Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cloudberry 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a stay at the Eskdale site after staying for 7 nights.

The facilities were fantastic, clean - in fact spotless. Washing facilities were also great, plenty of room and very clean.

The shop was well stocked, especially loved the homemade bread, deliveries for this come on a Friday and Saturday.

We had some bad weather at the start of the week and the field was very wet and muddy, wellies are a must!

Brook House Pub was ok but inside was very cramped and very hot, not too happy with the meal, so would suggest to walk a few mins more and go to The Boot in instead.

Down side to the campsite - felt like we were very crammed in, told not to park on the grass but often there was no where to go!

Seems the 6ft rule between tents does not apply here. We went out for the day and when we arrived back found we were in the centre of about 4-5 tents who were all in a group as they were there for a 40th birthday celebration. Therefore they were sat outside our tent all night, quite loud and roudy but eventually they were quiet after midnight.

Really liked the site and the location but our experience has put us off going back as we have never had to be within a few foot of other tents and felt a bit inhibited to sit outside.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 7oakslilleypad 1 review from this member

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this camp site.

The site is well run, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities at the site were first class. Toilet blocks (including family room) were modern and impeccably clean. Well equipped laundry room and washing up facilities.

Would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brian / KK 10 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days at this site and very impressed I was. The facilities are great and the staff all friendly and polite.

The shop stocks everything you would need, although it's a little on the pricy side. But which camp site gives 'normal prices'

It was my first trip to Eskdale and the site is very handy for some great walks.

The narrow guage train trip to Ravenglass was good, although there's not much to see when you arrive.

See web site for the train Www.Ravenglass-railway.Co.Uk/

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharonc1969 5 reviews from this member

What can I say, a fabulous site in a lovely location!

It is very well run with helpful, hardworking staff who go that bit extra to help. The well stocked shop is the best I've encountered so far and came in very handy for those forgotten items! The showers are clean and powerful although I feel 4 of them is not enough for the entire park and it was very busy in the morning.

We stayed on the main field and due to the rain meant it was boggy the whole of our stay but I suppose this can't be avoided.

We tried the two local pubs, the Boot Inn being our favourite, child friendly, with an outside play area and indoor toys meant we could enjoy a drink in peace.

The local steam railway trip to Ravenglass was good if only for the train journey as there's nothing to do in Ravenglass itself but the kids loved the journey.

The aquarium of the lakes at the base of lake Windemere is worth a visit as is a boat trip to Bowness if a little pricey.

All in all, I rate this site highly and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DawnP 4 reviews from this member

I can only add to all the fantastic reviews and wholeheartedly agree that this is a brilliant site. The owners are friendly and helpful, there's a well stocked shop that has some camping supplies (we forgot our mallets) and the facilities are immaculately clean all the time. There are 2 play areas which our children really enjoyed, the field was pretty muddy due to the rain and we had to leave our car on the gravelled area, but the owner was more than happy for us to move our car so we could unpack/re-pack. We thoroughly enjoyed it here, it was busy but never noisy, what more can I say, go and enjoy it for yourselves!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie32 1 review from this member

We have literally just returned from this site after staying for 2 nights. I can only echo what others have said in that it was superbly clean, we received a very warm welcome and it was very lovely indeed.

We went to Boot and went to both pubs (rude not to!), we found the Brook Inn to be our favourite, really nice atmosphere and lovely food. Both pubs about a 2 minute walk from campsite. Didn't venture any further other than to do a lovely long walk over the moors on Sunday up to Blea Tarn - windy but invigorating!

Highly recommend this site, facilities superb you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Polska74 1 review from this member

1st of all DO NOT attempt the Hardknott Pass unless you have a big-engined (turbo) car or a 4 x 4. We tried ascending from Eskdale in a 1400cc Peugeot 307 HDI and had to give up + turn round after the 1st 3 hairpin bends because the car felt as if it would grind to a halt in 1st gear! One of the campers on the site had 2 blowouts coming over the pass! A very hair-raising experience!

We stayed in the pods. Lovely experience. You can easily fit 4 average-sized people in and still have enough room for your gear, so it's ideal for a family or even for a group of hardened walkers who need their wet gear dry for the next day. They're raised off the ground so no worries about water ingress, and there's an extended patio area where you can cook food and just chill.

The actual camp-site is in a beautiful location. Very peaceful with no late-night revellers. Ideal for low-level walking (e.G. Stanley Force Waterfall is 20mins walk) or for high peaks (e.G. Scafell/Great Gable - drive to Wasdale Head is only 20mins). Facilities are 1st class (showers/toilets are immaculate with a family room available, hot water on demand, good washing-up facilities + laundry room)and well-stocked shop, even if a little pricey. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. For the kids there's a small playground with a trampoline and swings by the pods.

We only tried the 1 pub (Boot Inn) and would recommend it. It has a lovely beer-garden with a kids playground.

For beach-lovers the coast is 30min drive away. Would recommend Silecroft (empty and long stretches of sandy beach). If you like horseriding on the beach would recommend Murthwaite Green Trekking Centre at Silecroft. We didn't go on the Eskdale railway as were told that there's not much to see/do at Ravenglass.

If you like peace and tranquillity and fantastic views go to Wast-Water, particularly the SW edge by the YHA. If you follow the footpath round towards Low Wood you will find lots of small coves where you can just chill and not see hardly anyone all day. Or if you're feeling adventurous the trek around the lake is worth it, specially the scrambling over the Screes(allow 3hrs)

Would definitely go back again to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

A fantastic beautiful campsite. The site is clean and the toilet blocks superb especially as I could use the family shower with my children. Alan and Lyne never stopped the whole holiday getting the toilets clean.

The shop was stocked and had everything you would wamt in an emergency. The surrounding landscape and moon lit nights were superb.

Ravensglass on the train was a bit of a disapointment but Lake Coniston, Whitehaven swimming baths and Munkster castle were superb for days out. I don’t want to speak about hardnott pass experience; I am still emotionally bruised from that adventure. Lol

The kids met new friends and ended up in the “Camping gang” which basically meant they went everywhere together even on the trampoline -it was all very safe- great for the kids.

A great night out in the local pub at Boot and some nice food, nice change from Barbecued sausages.

Just a few things to take advice from- take a good hammer to get those tent pegs into the ground and also some good insect repellent – if you are sitting out you will be bitten. We had 8 hours of rain and to be fair I thought we would be flooded but it wasn’t too bad.

All in all the best value for money camp site we have been on and will be returning probably next year. It is brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annadams 1 review from this member

Beautifully clean and well equipped site. Shower and toilet block second to none (even had fresh flowers). Showers were always clean and warm, and having small children the family shower room was fantastic.

Washing up facilities, laundry and drying room were all very well equipped. The shop was nicely set out, and there was a beautiful selection of speciality bread, local meat and basics, along with camping equipment. However, I would take more along with me next time as it was a long way to the nearest town for additional supplies. We went to Whitehaven to Aldi (long way).

Lovely play area for the kids, I was also impressed that all the families with small children were sited around the play area which made our holiday easier. However having small children I was a little worried with my two trying to climb over the rocks and bolders!

There is a beach at Bootle, however it is MOD so we were careful where we wandered. The beach is stony with gravely sand. No facilities, but my kids enjoyed their afternoon.

If the weather is nice a trip to Ravensglass is lovely. There are a couple of nice pubs on the front and you look out over the harbour.

Muncaster Castle is also worth a day out (however note the Castle bit itself if shut on Saturdays, however you are not charged for this part if it's closed). The National Owl Centre was fantastic and we sat and listened and watched the owls for a good hour. Again on a Saturday the owls can't fly as the Castle is used for weddings.

The campsite looks out of amazing countryside, and was very peaceful. We will definitely return again.

As with anywhere it's the people who make and place and the staff at Eskdale were extremely friendly and always went the extra mile for us.

N.b. Please take insect repellent, and as instructed follow the directions in the book as you will end up coming through hardnott pass. This is not adviseable unless you like extreme driving conditions (my husband loved it, I had my eyes closed).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keanonwuk 8 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip with our new Lulworth 6. On arrival we were shown to our pitch by two of the wardens, just prior to our visit the site had been deluged by 12 solid hours of rain so the ground was sodden. They managed to get us on a bit of grass that was starting to dry out, the downside to this was that we were within 6 feet of another tent and they had a young baby.

The facilities are simply fantastic very clean and comprehensive. There is also a small shop on site a little expensive but very well stocked. For children there is a small play area which was behind us, we no longer have children but we were not bothered by any noise from this area.

The surrounding area is simply stunning plus there is a pub if you head towards Hard knott Pass which incorporates it's own Brewery and very nice it was too.

We would and shall visit here again, nothing is too much for the staff they being very helpful and friendly.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3195 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1016