Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jjstannard 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 5 nights over May/June half term in a large tent with electric.

- Twisty drive up so best take main road A595 as much as you can and approach from the west.

- Friendly welcome who offered 'quiet' or 'family' area. We have a small daughter so chose family.

- Flat ground and they bring extension leads to supply EHU if you are far from a distributor box.

- Good pubs, railway and walks within minutes of the site. Main shops are a good drive away.

- NO phone signal although they offer wifi.

PROS:

- Beautiful country side

- Very helpful staff. We had a tent behind making at racket at midnight and they dealt with it quickly.

- Well stocked shop and good play area with large trampoline.

- Showers clean and well maintained

- Site offers a variety of lovely pitching options.

CONS:

- I had 5 showers. During 3 of them the water ran out completely for several minutes and was cold upon it's return. I also had to queue frequently for them. Times ranged from 7. 30am - 10. 30am and also from 3pm - 7pm.

- Washing machine won't power up until you've paid the coin meter. Once it had done so my wife couldn't make sense of the digital set up on it. There were no instructions and her paid time was ticking down which is an unnecessary hassle. Printed instructions would be great.

- Trampoline has a sign stating '1 at a time' but frequently over 10 children were in there. The owner settled on '5 at a time' during most of the week.

- As play area was a small area with a trampoline and other gear, most evenings until 11pm we had children playing football or cricket immediately next to our tent on both sides, with balls hitting our flysheet often. Not the fault of the site but a 'no ball games' sign and perhaps a dedicated ball games area might have saved a few knocked over BBQs and gas stoves!

Overall the site was great and provided you don't mind queues and showers that cut out it is worth it for the view. If we were to return we would pitch in the quiet area and I'm sure have a completely different experience.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 6 nights over May Half term. I had only booked for 4 nights but they agreed/arranged it so that we could stay of the extra two nights and keep electric. It is a franchise site so they do bend the rules a little bit and the site was very full. It was quiet though.

The Boot Inn and The Brook House Inn are both very near, only 5 mins walk at the most. We liked them both, although the Brook House was our favourite - we ate there twice. We also went to the Woolpack on the way down from a walk over Green Crag.

There are plenty of good walks from the door. We did Ilgill Head and Whin Rigg straight from the site as well as Green Crag. You could do Scafell Pike and Scafell but our dogs are getting on a bit for quite that distance!

The toilet paper ran out quite often, probably due to being over full, bit they did fillet up quite quickly. At peak times you would find the hot water would just stop. I had fun trying to wash up one morning.

Overall we liked the site - good location, good food pubs, fun time the train. We would probably not go back in peak season though.

Oh, if you pitch by the stream you will need midge spray.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendwg 14 reviews from this member

Great site with modern clean facilities all well maintained and cleaned regularly. All pitches are pretty flat and even though it rained all day the ground seemed to drain pretty well.

Shop is well stocked with the essentials and staff all friendly and helpful.

Some good walks straight off camp and the train to Ravensglass is 5 minutes walk away

The Boot Inn and Brook House Inn both 2 minutes walk away both do good food and drink but booking is advisable as they get very busy.

The Woolpack in is about 20mins walk away but they offer a taxi service if you book. Has all the skysports and again decent food.

Hardknott Pass isnt possible in anything but a car really so it is a bit of a run to get to the site from the South but worth it.

All in great site in a great area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

Great campsite, new clean facilities, well stocked shop and lovely staff. Walks from site in every direction for all ages, from scarfell to lovely well signposted local walks to dalegarth waterfall etc. Off road bike esktrail from site to ravenglass mainly quite level except for muncaster fell which pretty steep. I stayed extra 3 nights I was so pleased with the place and surroundings,

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 39 reviews from this member

I have little to add to the earlier reviews: this is a well run, pleasant campsite that I can highly recommend.

The lack of caravans and almost all grass pitches gives it a slightly more bohemian feel than many C&CC sites.

Large motorhomes will find the approach roads 'exciting' but the VW campervan sized units will be fine.

Wifi is 2 per stay. It worked well for email and basic web searches.

There is also a decent sized drying room.

Walking: both valley and high level routes straight from the site. We recommend visiting the stone circles on Brat's Moss - a mile or so steeply uphill from the site. A surprisingly good little known Bronze Age gem.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillymarg 2 reviews from this member

I booked 4 nights at this site after reading reviews on this website and in 'Pitch up and eat local'. I can only endorse all the positive comments about the excellence of the staff, facilities and location. As an older, female, lone camper I felt safe and well looked after. I had a great time on a site which was having to cope with some very wet weather and I am pleased to say that there was some glorious sun too! It is worth noting that it took me longer than I expected to reach the site from the M6 junction 36. The local pubs are well worth visiting and I agree that a trip on the train is a must.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LakesAdam 3 reviews from this member

Stunning location and beautiful site with immaculate facilities. Showers are free with high pressure and plenty hot water. It's a relativity small site, but still family friendly with a kids play area. For the adults, there are three pubs within a short walk, The Brookside, The Boot & The Woolpack, all offer fantastic sles and good food. There are also plenty of walks from the site, some flat, some hilly SSSI lots of variety. WiFi is available on site too and in all the pubs. We love it here and have returned many times.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Davehornby1 1 review from this member

During our recent short stay at Eskdale Campsite we stayed in one of their camping pods. Ours was clean and tidy, had a good signal for the WiFi (small fee applies). It was nice and quiet, yet close to all the facilities.

Just a word of warning - there's no phone signal in the valley!

The shop was well stocked, with reasonable prices. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean. The showers had a generous changing area in each cubicle and good, hot water!

I found the staff very pleasant and very helpful with a few of the little things that that we forgot!

Within walking distance are three pubs that do food, we visited The Boot Inn. The food was of a good quality, with good sized portions, and we got 10% off our food bill.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John Hines 1 review from this member

Well, what a perfect site, perfect location, very well stocked on site shop, clean and tidy shower blocks etc and brilliant hosts in Martyn and Sara. Will definitely be back.

Three public houses within walking distance, all serving food and real ale. Well mapped out walks from the site, would recommend the river walk. Stunning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 118 reviews from this member

Originally booked in to Eskdale for 3 nights over their Dubfest weekend, but ended up staying for 5. The Dubfest was very busy, but we still felt we had space around us and it was never really noisy. It was good to see all the VWs around. On the Sunday night the site cleared out and probably left around 5 units which is how it stayed until we left.

The location of the site is excellent with brilliant walking direct from the site, three pubs (The Brookhouse Inn was our favourite for food, not the cheapest but you get what you pay for!), the railway was a 5 minute stroll for a nice trip down the valley.

The facilities on site were always clean, the grass was well kept and the shop was stocked well enough that you didn't have to travel to buy food to cook in the van.

All-in-all, this easily enters my top three favourite sites visited and I look forward to returning.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977