Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annadams 1 review from this member

Beautifully clean and well equipped site. Shower and toilet block second to none (even had fresh flowers). Showers were always clean and warm, and having small children the family shower room was fantastic.

Washing up facilities, laundry and drying room were all very well equipped. The shop was nicely set out, and there was a beautiful selection of speciality bread, local meat and basics, along with camping equipment. However, I would take more along with me next time as it was a long way to the nearest town for additional supplies. We went to Whitehaven to Aldi (long way).

Lovely play area for the kids, I was also impressed that all the families with small children were sited around the play area which made our holiday easier. However having small children I was a little worried with my two trying to climb over the rocks and bolders!

There is a beach at Bootle, however it is MOD so we were careful where we wandered. The beach is stony with gravely sand. No facilities, but my kids enjoyed their afternoon.

If the weather is nice a trip to Ravensglass is lovely. There are a couple of nice pubs on the front and you look out over the harbour.

Muncaster Castle is also worth a day out (however note the Castle bit itself if shut on Saturdays, however you are not charged for this part if it's closed). The National Owl Centre was fantastic and we sat and listened and watched the owls for a good hour. Again on a Saturday the owls can't fly as the Castle is used for weddings.

The campsite looks out of amazing countryside, and was very peaceful. We will definitely return again.

As with anywhere it's the people who make and place and the staff at Eskdale were extremely friendly and always went the extra mile for us.

N.b. Please take insect repellent, and as instructed follow the directions in the book as you will end up coming through hardnott pass. This is not adviseable unless you like extreme driving conditions (my husband loved it, I had my eyes closed).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keanonwuk 8 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip with our new Lulworth 6. On arrival we were shown to our pitch by two of the wardens, just prior to our visit the site had been deluged by 12 solid hours of rain so the ground was sodden. They managed to get us on a bit of grass that was starting to dry out, the downside to this was that we were within 6 feet of another tent and they had a young baby.

The facilities are simply fantastic very clean and comprehensive. There is also a small shop on site a little expensive but very well stocked. For children there is a small play area which was behind us, we no longer have children but we were not bothered by any noise from this area.

The surrounding area is simply stunning plus there is a pub if you head towards Hard knott Pass which incorporates it's own Brewery and very nice it was too.

We would and shall visit here again, nothing is too much for the staff they being very helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: CHAPPELL45 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a splendid few days on this site and have nothing but praise for the facilities on site and the helpful management.

Just a few minutes from Ratty and an excellent public house. Will return at a later date.

Facilities 100% for cleanliness and Pods location.

The site is located close to many natural beauty spots and attractions

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thevaliant67 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 week break and overall, a very satisfying and happy holiday.

There is lots that I could write about as the site is excellent (albeit with a couple of down points) and the surrounding area superb but will keep it short.

First the positives. The facilities were first class and I only had to queue once for the showers which is not bad given we were there is peak season. Martyn and Sara are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. There is loads of space for the kids to play and the trampoline was a huge hit.
The two pubs are literally within 5 minutes walk of the site and both serve good beer and food. The surrounding area is superb and if you like walking, this is a haven (I would personally recommend the view from the top of Whinn Rigg over Waswater and Wasdale - not the biggest mountain but certainly spectacular).

On the downside we did get flooded however, this was during the massive rain storm that the whole of the UK experienced in late July and to put it into context, Keswick was totally evacuated whereas Eskdale lost around 12 pitches.
We did find the big field noisy and a little crowded but again, when we asked if we could move Martyn was very helpful and we moved to the smaller field which was brilliant.

I would thoroughly recommend this site to people.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eggybread 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 days there OMG it was fantastic I camped solo and felt completely safe. It was clean and very quiet. There is a good supplied shop and the toilet and shower facilities were very very clean. There is no mobile phone signal (which for me was great) but there is a callbox on site.
I will be going to this site again! Its next to the village of Boot which had 2 large pubs that sold very good meals there is also a working mill next to a very impressive waterfall

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoonette 5 reviews from this member

The site was lovely; everything very clean with excellent facilities. Toilets, showers, dishwashing, laundry all very nice. Good facilities for children with swings, play area and giant trampoline.

The surrounding area is incredible and we found plenty to do just admiring the local scenery. There are 3 pubs within walking distance; I can particularly recommend the Boot Inn, which does great food and has a wonderful playground for the kids.

Despite all this, we wouldn't actually return to the site. First, the corner of the field we were in was full of midges, meaning we couldn't sit outside in the evenings. I don't think the whole site is affected, but the midges were so bad it really ruined our holiday.

Second, we found the onsite shop overpriced. We don't mind paying extra for the convenience, but when it came to £1.20 for a tin of spaghetti costing 53p at the local supermarket, we thought this was too much. The shop also has very limited opening hours and never seemed to be open when we needed anything.

I am sure most people would love this site. Just make sure you get a pitch away from the midges, and plan your cooking so you can buy any missing ingredients during the 4 hours the shop is open!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Valerie Ellens 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I spent our two weeks holiday at Eskdale and had a really lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The whole surrounding area is very picturesque and there are lots of easy walks straight from the site. We bought some books and identified lots of wild flowers and trees something we wouldn't have thought of doing at home.
The pubs are super, we can recommend the sausage and mash and the local cider!
The only negative is a one that apparently is common to a lot of sites and that is the amenity blocks, because even though they were very clean and up to 5 star standard there just isn't enough for the amount of people that were accommodated on the site. The ladies only have four toilet cubicles and one private toilet and four showers and these are to serve two large camping fields, the new pods and an overflow field. I gave up trying to have a shower on the weekends and I believe the men have even fewer facilities.
Having said all that we still loved it and would go back but hopefully with a portaloo and toilet tent!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandyLou29 15 reviews from this member

We went to this site on an impulsive last minute getaway and were so glad we did. The site is very pretty and makes a lovely setting with great scenery. The facilities were ample and clean and it was a pretty rainy weekend but we didnít see messy toilet block floors or anything so the wardens were doing a fab job.

We had a friendly reception and were given a choice of pitches. There was a big family tent field and a quieter area along the driveway up through the site. We chose a pitch near the entrance and were very happy with it.

Midges werenít bad despite being pitched under a tree and backing onto a stream and the ground seemed to be well draining. The Camping Pods on site were all occupied and looked fun, as did the Camping Barn. I donít think Iíd have wanted to be pitched in the family field as the tents looked to be all over the place despite the 6m rule and we liked our location.

Nearby is the tiny village of Boot which has a little pub and post office, very quaint. Thereís two pubs within very short walking distance and both are nice.

We took the bikes and tackled the Eskdale Trail which ends in Ravenglass and bypasses the Ravenglass Camping Club site so we went and had a nosey. Seemed nice enough but we were happier with Eskdale. The bike trail was fantastic although if we were to go again I think we would skip the Muncaster Fell, that was a killer.

We passed rivers and stream and some had folk swimming in them and jumping off the bridges, great idea with a picnic etc. We had saddle sore by the time we reached Ravenglass (very novice!) so we decided to catch the little steam train back to the site. Not cheap but itís fun and worth a look.

Thereís nothing in Ravenglass so I guess itís not worth a day trip out on the train so canít recommend that but it is fun. We put the bikes in a special carriage and we sat in the open top section and it was lovely. The station at Eskdale is right by the site and itís a very pretty station with colourful flowers and hanging baskets.

There was no mobile phone signal for us (o2) but there is a payphone on site. We only went for a weekend so had plenty provisions with us but the shop doesnít stock much and you are very remote so best go prepared. We accessed the site via Hardknott Pass which is pretty hair-raising and not for the faint hearted but for the more confident drivers is an experience we wouldnít have wanted to miss.

Itís fab but like I said if youíre a nervous driver or very heavily loaded or if youíre a pulling a trailer I would recommend you find an alternate route. We will definitely return to this site and book a longer stay. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neltek 5 reviews from this member

I have been travelling to Boot, Eskdale for over 20 years helping with Duke of Edinburgh Award.

I love the area.

Boot has a vicarage, steam railway, 2 pubs, and shop plus a working mill. There is a lovely waterfall nearby and walk to Burnmoor tarn and over to Wasdale Head.

Simply excellent.

Great service, nice level pitches. The C&CC insist on 6m gap between pitches.

For my first time we bought an electric hookup and used electric supply on site. Fantastic for light and our fridge.

There is a well stocked shop, ladies and gents toilets and showers and a family room with double showers with optional curtain between, sink, toilet and baby changing unit.

We took our 18 month old son and the family room was lovely.

They have separate dishwashing room with phone inside and laundry facilities.

There are some new camping wooden pods and a camping barn too.

There are two play areas for kids - swings and trampoline - suitable for slightly older children than ours.

The facilities were regularly cleaned and generally this was an excellent site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hanno 1 review from this member

Just back from a fantastic and tiring backpacking trip through the lake district.

Me and my wife and our two border collies arrived on foot from Coniston after a long day's walk and had been told by Martyn that bookings for backpackers were not required. Upon arrival, we received what certainly must be one of the most welcoming receptions I've received on a campsite. We were shown to a quiet par of the campsite, across a little stream, which was designated for backpackers. The campsite was filling up rapidly, but we never experienced any noise or intrusions; the site was extremely well maintained and had the best campsite showers we've ever used. The shop was excellent and stocked all necessities, from milk to gas bottles and Jennings!

The Boot Inn next door is very welcoming too, and serves good food and nice drinks.

One final thank you to Martyn and his staff for allowing us to leave our packs in storage, so that we could complete our last day to Wasdale with lighter loads and pick it up by car on the way home.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019