Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slubber 6 reviews from this member

Fabulous site.

Owners were extremely friendly and welcoming.

Facilities were spotless with little touches that show they have thought about all their campers (little steps in the toilet block so my daughters could get to the taps independently). Family room was a real bonus.

The shop stocked great bacon and delicious bread.

The trampoline was a huge hit as well.

We will absolutely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stewmunn 12 reviews from this member

The Camping and Caravaning Club can take a very good pat on the back for this site. It is set in a very picturesque area on the western side of the Lakes. We visited at the end of May until early June and had a great time. The staff were very helpful, the facilities were kept immaculately and the small shop was well stocked.

Nearby the Eskdale to Ravenglass railway is within 5 minutes walk of the site and there are 2 excellent pubs even closer if you like a refreshment or wish to dine out. We would especially recommend a trip on the train as it takes you through some very nice countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Careyclan 2 reviews from this member

I promised Martin (the owner) that I would write a review as we were so happy with our stay. So much so that we have just booked our return for this summer holiday.

We stayed there in the May half-term and had wonderful weather. One day of rain that didn't really matter as there is a great drying room!

Martin was very welcoming and showed us to our pitch which was next to our friends that had arrived earlier that day. Even though the site was full we never felt cramped and the toilets were always very clean. The showers are superb, and there is also a very handy family room with two showers and a loo and sink. If you have a baby there is the option to borrow a baby bath.

The shop is very well stocked with the essential plus local produce such as meat and bread. The sausages were delicious!

Our girls spent all their pocket money there, there are quite a few toys and nick nacks to keep them happy, also a great aternative to sweeties :-) Plus the play area is fab. We barely saw the girls!

There is a fantastic pub called The Boot Inn just a mere 5min walk that has a great play area, lovely outdoors seating and the food is also excellent. The Boot pie is delish!

Walks galore, several starting from or near the campsite which provided us with a handy map and also the more strenuous ones for the serious hickers. There is also a great beach within 40 mins drive that offers great dune walks and, on a hot day, an iddilyc spot for a bit of fun in the sun. No facillities but if you bring a picnic you are set for the day.

I thoroughly recommend this campsite, it is not often that we return to the same spot, especially on the same year, however Eskdale is worth every hour spent in the car!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbi 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first visit to Eskdale and can't wait to go back.

As other reviews have said, the toilets & showers were first class and spotless all the time.

We never had any problems with queues even though the site seemed full and the family shower / toilet room was really useful too.

All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful even to the point of opening up the shop when it was shut so we could get some food for a bbq (and a bbq as well!).

Although it is a great spot for serious walkers, which we aren't, we found it a perfect place to get away from it all and the scenery and tranquillity were just what we were looking for and our little girl loved the trampoline and small playground too.

The 11:00pm - 7:00am noise curfew was in full effect but even though the site was very busy it did not seem to need any visible enforcing.

The Dalegarth-Ravenglass railway is worth a look for an afternoon (if a little pricey) although there isn't much to do in Ravenglass.

The Boot Inn was great - very child friendly with a playground in the garden and the food was really good too.

Very difficult to criticise any aspect and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wellout 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on saturday lunchtime after a near 6 hour drive from hampshire. Very easy to find even though so remote. First impressions were good as it was the last day of the school hols and the site was very busy yet not in an off putting way. The staff here are very friendly and helpful.
We were shown several possible pitches and given a choice.We chose a pitch by the little stream that bubbles through the site and offered some shade. Electric hookup was out of reach of my lead but I was loaned an extension by the site staff for a small returnable deposit.
The showers and toilet facilities are superb and modern and there is a very well stocked shop on site too. Don't expect your mobile to work here as you are surrounded by granite mountains, but I thought this a good thing myself.
Several excellent pubs within easy walking distance, 5 mins to around 15 mins. I would return hear again and again as it is such a stunning place.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsravi 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in a pod over the glorious end of May bank holiday weekend.

Beautiful site with stunning scenery though the journey (from London) took 8 hours. I had mistakenly thought that once we got off the M6 we'd be there in no time! How wrong I was. We avoided the Hardknott pass but still the roads were very up and down, and both my kids were sick. No matter, the trip was worth it.

The pods are great, quite close to each other so you get to know your neighbours well. Big enough for a double inflatable bed, two ready beds as well as backpacks, shoes etc. Warm enough but not as warm as other reviews led me to believe. You get a little heater when you get the keys to your pod and we used it a lot.There is a blind for the door so you have some privacy when you need it.

Lovely staff,and very helpful (we managed to forget our bed pump and then ran our car battery flat too). The shop is very small and quickly ran out of bread so I'd take lots of your own food as apart from the pub (The Boot Inn) there is nothing around. The Boot Inn has a great menu and seems very family friendly but as we were on a budget we decided not to eat there.

Lots to do around the site; Muncaster Castle is a must!

Only very slight gripe - not enough showers for the ladies (3) but it was ok, we just queued and got talking to each other. The facilities were spotless.

Perfect for little kids, and a very friendly site. I'd definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetnwild78 4 reviews from this member

What a fab site!

Very helpful staff, ideal location for exploring the western lakes.

Good flat pitches, although it had been very wet they had worked hard to make the best of it.

Well stocked shop, great pubs nearby and superb walking from the doorstep.

Have been three times and will go back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenhelen 1 review from this member

Stayed for a week with excellent weather, staff were very friendly and helpful working very hard too keep this site to a very high standard (owner even changed my puncture despite me calling the RAC).

Kids loved the swings and the trampoline. Location is fantastic with loads to do aswell as walking! Lal Ratty, Eskdale cycle path (Beacon in Whitehaven worth a visit) Annual Beer festival at the 3 pubs was also fantastic and despite the site filling up it was not rowdy at all.

Love the location/ site and will come back again possibly in in a pod!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kymspencer 3 reviews from this member

Before I start a word of advice - if you own a small car with a small engine, do not take the Hardknott Pass to get to this site! I love driving, especially on country roads, but in a 1380cc Fiesta full of camping gear, going up a single track road at a 60 degree incline with your car screaming in first gear, praying no-one is coming the opposite way because if you stop you'll never start again is a hair raising experience!

After all that though, once my partner and I made it to Eskdale, it was all worth it. The views from the site are stunning, it really does feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The owners are lovely and gave a really warm welcome, showed us around and put is in a lovely little spot. The facilities are great, very clean and plenty of showers - we never had to queue despite the site being nearly full. There is lots of space for washing up, and a little shop onsite that seems to sell anything you could think of. We went to go hiking in the area, and the site is a brilliant base for all sorts of walks including Scafell Pike, and we saw plenty of cyclists in the area as well. There are a couple of pubs in the area within walking distance too.

The best bit of the site was the camping pods - little wooden 'tents' that you can hire out with their own porch and french doors. We didn't use them but they looked great - especially if you're trying to convince reluctant friends into trying camping!

Overall this is a fantastic site, and we will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The_Muso 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here as part of a long distance walk (Inn Way). I had tried to pre book but despite being unable to (due to the proximity to the bank holiday) I was told they never turn away backpackers, which is good to know. The site was like a bowling green, level, dry, sheltered with a good scattering of electric points and picnic benches. Owner was very helpful on arrival despite us arriving after reception hours and the little shop provided us with all we needed to cook up a feast in the morninig.

Good things: Great pitches, very good showers and toilets etc. Laundry and drying room (although the drying room didn't seem to be massivly effective the night we were there). Great attitude of owner - had no problem with an all male group. Plenty of wash up space.

Bad things: The only slight issue was the hot water didn't last that long, perhaps we timed it wrong and were too late and too early in the morning. Overall this wasn't a major issue.

Pub wise, the Boot Inn was great for food and beer and they even made us lunches in the morning to take with us. The Brook House had shut by 10pm so can't comment. Everyone we spoke to advised us to steer well clear of the Woolpack.

Overall, this site was spot on in every way. Given its quiet location and proximity to the hills and the coast (and the train) I will definitely be coming back.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1586 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938