Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julia Edwards 3 reviews from this member

Quiet and friendly site, ideal for couples and families

As we’re not a member of the Camping and Caravanning club it was quite expensive at £22 per night but it was well worth the additional fee.

Superb facilities, clean and modern and no additional payment required for showers.

Well stocked shop

Friendly and helpful staff

2 pubs in easy walking distance

Ideal location for walkers

I would definitely return

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adam Peal 1 review from this member

Lovely site in fantastic setting. Probably one of the best toilet blocks around (fairly recently refurbished by the looks of it), laundry room, barbecue area and well stocked shop. Friendly staff and up until the weekend the site was completely peaceful. A couple of decent pubs nearby within easy walking distance that serve good food. Good walking straight from the site but be careful if you get the steam train down to Ravenglass expecting a day out at a quaint seaside town - you may be disappointed ! Nearby Muncaster Castle is well worth a visit though.

Once the site got busy and the tent field was full it got quite noisy and the surrounding valley seems to reflect noise so if you want a quiet break go midweek. If you have kids and don't mind the racket they will probably love it and have plenty of new friends in no time.

If you are towing or a driver of a nervous disposition, do NOT go over Hardknott and Wrynose pass, follow the coast road round and cut inland near Ravenglass. Also makes it slightly long-winded getting to the touristy side of the Lakes (Coniston, Windermere etc) but this is not always a bad thing.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slubber 6 reviews from this member

Fabulous site.

Owners were extremely friendly and welcoming.

Facilities were spotless with little touches that show they have thought about all their campers (little steps in the toilet block so my daughters could get to the taps independently). Family room was a real bonus.

The shop stocked great bacon and delicious bread.

The trampoline was a huge hit as well.

We will absolutely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stewmunn 12 reviews from this member

The Camping and Caravaning Club can take a very good pat on the back for this site. It is set in a very picturesque area on the western side of the Lakes. We visited at the end of May until early June and had a great time. The staff were very helpful, the facilities were kept immaculately and the small shop was well stocked.

Nearby the Eskdale to Ravenglass railway is within 5 minutes walk of the site and there are 2 excellent pubs even closer if you like a refreshment or wish to dine out. We would especially recommend a trip on the train as it takes you through some very nice countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Careyclan 2 reviews from this member

I promised Martin (the owner) that I would write a review as we were so happy with our stay. So much so that we have just booked our return for this summer holiday.

We stayed there in the May half-term and had wonderful weather. One day of rain that didn't really matter as there is a great drying room!

Martin was very welcoming and showed us to our pitch which was next to our friends that had arrived earlier that day. Even though the site was full we never felt cramped and the toilets were always very clean. The showers are superb, and there is also a very handy family room with two showers and a loo and sink. If you have a baby there is the option to borrow a baby bath.

The shop is very well stocked with the essential plus local produce such as meat and bread. The sausages were delicious!

Our girls spent all their pocket money there, there are quite a few toys and nick nacks to keep them happy, also a great aternative to sweeties :-) Plus the play area is fab. We barely saw the girls!

There is a fantastic pub called The Boot Inn just a mere 5min walk that has a great play area, lovely outdoors seating and the food is also excellent. The Boot pie is delish!

Walks galore, several starting from or near the campsite which provided us with a handy map and also the more strenuous ones for the serious hickers. There is also a great beach within 40 mins drive that offers great dune walks and, on a hot day, an iddilyc spot for a bit of fun in the sun. No facillities but if you bring a picnic you are set for the day.

I thoroughly recommend this campsite, it is not often that we return to the same spot, especially on the same year, however Eskdale is worth every hour spent in the car!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbi 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first visit to Eskdale and can't wait to go back.

As other reviews have said, the toilets & showers were first class and spotless all the time.

We never had any problems with queues even though the site seemed full and the family shower / toilet room was really useful too.

All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful even to the point of opening up the shop when it was shut so we could get some food for a bbq (and a bbq as well!).

Although it is a great spot for serious walkers, which we aren't, we found it a perfect place to get away from it all and the scenery and tranquillity were just what we were looking for and our little girl loved the trampoline and small playground too.

The 11:00pm - 7:00am noise curfew was in full effect but even though the site was very busy it did not seem to need any visible enforcing.

The Dalegarth-Ravenglass railway is worth a look for an afternoon (if a little pricey) although there isn't much to do in Ravenglass.

The Boot Inn was great - very child friendly with a playground in the garden and the food was really good too.

Very difficult to criticise any aspect and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wellout 2 reviews from this member

Arrived on saturday lunchtime after a near 6 hour drive from hampshire. Very easy to find even though so remote. First impressions were good as it was the last day of the school hols and the site was very busy yet not in an off putting way. The staff here are very friendly and helpful.
We were shown several possible pitches and given a choice.We chose a pitch by the little stream that bubbles through the site and offered some shade. Electric hookup was out of reach of my lead but I was loaned an extension by the site staff for a small returnable deposit.
The showers and toilet facilities are superb and modern and there is a very well stocked shop on site too. Don't expect your mobile to work here as you are surrounded by granite mountains, but I thought this a good thing myself.
Several excellent pubs within easy walking distance, 5 mins to around 15 mins. I would return hear again and again as it is such a stunning place.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsravi 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in a pod over the glorious end of May bank holiday weekend.

Beautiful site with stunning scenery though the journey (from London) took 8 hours. I had mistakenly thought that once we got off the M6 we'd be there in no time! How wrong I was. We avoided the Hardknott pass but still the roads were very up and down, and both my kids were sick. No matter, the trip was worth it.

The pods are great, quite close to each other so you get to know your neighbours well. Big enough for a double inflatable bed, two ready beds as well as backpacks, shoes etc. Warm enough but not as warm as other reviews led me to believe. You get a little heater when you get the keys to your pod and we used it a lot.There is a blind for the door so you have some privacy when you need it.

Lovely staff,and very helpful (we managed to forget our bed pump and then ran our car battery flat too). The shop is very small and quickly ran out of bread so I'd take lots of your own food as apart from the pub (The Boot Inn) there is nothing around. The Boot Inn has a great menu and seems very family friendly but as we were on a budget we decided not to eat there.

Lots to do around the site; Muncaster Castle is a must!

Only very slight gripe - not enough showers for the ladies (3) but it was ok, we just queued and got talking to each other. The facilities were spotless.

Perfect for little kids, and a very friendly site. I'd definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetnwild78 4 reviews from this member

What a fab site!

Very helpful staff, ideal location for exploring the western lakes.

Good flat pitches, although it had been very wet they had worked hard to make the best of it.

Well stocked shop, great pubs nearby and superb walking from the doorstep.

Have been three times and will go back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenhelen 1 review from this member

Stayed for a week with excellent weather, staff were very friendly and helpful working very hard too keep this site to a very high standard (owner even changed my puncture despite me calling the RAC).

Kids loved the swings and the trampoline. Location is fantastic with loads to do aswell as walking! Lal Ratty, Eskdale cycle path (Beacon in Whitehaven worth a visit) Annual Beer festival at the 3 pubs was also fantastic and despite the site filling up it was not rowdy at all.

Love the location/ site and will come back again possibly in in a pod!

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019