produce their own honey as well which was great for breakfast.

It is interesting reading the reviews of this site, it is very much a 'marmite' site, if you want a simple non-commercial traditional 'farmers field' type site you will love it, if you want deluxe facilities & bars etc you probably wont. I was amused by a lady moaning that there was no hot water at one of the washing up sinks (how she expected hot water to be piped 200+yds from the farmhouse is beyond me!) For someone used to boiling a kettle & washing up in a bowl by the tent a washing up sink & drainer of any sort is a luxury. Taking a kettle of hot water over to the sink is not difficult!

Anyhow we loved it & will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justine1 2 reviews from this member

 Visited here with a large group of 7 tents. The campsite location was great, with a pub and the town within walking distance. Although there were lots of groups, the site was quiet with the owner coming round late at night to keep the rowdier groups in check.

The showers and toilets were in portable cabins and were not the cleanest I've seen - we were there 3 days and they were cleaned once. There wasn't enough showers, and the queues for these and the flushing toilets were quite long.

We were happy to use the ecoloo's, but felt there should have been sawdust available for us to use - again, in the 3 days we were there the owners hadn't used any and the ecoloo's were very smelly (hence the queues for the flushing toilets).

We were also charged 25p per freezer pack for the owners to refreeze them - most places do this for free or offer an exchange service.

For the money the owners charge, there should be better facilities eg they could build a new shower block and perhaps clean them more often, especially in wet weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulbernie 2 reviews from this member

 A very good value site. The owners were very friendly. The toilets and showers were very clean for the amount of people that were there, it was full! The ecoloos were an experience, but not for us! This is a very eco friendly site. They had proper loos too. We got up early so didn't have to queue for the showers.

Would have been good if there was playing space in the fields for families and children to play. But then the tariff would go up I suppose.

A short drive or walk to the good range of shops at East Wittering.

The public footpath signs could show which direction you are going in, like the beaches.

No other facilities on site but we liked that! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vwdubman 28 reviews from this member

 This is the most expensive campsite I have ever stayed at, 23 per night for two adults and a child. The toilets and showers were not capable of coping with the amount of people on the site. I appreciate the thinking behind Eco toilets but there needs to be some improvement in the management of them to make them more acceptable to campers.

Location is the good thing going for this campsite. It was local to the activities we had planned - a sea fishing trip. The owner/warden seemed pleasant in the dealings that we had with her. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ksimpkins 3 reviews from this member

 It has the potential to be a good site but the toilet, shower and washing up facilities let it down. The ecoloos smelt and were full of flies. You had to use the two washing up sinks (cold water only) situated next to them to wash your hands in.

Also the first field where we were pitched is right next to the large bin area, couple this with the foul whiff of the septic tank soak away and it completes the picture.

Some may like the back to basics style of this site but the prices certainly didn't reflect the facilities and set up.

On the plus side the location is nice with good walks and plenty to do in the area. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement