Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 04/07/2020 to 14/01/2021
           01/03/2021 to 14/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 209 Reviews
                9/10 from 209 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 31 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here in mid-September after a couple of nights near Keswick. The weather was stunning! Warm, blues skies, no rain, could hardly believe it! Upon arrival, the lady at the reception desk went through our pitch options but we settled on the first field up towards the facilities block.

There was plenty of space around and a good mix of vehicles and people on site. I suppose given it's location along quite minor roads there weren't many "massive" motorhomes on the site but more medium-sized vans and cars/tents.

After settling in we had a walk to the Woolpack Inn about a mile up the Hardknott road. We'd pre-booked a table earlier in the day when we had a phone signal as we knew there'd be no signal there in the mountains. Food and drink were both very nice in the Woolpack and they even had vegan options! There is also the Brook House Inn and The Boot Inn which are much closer and also offer food and great beer!

The Eskdale area is beautiful especially when the weather is on your side! We chose to go along the Esk Trail but missed a turn somewhere and went over the top of the fells in front of the campsite area and as wrong turns go it was a beautiful place to get a bit lost! We got back on track later and the riverside walk was gorgeous.

There's several waterfalls in the area too and even a narrow gauge railway to Ravenglass on the coast. We drove down to Wasdale Head on the sunny Saturday morning but that was not much fun in a van as there were cars lined along the roadside for the last quarter mile. I'd been there a few years ago and it was fine but it's getting too busy these days. Selfish parkers virtually block the road in places and passing cars becomes a bit of a nightmare! Shame as it's such a beautiful area.

Back to the Eskdale campsite, the layout and facilities are very nice. We had plenty of space around us and apart from a few people not wearing face masks in the facilities we felt pretty safe in these unusual times.

I'd definitely recommend the campsite and the area and can't wait to go back sometime. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

 I booked this site on the strength of the location and positive reviews.

The location lived up to expectations. Perfect walking from the site and good pubs in easy walking distance. There was plenty of space on the site and the environment was generally peaceful and pleasant. One small point though, high trees prevented views of the wonderful mountains from your tent, which you often get in similar sites. Maybe they could be lopped?

The fees were high, but we are always happy to pay for a good site. Unfortunately we didn't feel they were justified in this instance.

The toilets and showers were a good design, with fully controllable temperature and no push buttons, several hooks and ample space. However, they were inadequate when the site was busy at the weekend. As the location prevents caravans and large motorhomes, everyone needs to use the facilities and there simply aren't enough.

In addition, the large number of Duke of Edinburgh groups on site all week meant waits for showers and even toilet cubicles. This was particularly true for the mens block, as there were a number of all male groups using the site. The toilet blocks were cleaned once a day but there didn't appear to be checks at other times and there were no cloths available for cleaning the washbasins when they needed it.

The shop was also disappointing. No fresh bread deliveries, just sliced loaves, very little selection of groceries (for example, no rice or potatoes, even tinned!), but plenty of Nation Trust souvenirs! Cold beers were available but we were unable to find any wine on the shelves although someone later said it was available if you asked at the counter. This wouldn't normally be too much of a problem but in this instance there are no supermarkets for miles! The shop in the village also sells mainly souvenirs.

Maybe I have become too used to the excellent facilities on the continent, but I did expect more from the National Trust. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Misshappypea 1 review from this member

 This campsite is in a stunning peaceful location away from the hubbub of the South Lakes.

Firstly and most importantly the grass is topnotch for camping on - nice and soft and flat with no nobbly bits like you get at some campsites.

The facilities all seemed brand new (I understand this is the NT's first season) and were warm, clean and bright. The showers were good, there is a disabled/family toilet & shower and both inside and outside pot wash. The bookshelf was a nice touch too, we borrowed a box of games which kept the small folk entertained in the mornings.

The staff were all friendly and the shop is small but has most things you might need might need (we managed to turn up without gas for the stove but were able to buy some).

There is a nice little playground which the kids enjoyed but mostly they just ran round and round in circles on the big field. They also loved looking for bunnies in the walls.

The price is a bit too expensive which is the only downside but this is the case in so many campsites these days - we could have stayed in a travelodge for cheaper which seems silly!

It's the only reason I haven't given the place a 10. Would definitely love to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 44 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site back in Sept 2015 but a couple of months ago it changed hands and is now run by The National Trust - rumours are that they paid £1. 6 million - so I thought it was worth some further comments. The National Trust now own the major campsites in Langdale, Wasdale & Eskdale giving them somewhat of a monopoly on the central fells of the Lake District.

So far very little seems to have changed. The standard of the facilities remains very high though it is pricey. We paid £31 per night for a large grass camping pitch with electric hookup for two adults plus car. There is no discount for being National Trust members. In some areas the ground was too soft for the larger motorhomes - packing plastic grip tracks will be a sensible precaution.

The staff were friendly and hardworking but still getting used to running a busy site that was fully booked over the Bank Holiday weekend. No wifi available at present.

We only went into one of the local pubs, The Woolpack, for tea/coffee & two cakes. Adequate but quite expensive at £12.

Yes, we would go back - this site is all about location, location, location - but we will try to choose a quieter weekend in future. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baldockchris 4 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our 2 nights camping here. Very scenic location with plenty of walks from the site, 2 Pubs within 5 min walk and third within 20 mins walk. The pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room.

Toilet/Shower block very clean and modern but may struggle to cope if site is full. Site shop has a good selection of the things that you need.

All in all great stay and campsite the only issue we had was with the owner who could have been a little more friendly, he is efficient but when we asked if he had any info on train times of the local miniature steam train he snapped back sarcastically ' Its not my train' then gave us a procure with the relevant information. Why ? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moon-light1 1 review from this member

 My partner and I stayed here for 1 week at the end of June. When we arrived we were greeted and shown many different sites on the campsite that we could stay; there was so much choice!

We settled for under the trees close to the entrance. This did mean there was a bit of trek to the facilities, but it didn't bother us.

The facilities were kept very clean and tidy. The showers were always hot. There was one time were there was no loo roll!

The campsite was quiet most of the time and is fairly well protected from the wind. On our last night it did become rather busy and noisy, but it all settled down after 11pm.

There are lovely walks from the campsite. Our favourite was visiting the nearby waterfalls and walking along the river. There are 3 pubs within walking distance as well. The closest one (Boot Inn) being the best.

The only problem we had is that if you want to travel outside of the campsite, then it's at least a good hour drive to get anywhere.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarewho 3 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome, beautiful setting in a peaceful valley. This was our second visit.

The well maintained site has good flat pitches, with and without electrical hook ups. There are play facilities dotted about for children and the best stocked camp shop I have ever seen - necessary due to the location.

The wash blocks are well maintained and kept pretty clean although slightly more frequent checks are needed to keep toilet paper stocked. The shower cubicles are a decent size with stools, hooks and curtains but there are not enough (3 each plus family room) and the water pressure was poor at times.

There is a good washing up room and a drying room and laundry. There is a mixture of tents, pods and camper vans and it was very busy when we visited but everyone was well behaved with most people apparently in bed at about 11pm. There is free wifi but the signal is very weak so we couldn't use it. Not unexpected due to location and certainly not a problem for us.

There are 3 pubs in walking distance, two of which are very close. We recommend the food at The Boot Inn who gave a 10% discount to campers. There is a pleasant and easy circular walk good from the campsite - takes in waterfalls, railway, mill, stream, sheep plus lots of nice views and a pub near the end.

Tip: remember your insect repellent as the midges were out in force while we were there.

We would definitely visit again perhaps during a quieter period. It is not a cheap 'no thrills' site but overall I think it did offer good value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobymartin 1 review from this member

 We have just spent the bank holiday weekend at this beautiful site. Such a shame that the over-zealous male manager managed to spoil our stay. Pouncing on people when they first arrive 'You'll have to pay extra for another vehicle if you leave it here!' rather than 'Welcome to our site!' - this for our visitors (2) too who only came for a few hours but were interrogated on arrival.

Even though the site is quite remote, and our group had spent nearly £800 in total (£600 on site fees and nearly £150 in the on site shop) he objected to our supermarket delivery, despite the fact they did not sell fresh BBQ food items in the shop and by day 2 of the bank holiday weekend they had run out of bags of ice. (These were not replenished until after the bank holiday weekend). They also charged 50p per block to refreeze our OWN ice blocks.

Inadequate facilities for the number of people on site (3 showers each for men / women)- even with an extra family room, we endured long queues and intermittent water pressure and temperature in the showers. It felt like they were trying to cash in by squeezing too many people in.

Such a shame as the site is in a fantastic location, with a well-stocked shop and nice, flat pitches. It has a good play area for children, but the manager went to the play area to tell all the children how long they could be on the trampoline and what time they should stop using the play area (before it went dark) so spoilt their fun.

Several nice pubs nearby and lovely clean facilities but too small for the number of visitors - and the on / off water pressure and variable temperature in the showers (plus the wait) made everyone miserable. Sadly we won't return. We are a well-behaved, middle aged group with money to spend - but will be spending it elsewhere next bank holiday weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smelljeffshand 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here with the aim of climbing scafell pike. Here is my review of the site.

Pros.

1. Absolutely stunning location

2. Site very clean and tidy and friendly staff washrooms and showers immaculate.

3. Shop very well stocked with all the essentials.

4. Brilliant site for walks.

5. Three great pubs either side.

6. Fairly easy to find site.

Cons.

1. Unfortunately this is where it all goes wrong we went out for a walk on Friday morning and by the time we come back on Friday night the VW campers club have taken over the whole site vans were parked all over the place no regard for the six meter rule some vans and the awnings were parked literally right outside our motorhome loud music was being played all night and dogs yapping at everybody who walk past. Barbecues were lit right outside peoples tents and caravans and were left smouldering all night anybody going to the toilet could possibly trip over them.

On Saturday Music was being played loud all day one silly woman who was drunk got up and started to try and dance and then sat down after about two minutes when she realised she made a complete tit of herself. One couple who were next to us just went in the tent and stay in there all day it was such a shame because it was a lovely weekend Iím pretty sure that this is not the whole representation of the VW campers society as a lot of them were being very civilised but there was these inconsiderate individuals that had decided that the campsite was theres. Completely took over with no regard for anybody Inot even the owners did anything about. Which I find very sad. Eskdale your a good site. You could be brilliant.

Would I come here again. Yes. But I would phone first to find out who the pitch invaders would be ! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lizbrophy 1 review from this member

 Had a fab time at the vw weekend, this is our 1st visit but won't be our last.

Great site with lovely, friendly and most helpful staff, a great credit to you all. Lovely area, 3 great pubs and a lovely train ride

Terry and Liz brophy 


Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eskdale Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eskdale Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Eskdale Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December