Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Backro981 1 review from this member

Spent 4 days at this wonderful campsite over Easter. The site is in a spectacular location, much more so than you would think from the website photos. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, the facilities are about the cleanest I have ever seen and there is a very useful shop on site. The village of Boot has a couple of good pubs and there is another called the Woolpack a mile or two down the Hardknott Pass. This area is a walkers paradise, there are walks of all levels of difficulty from an excellent approach to Scafell Pike to a completely flat walk alongside the River Esk. Its a great spot, I cant recommend it, or the site, highly enough.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ajbibs 17 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 3 day break over the Easter B. Hol weekend at Eskdale - fantastic site, fantastic location. Located in the Western Lakes, this CCC site caters for tents, motorhomes & trailer tents but not caravans.

All the facilities on site are what you’d expect from a club site – heated showers and toilet block, dish wish and laundry facilities, drying room (if you need it), chemical disposal and two children’s play area, all maintained to an extremely high standard. Reception also doubles up as the shop which is manned by the wardens who can’t seem to do enough.

The only slight drawback that’s worth mentioning is the shower / toilets could do with being bigger – only 3 of each in the gents so not sure what it would be like in the high of summer when the site is full (presume the ladies are the same).

There’s no actual dog walk on site but having said that, it doesn’t need one as there are plenty of walks starting direct from site heading off in all directions. The majority of pitching is on grass but if needed, there is a hard standing area close to reception that can be used. Electric hooks are available but mobile and TV reception is limited.

The site itself is located a matter of minutes walk from the village of Boot where you’ll find pubs serving food and are dog friendly. As previously said, the site is ideal for walking from so no need to move the car / motorhome if you don’t want.

If you want something different during your stay, Boot also has a station for the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway which will take you through the scenic countryside back towards the coast. You could always buy a single ticket and walk back or get off at one of the intermediate stations to explore the area.

Would we return – most definitely.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 24 reviews from this member

A beautiful site, very helpful and friendly owners, fabulous modern toilet/shower block.

Lovely setting, many many walks up fells, through woodland or along the river Esk.

We met up with friends for New Year, booked dinner at Brook House Inn on New Years Eve and had a lovely time, the food is superb!

Lots of other pubs with very good beers (according to hubbie) and food.

A super area, we will return soon!

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

Once again, a visit to this site recharged our batteries and proved every bit as good as in previous visits. The site only takes a few, smaller motorhomes and tents, no caravans. There are pods available also for hire, as well as a camping barn and the site is, I would say, primarily geared up for campers, walkers, hikers and cyclists. There is a drying room for wet clothes if the weather is unsuitable to hang on the two available washing lines, a washing machine and tumble dryer and a well-stocked shop which has some items useful for campers as well as food and drink.

It is extremely well-run and cared for, the owner, Martin, having a real passion for his site and the comfort of those using it. There are two small areas for children to play, a stream running through the site and close by, in the village of Boot, 3 pubs serving good food-and you can take your dogs into the pubs!-as well as the village shop. There is also a very good cafe at the station a few hundred metres along the road, open when the little railway is open, which runs from Dalegarth to Ravenglass.

Although the road to the site is narrow, there are plenty of passing places. The road continues past the site on to Hard Knott Pass, not to be undertaken in a motorhome! Scafell is accessible from the site but if that is a step too far, many other easier and lovely walks are within reach.

I can't praise the wardens and Martin enough for their personal attention and helpful attitude, nothing is too much trouble. The showers and toilets are always very clean, with a mop and cloth to clean up after yourself, an excellent idea. The only little moan I have is that the floor of the showers is flat, so water runs from shower to shower but as we go in the quieter times, that is not much of a problem to us. It is a very peaceful site, even when busy, and Martin is always on hand to ensure that it remains that way. Very well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cwatki123 1 review from this member

Myself and my partner picked this site as it was in the heart of the lakes and we wanted to climb Scafell Pike.

When driving to the site we went over Hardknott pass which we were later told is the highest and steepest pass in England. I'd advise against this. It's very steep and winding and if you get stuck behind someone who is a timid driver (and you will be) you're constantly in first gear riding the clutch.

The best option is to go south of Windemere down the A590/A5092/A595 past Broughton-in-Furness. It might add a few more miles to the journey but in terms of time, it's actually quicker as you can maintain a more constant speed.

On arrival at the site we were greeted with lots of tents, families and a beautifully kept site.

I was noticeably worked up having driven over the pass so unexpectedly and we'd also forgotten our camping stove. The lady in the office made us a cup of coffee and also lent us a stove which we were very grateful for.

As there were lots of families on the site that weekend she sited us just over a little stream on a separate piece of land. You could still hear kids playing but that's expected during the summer, however there was never any noise at night.

The utilities at the site are very modern, clean and well maintained. Hot water is available 24 hours and the shop is open from early until late. There is a drying room for drying clothing, towels, etc.

