Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
                8/10 from 207 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Ridings 2 reviews from this member

 Very friendly booking by phone and pleasant lady doing check in. However, this is where the pleasantness stopped. The area around the shop and toilet block is dirty and nothing like the photos on the owners website. This was a very busy campsite with poor facilities, toilet or showers at this site were very busy and not clean.

This is a working farm but I think overpriced in their campsite fees and extra add on costs for everything. Shame really that the site did not live up to the website which you need to read very carefully for all the rules and regulations which if you don’t follow to the letter your are fined for! Only 6amp electric supply so can’t use microwave and another appliance as blows the system and costs £3 to be re-set. Can’t use a kettle as this blows system on its own. Have to calculate each time you use something in case it overloads – not exactly what you want to do on holiday. Never had this on an electric hook up before.

Owner was quite rude when approached about poor standard of bathing facilities, and cost of firepits at £11.00 per night including logs as he said we should have read website properly and that details were provided at check in, which were not, then changed his mind when challenged. Also told us to go to other sites if we not happy with the standard – find this to be quite poor customer relations. Stayed for convenience to Goodwood and surrounding area but would not return again. 
Management response: Many thanks for your review, we are sorry you hear you had some complaints, but would like to set the record straight.

In the report you say that we charge a £3 reset fee for electric hook-ups - this is not true. In 22 years of running our campsite we have never charged a reset fee! The feedback complains about what you can & cannot run on a hookup. We clearly display on our website (on the site facilities page) a downloadable leaflet about hook-ups at Stubcroft based on guidance advice from the Camping & Caravanning club as many people have unrealistic expectations of camping hook-ups & expect to use domestic kettles, grills & heaters etc. A copy of this leaflet is also handed out to everyone booking a hookup on arrival.

You also complain about our firepit hire & log sales, expecting them to be provided free of charge which is completely unrealistic. We clearly display on our website under the "campfires" section all information including a downloadable leaflet which clearly sets out our fire safety policy & hire rates for the various equipment we hire out.

So far this season we have spent nearly £2000 on purchasing new firebaskets, & BBQs etc. which are renewed at the beginning of each season & the fee we charge covers this cost. A fire basket or half drum BBQ is only £5 per night to hire out which is not unreasonable. We sell bags of kiln dried logs from £4.99 for a value log bag to £6.99 for a premium log bag. Therefore you can have an evenings firepit plus logs for under a tenner! Customers are welcome to bring their own BBQ's &
firepits if they don't wish to hire one of ours.

You can see from our other recent feedback, that the comments about staff attitude is out of line as we pride ourselves on being friendly & helpful. This customer concerned was caught helping himself to one of our fire baskets which are clearly marked for hire. He was asked to pay
for the hire fee but refused saying they should be provided free of charge & threatened us that if we did not give him one free he would
post negative feedback

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandie55 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Stubcroft Farm as a first time camper in a tent with electric hookup. On arrival I was greeted warmly and given some helpful information about the site and where I would pitch my tent. Any questions I had were answered promptly and I purchased some items from the shop which was well stocked. I pitched my tent and settled in. I had arrived early in the day and my pitch was ready. As I went the week before the half term I almost had the field to myself.

The toilets and showers were clean and the water was hot which was nice. A mop and bucket was left so you could clean up after yourself ready for the next person. This was not a problem to me. The washing up facilities only have cold water but you just have to boil your kettle. They hope to have running hot water soon for washing up. There were also Bio loos which were very simple to use and automatically lit at night. Recycling was easy to grasp and if not sure I just asked. At night the campsite was peaceful and on one occasion I had a BBQ in the evening.

As I like cycling this was one of the reasons I picked this site because it was near some lovely beaches, walks and the Chichester Harbour. A ferry went from Itchenor to Bosham from £2. 50 with a bike. There was plenty to do during the day and the villages are really beautiful. The farm is a working one and naturally there were sheep and tractors moving about but this didn't bother me. I really enjoyed my stay and would be quite happy to stay there again. The owners were friendly and helpful if I had any questions. A really nice peaceful place to relax and chill out. 

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spinetti 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first “out of season” venture but we had been to this site previously during the summer months and had a great time. The kids wanted to come earlier to catch lambing as we had missed it in previous years. We had a fantastic time despite a bit of rain during one day and the children spent most of the weekend with Michaela in the lambing pens supposedly “helping” ! Do bring decent boots especially if you want to visit the “farmy” bits. It makes you realise just what farmers go through at lambing time, up all night whatever the weather!

We pretty much had the place to ourselves, one brave surfer in a VW tipped up on Saturday evening and shared a BBQ with us. One nice thing about this site is that they allow campfires which are essential this time of year as the evenings were pretty chilly still. We did pile on the logs to get a good blaze going but they are available from the shop & you get a decent size sack full for a fiver.

The site is very different to how it is during the summer season, most of the facilities are closed up but they do keep one fantastic, warm shower & toilet room going through the winter months for those brave enough to venture out.

We went to watch Tom our new “surfer” friend at Bracklesham beach nearby, one tough guy going in the sea at this time of year even in a wetsuit but quite impressive surf rolling in, a bit different to the gentle warm summer sunbathing! The trees & hedges might be bare, the beaches almost deserted but wrap up well, come prepared with torch & wellies and it beats Mitcham’s miserable streets anytime! 

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cotty 5 reviews from this member

 We decided to brave the elements and take a trip out with our new campervan. The owners explained that out of season they only kept one shower & toilet room open (which is attached to the farmhouse) and owing to the recent wet weather we would have to remain on the hardstanding at the edge of the camping field as the grass was too wet to drive on after recent rain.

When we arrived the farmer showed us where to pitch and we had the place to ourselves all weekend which was fantastic. The “winter” shower room was centrally heated & lovely and warm and was all we needed. The ecoloos and all the other facilities were clearly shut up for the winter and drained down for frost protection so I think some previous comments are a bit harsh as you cannot expect these to be turned on, or cleaned when they are clearly not in use and there is a frost risk. It seems bizarre as they are not needed anyhow at this time of year, the one shower room was more than adequate for the odd out of season camper and was regularly cleaned even with only us on site.

We were charged £20 including electric hookup for the whole family, campervan, centrally heated hot showers and a farm tour included which is not unreasonable bearing in mind the additional cost of winter heating and the higher electricity usage during winter months. Also being a working farm, what do people expect out of season, whilst we were there on the Sunday was a party of volunteers helping with hedgelaying, there were stacks of materials in use but it was fascinating to watch, tractors were working on the fields & carting feed & silage for the sheep etc. It is a working farm but for us that is its major attraction.

The main farm yard is well away from the campsite. It does seem odd that a previous reviewer seemed surprised to find farm equipment on a working farm but I guess if you are used to an urban city environment the countryside can be a bit of an eye opener!

The site is in a lovely location & we were well sheltered from the chilly late winter wind. The beaches were virtually deserted and the whole area had a curiously attractive “out of season” feel to it, we were often the only customers in the cafes etc. Of which there were a good choice. Bear in mind this is a working farm though & do bring your wellies to make the most of the walks down the lanes! They had just started lambing and were happy for us to visit the lambing pens and we were lucky enough to see some lambs being born, a first for us & better than the TV version!

We had a lovely time, were made to feel welcome and if you want a campsite that is a bit different to the bigger commercial sites then this one comes highly recommended. 

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dereks 3 reviews from this member

 This site is located in a lovely rural location and within easy reach of the beach. The staff were very friendly on arrival. I was very disappointed with the facilities that were available. The site advertises as an all year one yet the water supply was all off and the site had only 1 toilet and shower. The eco loos were filthy and the food prep area didn't have any water. I do understand with the winter weather some water supplies need to be turned off but if you are open all year the site should provide the basics. The pricing of the pitches in my opinion was very over priced for this site. This site may be much better in the main season but why advertise all year if your cant deliver the basics. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ceriannesman 6 reviews from this member

 We contacted the site at short notice, and were pleased when despite the owner being away, were told that they could fit us in. The weather having been poor had meant that the majority of the site was out of bounds. When we arrived, the chap in charge, who was very nice, directed us to our pitch. I use the word pitch, but in reality we were actually just parked on firm ground in the entrance to one of the camping fields. The pan washing point had no water and there was only one shower/toilet. I should say that this was very nice, it was indoors and very clean and had free hot water. I know that the site is called a farm and that appears to be exactly what it is. It was nice and quiet but not very pleasing to the eye with farm equipment and bits and bobs just lying around. It is a pleasant walk to the village of East Wittering, which is nice and has pubs, eateries and shops all about 20 minute walk away. The real issue that I have with this site was the cost. Given that it was out of season and facilities were basic at best, we were still charged £23 a night. In my opinion this is too much. We have stayed at a good few sites since owning the campervan, and this is the most we have paid for the standard of site. I would suggest that as other sites do, the owners reduce prices for low season. 

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigz 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend from Friday until Sunday as it was my birthday weekend.

The pitch was great plenty of room for the amount of tents and people we had. The toilets were fine, the showers hot :) - very important after a good day on the beach with sandy and salty hair.

The ability to be able to have a fire (off the ground with the bricks provided) was great as we could sit around the fire under the stars toasting marsh mellows.

The site said they would be working towards a new toilet bloke and showers. - We will be coming back and look forward to the new changes ahead - the shop was very handy with the little things we had forgotten to buy.

Overall a lovely family run campsite for families and groups in a beautiful location. 

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tidbolts 3 reviews from this member

 We moved to this site after having a week of constant rain in the West Country as this area seemed to be the only dry area forecast in the country. Although it wasn't our first choice it proved to be a real discovery, the weather was good & this bit of coast has some cracking sandy beaches.

This is a lovely family run farm site with a very old fashioned “retro” camping feel about it. It is like stepping back in time to the days when most camping was in farmers fields like these. It is a far cry from the other larger & more commercial sites in the area that we have visited in the past and is a bit of a “hidden gem”.

The camping fields are well away from the main road and are flat & level and surrounded by attractive hedges which provide shelter from any winds. They divide the camping field into sections which make it safe for children as there is no through traffic past the camping pitches.

The section we were in had nice views across the wheat fields and the downs in the distance. It is very well situated for the local beaches, I would recommend West Wittering beach with its sand dunes during the quieter weekdays which is a short 3-4 minute drive or a long walk away but this beach can be very busy at weekends with long queues of day trippers.

Bracklesham & East Wittering are closer and within a short walk down the farm lanes and are pleasant sandy beaches which are much quieter than West Wittering.

Facilities are simple but adequate and well maintained even in busy periods, the showers are free which makes a pleasant change from some of the more commercial sites in the area. Fees are very reasonable, they charge per person rather than per pitch and for us it worked out at approximately half the cost of other sites in the area & pitches are bigger than average for the south coast.

Where this site really wins out though is the friendly family run atmosphere, our car battery went flat running our portable fridge & Simon (the farmer) jump started it for us from his tractor. The environmentally friendly aspects of this site seem to attract a pleasant & friendly bunch of fellow campers without the noisy “chav” brigade which seems to plague so many sites along the south coast nowadays.

Judging from previous feedback comments, I think this is a site that you will either love or hate, if you like a simple friendly rural site then, like us you will love it, if you are a towny type looking for 5 star hotel style facilities then maybe one of the bigger commercial sites locally might suit you better. We liked the simple informal feel & will be back 

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psh0322t 1 review from this member

 Great Eco-friendly campsite on the south coast in lovely rural location but easy walking distance to village, beach and pubs / restaurants. Site is level and split into neat sections with hookup points for those who need it. Suitable for all shapes and sizes of tent and at least some campervans (most we saw on site were smaller campervans).

Our visit was only for one night but we were impressed with the general good atmosphere across the site and the very helpful and friendly owner. Very well stocked shop on site.

Don't expect luxury and all modcons but facilities are good nevertheless and the owners are championing a strong Eco approach that is well worth supporting

If you fancy a nice break in 'god's pocket' you won't go wrong choosing this campsite 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyholetsgosd 12 reviews from this member

 Very friendly booking by phone and pleasant lady doing check in and manning a very well stocked shop with everything a camper might have forgotten.

The area around the shop and toilet block is dirty and nothing like the photos on the owners website.

This was a very busy campsite with poor facilities for washing dishes etc. Did not use the toilet or showers at this site as they looked very busy and not clean.

This is a working farm but I think overpriced in their campsite fees and extra add on costs. I would not visit again as cost was the most we have paid this year. Shame really that the site did not live up to the website. 

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022