Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

We intended to stay here three nights, but stayed an extra two we liked it so much. Just got back after staying there over Easter, easily the busiest time of the year given the great weather we've had. Very impressive.

Booked in and sorted out quickly, staff very friendly and helpful. They never seemed to stop either - constantly cleaning, tidying, helping campers etc and the site is immaculate - showers and toilets spotless and I agree with other reviews referring to staff cleaning at all hours - we saw this ourselves.

Only minor grumble is that showers got a bit 'trickly' when very busy, but the water was hot and we could put up with this. Washing area and laundry good.

Shop is well-stocked and prices reasonable for locally-sourced foods. Site is an excellent base for a beautiful area of the Lake district - excellent walking, especially Scafell, but also other walks for those who want something not so intense (and tiring).

Boot village is enchanting and just a short walk down the road. The Boot Inn is excellent, lovely food, about your average price for a bar meal. The Landlord is very friendly as well. We loved the working watermill, worth a visit.

Eskdale site is pet-friendly and although we didn't have children with us, from our view we could see it's also good for children, a play area including a huge trampoline which children seemed to love! We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

First time we have used this site but not the last! Very well-run, clean, friendly site in a lovely area, superb for keen walkers or anyone just wanting a rest! A well-stocked shop on the site, closed for part of the day but a telephone on the wall outside the shop will get the owners if you need anything urgently.

The washing and washing-up facilities are excellent, the showers and toilets cleaned every day and are spotless. Our only gripe is the lack of hairdryers in the ladies showers-there was only one and it had broken-and the fact that because the shower cubicles don't have walls down to the floor, the water from other people's showers run into yours.

There are four good pubs for eating very close by so a good excuse to spoil yourself and not cook! Although we don't have children with us now, the facilities for them look good, well-kept and safe play area. The owner limits the number and size of motorhomes and caravans aren't allowed as far as we could see; it seems to be mainly tents and pods, which are booked up year to year, according to one returning pod-user I spoke to. Reasonable price for the standard of facilities; we can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krisbooth99 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic setting, customer service and campsite! much recommended if your up that neck of the woods! clean and updated bathrooms wash room and a shop that has everything you might well need!

Great location for climbing Scafell well within walking distance to the start of the walk, nice pub 100 metres down the lane that serves good, reasonably priced home cooked food!

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ttwff 11 reviews from this member

Got to this campsite on a cold raining winter night. I was the only one there at the time and the on site shop was closed the next day.

The people who run the site are very friendly.

There are showers, Toilets, Sinks, Drinking water, No kitchen. There washing sinks.

Think at £8 a night in the winter its a bit pricey if your a backpacker when you can camp in the lakes for free. Still if you need a shower has to be done.

It is a nice site I use again if in the area and need a shower.

There was no WIFI or internet accesses but think there was mobile phone signal on some the networks.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Keegan 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camping pod October hols and back end of December. Excellent toilets / showers. 'Top notch' Site owners extremely helpful. Pods were lovely and warm.

We were given a gas heater with an extra gas canister if needed. We will definitely be back soon.

Best pub we ate at was the Boot inn. Excellent food and we were made extremely welcome.

The area is to die for! Walkers paradise.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LyndseyJ 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic site. Very well looked after. Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Even cleaning the toilet block at midnight so that its spotless when you get up.

Hooks to fasten dog lead to at useful places ie. Toilet block and outdoor sinks. Dog happily people watched as we washed dishes.

Excellent walks around the area, buy the waterproof map in site shop, did all 3 walks and thoroughly enjoyed them especially waterfall.

Well stocked site shop. Excellent facilities, showers always hot, stayed when site full August Bank Hol and never had to queue. Kids play area on site. Enjoyed a visit to Boot Inn for a few pints.

Site handled wet weather well. Not too many flooded parts, owners very organised assisting people when needed.

Overall fantastic site and would definitely recommend to others.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Mc 1 review from this member

This is going to be a small review! Why! Well what else can I say but FANTASTIC SITE!

The site's facilities, ie , the toilet \ shower block are so clean. You can come back from the pub at 12 midnight, go to the toilet and see Martin and his better half getting them clean for you in the morning 2 or 3 time a day the staff do this.

You have a great chose of pubs in the area all depends on how far you want to walk (the Boot was my fav,) all with good beer and food

If you are already in the area you donít need me to tell you what itís like here with so much to see and do. But do have a look at the Roman fort (Not much here but its are history) up the pass the views from here are like the site are Fantastic and stunning

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PagsUK 8 reviews from this member

Excellent standard CCC site - non members are welcome if you haven't joined up already!

Well positioned for exploring the Western Fells, with great walks straight from the site- no need to move your car. These include Scarfell / Scarfell Pike, for those wanting a challenge. Those not wanting such exertion can enjoy a ride on the steam railway close to the site, down to Ravensglass, where you can explore the coast and Muncaster Castle. For courageous drivers, try Hardnott and Wrynose passes for an exhilarating experience.

The site itself is split into two areas of grass, some with EHU and a raised area of hardstanding suitable for campervans. Pitches are mainly level, but can get boggy - this is the Lakes! The facilities are all spotlessly clean and are possibly the best I have come across - most top hotels would be proud of them! There are two wash up areas - one outside and one undercover, which also acts as the information room with a payphone (no mobile reception on site). There is a superb drying room, with lockers and racks, as well as a decent well stocked reception shop (try the local beer - fab!). The site also has camping pods and a camping barn for hire. Wardens are very welcoming and helpful - when reception is closed, just pick up the special phone and they are immediately on hand, without a murmur of complaint.

This site is especially popular with walkers and their four legged friends. Both the pubs in the village (2mins walk) are dog friendly and provide food. Great site - will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the most spectacular sites we have stayed on. The facilities (shower blocks are super with the actual showers the best we have come across). The site owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Following very heavy rain (and a burst land drain) our tent was floating despite the zipped in groundsheet. Martin (the owner) immediately moved us into one of the camping pods for the night (at no extra charge!) and helped us to move all of our belongings from the tent. How good is that!

The two pubs within walking distance are both very good although we did only eat at the Boot Inn which was excellent.

The railway to Ravenglass is great and we walked through the woods to Muncaster Castle which is worth a visit.

No mobile or wifi or anything but who cares, if you love peace and quiet you will love this site.

If you decide to use Hardknott Pass it is not for the fainthearted but is well worth the drive,

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne181170 11 reviews from this member

Well what can I say about this site. It is fabulous, by far the best facilities we have ever had at a campsite. We planned to stay for 7 nights but ended up staying an extra 2 nights as we were having such a great time.

The weather was very mixed, the first few days we had a lot of rain, mostly during the night and in the morning, thankfully by the time you got out and about the days usually cleared up.

We were in the tent field (without EHU) and over the weekend the field was full. There were a lot of groups (families and friends) who chose to pitch their tents very closely together, but this was their choice, so I can understand previous reviews thinking that some of the tents were close to one another. There were also some pitches which were unusable so this didn't help. We met a couple who had been sent to Eskdale as they'd booked at Keswick and they'd been advised to go elsewhere as Keswick was flooded! We were very happy with our pitch and we had plenty of room and even acquired a picnic bench which was useful.

The Drying Room and Laundry were a 'god send' with the mixed weather, great for drying out coats and walking boots.

The views and walking from the site are fantastic and this is what you go to Eskdale for. The site is remote and as previously stated by others you need to take plenty of provisions with you, the shop is well stocked and we managed to cater most nights from the fresh veg, salad and meat for BBQ, it was more expensive than Tesco or Asda, but what do you expect, you are paying for the convenience and all convenience stores charge a premium.

The Eskdale & Ravenglass narrow gauge train is great (a little expensive) the views and experience makes it a must. Hardknott Pass is worth a go, although not with a fully loaded car, the views are amazing. Wast Water at the foot of Scarfell Pike is also worth a trip, the scenery is breathtaking.

Towards the end of our time there the weather took a turn for the better and what a difference that made, swimming in the rivers, picnics etc, by the end of our time there we all wanted to stay another week!

Martyn, Sarah and the team are always helpful and have knowledge of the area and cannot do enough to help. We will be back again, soon hopefully.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977