Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marty2711 8 reviews from this member

Okay, first things first - if you are faint hearted DON'T get to Eskdale via the Hardknott Pass, it's a mountain pass that at times doesn't let you out of first gear (and we drive a 2L Volkswagen 4x4). RAC route planner took us this way because in theory it is about 6 miles shorter than the alternative route. Go the main roads via Carlisle or Cockermouth.

Right, now that's out of the way the site itself. We got there fairly late on, probably about 7. 30pm. The owner, Martin had waited back for us to arrive. We quickly went through the efficient booking in process and he told us where was available, pretty much allowing us to decide for ourselves. We picked against the wall in a large field. The site wasn't busy and because of the previous week's Dubfest and the accompanying rain, the field was wet in places but our bit was bone dry. All the other campers apart from a handful of backpackers were sited on the other part of the grounds.

Hasty pitching of our tent and once we and the children were fed and watered we went exploring for what was left of the daylight. A swingpark, a rope swing, some woods and plenty of space for the children to safely run about. Exactly as it said on the tin and perfect for what we were looking for.

When I read the reviews that most others have written and posted about Eskdale, I must admit, I was a bit sceptical. 'All these 10 out of 10's - they're writing their own reviews' was my first thought.

I now know why people love this place. Infact I was going to score it a 1 out of 10 so as to keep it a hidden secret!

The facilities are second to none that we've experienced. The toilets are immaculate, the showers are powerful and toasty as well. There's a family room which will easliy accomodate 4, washed dried and ready for the days adventures! The shop is well laid out, not cluttered, and sells all the essentials as well as some local butchery products. Eskdale is quiet at night and easy going during the day, no loud music and no obvious drink fuelled shenanigans!

The very Health and Safety concious owner (!) is probably the friendliest site owner I've met. He chats away and makes sure you know enough of what is around the area so as your visit is made really worthwhile. We had some laughs talking about my job as a Safety Advisor!

There are three or four pubs nearby, two of which are 5 minutes walk and the narrow guage Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway station is 200 yards along the road. There are hill walks and forest treks literally at the site and plenty of things to explore. If all you want to do is kick back relax and enjoy the scenery then you'll be stretched to get it much better.

All in all, a gem of a place, lovingly cared for and with a clear plan to keep it getting better.

We'll definitely go back!

MLAZ

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lineky 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a stunning location. This site was better than we could have hoped. The owner's service was excellent; the facilities were immaculate at all times ; showers were piping hot and there were even fresh flowers in the loos! Not necessary but nice. The shop was very well stocked and reasonably priced. Best of all the site still felt like a campsite and not a holiday park.

Our pitch was flat and well drained, there were some boggy patches due to the recent very wet weather but we were guided to the best available pitch.

Our 4 year old loved the site as there was a great play area, stream, and wild areas just outside the site. The area itself has a huge choice of walks for all ages and abilities. The Ravenglass to Eskdale railway terminates at Dalegarth a whole 5 min walk along the road much to our daughter's delight.

We had fantastic food at the Brook Inn which is practically next door.

Overall I can find no fault with this site and we are already planning our next visit!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Johnschris 1 review from this member

It was our first visit to this campsite for their first Dubfest!

We stayed in one of the pods No 8, my daughter and her boyfriend in No 9 and our friends in No 7. Two other family members had camper vans.

The site is very clean as are all the facilities

Lovely hot showers.

Shop has coffee/tea & toast making facilities for anyone who camps lightly!

The Local pubs are welcoming and because of the rainy weather we spent most of our weekend in them!

The boys tried one of the 18. 50 a shot whisky's at The Brook House. The Boot Inn had a BBQ and entertainment on the Saturday evening but we didn't stay for that!

An army truck ride to and from The Woolpack was one of our hi lights :) excellent pub good Guinness and food.

It was the weather that let down our weekend as we do like to walk and enjoy the scenery. It let down the activities that were put on and for them I felt sorry for! Archery and bike hire packed up early with not many people taking part!

If only the sunshine was guaranteed!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: KJL2020 1 review from this member

6 of us stayed in the camping barn for 2 nights from Friday 28th March to Sunday 30th March. The camping barn is on two levels: the lower one has the fully fitted kitchen including a large table with two benches and a log burner, whilst the upper one is where the camp beds are laid out. When we arrived, it had just been mopped. It was very clean and had everything you could need, including a plentiful supply of wood and kindling for the log burner. We all agreed that it would be very difficult to even contemplate going back to sleeping under canvas when you can stay in a heated, well equipped barn for not much more per person. The toilet/shower blocks were immaculate and the whole site was very tidy. A real credit to the owners. The Brook House Inn is no more than 5 minutes gentle walk away and serve a great Sirloin steak with peppercorn sauce (amongst other things). We had breakfast there on one morning - 12 for a bit of everything including a cooked breakfast. We felt this was a bit pricey considering the quality of the breakfast (not horrendous and it meant we didn't have to cook, but I wouldn't rush back for the breakfast). A real shame as their evening meals were delicious and we ate there on both nights. We will definitely be going back to the camping barn!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deb Couch 3 reviews from this member

A must for another holiday! Warm welcome from the warden always helpful with good advice and weather reports. Toilets and showers good and spotlessly clean as were the chemical disposal area, laundry room, drying room etc. Useful tourist information in the telephone room. Licensed shop holds very useful items including good meat from the local butcher. Surrounded by luscious green grass that is kept short.

