Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rodsfaria 4 reviews from this member

I have just spent 7 lovely nights in this place with my wife. Apart from the weather everything was perfect. The owners are lovely and friendly and the location is gorgeous. Showers facilities are absolutely brilliant and spotless. I will definitely be going back there and will strongly advise anyone who enjoy camping to stay there.

Eskdale is one of the best areas in the lake to go. No network signal, no Internet but electricity for all your tent appliances. We can't get better than that if you want to get away from the daily routine. They do have a pay phone if you are desperate to call someone. Ask for the walking route maps from the campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for the Royal Wedding weekend having been turned away from a couple of others nearby, despite arriving early on Thursday afternoon.

We were lucky. Despite being run ragged they squeezed us in (and to be honest, it wasn't a squeeze where we were - over the stream - it was just idyllic). We signed up for CCC membership there and then and almost saved the annual fees on the one stay.

The main fields are spacious and appear flat. We were on a slightly uneven and sloping area, but grateful for it none the less.

Childrens play area (though the nearby woods and streams look much more fun), immaculate toilets and showers, adequate water points, plenty of fire stations and electric hook-ups available. Good little shop to cover the basics and provide a get-out-of-jail card for forgotten items etc. Indoor and outdoor washing-up stations, and a laundrette.

Lovely village nearby, and a choice of pubs and good grub a short walk away.

Perfect location for walking with some stunning mountains to conquer from the site. It was blowing a hooley for all our stay so we did a few lower walks and barely escaped with out lives when the steam train (I imagine) set fire to the woods with the wind sweeping it our way. A huge stretch of woodland and fellside was devastated, and very impressive it was too - once we were on the other side of the river on the valley floor!

Only one minor criticism. The showers were sometimes a bit busy as there were only 3 each M/F (plus a lovely family wash room with double shower). Facilities are a bit sparse therefore when the site is full, but then we were grateful for being on there anyway.

Fees are high but reflect the quality. Join CCC and it's a steal!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

We intended to stay here three nights, but stayed an extra two we liked it so much. Just got back after staying there over Easter, easily the busiest time of the year given the great weather we've had. Very impressive.

Booked in and sorted out quickly, staff very friendly and helpful. They never seemed to stop either - constantly cleaning, tidying, helping campers etc and the site is immaculate - showers and toilets spotless and I agree with other reviews referring to staff cleaning at all hours - we saw this ourselves.

Only minor grumble is that showers got a bit 'trickly' when very busy, but the water was hot and we could put up with this. Washing area and laundry good.

Shop is well-stocked and prices reasonable for locally-sourced foods. Site is an excellent base for a beautiful area of the Lake district - excellent walking, especially Scafell, but also other walks for those who want something not so intense (and tiring).

Boot village is enchanting and just a short walk down the road. The Boot Inn is excellent, lovely food, about your average price for a bar meal. The Landlord is very friendly as well. We loved the working watermill, worth a visit.

Eskdale site is pet-friendly and although we didn't have children with us, from our view we could see it's also good for children, a play area including a huge trampoline which children seemed to love! We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

First time we have used this site but not the last! Very well-run, clean, friendly site in a lovely area, superb for keen walkers or anyone just wanting a rest! A well-stocked shop on the site, closed for part of the day but a telephone on the wall outside the shop will get the owners if you need anything urgently.

The washing and washing-up facilities are excellent, the showers and toilets cleaned every day and are spotless. Our only gripe is the lack of hairdryers in the ladies showers-there was only one and it had broken-and the fact that because the shower cubicles don't have walls down to the floor, the water from other people's showers run into yours.

There are four good pubs for eating very close by so a good excuse to spoil yourself and not cook! Although we don't have children with us now, the facilities for them look good, well-kept and safe play area. The owner limits the number and size of motorhomes and caravans aren't allowed as far as we could see; it seems to be mainly tents and pods, which are booked up year to year, according to one returning pod-user I spoke to. Reasonable price for the standard of facilities; we can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krisbooth99 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic setting, customer service and campsite! much recommended if your up that neck of the woods! clean and updated bathrooms wash room and a shop that has everything you might well need!

Great location for climbing Scafell well within walking distance to the start of the walk, nice pub 100 metres down the lane that serves good, reasonably priced home cooked food!

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ttwff 11 reviews from this member

Got to this campsite on a cold raining winter night. I was the only one there at the time and the on site shop was closed the next day.

The people who run the site are very friendly.

There are showers, Toilets, Sinks, Drinking water, No kitchen. There washing sinks.

Think at £8 a night in the winter its a bit pricey if your a backpacker when you can camp in the lakes for free. Still if you need a shower has to be done.

It is a nice site I use again if in the area and need a shower.

There was no WIFI or internet accesses but think there was mobile phone signal on some the networks.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Keegan 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camping pod October hols and back end of December. Excellent toilets / showers. 'Top notch' Site owners extremely helpful. Pods were lovely and warm.

We were given a gas heater with an extra gas canister if needed. We will definitely be back soon.

Best pub we ate at was the Boot inn. Excellent food and we were made extremely welcome.

The area is to die for! Walkers paradise.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LyndseyJ 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic site. Very well looked after. Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Even cleaning the toilet block at midnight so that its spotless when you get up.

Hooks to fasten dog lead to at useful places ie. Toilet block and outdoor sinks. Dog happily people watched as we washed dishes.

Excellent walks around the area, buy the waterproof map in site shop, did all 3 walks and thoroughly enjoyed them especially waterfall.

Well stocked site shop. Excellent facilities, showers always hot, stayed when site full August Bank Hol and never had to queue. Kids play area on site. Enjoyed a visit to Boot Inn for a few pints.

Site handled wet weather well. Not too many flooded parts, owners very organised assisting people when needed.

Overall fantastic site and would definitely recommend to others.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Mc 1 review from this member

This is going to be a small review! Why! Well what else can I say but FANTASTIC SITE!

The site's facilities, ie , the toilet \ shower block are so clean. You can come back from the pub at 12 midnight, go to the toilet and see Martin and his better half getting them clean for you in the morning 2 or 3 time a day the staff do this.

You have a great chose of pubs in the area all depends on how far you want to walk (the Boot was my fav,) all with good beer and food

If you are already in the area you donít need me to tell you what itís like here with so much to see and do. But do have a look at the Roman fort (Not much here but its are history) up the pass the views from here are like the site are Fantastic and stunning

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PagsUK 8 reviews from this member

Excellent standard CCC site - non members are welcome if you haven't joined up already!

Well positioned for exploring the Western Fells, with great walks straight from the site- no need to move your car. These include Scarfell / Scarfell Pike, for those wanting a challenge. Those not wanting such exertion can enjoy a ride on the steam railway close to the site, down to Ravensglass, where you can explore the coast and Muncaster Castle. For courageous drivers, try Hardnott and Wrynose passes for an exhilarating experience.

The site itself is split into two areas of grass, some with EHU and a raised area of hardstanding suitable for campervans. Pitches are mainly level, but can get boggy - this is the Lakes! The facilities are all spotlessly clean and are possibly the best I have come across - most top hotels would be proud of them! There are two wash up areas - one outside and one undercover, which also acts as the information room with a payphone (no mobile reception on site). There is a superb drying room, with lockers and racks, as well as a decent well stocked reception shop (try the local beer - fab!). The site also has camping pods and a camping barn for hire. Wardens are very welcoming and helpful - when reception is closed, just pick up the special phone and they are immediately on hand, without a murmur of complaint.

This site is especially popular with walkers and their four legged friends. Both the pubs in the village (2mins walk) are dog friendly and provide food. Great site - will be back.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019