Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bogratncookie 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely 'back to basics' site, with a simple tariff. A rural setting with no roads in the fields meant the kids could play quite happily without having to worry about traffic.
The eco-loos were a first for us, and nowhere near as bad as we thought they'd be. Facilities were basic, and at times were a tad busy, but if you like your campsites a little rustic, this won't bother you. All in all a great site, we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Estelle 5 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourite sites near the coast. The Witterings has some of the best sandy beaches on the south coast and can get very busy on hot peak season weekend but this site is always a haven of peace & tranquillity. It is secluded but not isolated, close enough to the beaches & villages to walk but away from the traffic etc.

The owners are friendly and it still has an 'old fashioned' relaxed camping feeling to it. The camping field is well sheltered with hedges & trees. Since our last visit they have put in extra separate shower & toilet cubicles so even at peak times there is seldom any queuing now.

We highly recommend doing the harbour boat tour from Itchenor pier, it is a two hour trip and the best way to see the harbour. There are plenty of shops & places to eat locally & the site does a good 'where to eat' handout.

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyt-c 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a large group of tents/families over late May Bank Hol. The owners are sensible farm types with a good line in strict but gentle instructions. No fires on the ground (this isn't made clear in their printed leaflets) but you can burn firepits / bbqs.
Well-enforced 'quiet' policy -owner will gently nudge you after 11pm if you're still being over-chatty! We liked that (even when it was our turn!) as we're all parents with small children / conscientious campers.

Lovely farm with lambs for the kids to bottle-feed. Tucked away, so no worries regarding traffic and little-uns. Compost loos far superior to your average festival ecoloos - well maintained. Peaktime queues for showers but hey, it's a campsite - not a holiday park.
The kids loved the flat, fenced fields sheltered by bushes/tress to run about in safely. Near to beautiful beaches, towns, shops but we happily chilled out on the site (nice peaceful walks) for some of the stay. Pubs nearby -walking distance.
One gripe is the water taps run very slow when there's high demand, so on busy weekends it's a bit annoying. Otherwise, we'll be back - really liked our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndakevin 3 reviews from this member

 We have just had a few fantastic days on this site. It is well away from any main roads and the owners were very helpful and informative. There is a short walk to the beach and shops. There is a wonderful pub at dell quay which you pass on the way to the site.
Weald and downland open air museum is a good day out and dog friendly. A truly magnificent walk is east head at west wittering the beach goes on forever.
The owners are trying to improve the site all the time. It was very quiet while we were there. It is well worth a visit for the countryside, the local attractions. Stumpy the three legged sheep.
The site has a green code for recycling and the ecoloos. Once again cant praise stubcroft farm enough.  


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickjhall 1 review from this member

 Braved the cold and stayed for 2 nights to see in the New Year in an unconventional fashion. Unsurprisingly, we were the only people there so had the place to ourselves.

The site is nicely tucked away but still within walking distance of East Wittering. Although, word of warning: don’t forget to check out the directions provided on their website and blindly follow your Sat-Nav, Stubcroft Lane itself isn’t suitable for normal cars and a tad tricky to turn round on once you realise this!

We loved the simple informal approach to the place. No regimented pitches, complex tariff or unnecessary frills, just simple camping as it should be. The owners were very friendly and accommodating with a sensible approach to running the place. E.G. Open fires are allowed provided you take care and don’t destroy the grass, very handy as we’d have been a bit chilly without our fire-pit on the go constantly!

Good to see an environmentally friendly approach, although given the time of year we did stick to the heated shower/toilet rather than use the eco-loos.

Local pub, the Thatched Tavern did some very good traditional grub and the local beaches and countryside were lovely.

Will certainly be returning for another visit in the summer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cplsw16 3 reviews from this member

 Small peaceful site - ideally placed away from road and within walking distance of beach. Facilities fairly basic but charges modest. Relaxed atmosphere - no marked out pitches. Site was less than half full during our visit so no queues for facilities. Three showers - one in house free and two in outbuilding £1 - clean and plenty of space for your stuff. Owner friendly & helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chimpy53 4 reviews from this member

 For 2 adults and a dog with electric hook-up, our (6 nights) holiday only cost us £90 which was an absolute bargain, and we dropped on with the weather - the last week of July was probably the best we had in the UK this year.

