Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the most spectacular sites we have stayed on. The facilities (shower blocks are super with the actual showers the best we have come across). The site owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Following very heavy rain (and a burst land drain) our tent was floating despite the zipped in groundsheet. Martin (the owner) immediately moved us into one of the camping pods for the night (at no extra charge!) and helped us to move all of our belongings from the tent. How good is that!

The two pubs within walking distance are both very good although we did only eat at the Boot Inn which was excellent.

The railway to Ravenglass is great and we walked through the woods to Muncaster Castle which is worth a visit.

No mobile or wifi or anything but who cares, if you love peace and quiet you will love this site.

If you decide to use Hardknott Pass it is not for the fainthearted but is well worth the drive,

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne181170 11 reviews from this member

Well what can I say about this site. It is fabulous, by far the best facilities we have ever had at a campsite. We planned to stay for 7 nights but ended up staying an extra 2 nights as we were having such a great time.

The weather was very mixed, the first few days we had a lot of rain, mostly during the night and in the morning, thankfully by the time you got out and about the days usually cleared up.

We were in the tent field (without EHU) and over the weekend the field was full. There were a lot of groups (families and friends) who chose to pitch their tents very closely together, but this was their choice, so I can understand previous reviews thinking that some of the tents were close to one another. There were also some pitches which were unusable so this didn't help. We met a couple who had been sent to Eskdale as they'd booked at Keswick and they'd been advised to go elsewhere as Keswick was flooded! We were very happy with our pitch and we had plenty of room and even acquired a picnic bench which was useful.

The Drying Room and Laundry were a 'god send' with the mixed weather, great for drying out coats and walking boots.

The views and walking from the site are fantastic and this is what you go to Eskdale for. The site is remote and as previously stated by others you need to take plenty of provisions with you, the shop is well stocked and we managed to cater most nights from the fresh veg, salad and meat for BBQ, it was more expensive than Tesco or Asda, but what do you expect, you are paying for the convenience and all convenience stores charge a premium.

The Eskdale & Ravenglass narrow gauge train is great (a little expensive) the views and experience makes it a must. Hardknott Pass is worth a go, although not with a fully loaded car, the views are amazing. Wast Water at the foot of Scarfell Pike is also worth a trip, the scenery is breathtaking.

Towards the end of our time there the weather took a turn for the better and what a difference that made, swimming in the rivers, picnics etc, by the end of our time there we all wanted to stay another week!

Martyn, Sarah and the team are always helpful and have knowledge of the area and cannot do enough to help. We will be back again, soon hopefully.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nikki D 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic.

We have just come after a weeks stay and I can honestly say that I have not camped at a sight so clean (they were cleaning the toilets and showers at 11.30pm!), and at a sight which took so much pride in the camping field.

We had mixed weather of sunshine and heavy rain, and the owners made sure the field didn't turn into a mud bath by asking us to park in the car park, unless we needed to be by our tent.

ALL the facilities where spotless, and the drying room was excellent, it was always warm so your items did get dry very quickly and they provided cages (I would recommend to take a padlock to lock the cages just in case - not that we had any problems with anything going missing) for you to put shoes / wet suites in etc, airers and also a towel rail.

They had a trampoline and a small wooden course for the children to play on, which was next to the 'families' field (they tried to keep families altogether on one field), and they also provided a family shower room, which was great when we trying to shower our 2 boys (aged 6 and 3) as they have 2 showers next to each other.

The washing machine did clean your clothes, which was useful after a days walking getting muddy, and because of the drying room you didn't have to waste money using the tumble dryer (which another camper said didn't dry very well).

We would go back to this site without hesitation should we go back to the Lakes as it was fairly central to everywhere (providing you don't mind the hair raising drive across Hardknott Pass!), and we did not see another site as clean and dry as this one.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie.Becca 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in this campsite for 7-nights at peek season.

Staff were very friendly and helpful (and VERY hardworking), Fantastic facilities, absolutely spotless toilet & shower block with 'proper, temp adjustable showers' and not the annoying push button type. Well stocked shop with reasonably priced essentials. Ideal washing up area with plenty of sinks. Stunning location and a great base for walks.

On arrival we were offered the option of pitching our tent in a quiet area, away from the larger family tents which was ideal for us.

A very useful drying room to leave your wet kit after a long walk on the fells!

Very dog friendly site. Seemed like a great children's play area with a trampoline. 2 decent pubs within walking distance, had a nice meal at the Boot Inn.

Would've been good to have recycling bins on site.

We would highly recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karin16 1 review from this member

We have just had an amazing week away at this site. Its very clean and tidy. Spotlessly clean hot working showers and were free to use and not on timers. Staff on site were great and always available for info. Site itself was great for families and pitches well organised. Only drawback was its so remote its quite a travel to stock up on food etc. So take plenty with you although site shop has a good choice. Early in the week due to the rain everyone was asked to leave their cars in the car park as some were chewing up the grass, so the staff helped with a quad etc to pull trailers to the cars and to help people get all their gear up from the pitches. Nothing was a bother to the staff who were still working late into the night getting everyone in for the bank hol weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyw1976 2 reviews from this member

We`ve just come back from our first trip to Eskdale. This is the perfect site for any one who loves walking even for our family with two young children. The facilities on this site are second to none toilets spotless shop well stocked etc. I do recommend the Brookhouse Inn food is very nice and reasonably priced.We will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 7 reviews from this member

Superb site which is really well looked after by very hard working wardens and their team.

Facilities were excellent and always spotlessly clean, despite the wet weather and muddy fields. Could always get a shower and these were always hot and with good water pressure.

Great place for kids with a playground and the trampoline is a masterstroke - was the focal point for our 5 year olds for the whole stay.

Plenty of short walks available and the Ratty is a 10 min walk away. Recommend a trip to the watermill which is very close and a real step back in time. Only tried the Boot Inn but food was superb and all home cooked, good selection of beers.

If you want a site in the lakes away from the commercialised centre and in a superb location then give this a try

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: The Sweeney Family 1 review from this member

We are a family of four (2 adults, a 3 year old and a 5 month old) that stayed on the site. We stayed in our tent on the first night and spent the following seven nights in a pod. We chose a pod as we felt it would be warmer for our baby, as he is so young. It was fantastic. We all had a great time. The site facilities were immaculate and the staff were friendly and helpful. We all slept really well in the pod and felt safe and dry. Our three year old loved the trampoline and swings on the playgrounds. There was plenty of room in the pod for ourselves, luggage, food and toys. The site shop had everything we needed at a reasonable price. We went out on several walks recommended by the site and the little town of Boot was easily accessible for pubs and a shop. Pods are great! Try it, you might like it!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymouse 4 reviews from this member

Despite poor weather we had a great trip. The wardens were friendly and helpful, even though our visit coincided with the site being virtually full and something going wrong with the water pressure so that the showers kept ceasing to function - they must have been tearing their hair out with frustration, as the water board kept saying they'd fixed it, then it would go again.

Lots to do in the valley and around, for both enthusiastic hill walkers and not-so-enthusiastic. And not crowded with coachloads of tourists like Windermere area.

We had brought everything we thought we'd need except milk and bread, both of which were easily bought at the shop.

The children enjoyed the play area most of the time, although there was some trouble with unsupervised big children bullying younger ones.

Bathrooms immaculate, but some queueing at busy times. Did not use laundry. Dishwash area always clean, and longest queue only a minute or two.

The detailed local weather forecast was pinned up each morning, freshly printed off the internet - really useful to help plan the day.

We did not eat out or go to any pubs during our stay, so can't comment.

Highlights - driving over Hardknott and Wrynose Passes - better than any roller coaster! Blea Tarn walk. Finding the waterfall.

Lowlight - the abysmal weather. Still, the Lakes are the second wettest bit of Britain after Snowdonia, after all!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a number of times previously (off season) and always enjoyed the experience. There was no crowding and the staff pleasant. The toilet/showers are spotlessly clean. However, when we visited in August I was quite disappointed to see that the tents were rather closely pitched together with doors pretty much opening on adjoining tents. The expression racking and stacking comes to mind! It wasn't what we expected from a club site. I would visit again but only off season, certainly not in the summer holidays. I would recommend the Brook House Pub, a two minute walk from the campsite, the beers on offer I am told were exceptional! much more so than the Boot Inn (which is a Robinsons pub). An excellent site with spotless facilities and if you don't mind crowding at busy times well worth a visit.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019