Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baldockchris 4 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our 2 nights camping here. Very scenic location with plenty of walks from the site, 2 Pubs within 5 min walk and third within 20 mins walk. The pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room. Toilet/Shower block very clean and modern but may struggle to cope if site is full. Site shop has a good selection of the things that you need. All in all great stay and campsite the only issue we had was with the owner who could have been a little more friendly, he is efficient but when we asked if he had any info on train times of the local miniature steam train he snapped back sarcastically ' Its not my train' then gave us a procure with the relevant information. Why ?

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moon-light1 1 review from this member

My partner and I stayed here for 1 week at the end of June. When we arrived we were greeted and shown many different sites on the campsite that we could stay; there was so much choice! We settled for under the trees close to the entrance. This did mean there was a bit of trek to the facilities, but it didn't bother us.

The facilities were kept very clean and tidy. The showers were always hot. There was one time were there was no loo roll!

The campsite was quiet most of the time and is fairly well protected from the wind. On our last night it did become rather busy and noisy, but it all settled down after 11pm. There are lovely walks from the campsite. Our favourite was visiting the nearby waterfalls and walking along the river. There are 3 pubs within walking distance as well. The closest one (Boot Inn) being the best.

The only problem we had is that if you want to travel outside of the campsite, then it's at least a good hour drive to get anywhere.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarewho 3 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome, beautiful setting in a peaceful valley. This was our second visit.

The well maintained site has good flat pitches, with and without electrical hook ups. There are play facilities dotted about for children and the best stocked camp shop I have ever seen - necessary due to the location. The wash blocks are well maintained and kept pretty clean although slightly more frequent checks are needed to keep toilet paper stocked. The shower cubicles are a decent size with stools, hooks and curtains but there are not enough (3 each plus family room) and the water pressure was poor at times.

There is a good washing up room and a drying room and laundry. There is a mixture of tents, pods and camper vans and it was very busy when we visited but everyone was well behaved with most people apparently in bed at about 11pm. There is free wifi but the signal is very weak so we couldn't use it. Not unexpected due to location and certainly not a problem for us.

There are 3 pubs in walking distance, two of which are very close. We recommend the food at The Boot Inn who gave a 10% discount to campers. There is a pleasant and easy circular walk good from the campsite - takes in waterfalls, railway, mill, stream, sheep plus lots of nice views and a pub near the end.

Tip: remember your insect repellent as the midges were out in force while we were there.

We would definitely visit again perhaps during a quieter period. It is not a cheap 'no thrills' site but overall I think it did offer good value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loobymartin 1 review from this member

We have just spent the bank holiday weekend at this beautiful site. Such a shame that the over-zealous male manager managed to spoil our stay. Pouncing on people when they first arrive 'You'll have to pay extra for another vehicle if you leave it here!' rather than 'Welcome to our site!' - this for our visitors (2) too who only came for a few hours but were interrogated on arrival.

Even though the site is quite remote, and our group had spent nearly £800 in total (£600 on site fees and nearly £150 in the on site shop) he objected to our supermarket delivery, despite the fact they did not sell fresh BBQ food items in the shop and by day 2 of the bank holiday weekend they had run out of bags of ice. (These were not replenished until after the bank holiday weekend). They also charged 50p per block to refreeze our OWN ice blocks.

Inadequate facilities for the number of people on site (3 showers each for men / women)- even with an extra family room, we endured long queues and intermittent water pressure and temperature in the showers. It felt like they were trying to cash in by squeezing too many people in.

Such a shame as the site is in a fantastic location, with a well-stocked shop and nice, flat pitches. It has a good play area for children, but the manager went to the play area to tell all the children how long they could be on the trampoline and what time they should stop using the play area (before it went dark) so spoilt their fun.

Several nice pubs nearby and lovely clean facilities but too small for the number of visitors - and the on / off water pressure and variable temperature in the showers (plus the wait) made everyone miserable. Sadly we won't return. We are a well-behaved, middle aged group with money to spend - but will be spending it elsewhere next bank holiday weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smelljeffshand 7 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights here with the aim of climbing scafell pike. Here is my review of the site.

Pros.

1. Absolutely stunning location

2. Site very clean and tidy and friendly staff washrooms and showers immaculate.

3. Shop very well stocked with all the essentials.

4. Brilliant site for walks.

5. Three great pubs either side.

6. Fairly easy to find site.

Cons.

