Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

First visit to this area and oh what a pleasant surprise. It definitely is off the beaten track and 7 miles from the main road down lanes ( we were in a large motorhome) but worth it when you arrive. The site is 5***** all the way - the facilities are excellent, good shop, great owners and 3 great pubs in walking distance with very friendly staff. Great area for walking and if you want rural then this is the place - I would think its very busy in the summer. There is no signal for mobile or tv so be prepared to use pay phone and as previous people have said do not trust your sat nav stick to the main roads and use your map. Great place will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NCityFC 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Lovely welcome from owners, gave us the choice of pitches to suit our means.

Great views, lovely clean facilities although the camp could hardly be faulted for a burst main pipe the day after we got there. The management coped tremendously well with the situation.

Boot is a bit isolated from the main towns so take lot of provisions, but for us that's what made it more special.

Lovely walks, 3 nice pubs in walking distance, the Woolpack and The Boot to us were the most comfortable, especially welcoming our Dogs.

Would def return again, one point though, don't trust your Sat Navs, ours kept pointing us to Hardknott which we ignored but still end end up going over Birker Pass to get to the site, I for one was not impressed. Stick to the main roads.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJ66 5 reviews from this member

Despite the wonderful scenery right outside your tent, I was disappointed with this site.

The showers/loos/washing up facilities were very good, clean with plenty of hot water etc, and the shop was well-stocked, however the site was very crowded (we had booked 2 pitches but ended up squashed onto what felt like one)

The site also flooded badly during heavy rains, and several people had to pack up and go after their tents were left in 6 inches of water. The large puddles did not drain away so for the rest of the week, various parts were cordoned off.

We won't be staying there again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minnie77 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here with two small children for a long weekend. This is lovely site with beautiful surrounding scenery.

The facilities were clean and well kept. Great site shop selling local meats and sausages and good selection of local beers.

The playground is small but more than sufficient to keep the kids entertained (it includes a trampoline).

It's a short walk to the village with a good choice of pubs. We also walked to the Ravenglass Railway which was a great family day excursion.

All in all a great site and we would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amandamogan 5 reviews from this member

Eskdale ccc site is a fantastic site, the area is beautiful. The showers, toilets, drying room are all 5 star, I fear no other site will live upto these standards. All the staff so very helpful.

We (2 teenage boys my husband and I)arrived on the last Friday in July and stayed until Tuesday the weather was also fantastic.

We did not cross the pass (too scared).

The campsite was quiet after 11pm and all campers well behaved at all times.

Many walks straight from the campsite which was a bonus.

We ate at the Boot Inn the food was great and reasonably priced and the staff were nice.

Do take a trip to Ravenglass on the little steam railway, Ravenglass not very exciting but the steam train lovely.

Muncaster castle worth a trip stayed all day and had a picnic however, if the weather was bad Muncaster would not be much fun.

The on site shop supplied all the basics, so take plenty with you and only open for 4 hours a day this could do with extending slightly more so in the evening.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snaprails 13 reviews from this member

What a splendid site! An excellent location at the upper end of Eskdale, 5 minutes walk from Boot village and Dalegarth station on the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway.

The site is spread across 3 'fields', the middle one being predominantly level and the others gently sloping in parts. We had plenty of 'lake making weather' during our stay and parts of the site were soggy but the excellent site managers obviously knew where to avoid and allocated pitches to avoid the worst bits.

Even by C&CC standards the facilities here are posh. Good showers (not too low!) and scrupulously cleaned. With 3 showers & 3 WCs (in the Gents) I do wonder if capacity might be stretched in high season though? Site shop is well stocked and the managers are helpful and knowledgeable. I can confirm there is no mobile signal on Vodafone, T-mobile, or Orange. There's a payphone on site. Local pubs offer Wi-Fi.

There are 3 pubs within walking distance. I don't know what the other 2 are like but I can heartily recommend the Boot Inn. Proper friendly pub, good beer - quality and range, & interesting local characters. Food is great too. Most importantly they allow dogs inside. Actually let me re-phrase that, I quote Sean the landlord, 'we don't allow dogs in, we adore having dogs in'.