The site itself is set in a beautiful location in the Eskdale valley, surrounded by hills and fields. There are 2 pubs within walking distance, but I must recommend the Woolpack as the best of them. They also deliver pizza to the site and have a 'minibus' service to and from the site (although it's actually an old army truck).

The site itself shuts the gates to cars at 11pm so if you're driving back bear that in mind. Also, if the site is busy it can be quite difficult to park in the evenings. There were so many cars on the site when we stayed that people were literally parking everywhere but I must admit nobody got blocked in and they manage it quite well.

The site is in a great location for visiting Eskdale, Scafell, Wastwater and even the west coast. There is also a steam railway station within walking distance and that'll take you pretty much to the coast too.

Might be worth noting there is absolutely no mobile phone signal at all on any network here, so you may want to give the campsite number to family members just in case. There is free wi-fi at the Woolpack if you do feel a little out of touch!

All in all a fantastic site, I would definitely go back. However, if the weather is bad it makes getting there quite hard work and once you're there it's definitely a site for those who like the outdoors, which again might be a bit hard work if it's throwing it down.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Db123 6 reviews from this member

This is the best camping and caravan site I have stayed on. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the facilities are very clean and the shop is well stocked, good job as it is a long way to the nearest town, was here over the bank holiday, but the excellent staff new were to pitch, as on the Monday, it rained all day and by night I had a lake at back and side of my tent, but by the morning had gone down, but wet under foot.

The pubs are within easy reach and there is a little shop in boot as well. Cannot rate this site enough 10+++++

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenina 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the August Bank holiday. When we arrived we were shown to a pitch and advised which way to pitch. The field we were on was already starting to show a little wear and tear from the weather but nothing major.

As we pitched we managed to bend a few tent pegs through hitting a stony layer a couple of inches down so might be worth bearing in mind when deciding which pegs to use.

We had two kids aged 7 &8 and they loved the play area. The trampoline in particular went down very well!

The second day of our stay was wall to wall rain and the field became waterlogged in places but the staff had made sure no one had pitched in these places and on the entrance/exit to the field put down bark chippings. They also limited traffic on and off the field to stop it becoming a quagmire.

Excellent management which we were really impressed with. The facilities are the best we have had on a campsite. Plenty of hot water and kept fabulously clean!

The shop was very handy, especially when our kids realised they had forgotten bedtime teds and we were able to get stand ins!

Great walks nearby and plenty of pubs servibg excellent food. On this trip we went to The Woolpack Inn at the bottom of Hardknott Pass which was lovely and they even provide free lifts in an army truck!

We will definitely return to this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Norhwesteners 2 reviews from this member

Second time here. Stayed in a camping pod with another family. Lots of space for kids to run round and explore. Pods big enough to fit 2 double air beds and space inside for a few bags. Warm and with this year's poor summer weather, a great alternative to a tent.

Lovely, clean, safe site. Great facilities: Play area, well stocked shop, drying room etc. Shower rooms modern, always clean and well maintained. Lots of hot washing up water.

Close proximity to pubs, all of which we have tried and all serve excellent food. Quiet at night. Listen out for the owls and watch the bats.

Easy access from the site for walks no matter your ability.

Highly recommended for both families and couples. Would definitely return a third time.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mattsmom 8 reviews from this member

Once again, another lovely stay at Eskdale, such a peaceful site. The managers, Martin, Charlie, Lisa and Adrian, just couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.

The site is maintained to the highest standard, both the excellent facilities and the outside areas. We discovered what lovely breakfasts the Dalegarth Station cafe do, just a short walk from the site; have one after you have walked, as they are huge!

There are lots of lovely walks from the site; along the river from St. Catherine's church, up to Stanley Ghyll Falls, and a new one we found, through How's Wood. Ask at the station or the site shop for details.

The site was busier than we have known it due to a beer festival but still retains that feeling of peace and tranquillity. Magic!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizf68 4 reviews from this member

We were recommended to visit this site by friends and have just visited for the long Jubilee weekend. The site wasn't very busy when we first arrived and it was a gorgeous view of green space surrounded by mountains.

The facilities were very good although the pressure in the showers needs help at peak times as I was stood naked with soapy hair for quite a while waiting on someone turning off their shower so I could finish mine. This was due to the site being full but only happened the one time and did not put a damper on my stay at all. The loos/showers were always very clean and people actually did mop the floors after them, unlike other camps I've stayed at.

The shop seemed to be open all the time and is well stocked. If the light was on, then someone was serving. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area too.

We ended up with some noisy neighbours but the noise level is monitored well into the night.

Location wise it is a good spot for getting out to see sites like the Stanley Ghyll waterfall and a short drive to see the Roman Fort at Hardknott Pass and Wastwater Lake. You can also walk to Eskdale Mill which is one of the oldest water powered corn mills in England, and is now the last remaining working mill in the lake District.

There are very good pubs within a few minutes walking distance, one with a good playground for the kids.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019