The Ravenglass and Eskdale Small Railway great for transport further afield or the roads are quiet enough to cycle in October. Two pubs even closer for meals if required. Nearest groceries at Eskdale Green.

The added bonus is the access to the more rugged areas for many lovely walks.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 38 reviews from this member

Formerly known as 'Hollins Farm', Eskdale is a small campsite which is maintained and operated to the Camping And Caravanning Club's very high standards.

For non-members, this is not a cheap campsite but for your money you get the reliable standards and peace of mind that come with C&CC sites. For members, the rate per person per night is very reasonable.

The campsite is situated on the narrow road that runs through the Esk valley. It is close to the hamlet of Boot and is set in breathtaking Lake District scenery. There are two pubs within a few minutes walk and another, the famous Woolpack Inn, about twenty minutes walk. All three pubs serve evening meals. The Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway (a narrow-gauge steam-hauled heritage line) is nearby.

The campsite entrance is clearly signposted and is an easy turn-in for eastbound traffic (coming from the coast) but a tight turn for westbound vehicles. Vehicles approaching from the east will have negotiated the notoriously steep and twisting road over Hardknott Pass (and, probably, the equally tortuous Wrynose Pass) so this is not a destination for towed caravans.

Like all C&CC sites there are staff living on site. I found the owner/warden and his team to be friendly and helpful. The noise curfew at night was enforced and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

There are stands of tall trees to provide shelter from the wind - the site is not on high ground but westerly winds run up the valley. A stone wall on one side and a beck (stream) on the other subdivide the site into three areas: the one over the beck has no road access and is for backpackers while the other two areas allow you park next to your tent. Most pitches are within reach of EHU (electric hook-up) points.

Very little of the site is on sloping ground so most pitches are level and all have adequate separation between them. During my stay, the grass was in fairly good condition (although there were some bare patches) and the soil took tent pegs easily.

The facilities block was well-equipped and spotless. There appeared to be adequate cubicles, showers and washing basins for the size of the site. The showers have large cubicles with stools and plenty of clothes hooks - very convenient. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of hot water during my visit. There is a small laundry room with washing machine and tumble drier. Rubbish bins and water standpipes are nearby.

Reception is staffed at arrival and departure times (morning and evening) and the shop sells local produce as well as camping accessories.

For active campers, Boot is a great base for walking with numerous upland and mountain routes within a day's hiking distance. The most challenging routes lead up through the remote and spectacular Upper Eskdale valley with the Scafell group to the west and Bowfell and Crinkle Crags to the east. There are, of course, plenty of easier walks nearby.

In summary, this is a well-situated campsite maintained to the club's customary high standard. I recommended Eskdale C&CC site and will definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dollyrolac 1 review from this member

Absolutely beautiful area to stay with spotless facilities on site. Welcoming and relaxed greeting on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. It rained on the day of arrival but the site drained quickly so no muddy soggy mess next day at all!

There are a few lovely walks nearby with easy access from the site, whilst shops and a dog-friendly welcoming pub were just a short drive away.

Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shinealite 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site (sadly maybe our last as we are moving to a caravan and it is a tent only site) the reason it is a tent only site is to get to it you have to navigate some serious winding country roads or come over the hard knott pass (not for the faint hearted)

The site is fantastic, the facilities are spotless and the family that run it are very helpful. There are 2 little play areas for the kids one with a trampoline. There is no phone signal/Wi-Fi on the site which for me is a huge plus, but there are 3 pubs all in walking distance which offer free Wi-Fi, wonderful food and real ales galore! the views and scenery around the campsite are stunning and the ones from the top of the hard knott pass are the best views I have ever seen. The site is situated in a walkers paradise with scafell only minutes away. Within a 10 minute walk of the site there are 3 pubs, a very quaint little village, a museum, a waterfall and a steam railway! and the afore mentioned hard knott pass, which boasts been the steepest road in England. It is basically a winding path up the side of a mountain. And I mean winding!. You also have to contend with sheep running everywhere, however, the effort to get to the top is worth it, the views are totally and utterly amazing.

I have give this site 10 out of 10 for everything a fantastic site in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendyblair 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site after reading reviews from the camping and caravan site.

I would thoroughly recommend this site. We are still new to the camping lark, and I'm a fussy person when it comes to expecting sites to be found as they are described.

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !

We only stayed for two nights but we are definitely booking for a week next year. The children 12 and 7 enjoyed the site, the showers were hot and there was a hairdryer for free.

The shop is well stocked and even opened for my husband to buy a bottle of wine. How's that for service. The staff were friendly and very very helpful.

I'm not a fan of large sites and this was perfect. We did a lovely walk, visited a couple of pubs and still didn't do all the stuff we wanted to, hence the intention to go for longer next year.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mirkiov 7 reviews from this member

Spent one night in a tent. Very scenic. A brook runs through the site with rocky hills as a backdrop. The showers and washing up facilities are well maintained and of a high standard. The shop is well stocked. There are 2 pubs within a short walk. The site is close to Scarfell pike and other hills. We enjoyed our brief stay.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1074