A point to note about the site location: If you are intending to make trips out to the rest of the Lake District, particularly Coniston, Windemere, etc.

You either have to drive around the long way, west then south or north, or turn left out of the site gate & go over Hardknott & Wrynose passes. These are entertaining / challenging / scary depending on your disposition but more importantly really only for light vehicles & no trailers.

Also in the mornings it can take quite some time as the road gets busy & is only single track. The views from the tops however are brilliant! Unless you're a nervous driver you HAVE to do it at least the once.

A great place to stay and one to which we'd be glad to return.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dr Del 1 review from this member

Brilliant time was had by me and my wife, we arrived on last night of local beer festival - bonus, if a bit noisy on Saturday night!

The site is easily the best site I have ever stayed at in 18 years of being a member of CCC. The campsite staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful; not too many dos and don'ts like some CCC sites either!

The location is fantastic, beautiful scenery and 3 great pubs close by; The Boot was my favourite, it also has free WiFi; food there was good as well, everything cooked from fresh at reasonable prices. As a real ale fan I pleased to find that I never drank the same beer twice in the six days I was there!

Climbed Scafell Pike, hard work but worth it for the views! Also cycled the Eskdale trail; note that if you plan to cycle it there is a very steep hill which may be difficult for children (and some adults), coming back you can put bikes on narrow gauge steam train back from Ravenglass if you pre-book.

It rained some days (Lake District), we stayed last night in a Pod as rain was forecast for next day and we didn't want to put tent away wet! Pod was nice but very dark at night (there are battery lights inside but would recommend a lamp as well).

Muncaster Castle is also worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewd39 6 reviews from this member

Have just spent 3 nights here. What can we say, it was superb. Site owners very friendly and helpful, facilities were clean and tidy. Lots to do for children, including the trampoline ! The re-freeze of cool blocks was very helpful. Shop well stocked. Leave your mobile at home - not a bad thing.

Fantastic views, in what is a quieter part of the lakes. 5 mins walk to the Ravenglass railway, Wastwater nearby for canoeing and the trip home over Hardknott pass. Cannot fault it. We will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rodsfaria 4 reviews from this member

I have just spent 7 lovely nights in this place with my wife. Apart from the weather everything was perfect. The owners are lovely and friendly and the location is gorgeous. Showers facilities are absolutely brilliant and spotless. I will definitely be going back there and will strongly advise anyone who enjoy camping to stay there.

Eskdale is one of the best areas in the lake to go. No network signal, no Internet but electricity for all your tent appliances. We can't get better than that if you want to get away from the daily routine. They do have a pay phone if you are desperate to call someone. Ask for the walking route maps from the campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for the Royal Wedding weekend having been turned away from a couple of others nearby, despite arriving early on Thursday afternoon.

We were lucky. Despite being run ragged they squeezed us in (and to be honest, it wasn't a squeeze where we were - over the stream - it was just idyllic). We signed up for CCC membership there and then and almost saved the annual fees on the one stay.

The main fields are spacious and appear flat. We were on a slightly uneven and sloping area, but grateful for it none the less.

Childrens play area (though the nearby woods and streams look much more fun), immaculate toilets and showers, adequate water points, plenty of fire stations and electric hook-ups available. Good little shop to cover the basics and provide a get-out-of-jail card for forgotten items etc. Indoor and outdoor washing-up stations, and a laundrette.

Lovely village nearby, and a choice of pubs and good grub a short walk away.

Perfect location for walking with some stunning mountains to conquer from the site. It was blowing a hooley for all our stay so we did a few lower walks and barely escaped with out lives when the steam train (I imagine) set fire to the woods with the wind sweeping it our way. A huge stretch of woodland and fellside was devastated, and very impressive it was too - once we were on the other side of the river on the valley floor!

Only one minor criticism. The showers were sometimes a bit busy as there were only 3 each M/F (plus a lovely family wash room with double shower). Facilities are a bit sparse therefore when the site is full, but then we were grateful for being on there anyway.

Fees are high but reflect the quality. Join CCC and it's a steal!

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957