Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kwaka111 2 reviews from this member

Have only been back from this site for a couple of hours. Stayed for a week, fantastic nearly had the whole field to ourselves. Site was perfect, Martyn & Sara great hosts very polite and helpful. Site shop essential because it is in the heart of the Lake District.

Hardknott Pass:- Beats any rollercoaster ride, edge of your seat stuff, had to do it twice just to confirm how bonkers it was.

Back to the site, facilities were immaculately clean the whole time. Site was spotless, grass being reseeded in order to keep it in its pristine condition.Hot water on demand,showers powerful the best of any site we have stayed.

Out and about:- Both local pubs were great, walking fantastic, Eskdale to Ravenglass Railway is a bit of a steam enthusiasts dream, for everyone else good chance to see the area without walking. Used the site as a base to visit:- Whitehaven/Cockermouth,Windermere/Ambleside(Hardknott Pass can be avoided) Keswick,Muncaster Castle.

After all this tourist stuff what a pleasure to return to such a perfect site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juz_Wuz 1 review from this member

This is the second time we have visited this site and what can I say, its excellent.

The facilities are fantastic.

Great location for walking and great base if you are planning to walk up Scafell.

I can highly recommend the Boot Inn for food we've had superb meals there. The Brook House is another great pub, we,ve not ate at this one but the food did look good.

You must hop on the Eskdale to Ravenglass steam railway. Dalegarth station is close to the site. I would also recommend 'The Ratty' in Ravenglass if you fancy a bite to eat.

We will definitely be visiting this site again and again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cloudberry 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a stay at the Eskdale site after staying for 7 nights.

The facilities were fantastic, clean - in fact spotless. Washing facilities were also great, plenty of room and very clean.

The shop was well stocked, especially loved the homemade bread, deliveries for this come on a Friday and Saturday.

We had some bad weather at the start of the week and the field was very wet and muddy, wellies are a must!

Brook House Pub was ok but inside was very cramped and very hot, not too happy with the meal, so would suggest to walk a few mins more and go to The Boot in instead.

Down side to the campsite - felt like we were very crammed in, told not to park on the grass but often there was no where to go!

Seems the 6ft rule between tents does not apply here. We went out for the day and when we arrived back found we were in the centre of about 4-5 tents who were all in a group as they were there for a 40th birthday celebration. Therefore they were sat outside our tent all night, quite loud and roudy but eventually they were quiet after midnight.

Really liked the site and the location but our experience has put us off going back as we have never had to be within a few foot of other tents and felt a bit inhibited to sit outside.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 7oakslilleypad 1 review from this member

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this camp site.

The site is well run, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities at the site were first class. Toilet blocks (including family room) were modern and impeccably clean. Well equipped laundry room and washing up facilities.

Would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days at this site and very impressed I was. The facilities are great and the staff all friendly and polite.

The shop stocks everything you would need, although it's a little on the pricy side. But which camp site gives 'normal prices'

It was my first trip to Eskdale and the site is very handy for some great walks.

The narrow guage train trip to Ravenglass was good, although there's not much to see when you arrive.

See web site for the train Www.Ravenglass-railway.Co.Uk/

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonc1969 5 reviews from this member

What can I say, a fabulous site in a lovely location!

It is very well run with helpful, hardworking staff who go that bit extra to help. The well stocked shop is the best I've encountered so far and came in very handy for those forgotten items! The showers are clean and powerful although I feel 4 of them is not enough for the entire park and it was very busy in the morning.

We stayed on the main field and due to the rain meant it was boggy the whole of our stay but I suppose this can't be avoided.

We tried the two local pubs, the Boot Inn being our favourite, child friendly, with an outside play area and indoor toys meant we could enjoy a drink in peace.

The local steam railway trip to Ravenglass was good if only for the train journey as there's nothing to do in Ravenglass itself but the kids loved the journey.

The aquarium of the lakes at the base of lake Windemere is worth a visit as is a boat trip to Bowness if a little pricey.

All in all, I rate this site highly and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DawnP 4 reviews from this member

I can only add to all the fantastic reviews and wholeheartedly agree that this is a brilliant site. The owners are friendly and helpful, there's a well stocked shop that has some camping supplies (we forgot our mallets) and the facilities are immaculately clean all the time. There are 2 play areas which our children really enjoyed, the field was pretty muddy due to the rain and we had to leave our car on the gravelled area, but the owner was more than happy for us to move our car so we could unpack/re-pack. We thoroughly enjoyed it here, it was busy but never noisy, what more can I say, go and enjoy it for yourselves!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie32 1 review from this member

We have literally just returned from this site after staying for 2 nights. I can only echo what others have said in that it was superbly clean, we received a very warm welcome and it was very lovely indeed.

We went to Boot and went to both pubs (rude not to!), we found the Brook Inn to be our favourite, really nice atmosphere and lovely food. Both pubs about a 2 minute walk from campsite. Didn't venture any further other than to do a lovely long walk over the moors on Sunday up to Blea Tarn - windy but invigorating!

Highly recommend this site, facilities superb you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Polska74 1 review from this member

1st of all DO NOT attempt the Hardknott Pass unless you have a big-engined (turbo) car or a 4 x 4. We tried ascending from Eskdale in a 1400cc Peugeot 307 HDI and had to give up + turn round after the 1st 3 hairpin bends because the car felt as if it would grind to a halt in 1st gear! One of the campers on the site had 2 blowouts coming over the pass! A very hair-raising experience!

We stayed in the pods. Lovely experience. You can easily fit 4 average-sized people in and still have enough room for your gear, so it's ideal for a family or even for a group of hardened walkers who need their wet gear dry for the next day. They're raised off the ground so no worries about water ingress, and there's an extended patio area where you can cook food and just chill.

The actual camp-site is in a beautiful location. Very peaceful with no late-night revellers. Ideal for low-level walking (e.G. Stanley Force Waterfall is 20mins walk) or for high peaks (e.G. Scafell/Great Gable - drive to Wasdale Head is only 20mins). Facilities are 1st class (showers/toilets are immaculate with a family room available, hot water on demand, good washing-up facilities + laundry room)and well-stocked shop, even if a little pricey. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. For the kids there's a small playground with a trampoline and swings by the pods.

We only tried the 1 pub (Boot Inn) and would recommend it. It has a lovely beer-garden with a kids playground.

For beach-lovers the coast is 30min drive away. Would recommend Silecroft (empty and long stretches of sandy beach). If you like horseriding on the beach would recommend Murthwaite Green Trekking Centre at Silecroft. We didn't go on the Eskdale railway as were told that there's not much to see/do at Ravenglass.

If you like peace and tranquillity and fantastic views go to Wast-Water, particularly the SW edge by the YHA. If you follow the footpath round towards Low Wood you will find lots of small coves where you can just chill and not see hardly anyone all day. Or if you're feeling adventurous the trek around the lake is worth it, specially the scrambling over the Screes(allow 3hrs)

Would definitely go back again to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

A fantastic beautiful campsite. The site is clean and the toilet blocks superb especially as I could use the family shower with my children. Alan and Lyne never stopped the whole holiday getting the toilets clean.

The shop was stocked and had everything you would wamt in an emergency. The surrounding landscape and moon lit nights were superb.

Ravensglass on the train was a bit of a disapointment but Lake Coniston, Whitehaven swimming baths and Munkster castle were superb for days out. I don’t want to speak about hardnott pass experience; I am still emotionally bruised from that adventure. Lol

The kids met new friends and ended up in the “Camping gang” which basically meant they went everywhere together even on the trampoline -it was all very safe- great for the kids.

A great night out in the local pub at Boot and some nice food, nice change from Barbecued sausages.

Just a few things to take advice from- take a good hammer to get those tent pegs into the ground and also some good insect repellent – if you are sitting out you will be bitten. We had 8 hours of rain and to be fair I thought we would be flooded but it wasn’t too bad.

All in all the best value for money camp site we have been on and will be returning probably next year. It is brilliant.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3660 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019