Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glossop Campers 1 review from this member

What a nice place to stay. This campsite was very peaceful and staff was so friendly, The lovely hot showers and toilet facilities were very clean at all times. The information room was very useful with pay phone as no signal on mobile phones.

We would recommend this site to all campers. Just sorry we didn't stay for longer but looking forward to going back to this lovely area. Three lovely pubs within walking distance from the site, that have great beers and lovely food.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue.too 2 reviews from this member

Love this site. We were staying before CCC came along. For walkers it is excellent. Big walks away from Ambleside. Oh and 3 pubs on the doorstep.

However it's been rather wet under foot the last few years. I know the weather has been strange but soooo many campers must have an effect too. It can't cope?

I love the place don't too many people come!

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sazza42 17 reviews from this member

We had a few nights staying here in the Camping Pods between Christmas and New Year. There was snow on the ground during all of our stay, but the Camping Pod was cosy with the insulation and the small heater that is provided for you.

The campsite is in a stunning location with the fells rising up around you. We ate in the pub in Boot each night and enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The facilities were lovely and clean - plenty of hot water as well which was extremely important at that time of year! The on-site shop looked to be well stocked as well.

The pods could fit 4 people, but it would be a squeeze in the winter when you want all of your gear indoors. However, there was loads of room for the two of us and we had plenty of space for the masses of gear we had brought. Each pod has a deck area out the front which I would imagine would be lovely for summer evenings.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fifi77 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! Great walking right from the site, two pubs in the village (we went to the one further up the lane - not the one on the corner) the one definitely allows dogs inside - and they gave our dog his own sausage while we were waiting for our meals so he's keen to go back! Facilities are very good and clean, although there are only 3 showers in the ladies so we had to queue every time, but it was a bank holiday weekend.

The shop has a good selection of everything - milk, bread but also different local meats and non-essentials plus some toys, balls etc. The site's really well kept and nicely laid out with benches dotted around although it was really busy when we were there. As there aren't many sites in the area I would expect that it is often fairly busy but it is a really lovely place so we'll definitely go back.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Steve McV 21 reviews from this member

We have just come back from Eskdale C&CC site & are now hooked on camping pods. The pods are very close to the toilets & washing up, & are grouped in two circles around picnic tables - reminded me of the covered wagons in the old cowboy films (Blazing Saddles & baked beans?)

They are a fairly cheap way of going away with little equipment. Cost us 40 per night. Probably not as comfy as a family tent with a bit more space, but great for a small family & excellent for year round breaks due to the insulation.

The location of the site could not be faulted. Local attractions are too many to list. Take (or hire) bikes. Follow the waymarked 9 mile Esk Valley Trail downhill to Ravenglass, then get the little narrow gauge steam train back up.

The site has an excellent range of facilities. The shop sells local produce including eggs, meat & real ale. The toilets were spotless in spite of horrid weather in April. In addition to the camping pods we stayed in, there is a self contained camping barn complete with log fire. The kids play area has swings, a small assault course & a trampoline. The manager owns an adjacent woodland & is happy for kids to play in there. Follow the path to the village of Boot with the oldest working water mill in the country at the end.

Brilliant site, brilliant location, facilities & staff. We will be back.

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LMTyrer 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from spending a New Year break at this site.

The camping pods had all been booked up so we took the tent and a van(we slept in the van as the snow made things a bit too nippy). However there were mad folks sleeping in tents!

We arrived by the light of a huge moon in a clear starry sky. The site is snuggled between picturesque hillside. The site was fairly busy for a New Year in the middle of nowhere.

Toilets and facilities were pristine. Showers lovely and hot even late at night. Toilets nice and warm too!

There is a small shop which seems to stock all the essentials you might need plus maps etc for the local area.

Local pub - exceptionally good food, beer and wine. Everyone was friendly.

Site seems to be a good central point for many different walks that suit all abilities.

We didn't do any major walking, just a stroll along the river - (just a short walk away). I don't know if you are allowed to swim in the lovely clear water but I think our kids may have a go, as we plan to go back in Summertime!

We drove up to Whitehaven which is a small town and would suit a mid-weather day.

The only criticism is the lack of signposting for this site given it is one of the camping / caravanning sites. As we were travelling in the dark also it was difficult to find first time around however we wouldn't have any trouble if we went again.

We did not even attempt the hardknott pass route - not sure if it would have been open given the snow. We went by main road up to Gosforth instead which is quite an easy route.

A little expensive at 16 per night for the two of us (High Season) but for a little piece of perfection we didn't mind too much.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jadec 1 review from this member

Stayed in August 09 with my partner and teenage stepsons. Word of warning-If you are not a confidant driver don't attempt hardknot pass, my partner had been before and enjoyed tackling it but I would never have felt able to do this route, nor would my small car!

The site was in a lovely location, lots of walks nearby. It was very clean and well run. Toilets and showers were spacious and only ever had to wait for a short time. We stayed when it was very wet but the site coped well, other sites in the lakes were flooded at the same time. The camping barn and camping pods looked fantastic. The site had a mix of people, there were families with younger children on site who loved the trampoline on site. Night time was always quite except for the noise of water at the nearby old watermill which was very soothing.

We would recommend this site to others, wonderful setting and perfect base for exploring. Only downside was that grumpy teenagers felt there was not enough to do on site, though us adults were quite happy..

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Biker7921 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I arrived to a very warm and friendly reception, the shop wasn't huge but all the essentials were there.

We were given a choice of pitches but the owner also gave us his opinion to which pitch he thought would suit our needs.

Every day the on site information board was updated with a 5 day weather forecast, every time we saw the owner he would come over for a chat, and enquire about our days activities, but we were made to feel at ease for the duration of our stay.

On our arrival we noticed that we had omitted to pack the heavy duty pegs for our awning, the owner went to his shop and got some for us.

There are 2 pubs within a 5 minute walk, one was a 'drinkers' pub, the other was an 'eating' pub, perfect so there was little or no competition between the 2.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kwaka111 2 reviews from this member

Have only been back from this site for a couple of hours. Stayed for a week, fantastic nearly had the whole field to ourselves. Site was perfect, Martyn & Sara great hosts very polite and helpful. Site shop essential because it is in the heart of the Lake District.

Hardknott Pass:- Beats any rollercoaster ride, edge of your seat stuff, had to do it twice just to confirm how bonkers it was.

Back to the site, facilities were immaculately clean the whole time. Site was spotless, grass being reseeded in order to keep it in its pristine condition.Hot water on demand,showers powerful the best of any site we have stayed.

Out and about:- Both local pubs were great, walking fantastic, Eskdale to Ravenglass Railway is a bit of a steam enthusiasts dream, for everyone else good chance to see the area without walking. Used the site as a base to visit:- Whitehaven/Cockermouth,Windermere/Ambleside(Hardknott Pass can be avoided) Keswick,Muncaster Castle.

After all this tourist stuff what a pleasure to return to such a perfect site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juz_Wuz 1 review from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and what can I say, its excellent.

The facilities are fantastic.

Great location for walking and great base if you are planning to walk up Scafell.

I can highly recommend the Boot Inn for food we've had superb meals there. The Brook House is another great pub, we,ve not ate at this one but the food did look good.

You must hop on the Eskdale to Ravenglass steam railway. Dalegarth station is close to the site. I would also recommend 'The Ratty' in Ravenglass if you fancy a bite to eat.

We will definitely be visiting this site again and again.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977