Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
                8/10 from 207 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevehatch66 1 review from this member

 We love it at Stubcroft. The staff work incredibly hard to keep all campers happy. Great location to explore coast and Sussex.

Fellow campers and their children always delightful. Balance between freedom and sensible rules will suit all those of a fairminded disposition.

Don't leave without honey and jam! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spinetti 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the half term holiday and it has to be one of the best sites on the South Coast now their new shower & toilet block is open.

The facilities really are deluxe, plenty of brand new showers & toilets which are regularly cleaned and we especially liked the family rooms as we have young children. The building is warm and there is a super well stocked shop & reception area at the entrance as well as a washing up area.

This site is in a good location, it is secluded but not isolated & well protected from winds by pretty hedges. The local villages & beaches are within walking distance and we especially recommend Dom Italian restaurant which is only 10 minutes walk away. Billy's on the beach is also highly recommended.

Several people have commented on the approach lane being bumpy but I think they have not read the instructions on how to find the site. As long as you follow the map & directions they send you it is easy to follow & the entrance lane is well maintained, don't rely on your satnavs though as it might bring you up a farm track from Bracklesham which is very bumpy. This track is a nice walk to the beach but is marked as unsuitable for vehicles.

We all loved this site, especially the fact that you can have a campfire which really adds to the experience. Highly recommended & friendly staff, we will be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Dalys 6 reviews from this member

 Have just spent a lovely couple of days on this peaceful rural site. Being a mile or so inland, the site is sheltered and the design with the different camping fields all surrounded by hedges helps the sheltered feel.

There are a couple of nice walks to the beach - on one we found horses, sheep and lambs, rabbits, ducks and alpacas.

I was with my autistic and learning disabled daughter, in a campervan which we are converting - we currently have windows but no curtains. The owners were extremely welcoming of our daughter and were very accommodating in giving us a pitch where we were not overlooked so the lack of curtains in the van was not an issue!

We arrived the day the brand new state-of-the art toilet/shower/washing up/shop block opened. Lovely facilities a fairly short walk away, but if that walk is too far there are also eco-friendly composting toilets closer to the end fields. These will not be to everyone's taste (or sense of smell!) but were clean and perfectly usable.

The site is down a bit of a bumpy lane but this wasn't too bad in our VW van.

All in all a lovely site, we would definitely stay there again 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buddy345 1 review from this member

 I feel I must warn anyone who has a caravan to consider this campsite very carefully. It is accessed as many of the reviews have mentioned by a very long and bumpy road. This road is in our opinion unfit for caravans. It is littered with pot holes and bumps and it took us 10 minutes to drive down it at 3 miles an hour. When we arrived we realised that this had caused damage to our caravan. The doors of our kitchen cupboards had come apart, as well as our strip light which was hanging from a wire and all our glasses in the cupboard had smashed all over the caravan. Not ideal when you have young children!

On the plus side, the site itself has generous pitches, the toilets and showers are basic but ok (new toilet block being built but I've noticed from reviews that it said this last year too, so hopefully they will be ready in 2016), there is a shop, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is hot water. We liked the campsite itself but it's a shame as we just cannot risk any damage to our caravan again, so unfortunately will not be able to go back there. Just one last thing to factor in if you are planning on visiting West Wittering, which is nothing to do with this campsite. It costs £8. 00 to park at the beach for the day with no re-entry! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppies14 1 review from this member

 Second visit and yet again had a great camping experience

Owners and staff more than friendly.

Good pitches. Yes a bumpy road in but away from any roads and noise so worth it.

Basic facilities but always had hot water. Plenty of toilets

Great fire pits and logs to hire and electric cables

Near great beaches

Owner was more than helpful in finding two pitches together for us

Would reccomend 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wobs 1 review from this member

 Mostly a very pleasing holiday experience.

After driving along what seems like the longest and bumpiest lane ever we reached the site. Booking in was easy and the pitches were well marked and easy to find.

The level ground was great as were the hedges separating the fields that offered shelter and made our area feel more secluded than other larger campsite fields.

The owners and staff were friendly and helpful.

Being able to have a fire was a real bonus in the evening and the site shop were able to provide us with logs and fire lighters (more expensive than the local shops but convenient)

The site felt safe and was great for kids with space to make their own entertainment.

The showers and toilets were not the cleanest we had used but served a purpose. A bit more regular cleaning (especially of the toilet floors) would have boosted my overall rating of the site.

The website and info handed out on arrival could do with a bit of updating as quite a few of the really local recommended pubs and restaurants were closed and it was a bit of a long walk with little ones in to East Wittering.

West Wittering beach was the highlight of our stay and was a very short drive away.

If travelling to there area again, I would not hesitate to stay at Stubcroft as the positives definitely outweighed the negatives 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cannot remember 2 reviews from this member

 We (3 adults, 2 children) have just got back from staying for 8 nights at the Stubcroft Farm campsite costing just over 230 pounds.

Good things about the site

Pitches on flat, well kept grass. Nice open fields, where my children could safely play.

The facilities were cleaned very regularly by the owner. The campsite was within walking distance of a nice beach.

Bad things about site

Dated toilets and showers

The ‘flushing’ toilets were all situated near the farmhouse, quite a walk from the largest field where we had been allocated our pitch.

Interestingly the photo on the website shows the newest toilet which is in the main house (next to the shop).