As long as you're not after a mega-facilities camp site, this is the one for you. Don't expect luxuries, expect a bit of a queue for the showers (2 x £1 each for about 15 mins; 1 free) and expect to have to make an effort to keep them clean yourself as this is a working farm and they have to concentrate on farm duties of course (buckets & mops are left in there for you to tidy up after yourself).

The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there are some great walks - perfect for dog owners. You can get to the beach (dogs aren't allowed on certain parts of the beach though), shops or the local pubs in about 15 mins. There was also a very good indian take away in Bracklesham - very useful if you wanted a night without cooking for yourself. The site was nice and quiet at night and the people who run it were friendly and came about once a day to see if everything was ok.

Eco-loos took a bit of getting used to (think hamster hutch!).

If it was possible to change one thing, it would be to have the flushing loos and basins with mirrors seperate to the showers as people can't help but spend twice as long in there (say if you want a shower then a shave etc) and this could create long queues at times.

We would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Digger18 1 review from this member

 We have been camping for many years and this site reminds us of what camping used to be like, a proper “farmers field”. It’s a simple, un-commercialised, no frills site. Its not luxurious but adequate and does have all the basics you need, showers (one free & two coin operated), flush loos & “ecoloos”, drinking water & washing up facilities which were well maintained. It is interesting to read the reviews for this site, you can really spot the “townies” from their comments. When we first started camping you were lucky to get a water tap & latrine, let alone showers or flush toilets. We liked this site because whilst it does have showers, flush loos & electric hookups it still retains an old fashioned feel to it. The Ecoloos contribute to this, they are what they say they are, environmentally friendly composting loos, nothing to worry about unless you are a real urban townie. Personally I would rather have composting loos than flush it down the drain and discharged out at sea especially when I am swimming on the beach!

There are no hard standings, pre marked pitches, bars clubhouses, or carefully manicured gardens just a pretty field, hedges, trees, sheep and lots of wildflowers & wildlife. It is conveniently situated for the beaches & village shops & pubs are within 15 minutes walk. If you want an old fashioned traditional site without all the modern day trimmings, this is a lovely site in a lovely location. It’s a pretty chilled out site & most of the people on the site were friendly & even at the weekend it seemed very quiet compared to other sites we’ve stayed on. We liked the eco friendly approach, & the fact that it is a proper working farm, it seems to attract a good bunch of friendly, like minded campers. Might not be everyone’s bag but for us that’s part of the attraction (especially that the noisy “chav” element are absent!)

There are plenty of shops nearby for supplies & lots of good places to eat within 20 mins walk or a few minutes drive which is great if your lazy like us & don’t like cooking every night! There was a good mix of people on the site, mainly couples & families many of whom were regulars which I guess is a good recommendation in itself. If you are looking for a simple, informal site in a nice rural location then this site is for you, if you want lots of modern facilities, amusements & bars etc. Then look elsewhere. We highly recommend this site 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomatosuep 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxed site on a working farm (the farmer had to heard the flock of sheep through the camping field at one point! Very cute lambs!)

Facilities basic but very clean! I like the fact that there is a mop and bucket in the bathroom so people cab clean up after themselves.

Was a loud group of teenagers celebrating their AS levels. Music and door slamming late into night. But to be honest they provided us with hilarous entertainment for the evening! Owners might want to think about enforcing quiet times especially if you children about!

Owners did come around to meet campers a night which I thougght was a nice personal touch.

Site has a lot of good walks nearby e.G. To beautiful beaches etc.

Would definitely come again! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Familystanbridg 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip away in our touring van, so we chose somewhere quite close to home.

The site was very quiet during our stay, we pitched up in the top field with an electric hook-up. The other fields were empty.

The showers and toilets were basic but okay, we enjoyed using the ecoloos.

It is a good base for exploring a lovely part of the country and I would definitely recommend the Blacksmiths Arms in Donnington, the food there was fantastic. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement