Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staffin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Staffin > Staffin Campsite > Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX
Tel: 01470 562213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 29/03/2024 to 10/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 367 Reviews
                9/10 from 367 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  367 in total, now showing 321 to 330                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ST CLAIR 14 reviews from this member

 Visited just after the site had opened after Covid, place was immaculate and very well kept. Owner had reduced capacity and motorhomes only. Everyone was self contained and felt really safe on site.

Owner was continually sanitizing and washing chemical toilets, sink areas, chemical toilets as we watched.

They offered a reduced price of £20pn as toilets/showers were closed

Weather was exceptional and care and attention was excellent.

Felt very safe especially with their reduced capacity. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Marionw 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during my trip round Skye.

Very pleasant couple run the site.

Nice walk over fields down to the beach on search for dinosaur prints.

Shower room dated but clean, good hot shower.

Nice Cafe in town run by local charity. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 133 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a couple of nights whilst exploring The Trotternish Peninsula. The site is in a sheltered hollow/dry valley and there are some nicely sheltered pitches if required. Most of the grass area is sloping but there are some level pitches cut out. Since the weather was fairly calm for our stay, we found a pitch at the top end of the site with great views up to the Quiraing.

The campsite is well maintained and the toilet and shower facilities are good (and 'free').

Whilst here you must climb the Storr and walk through the Quiraing. You can also go in search of dinosaur foot prints on the beach at Staffin. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 16 reviews from this member

 A nice little site with a friendly welcome.

Facilities were dated but clean and functional, also showers were free. Best of all for us campers with only outside cooking facilities - a kettle and a microwave!

Would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Corrour 3 reviews from this member

 Meet by a very friendly couple on arrival who made up feel very welcome. Showed us to the pitch and took us round all the facilities. Showers are hot and free very clean as are the wash areas. Some of the pitches you will need to level your van. The grass areas are well cut and maintained.

The view of the Quirang as the sun goes down is special

At night it is so quiet and truly dark.

We will return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nomadengland 17 reviews from this member

 Nice site, well kept with friendly owner. Some pitches individually dug out of hill, but other hardstandings not marked out and became quite closely pitched together by end of evening.

Nice walk from back of site across hill to beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 The drive from Portree to Staffin is one of my favourites on Skye.

A neat and tidy campsite ideally suited for visiting the Trotternish Peninsula. It is in a sheltered spot with lots of trees surrounding the site, but unfortunately that means there are no views from the site.

The road into the campsite from the main road is littered with large potholes so a slow speed is essential, but once on the campsite it is OK.

Facilities were clean and tidy.

We were only there one night but needed to do some washing. There is one washing machine and one tumble dryer and there is a system for writing down on a wipe board who is next to use the machines. The machines are basic domestic machines and the washing machine only has a 1000rpm spin capacity which means the clothes are still very wet when they come out, so you end up spending a lot to dry your clothes in the dryer! 
Management response: Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our site.

Regarding the trees - there is a perimeter fence that holds a tree line. I would never remove these as they provide main shelter to the campsite. To say that there are no views from the campsite is wrong, we have some of the most beautiful views in North Skye and often receive photographic groups who will use the site as a base. Look at other pics on other websites. The trees are very handy when the Skye weather turns and we deliberately place motor homes or tents against the trees to provide cover. The far end and opposite end of the site holds views across the nearby mountain range.

I also refer to a pot hole on the access road,this road is owned by the local council and time and time again we ask for repairs to be made, however we are at their mercy when it comes to repairs and cannot do more than ask. Local budgets, resources etc all add to the complexity of road repairs in the area. We recently spent over £2000 with a local contractor ensuring that the roads that are onsite were treated after a harsh winter.


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2014.

The site is easy to find and we were allocated a hardstanding pitch at the top end of the site. There seemed to be specific areas for tents, campervans/caravans & motorhomes, which was fine. There is also a specific area for motorhome servicing with a fresh water supply and a road gully for waste water disposal.

The toilet block, whilst a bit dated, was always clean & tidy with plenty of hot water. There is also a washing up area which has an information room attached to it. Laundry facilities were within the toilet block.

We walked up to The Quiraing but would probably have been better to have taken the van there! We thought that the parking was by the side of the road but there were actually a good number of off road parking – even a huge car park by the cemetery that would have taken 50 motorhomes! What could have been a 4+ mile walk ended up as 11. 5 – the difference being the road section to the start of the Quiraing walk!

There was also a dog walk directly from the site, over a hill and then downhill to access the beach at the Staffin slipway.

If there was a pub in Staffin we didn’t find it but there are two local stores as well as an internet café type facility nearby. The site does have a Wi-Fi system [not free] but we didn’t try it out.

We are not huge fans of commercial sites, but this was fine and ideally located at the north-east side of Skye. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hamelnrat 2 reviews from this member

 It was definitely the best campsite we visited on Skye and great hosts and informative of local attractions and walks. Very clean and organised and only 20mins. From Portree for evening entertainment by car. Ideal for dinosaur museum, Columba café/ restaurant and a walk or drive to the coast, 10mins by car or 20mins on foot. Ideal access to Uig via the Quirang.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freerk 6 reviews from this member

 Arriving early afternoon on Staffin Campsite I was nicely met by the wardens. They were very helpful and showed me around the site and facilities. Also there is a wide range of information available.

The site has a few level pitching spaces but mostly they are a bit sloping. I found a nice spot and stayed there 3 nights.

The toilet block is a bit dated but its kept very clean! Also there is a indoor kitchen for bad weather cooking.

Hot water for showers and washing up is free.

I had to recharge some batteries which was done which was done free! Great!

There are a lot of interesting things to do and see around Staffin.

Shops are near by as are pubs.

With a price of £ 7. 00 per night it is not expensive. 


Previous     367 Reviews in total, now showing 321 to 330      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Staffin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staffin Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staffin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staffin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement