Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
                8/10 from 207 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwimitch 4 reviews from this member

 The site is a working farm and is quiet and relaxing. It is conveniently situated close to nice sandy beaches. We loved the simple and informal approach to the place. No regimented attitudes or unnecessary frills, just simple camping as it should be. The owners were very friendly and accommodating with a sensible approach to running the place. Open fires are allowed provided they are in a proper fire pit or bbq off the ground & you take care and don’t destroy the grass, very handy as we’d have been a bit chilly without our fire-pit on the go constantly! We used this site a few years ago when we were last in the UK and its good to see that it has not become commercialised like a lot of the other sites we have visited.

The walks close to the campsite are breathtaking and teaming with wildlife. One morning early just the other side of the hedge were 3-4 deer grazing only about 20-30 yards away, after looking at us for half a minute they wandered away but it was one of those “magic moments! The children loved watching the lambs in the next door field & collecting the eggs, a real bonus.

Pitches are generous for a south coast site and there are a good selection of free hot showers which is unusual nowadays as most campsite seem to be charging for them. You have a choice of toilets, normal “flush” loos or composting 'ecoloos' (which are nothing to be frightened of!) and were all well maintained. This is an environmentally friendly site where you are gently encouraged to “go green” with things like recycling etc. But it is not too in your face.

I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Such freedom for the children and us not having to worry if they are safe as it is well away from any roads & traffic. We will return as soon as we can. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steve laidlaw 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this delightful site, with a view to catch the closing of lambing season. Better late than never but a little to early to sample the home produced honey. More shower/toilet faciilites were available on this second trip and clearly more work is being undertaken to make further improvements.

A small glitch in our power supply was soon sorted by the site staff in double quick time. No problem seemed to be too much trouble.

The Spotted Cow at nearby Hunston is to be recommended. Dog friendly pub with very pleasant restaurant attached. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spinetti 6 reviews from this member

 Glorious sunshine, warm weather, almost still winds. No it wasn't June but this was the first time we have ever been out in March & what a wonderful weekend we had. The beach is a 15-20 minute walk down a pretty farm lane and worth every minute, absolutely stunning. We virtually had the site & the beaches to ourselves, very peaceful. The showers and washing up facilities were clean & tidy (always a bonus)& if you want to be environmentally friendly you have the option of using some rustic composting ecolloos but they are what they say they are! Looking through previous reviews they have come in for some criticism which is a bit unfair, going green isnt easy but you don't have to use them, there are conventional loos & showers available and they are all free to use unlike many campsites that charge extra for hot showers.

The site is family run On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Simon & his family (known as “Farmer Green” – yes that is his real name!) who gave us all the info we needed and a really good map. You can have camp fires providing they are in proper steel containers which was nice to keep the early season evening chill at bay & the kids enjoyed toasting their marshmallows! They sell bags of logs which saves lugging your own along.

They were lambing whilst we were there & my daughter loved helping bottle feed the lambs, she had her favourite which she called 'Patch' after a black patch on its leg. It is a rustic & basic farm site in a farmers field but we loved it & will be back later to see how Patch is getting on! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darlingbuds 3 reviews from this member

 Took advantage of some wonderful early season weather to have a weekend by the coast. The owners have made a lot of improvements since our last visit a couple of years ago. It is very different from the usual commercialised south coast seaside side. It is an environmentally friendly site where you are gently encouraged join in with that ethos. It is in a lovely location, the beaches are a 20 min walk from the campsite down some pretty farm lanes. There are two villages nearby, Bracklesham Bay & East Wittering, both with a good selection of shops & places to eat & a good pub that does food within walking distance - what more do you want!

It will appeal to those looking for an old fashioned friendly family run campsite. The camping field is divided into sections with hedges which provide shelter from wind & gives a nice private feel to the site. The pitch sizes are generous for a south coast site & prices reasonable. It is a working farm & they were just starting lambing when we visited which the kids (& adults!)loved. Facilities were basic but clean & tidy. There are ecoloos for those that want to be environmentally friendly but you do not have to use them, there are alternative flush loos & showers near the farmhouse. If you are an uber urbanite looking for 5 star facilities this probably is not the site for you but for a relaxing break in the country then we recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheapskate 15 reviews from this member

 We were here the last weekend of the school holidays and it was packed, as previously mentioned the pitch sizes are not large so had to park the car in front of the tent rather than at the side. Also a lot of groups so rather noisy.

Not keen on the ecoloos as they tended to be smelly and only managed 1 shower because of queues.

Shop had good range and it was nice to have a fire when the sea mist rolled in but thought £10 rental a day for firepit dear.

Had a good meal at the Thatched House pub which is a walk away. Quite a hike to nearest beach. Ok for a weekend in Chichester but unlikely to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunrise Magic 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip for 7 years, was so nice to stay at a site reminiscent of my childhood years. A site run by a welcoming and very warm family, set in the countryside, surrounded by natural beauty.

The kids allowed to run around and really enjoy themselves - a fab little shop stocking everything you require and at good prices - and bbqs allowed ! Was like turning the clock back - fantastic.

Whilst I support eco believes I found the toilets and shower facilities inadequate and not very clean. However, it looks as if new facilities may be being built as building work is taking place at the moment.

Rubbish / recycling facilities. Approximately 15 large industrial bins available - but overflowing with waste.

Such a shame on the last 2 points - I would definitely return if these were improved, I may return next season just to see.  


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KP01 1 review from this member

 We generally enjoyed our stay but wouldn't stay again.

Our tent is 5m x 3m and we found the pitch space tight, but we were fortunate that the camp wasn't full so we were able to park our car to the side of our tent in the next pitch. The pitches are all fairly level, some have been over used and the ground is bare but most are grass.

The eco loos are very smelly. They are unisex so the seat often needed to be cleaned and there was no hand washing available with the eco loos.

There are flushing loos by the house but generally there weren't enough toilets and showers for the number of pitches. Also there was no hot water for washing dishes and no lighting at any of the facilities by the camping fields. (dish washing & eco loos. )

It is well positioned to drive into Chichester and for exploring the surrounding area. There is a pub within walking distance serving traditional pub food. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dogsimi 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this lovely family site for 3 nights in August with my best friend and our 4 young children (ages 4 - 6). The owner known as 'Farmer Green' because of his green credentials was very welcoming and explained the site in detail.

It is set over 5 large fields and we were allocated a wonderful corner pitch as we have an XL tent, in his end field next to the farm fields.

The site was very clean and tidy and has a stocked shop, ideal if you've forgotten a few essentials. The rules were very simple (be respectful to neighbours - no loud music, offensive language, use bricks or raised BBQs for fires, etc) and everyone seemed to adhere to them.

Farmer Green pops round each evening on his bike to ensure that you are happy and have no problems.

The owner encourages all campers to be as green as possible with the installation of numerous ecoloos and only cold water basins for washing up (he is going to be adding solar for hot water). There were also several flushing toilets in portacabins along with free hot showers (a new brick toilet and shower block is being built at present).

They were clean and serviced twice a day and we never had to queue for toilets or showers! He also requires all campers to recycle as much rubbish as possible.

The site is wonderfully situated for family breaks as it is only 3 miles from the beach (5 mins car, 20 mins walk down very quiet farm lane).

Chichester and lots of exciting to places to visit and explore are all a short drive away. We highly recommend a family day out to Amberley Museum (approx 40 mins away), a great interactive museum with steam train, open top double decker bus, amazing interactive exhibits in different buildings, so much to do a full day out.

We wished we'd book for a full week at this site as there is so much to do. Highly recommend Stubcroft Farm and can't wait to go back with a few more friends and their children as the layout is perfect for groups of families to camp together. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinsfamily 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Stubcroft after a lovely summer holiday last year. Since last year the owners have put in some new facilities including a fantastic little shop which stocks a really good range of food, drinks, ice creams & all those camping bits you always forget!

Its a reasonably priced family run site on a working farm so its a bit different from the other more commercial sites in the area. We like what the owners are trying to do here, its run on environmentally friendly lines so you are expected to recycle etc. , there is a choice between the composting 'ecoloos' or for the more fastidious there are flush loos & showers etc.

The shop prices are the cheapest we have seen on any site which makes a refreshing change. Location wise its only a 20 minute walk down a pretty farm lane to good sandy beaches although do follow the instructions on the website as a couple of the lanes are just farm tracks. We met someone whose satnav bought him down the wrong way!

The fields all surrounded by hedges which give good shelter on windy days. Interestingly this area is sheltered by the Isle of Wight & seems to have a bit of a better microclimate than further inland. The kids were fascinated by watching the combine harvester & tractors munching through the nearby fields & also watching the sheep being fed!

We had a lovely holiday & will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knightskye 4 reviews from this member

 Just been away at this campsite for a week. It did rain a lot and was quite windy.

Pros: Pitches were generous and clearly numbered and relatively flat. Owners were helpful and friendly. Well stocked on site office shop. Away from main road noise. Eco friendly.

Plenty of showers and toilets. Chemical disposal point - but be patient as goes down slowly and only flush after gone down otherwise could get messy. Bike hire. Close to coast. Ice Block freezing. Ample water points.

Cons: Road leading to site could test any vehicle with poor suspension. Eco toilets don't have sawdust for personal use to keep smells down, so a bit wiffy. Wasps love this site, so important to invest in wasp traps to ensure hassle free eating etc. Take wellies, if in for rain, as it is a farm after all and can tend to get a little muddy. No play area for children, so make your own entertainment. No lighting by washing up point, so either wash up prior to dusk or take a head torch. 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4091 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement