Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendyblair 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site after reading reviews from the camping and caravan site.

I would thoroughly recommend this site. We are still new to the camping lark, and I'm a fussy person when it comes to expecting sites to be found as they are described.

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !

We only stayed for two nights but we are definitely booking for a week next year. The children 12 and 7 enjoyed the site, the showers were hot and there was a hairdryer for free.

The shop is well stocked and even opened for my husband to buy a bottle of wine. How's that for service. The staff were friendly and very very helpful.

I'm not a fan of large sites and this was perfect. We did a lovely walk, visited a couple of pubs and still didn't do all the stuff we wanted to, hence the intention to go for longer next year.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirkiov 7 reviews from this member

Spent one night in a tent. Very scenic. A brook runs through the site with rocky hills as a backdrop. The showers and washing up facilities are well maintained and of a high standard. The shop is well stocked. There are 2 pubs within a short walk. The site is close to Scarfell pike and other hills. We enjoyed our brief stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MankySteve 2 reviews from this member

We did three nights here just before the school broke up. Great site clean and tidy beautifully site and location.

Only complaint is that I'd like a freezer with 24 hour access to freeze our Own ice blocks in, rather than paying a charge and a few more shower and toilets wouldn't go amiss. We would go. Back to The site quite happily.

Staff were great shop was well stocked and great value expected for the ice block charge.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BBeast1 1 review from this member

This was our 4th visit to the campsite. We have always loved staying here.

It is a great location for walking and visiting the Lakes.

The site is clean and well organised and it is quiet and relaxing.

The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The shop is well stocked and not over priced.

There are separate areas for tents and you are given a large plot for your stay.

We are a couple with dogs so can't comment on the facilities for children.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahsop 8 reviews from this member

Immaculately maintained by helpful and friendly wardens, Martin and Sarah who along with their team ensured we all had a great weekends break!

Our boys were so excited to see a sign advertising a water fight, campers V the Team! I have to say Martin looked hilarious in his master blaster hard hat and fluorescent safety gear! Superbly organised ensuring the children had a great hours worth of watery fun whist keeping all the other campers happy was a credit to Martin & Co's organisational skills!

As ever the site has amazing views from all pitches. Clean washing up areas, washing machine and tumble dryer taking 1 coins. There is a drying room but thankfully we didn't need it this year! Showers were nice and hot and spotlessly clean at all times! The shop is well stocked and offers campers a facility to make a slice of toast or a cup of tea!

The children's play area offered our two some quality time away from mum and dad and a safe place to meet new friends.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Miles of beautiful lake land fells to walk, Maps available in the shop to suit walkers of all ages and abilities. There is the Ravenglass and Eskdale railway close by and a number of good Public Houses! We particularly enjoyed the Boot Inn this year although The Brook house Inn and The Woolpack were equally good.

We'll be back again in a few weeks, this time for a week!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 15 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights from Tues-sat in mid July and really loved this site. It exceeded the hype!

The site enjoys a very picturesque setting and seems quite remote, yet the village of Boot with a couple of lovely pubs is only a 5 min walk. Loads of walks for all levels direct from the site and the Eskdale railway 10 mins away - perfect location.

The site is immaculately maintained - it's evident that a lot of work goes into keeping it absolutely pristine! Lovely flat, spacious pitches(they are 'unmarked' as such, but you are advised where to position your unit and car on the area you choose), nice short green grass which is mowed pretty much as soon as a unit leaves. Immaculately clean and luxurious facilities (the best shower/ toilet facilities I've seen on any site!), plenty of hot water, powerful showers and all housed in a lovely warm block. 2 slightly negative points; firstly the ground is a bit rocky (not unexpected in the lakes) and I'd advise rock pegs. Secondly when the site filled up on Friday night the facilities were a bit stretched. Only 1 parent and child room and 4 showers in the ladies for 80+ pitches = queues. Also no baby change facilities in ladies or mens so if the 1 baby room is busy then it's the floor. I feel mean gripping about this as the toilets really were amazing but I could foresee issues.

Lovely play area in the woods for kids with a huge trampoline and rope bridges etc, rope swings for older kids. My 20 month old loved it.

Staff very friendly and helpful; went above and beyond in all aspects from helping choose a pitch to suit our needs (advised on shade etc) to charging phones & batteries for nothing and even gave us some bread rolls which were going out of date in a few days. Good little shop, well stocked and amazing Cumberland sausage!

Site was not quite full and very quiet mid week but by Friday was pretty full and starting to get a bit more 'rowdy', with lots of families - still was quiet by a decent hour and no real complaints.

Probably my favourite site in the lakes. But 4 days of sunshine also helped! Ace!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brigadear 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a beautiful area. You are able to take a variety of walks from the site to match your ability. On the last full day of our stay we got soaked whist out walking, and it is the first time we have used the drying room. Whilst it was full to capacity [there were several Duke of Edinburgh campers drying their kit] it was a lot dryer in the morning than I expected. The facilities are excellent and the shop is well stocked. We have camped at this site many times and will continue to return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CVM17 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for the five nights of the Boot Real Ale Festival. A great festival, and enjoyed another with even more real ales just down the dale at the George IV. We enjoyed great weather and worked up a thirst by cycling and walking up hill and down dale. So much to enjoy in this beautiful dale and the ideally located Eskdale campsite could not be a better place to stay.

Everybody you meet - campsite warden, publicans, local people, La'al Ratty staff, other campers - is so friendly. We first stayed here in 2004. A great site then, but facilities are much improved since it became a club franchise. Very hot water at all times now compared to luke warm (50 pence charge) in 2004, but as you would expect for a club site. Need more loos for busy times and a site of this size could do with another facilities block. Not so much of a problem for motorhomers, but campers need to be up very early to avoid queues at busy times!

It will not be nine years before we return again!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Johnson1007 1 review from this member

We were made very welcome and they were very helpful. The site was perfect. Clean facilities, quiet and with lovely views.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjules 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from this lovely site. We got a 2 day break just after the bank holiday rush and got the best of the weather.

Check in was very quick and we were shown available pitches although nearly everyone on site was packing up and we could possibly of pitched anywhere.

Facilities were immaculate and the wardens were very helpful and informative. The area is beautiful and the views from the site are amazing.

We tried the 2 pubs that are very close to the site and was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff.

The drive round to Wasdale Head along the shore of Wast Water is stunning.

We will definitely return soon to this site and would recommend highly.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019