Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nikki D 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic.

We have just come after a weeks stay and I can honestly say that I have not camped at a sight so clean (they were cleaning the toilets and showers at 11.30pm!), and at a sight which took so much pride in the camping field.

We had mixed weather of sunshine and heavy rain, and the owners made sure the field didn't turn into a mud bath by asking us to park in the car park, unless we needed to be by our tent.

ALL the facilities where spotless, and the drying room was excellent, it was always warm so your items did get dry very quickly and they provided cages (I would recommend to take a padlock to lock the cages just in case - not that we had any problems with anything going missing) for you to put shoes / wet suites in etc, airers and also a towel rail.

They had a trampoline and a small wooden course for the children to play on, which was next to the 'families' field (they tried to keep families altogether on one field), and they also provided a family shower room, which was great when we trying to shower our 2 boys (aged 6 and 3) as they have 2 showers next to each other.

The washing machine did clean your clothes, which was useful after a days walking getting muddy, and because of the drying room you didn't have to waste money using the tumble dryer (which another camper said didn't dry very well).

We would go back to this site without hesitation should we go back to the Lakes as it was fairly central to everywhere (providing you don't mind the hair raising drive across Hardknott Pass!), and we did not see another site as clean and dry as this one.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie.Becca 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in this campsite for 7-nights at peek season.

Staff were very friendly and helpful (and VERY hardworking), Fantastic facilities, absolutely spotless toilet & shower block with 'proper, temp adjustable showers' and not the annoying push button type. Well stocked shop with reasonably priced essentials. Ideal washing up area with plenty of sinks. Stunning location and a great base for walks.

On arrival we were offered the option of pitching our tent in a quiet area, away from the larger family tents which was ideal for us.

A very useful drying room to leave your wet kit after a long walk on the fells!

Very dog friendly site. Seemed like a great children's play area with a trampoline. 2 decent pubs within walking distance, had a nice meal at the Boot Inn.

Would've been good to have recycling bins on site.

We would highly recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karin16 1 review from this member

We have just had an amazing week away at this site. Its very clean and tidy. Spotlessly clean hot working showers and were free to use and not on timers. Staff on site were great and always available for info. Site itself was great for families and pitches well organised. Only drawback was its so remote its quite a travel to stock up on food etc. So take plenty with you although site shop has a good choice. Early in the week due to the rain everyone was asked to leave their cars in the car park as some were chewing up the grass, so the staff helped with a quad etc to pull trailers to the cars and to help people get all their gear up from the pitches. Nothing was a bother to the staff who were still working late into the night getting everyone in for the bank hol weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyw1976 2 reviews from this member

We`ve just come back from our first trip to Eskdale. This is the perfect site for any one who loves walking even for our family with two young children. The facilities on this site are second to none toilets spotless shop well stocked etc. I do recommend the Brookhouse Inn food is very nice and reasonably priced.We will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 7 reviews from this member

Superb site which is really well looked after by very hard working wardens and their team.

Facilities were excellent and always spotlessly clean, despite the wet weather and muddy fields. Could always get a shower and these were always hot and with good water pressure.

Great place for kids with a playground and the trampoline is a masterstroke - was the focal point for our 5 year olds for the whole stay.

Plenty of short walks available and the Ratty is a 10 min walk away. Recommend a trip to the watermill which is very close and a real step back in time. Only tried the Boot Inn but food was superb and all home cooked, good selection of beers.

If you want a site in the lakes away from the commercialised centre and in a superb location then give this a try

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: The Sweeney Family 1 review from this member

We are a family of four (2 adults, a 3 year old and a 5 month old) that stayed on the site. We stayed in our tent on the first night and spent the following seven nights in a pod. We chose a pod as we felt it would be warmer for our baby, as he is so young. It was fantastic. We all had a great time. The site facilities were immaculate and the staff were friendly and helpful. We all slept really well in the pod and felt safe and dry. Our three year old loved the trampoline and swings on the playgrounds. There was plenty of room in the pod for ourselves, luggage, food and toys. The site shop had everything we needed at a reasonable price. We went out on several walks recommended by the site and the little town of Boot was easily accessible for pubs and a shop. Pods are great! Try it, you might like it!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymouse 4 reviews from this member

Despite poor weather we had a great trip. The wardens were friendly and helpful, even though our visit coincided with the site being virtually full and something going wrong with the water pressure so that the showers kept ceasing to function - they must have been tearing their hair out with frustration, as the water board kept saying they'd fixed it, then it would go again.

Lots to do in the valley and around, for both enthusiastic hill walkers and not-so-enthusiastic. And not crowded with coachloads of tourists like Windermere area.

We had brought everything we thought we'd need except milk and bread, both of which were easily bought at the shop.

The children enjoyed the play area most of the time, although there was some trouble with unsupervised big children bullying younger ones.

Bathrooms immaculate, but some queueing at busy times. Did not use laundry. Dishwash area always clean, and longest queue only a minute or two.

The detailed local weather forecast was pinned up each morning, freshly printed off the internet - really useful to help plan the day.

We did not eat out or go to any pubs during our stay, so can't comment.

Highlights - driving over Hardknott and Wrynose Passes - better than any roller coaster! Blea Tarn walk. Finding the waterfall.

Lowlight - the abysmal weather. Still, the Lakes are the second wettest bit of Britain after Snowdonia, after all!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a number of times previously (off season) and always enjoyed the experience. There was no crowding and the staff pleasant. The toilet/showers are spotlessly clean. However, when we visited in August I was quite disappointed to see that the tents were rather closely pitched together with doors pretty much opening on adjoining tents. The expression racking and stacking comes to mind! It wasn't what we expected from a club site. I would visit again but only off season, certainly not in the summer holidays. I would recommend the Brook House Pub, a two minute walk from the campsite, the beers on offer I am told were exceptional! much more so than the Boot Inn (which is a Robinsons pub). An excellent site with spotless facilities and if you don't mind crowding at busy times well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Eliz22 5 reviews from this member

A beautiful campsite. All the facilities were spotless which was amazing considering the amount of mud in the tent fields due to the rain. We stayed in a camping pod so didn't suffer the bogginess of the tent fields. The pods are expensive (40 a night) but they do keep out the inevitable rain. The pods sleep 4 people but you will have to stack up your airbeds during the day if you wish to sit in there.

Our children loved the play areas, especially the trampoline. The shop was very useful and the children's toys were good value. If you have a serious walker in your family but the rest of you are not so keen then this is an excellent site to use as it offers many good mountain walks as well as more child friendly options. My husband chose to scale the heights of Scafell Pike whilst the children and myself were able to walk (5 Mins) to the Dalegarth station & take a scenic trip to the coast at Ravenglass. No, there's not any sand there but the children had fun turning the pebbles to look for sand hoppers.

I would also recommend the Eskdale water mill. We were going to try the Boot Inn but found they don't serve dinner until 6pm so we ate at the Brook House Inn and were extremely pleased we did. They had a very good choice of food i.E. On the children's menu they offered a healthy cheese/fruit board as well as the more usual Heinz pasta shapes for the less adventurous. For adults they offer a wide range of high quality, delicious food served in generous portions. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Simul68 1 review from this member

Just got back from our second visit to this site and am still wishing I was there. Fell in love with it last October when myself my wife and 12year old son stayed in the camping pods. The site is the best I have been on with tremendous facilities, great showers and toilet facilities plenty of washing up sinks. A very clean site, excellent shop and the people who take care of it are so helpful.

This time we went with another couple with 2 boys and had a blast. The weather wasn't the best the first night but the pods gave some shelter as the trees provide a bit of a canopy, the site is ideally placed for most of the big climbs and Wastwater is 25 minutes away simply beautiful. We were given a heater both times but never used it the pods are so warm and cosy, spotlessly clean with a perfect decked area at the front for preparing a breakfast or barbecue. Would recommend to anyone, we will be back again net year for definite, love the place

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1216 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938