1. Unfortunately this is where it all goes wrong we went out for a walk on Friday morning and by the time we come back on Friday night the VW campers club have taken over the whole site vans were parked all over the place no regard for the six meter rule some vans and the awnings were parked literally right outside our motorhome loud music was being played all night and dogs yapping at everybody who walk past. Barbecues were lit right outside peoples tents and caravans and were left smouldering all night anybody going to the toilet could possibly trip over them.

On Saturday Music was being played loud all day one silly woman who was drunk got up and started to try and dance and then sat down after about two minutes when she realised she made a complete tit of herself. One couple who were next to us just went in the tent and stay in there all day it was such a shame because it was a lovely weekend Iím pretty sure that this is not the whole representation of the VW campers society as a lot of them were being very civilised but there was these inconsiderate individuals that had decided that the campsite was theres. Completely took over with no regard for anybody Inot even the owners did anything about. Which I find very sad. Eskdale your a good site. You could be brilliant.

Would I come here again. Yes. But I would phone first to find out who the pitch invaders would be !

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizbrophy 1 review from this member

Had a fab time at the vw weekend, this is our 1st visit but won't be our last. Great site with lovely, friendly and most helpful staff, a great credit to you all. Lovely area, 3 great pubs and a lovely train ride

Terry and Liz brophy

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that as from the 2017 season this site is no longer managed or run by the Camping and Caravanning Club. The site remains open under independent management, and is accepting bookings as normal for the 2017 season.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

A lovely site in a beautiful setting - tranquillity itself. If you aren't a walker/cyclist or want a ride on Ratty this may not be the place for you but the wardens are friendly and very helpful, the on site shop sells quality products including meat and beer (what else is there) and the facilities are absolutely excellent. Lots of lovely walks and three excellent pubs serving good food within easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

Had rung a few hours before to check availability. Warm welcome & shown around, taken to pitch & helped to hook up as a long lead was required. Given a choice of pitches. All this & we hadnít arrived until 6. 30pm.

Facilities 5*. Well stocked shop, good opening hours. Lovely toilets & showers, heated, warm, & clean. Showers warm & free with no annoying timers. Lots of hooks, stool, & shower curtains that work. Drying room, laundry & rotary clothes lines for campers use. Plenty of picnic benches around. Wifi free, & noticed coverage better when less campers on site but a good signal around shop area all the time.

Excellent location. Lovely hill walk to Blea Tarn (beware, you need to walk to the disused huts at the top of the hill, & the path is difficult to see from here. Look up to left diagonally & follow the stone cairns). Also recommend the Stanley Ghyll waterfall walk, both of these are detailed on the walk leaflet available in the shop for a couple of quid. Within 10 minutes walk is a small shop in Boot, 2 pubs, & a cafe & giftshop at the steam railway station. Old ratty is a fun little train for kids & enthusiasts but also used by lots of walkers. We only tried one of the pubs, the Brook House Inn, which had an excellent varied menu, local beers & 180+ whiskies. Well recommended, even the crap taxidermy made me laugh almost as much as the barmanís dry sense of humour.

The majority of the other campers were really friendly. Noise from kids was minimal as they tend to put families in one field, & adults in the other.

I nearly forgot the views, absolutely stunning & hard to beat, even in the Lakes. We did notice that many campsites in the area had views or electric hook ups. This site has both. In fact we would probably go so far as to say this is the best C&CC site we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Okantfoss 4 reviews from this member

I think we must have been very unlucky indeed as our experience was not a good one. We arrived on a Friday and the site was VERY full. We were offered a choice of two pitches - one was in the middle of the family area which was already very full and the other was next to the stream. It seemed we were being encouraged into the family area as the pitch was more likely to stay dry for 9 days but to me it looked very full already so we opted for the pitch by the stream.

On the first night a tent started to pitch at 11pm right next to us. There was extremely loud swearing coming from them which woke me up and they proceeded to make noise as they drank until 3am.

The next night we had competing sound systems - one from the pods and one from the camper next to us. It was the worst weekend's camping I have ever spent. I found it a very noisy site in general over the weekend. In the week it changed as the site emptied somewhat.

Normally I'd expect someone to wander round at night keeping an eye on noise, but this didn't happen here.

In my opinion it doesn't have sufficient facilities. There are 130 pitches, but only three WCs in the men's toilets. It is not pleasant to have to queue for a toilet in the morning which is what happened 3 or 4 times during our stay. Similarly there is an issue with just three showers for the site. And these run out of water mid shower - ironic given the amount of water ironic given the flooded tents!

Whilst the shop is very tidy and well stocked, it was a shame not to have some nice fresh bread available.

Overall, it's a tidy site, buy in my opinion it isn't up to the usual standards of Camping & Caravan Club sites. We actually left two days early forfeiting the pitch fees.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938