Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eskdale National Trust Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale National Trust Campsite > Reviews

Eskdale National Trust Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 214 Reviews
                9/10 from 214 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: DaveG60 16 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site by Esk close to Boot and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway Station.

Two large grass fields with a modern toilet shower block and shop and electrical hook ups.

Rather too few toilets and showers for a busy bank holiday.

As a later arrival the allocation of pitches was rather vague just a cross on a plan rather than a pitch or hook up point number.

Otherwise fine. 


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lclex2 1 review from this member

 This may be the best UK campsite we have ever had the pleasure to stay at over the last 22 years in our trusty T4 campervan (200, 000 plus miles of touring)

The weather was like camping in the North Sea during a force 8 gale but hey itís October in the Lake District so to be expected.

The fabulous facilities included a very efficient drying room which had our sodden gear dry and ready to use the next day.

Great staff great facilities and great walks and not forgetting the fabulous Boot Inn. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Noah8918 3 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this wonderful site tucked away in the shadow of Scafell.

As other reviews have mentioned its not an easy drive to get to with very narrow roads and depending on the route chosen these can also be steep in places, but being tucked out of the way is part of why we love the site so much.

Generous pitching on mostly flat well drained ground, facilities are clean and adequate for the size of site (it was busy on both our visits).

The walks direct from the site are superb whether its up into the hills or sticking to a riverside wander there is plenty of choice, and 3 pubs all within walking distance (some a little further than others).

Will we return again - most definitely! even if it does take a bit of careful driving to get there. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Iriley 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully quiet and beautiful location.

Not the easiest of places to reach with either a route via Ravenglass or via the Wrynose and Hardknott passes which should make it more appreciated when you arrive.

Pubs in easy walking distance too.

Very well run by a small National Trust staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Firecrest13 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site a few times now. Lovely site, very well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff.

We did not use the showers but the toilets etc. are very clean whenever we have visited.

A few good pubs to eat and drink within walking distance. The Boot Inn, Brook House Inn are both 5 mins walk away. George IV is a mile down the road. All good but with limited veggie options if you do not like cheese. Would be great to see more sandwich choice on the lunchtime menu. Egg and cress, quorn sausages or other quorn products would be good. My personal opinion of course!

The beer is good in all three but Brook House beer is the best we decided, with the George a close second. All the staff are wonderful, friendly and "go the extra mile. " There are other places to eat within a short driving distance. D

Ogs very welcome everywhere.

We love La'al Ratty, just discovered the icecream they serve is gorgeous. Loads of beautiful walks.

Easy strolls along the river or longer walks up on the fells.

Always highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 40 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here in mid-September after a couple of nights near Keswick. The weather was stunning! Warm, blues skies, no rain, could hardly believe it! Upon arrival, the lady at the reception desk went through our pitch options but we settled on the first field up towards the facilities block.

There was plenty of space around and a good mix of vehicles and people on site. I suppose given it's location along quite minor roads there weren't many "massive" motorhomes on the site but more medium-sized vans and cars/tents.

After settling in we had a walk to the Woolpack Inn about a mile up the Hardknott road. We'd pre-booked a table earlier in the day when we had a phone signal as we knew there'd be no signal there in the mountains. Food and drink were both very nice in the Woolpack and they even had vegan options! There is also the Brook House Inn and The Boot Inn which are much closer and also offer food and great beer!

The Eskdale area is beautiful especially when the weather is on your side! We chose to go along the Esk Trail but missed a turn somewhere and went over the top of the fells in front of the campsite area and as wrong turns go it was a beautiful place to get a bit lost! We got back on track later and the riverside walk was gorgeous.

There's several waterfalls in the area too and even a narrow gauge railway to Ravenglass on the coast. We drove down to Wasdale Head on the sunny Saturday morning but that was not much fun in a van as there were cars lined along the roadside for the last quarter mile. I'd been there a few years ago and it was fine but it's getting too busy these days. Selfish parkers virtually block the road in places and passing cars becomes a bit of a nightmare! Shame as it's such a beautiful area.

Back to the Eskdale campsite, the layout and facilities are very nice. We had plenty of space around us and apart from a few people not wearing face masks in the facilities we felt pretty safe in these unusual times.

I'd definitely recommend the campsite and the area and can't wait to go back sometime. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

 I booked this site on the strength of the location and positive reviews.

The location lived up to expectations. Perfect walking from the site and good pubs in easy walking distance. There was plenty of space on the site and the environment was generally peaceful and pleasant. One small point though, high trees prevented views of the wonderful mountains from your tent, which you often get in similar sites. Maybe they could be lopped?

The fees were high, but we are always happy to pay for a good site. Unfortunately we didn't feel they were justified in this instance.

The toilets and showers were a good design, with fully controllable temperature and no push buttons, several hooks and ample space. However, they were inadequate when the site was busy at the weekend. As the location prevents caravans and large motorhomes, everyone needs to use the facilities and there simply aren't enough.

In addition, the large number of Duke of Edinburgh groups on site all week meant waits for showers and even toilet cubicles. This was particularly true for the mens block, as there were a number of all male groups using the site. The toilet blocks were cleaned once a day but there didn't appear to be checks at other times and there were no cloths available for cleaning the washbasins when they needed it.

The shop was also disappointing. No fresh bread deliveries, just sliced loaves, very little selection of groceries (for example, no rice or potatoes, even tinned!), but plenty of Nation Trust souvenirs! Cold beers were available but we were unable to find any wine on the shelves although someone later said it was available if you asked at the counter. This wouldn't normally be too much of a problem but in this instance there are no supermarkets for miles! The shop in the village also sells mainly souvenirs.

Maybe I have become too used to the excellent facilities on the continent, but I did expect more from the National Trust. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Misshappypea 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a stunning peaceful location away from the hubbub of the South Lakes.

Firstly and most importantly the grass is topnotch for camping on - nice and soft and flat with no nobbly bits like you get at some campsites.

The facilities all seemed brand new (I understand this is the NT's first season) and were warm, clean and bright. The showers were good, there is a disabled/family toilet & shower and both inside and outside pot wash. The bookshelf was a nice touch too, we borrowed a box of games which kept the small folk entertained in the mornings.

The staff were all friendly and the shop is small but has most things you might need might need (we managed to turn up without gas for the stove but were able to buy some).

There is a nice little playground which the kids enjoyed but mostly they just ran round and round in circles on the big field. They also loved looking for bunnies in the walls.

The price is a bit too expensive which is the only downside but this is the case in so many campsites these days - we could have stayed in a travelodge for cheaper which seems silly!

It's the only reason I haven't given the place a 10. Would definitely love to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site back in Sept 2015 but a couple of months ago it changed hands and is now run by The National Trust - rumours are that they paid £1. 6 million - so I thought it was worth some further comments. The National Trust now own the major campsites in Langdale, Wasdale & Eskdale giving them somewhat of a monopoly on the central fells of the Lake District.

So far very little seems to have changed. The standard of the facilities remains very high though it is pricey. We paid £31 per night for a large grass camping pitch with electric hookup for two adults plus car. There is no discount for being National Trust members. In some areas the ground was too soft for the larger motorhomes - packing plastic grip tracks will be a sensible precaution.

The staff were friendly and hardworking but still getting used to running a busy site that was fully booked over the Bank Holiday weekend. No wifi available at present.

We only went into one of the local pubs, The Woolpack, for tea/coffee & two cakes. Adequate but quite expensive at £12.

Yes, we would go back - this site is all about location, location, location - but we will try to choose a quieter weekend in future. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baldockchris 4 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our 2 nights camping here. Very scenic location with plenty of walks from the site, 2 Pubs within 5 min walk and third within 20 mins walk. The pitches are well spaced out with plenty of room.

Toilet/Shower block very clean and modern but may struggle to cope if site is full. Site shop has a good selection of the things that you need.

All in all great stay and campsite the only issue we had was with the owner who could have been a little more friendly, he is efficient but when we asked if he had any info on train times of the local miniature steam train he snapped back sarcastically ' Its not my train' then gave us a procure with the relevant information. Why ? 


Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Eskdale National Trust Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eskdale National Trust Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Eskdale National Trust Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement