Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells123 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this site and can't wait to go back again.

As all reviews before, site is extremely clean, staff are very helpful, scenery fantastic, shop well stocked, Boot Inn wonderful food & great beer. Great base for fell walking but most of all a really good place to get away from it all and relax. This campsite is very well run and organised making the camper feel at ease unlike some other sites we've been to.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Picksleys 3 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site! Our first 'proper' camping trip - and the site owners could not have made it easier. The showers and toilets were immaculate and free! Could do with a few more at peak times but plenty of hot water all through the day so we went off-peak.

Nice little shop, reasonably priced.

Trampoline went down well with the 9 and 5 year old and lovely wood play area.

Camping pods look fun - we are thinking of braving New Years Eve there.

Would not recommend Hardknott Pass for the faint hearted or anything less than a 4 x 4 - have not met anyone who came that way and didn't go back a different way. Scenery was awesome though!

Steam train to Ravensglass worth a visit although not much at Ravensglass itself.

Boot pub 2 mins walk from site and good selection of food and beers with a lovely play area. All in all would definitely recommend this lovely site - just what we imagined camping to be like! Thankyou to all the staff for making it so enjoyable.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerrie454 1 review from this member

Absolutely excellent campsite !

We arrived on Sunday of a bank holiday and having tried a couple sites before we got that far (all full) and this site also said full. We tried our luck anyway & a really friendly & helpful chap said he'd squeeze us in.

Lovely site, tents / motorhomes not tightly squeezed together, good play area & trampoline for kids, as well as a wood to play in.

Showers, toilets, shop & washing facilities all very modern & ultraclean - free showers actually stay on until you turn them off ! lol !

Only down side was the 'no fires' rule, though he was very understanding whilst explaining it was to save the grass (even if you have something to raise it up) and also to stop noise from going on too late.

All-in-all a very nice campsite (if a little out of the way), a very nice pub nearby and you can walk up Scafell Pike straight from the site.

Would definitely stay there again !

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Titchrilley 3 reviews from this member

We used this site for a weeks fell walking. It is an excellent campsite. We were able to put our 2 two man tents on one pitch and even leave the car here while we were out on the hills.

The wash room and toilet facilities were immaculate.

The owner was helpful in showing us to our pitch and recommending a good pub for the evening.

I will definitely come back. But next time I will drive the long way round rather than taking 'Hardnott Pass' as this is not really a good route for a fully laden car.

We didn't see much of the local area as we were only interested in rock and rain.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: IM/CH 1 review from this member

We have visited this particular site about 5 times now over the last two years, we have never been disappointed.

The last two visits we made here we stayed in the Pods, if, like me, you love camping but have a partner who doesn't they are ideal. More than enough room for a family of four to sleep, with a porch area to sit, eat, drink and admire the views.

The facilities are top notch and the family shower room is a big attraction for us, two showers which are part of one cubicle, one toilet and sink and baby changing all in one room. Those of you with toddlers will know what a real help this is when it comes to shower time, all three of us just jump in together.

The play area for kids could be a little bigger but the trampoline is obviously a big hit.

The Eskdale to Ravenglass steam train is a must if you have kids or are a bit of a kid at heart and lunch at the 'Ratty' in Ravenglass is recommended.

There are two pubs very close to the campsite, we recommend the 'Brook House' for food and drink but the 'Boot Inn' has a great outside drinking area and play area.

If you fancy a walk you are spoilt for choice and you would need two holidays to do them all.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnyfuggles 8 reviews from this member

I booked our pitch some way in advance of arrival and the lady on the phone, Sara, was very polite, helpful in answering any questions that I had and also spoke to us about the benefits of being a member of the c&cc.

The approach road to the site was no problem.

My first impression of the site as I drove in was that it looked smaller than I had imagined but very nice all the same.

At reception, we parked up and walked to the shop to check in.

Martin knew who we were immediately, checked us in, gave our instructions as to where everything was and showed us to our pitch, no problems at all.

Pitching was easy, level ground, easy pegging for the awning, 16amp ehu and best of all, the view from our camper, it was fantastic.

The shop on site operated good opening hours and sold most essentials, fresh meats and camping accessories.

Importantly, the showers etc. were spotless at all times. The ladies and gents shower block both had three shower units each, always hot and powerful and a number of wash basins and electric shaver points. They were also fitted with hair dryers for use free of charge.

There was an indoor and outdoor (under cover) pot wash area, again always clean and no end of hot water and never any queuing to use any of the facilities.

The children's play area consisted of a couple of swings near the camping pods and a trampoline (a huge hit with the kids) and small play area in the top corner of the camping area.

Kids of all ages just played together and got on really well, not one bit of bother with any of them.

The shop also had maps of walks within the area which where great and the scenery around, very picturesque.

The small village of Boot had a small shop and a great pub 'The Boot Inn', very child and dog friendly and great food (the Boot pie was delicious).

All in all a fantastic place, and would we go again? Try holding us back!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John-c 2 reviews from this member

The site is very clean and the welcome was very friendly. The staff at the site were friendly, pleasant and helpful. There was an occasion when the shop was shut (it was after 6pm on the sunday) when the site warden was emptying bins, I had left something in the block and asked if it had been handed in, he did not hesitate to open the shop / office return said item and serve the kids that were wanting sweets.

The shower block and toilets were very clean and very well maintained by the staff.

My only thought is to the planners of the toilet and shower block missing the opportunity to make this site perfect would have been to increase the number of showers and toilets from three to maybe four or five. When we were there the site was down 20 pitches due to the weather and at busy times folk waiting were five and six deep.

We had a wonderful time, the pubs nearby were friendly with a good atmosphere and food choice was good. There were two pubs within 5 mins walk, a small shop for ice cream.There was something for everyone and I look forward to going back.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

This a late review as I forgot to mention my favourite site so far. All previous reviewers have mentioned everything that is good about this site including the nearby pubs that allow dogs, the views, the brilliant walks, the new shower and toilet blocks, the staff, no mobile phone signal, no caravans. I could go on and on and without exaggeration.

I will absolutely be returning to this site as soon as possible and urge anyone interested in quiet and solitude and open country to do the same.

Oh and by the way if your not there in winter do drive over Hardknott Pass it's a right hoot.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andie20521 2 reviews from this member

What can I say this has to be one of my favourite places in the world!

The views from the site are great, and there are lots of wonderful walks with stunning views that you can start directly from the site, even if like me you like to amble along, rather than a hard core hiker (Don't worry plenty more challenging routes nearby too if that's your bag!)

The shop is one of the best stocked I've seen, sells everything from fresh local produce (Try the sausages they are very yummy) to tent pegs and even EHUs. As it's quite remote they can order in the weekend papers for you too.

Shower block was immaculate, 4 cubicles, roasting hot water & free hair dryer.

A choice of washing up facilities- inside or out. We made good use of the inside ones as it was a little chilly in the evenings.

Boot, where it is situated, is picture postcard material, but has few facilities, but some good pubs within a few minutes walk of the site.

No mobile phone signal- but who says that's a downside???

I sneaked a peek at the camping pods, whilst they looked cosy, they are clustered like a little village, and personally I'd prefer a little more privacy, especially when there is some much space on the site.

This was our first visit, and I dare say it won't be our last!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richs24 3 reviews from this member

We found this a wonderful site, very attractive, well maintained and good, clean showers and toilets.

The site does accept non members, which might worry some, but I would imagine that in the summer this site will be too full to have many.

There are 2 pubs very close to the campsite, and we fully enjoyed ourselves at both, so if you are there for a few nights make sure you try both of them!

If I was going to be critical, the only fault was my 9.30am shower, when I must have been the last person on the campsite to have one. A bit on the chilly side!

Would definitely visit again

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2295 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1016