This shower was freezing cold. The rest of the showers and toilets were housed in portaloos or sheds (and judging by the age of the lino on the shed floor dating probably from the mid 70s!). One of these showers had excessively hot water which could well have scalded a child. Having run the gauntlet between hyperthermia and scalding, occasionally the water would cut out completely leaving the occupants several minutes of waiting mid-shower!

Every toilet had a notice recommending that if you had only done a wee that you shouldn't flush the toilet. I think this is sound eco advice to follow in the comfort and privacy of your own home. I don’t feel quite the same on a campsite with around 600 people, particularly given you had to brush your teeth in the washbasin right next to the said toilet.

Approach road

The private road to the campsite is 500 meters long (which takes a while at 5mph); it was absolutely full of pot holes, particularly hazardous when filled with rain water or at night. Not everyone owns a 4x4, and it would have been useful if this had been mentioned before booking.

Washing up facilities

2 sinks along the track to the pitches with no hot water provided! The owner had helpfully provided a notice suggesting adopting the 'traditional campsite practice' of boiling a kettle. Fine if you have a kettle, but is it really advisable to be carrying a kettle full of boiling water across a muddy field?

Eco loos

The nearest eco loos to our pitch comprised 4 eco toilets and a urinal. The smell from outside was terrible, and inside even worse. I now understand ash or paper is supposed to be put in after each use, none of this was explained or provided. My husband was greeted by a large puddle (maybe or maybe not just rainwater) in the middle of the urinal. I’m sure eco toilets can be fine but these really weren’t

Standpipes

I would think it wouldn’t be too hard to get a tap wrong. With no significant hard standing around the tap, lots of mud generated from the splashing water meant that you couldn’t even fill up a bottle without running the risk of getting your feet caked in mud! Again this would probably not be an issue on a very quiet site in good weather, but at the weekend when the site was absolutely at full capacity (110 pitches). After heavy rain it was particularly disconcerting when the owner came round at 8pm recommending we didn’t leave the site because he was worried that the traffic would churn up the grass and vehicles would get stuck in the mud.

The farm

The website features lots of photos of farm animals; one of the reasons we choose the campsite as we have two children. I have now read the terms and conditions on the website explaining that you must wash your hands after touching or handling animals - there were no animals - just signs stating that parents must keep children away from farm machinery and the ‘working farm’. This was really disappointing. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Withnailnher 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very relaxed rural site set well away from the roads & traffic so felt very safe for our young children. We were made to feel very welcome by the family that runs the site. Pitches are reasonably priced, level and quite spacious for a coastal campsite and nicely laid out in sections with hedges which provide a bit of shelter. One of the nicest things about this campsite is that they allow campfires much to the kids delight and they spent the evening making gooey mess toasting marshmallows! You can walk to the beach & village down the farm lanes which is about 15 minutes walk. This site has a very chilled out vibe and seems to attract a nice bunch of friendly fellow campers, the weekdays were very quiet but weekends were a bit busier with more of a 'festival' type feel.

The showers & toilets were basic but well maintained and free to use. There is a nice little shop which is convenient and sells all the day to day necessities and you can also buy honey and home made jams. Occasionally there is some fresh veg & fruit from their kitchen garden but it does go quickly so buy it when you can, we went back for some fresh strawberries but they had all gone! It is a working farm so expect some rough edges but it is our favourite site so far in this area and very different from the bigger commercial sites but that is its charm. Highly recommended and we hope to return again sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dhill2 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed on this site for a week recently with two young children, having booked by phone. I agree wholeheartedly with a reviewer from August last year, Campycamp. It has clearly not improved in the last 12 months.

The approach road was badly potholed. The eco loos were filthy and smelt so vile we could not use them. I dread to think what they would be like if the weather had been hotter. There was no proper washroom, just portacabin style loos and showers in various states of disrepair. I tried two different showers, one which just delivered cold water, and another which alternated between cold and so hot it could have caused serious scalding to a small child. In the end we visited the local swimming pool mainly to use the showers!

There was only a cold water supply for washing up, and a sign advising people to boil a kettle. Having paid £30 a night I think this is an unreasonable request. Needless to say, I will not be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thedobbies 5 reviews from this member

 We were impressed by the friendly welcome to this site. We stayed at this site a few years ago and the owners have made several improvements since. We stayed in early May and as it was early season the site was quiet & peaceful. It is a working farm and they had just finished lambing & the kids enjoyed seeing the lambs in the nearby paddocks. It is an Eco friendly site and you have a choice of compost toilets or conventional flush toilets. Don't be put off by the Eco loos they are OK but our teenage daughter preferred the conventional toilets, ironic as it is their generation that will benefit! The showers are hot & free which is a bonus nowadays! It looks like a new shower & toilet block is nearing completion also.

We came here for the beaches nearby, they really are some of the best sandy beaches on the South Coast especially the dunes at West Wittering. Collecting fossilised sharks teeth from Bracklesham beach also kept the children busy for hours. The site is secluded, level & flat & well sheltered from the coastal breezes by some lovely hedges. There are plenty of good shops & places to eat in the nearby village of East Wittering, fish & chips on the beach proved popular! Our favourite pub was the Lamb which is to be recommended. The site does have a small shop which provides the basics and charges phones & ipads, much to the delight of teenage daughter who cannot live without her gadgets! We liked this site & would recommend it for family holidays. 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4112 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement