Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 193 Reviews
                9/10 from 193 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  193 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 3rackhams 11 reviews from this member

Nightmare of a journey down and I missed the turning thankfully there is a turning just up the road also some room if coming down from minehead direction, just passed the pub, so we were well pleased with a warm welcome and a free coffee.

We were shown on a map the pitches and basically told help yourself to any empty pitch. Which was a nice touch. The loo`s spotless ever time, But do expect the spiders to return at some stage you are in the countryside after all.

The same with the showers and washing up room spotless. For a site with only 50 pitches it never seemed busy when it was and we never had to wait for the loo or the showers.

I was looking for a quite get away do a spot of fishing and relax AND IT WAS you are in the middle of nowhere, with the drive out to Minehead (20 miles ish away ) with superstore`s mcDonalds and all the trappings of the seaside or a little further ( and some ) going down the country lanes to Ilfracombe.

With the pub just down the road selling cold beer and hot food (not over priced and a good choose to offer ) and a mobile fish & chip van on Wednesdays, free WIFI and TV. Just sitting and relaxing was torbale.

What was there to dislike ?

For me it was a little to far out of the way that's all. Would I go back yes but a shorter stay

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 70 reviews from this member

Agree everything said on the post below. Our Fourth stay here and sadly it’s a downhill slide.

Dirty marks on bathroom walls there for the whole time we were there yet very visual, plus cobwebs galore.

Wi-fi very good though, as are the pitch conditions.

Golf buggy up and down at high speed at every opportunity throwing dust over us, not ideal at all, the same from speeding cars but no attempt to stop this so we asked a number of times.

Shop still bare, it would help a lot for MH owners to have access to more products.

Facilities overall good, would we return, we are 50/50.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 9 reviews from this member

This site is generally as advertised, but in my opinion not quite as ‘perfect’ as you would expect from the website/brochure.

We arrived after reception closed, but a note for us pinned outside the door told us to pitch anywhere that was not ‘reserved’ and book in next morning. However, as we pulled up one of the wardens came out of their caravan and confirmed this, and also pointed out that the pitch numbers were supposed be the middle of the pitch (really not obvious).

Pitches are on either side of the central driveway, all really long and reasonable width. Most are grass, with some recently installed hardstanding (gravel) pitches, although these are some distance from the hook-up points, so long leads would be required. Note that these hard pitches are nowhere near level!

Facilities blocks are split up; ladies and gents shower blocks, with one WC in each and sinks. Main toilet blocks separate, with more sinks. Washing up and laundry room, with one sink reserved for laundry and one for veg prep, so limited number available.

The Information shed was a real disappointment; we visited in late April but most of the tourist info leaflets were from the previous year, so not really useful. Local bus info was supposed to be in a folder, presumably with copies to take away - there were none left and obviously the staff did not check this during our 4-day stay. A copy on the wall would have been more use. However there was a folder of local walks, written by the staff/owners which were quite good. Again there were copies to take away, but looked like some had ‘run out’.

Site is advertised as good for walking from the gate. True, but most walks on to the moor require walking 1. 5 miles up the lane (up to 1 in 4 hill) to start with, so beware. Over a 4 day stay we did this up twice and down twice!

In summary, a well-equipped site in a nice location, but with a bit more attention to detail it could be better.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JDTD 3 reviews from this member

Very pretty site beautifully maintained. River flowing gently one side and Mill race on the other side with a great dog walk area upto the weir.

They have thought of everything, spotless facilities, library, info room, shop and a dog wash crufts would be proud to have. Very friendly hosts and great pub over the road.

We went on a few local walks from the site making use of local footpaths. Climbed cardiac hill as the locals call it, just about survived.

Fish and chips visited the site best chips I’d had for ages. Delightful site hope to visit again one day.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nessley 5 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite. Not our first visit and won't be our last.

Very welcoming and helpful people. Showers and toilets spotless and high standard.

Easy access with the van and a beautiful dog walk along the river.

We love being beside the river and the site itself is pretty with views of trees and peaceful. Lots to do on Exmoor too.

Local pub within a short walk - best to book a table in season
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 6 reviews from this member

This campsite is sooooo good. We only booked for 3 nights and the weather was diabolical, but the site is so lovely we really enjoyed it. We stayed on the Mill stream side next to the wheel outlet and enjoyed the sound of rushing water.

Although the weather was bad, we walked down to the weir and it is worth the walk. The pitches are huge and level. There is a laundry, microwave, library, washing up area and required waste emptying facilities. The showers are the best we have ever used. Lovely and clean, heated with no press buttons in sight.

Hubby was impressed with HOT water for a shave. The site is easily accessible although you have to watch out for pheasants in the road. The surrounding countryside is lovely and the site offers access to some great places to visit.

All in all a wonderful site to stay at. We can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MandnMerv 1 review from this member

Another lovely holiday at this fabulous site. Everything is so clean and tidy and the facilities are brilliant.

The wardens, Debbie and Steve, are friendly, helpful and welcoming, as is the owner and his daughter.

We had a little problem with our caravan and had to get a new part for it and the owner lent us his box of spanners, for which we were very grateful.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 13 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to this Adult Only site this year, set by a Water Mill.

If you like quiet sites this is the one to visit, but have to use car to get around. Very poor local public transport.

But will definitely return.

When booking asked for same pitch we had in April or one close to it.

Ended up with the pitch next to it.

We arrived on a Sunday, so also booked a table for Sunday Lunch in Badgers Holt Pub just across the road from the site.

Our arrival was slightly early, we were welcomed by paul (the owner) and his daughter and as the pitch was ready for us, were able to pitch the tent before going for our Lunch.

As we were putting all our camping equipment into the tent, Steve the Warden also came over to welcome us. The pitches are very generous. The River Exe was at the back of our pitch. The Mill Stream is behind the pitches opposite, with a bridge to get to the Facilities.

There is a flag pole near the entrance of the site and flags are put up for the different nationalities that are staying on site.

Yet again the facilities are spotless at all times. Showers, dish washing Laundry and toilets. There is also a small shop in the Reception, for milk, butter, eggs, cakes, ice creams and some camping bits.

The resident ducks were still wandering near the mill stream.

Near by there are Road signs 'Pheasants on road' and many Pheasants can be seen in fields in the area.

In April there were diversions on some roads to the coast for repairs but all roads open now and easier to get to Dunster, Minehead, Blue Anchor and Watchet.

The Somerset Steam Railway goes to these villages and we saw different steam trains when we visited them.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valerie Stratton 1 review from this member

Just arrived home from spending two brilliant weeks at exe valley site. Two adults and two dogs. Wardens Steve and Debbie are very helpful and met Paul the owner who also finds time to speak to visitors.

We were on pitch 17 by the stream and enjoyed watching the Dragon flies fluttering around while enjoying the best weather so far this year counted 13 one day.

We managed to visit several places that we would recommend, I'm gluten free so sometimes it's difficult to eat out The Dulverton Fish & Chip shop does gluten free open every evening 5-9pm Wed -Sat 12-2pm closed Sunday.

Royal Oak Winsford meals very nice we went for Sunday lunch need to book. Also Winsford Bridge Cottage tea rooms plus it's a very pretty village near site. Porlock tea rooms very nice good and friendly staff. Dunster castle and village lovely

Went on the steam train from Minehead to Bishops Lydeard well worth the money the village is about fifteen minutes walk under the tunnel Bird in Hand pub very nice and do cream teas hubby had one but chef had not got gluten free scones so gave me a very big bag of cherries free lasted days and were best ever tasted.

So if Exmoor is the place you want to visit take a look you won't regret it.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 22 reviews from this member

This my second visit to Exe Valley Caravan & Camping site, it was excellent on my first visit, but the site just gets better.

My first visit was in May 2015 & I submitted a review on UK Campsites giving it 10 out 10.

The site deserved that grading, but my second visit was again in May this year, I had told my sister all about this site & the beautiful area the site is located in, in the middle of Exemoor.

Since my last visit of three years ago, the facilities blocks have been totally refurbished to the very highest of standards, all with power showers, it fact there so good you didn’t want to get out.

This is an adult only site, it is so good to have really hot water for washing up, it makes the job quick & easy. The washing up area is inside, along with the vegetable preparation area.

The Electrical hook-ups are 16amp & all the hook-up boxes have a television socket & the site is cover by free wi-fi, most sites charge you for wi-fi facilities.

The site has new wardens Debbie & Steve since my first visit, so are very friendly & helpful, always had time to talk & they kept the site immaculate, a credit to them both.

It was wonderful to meet & talk with Christine & Paul the site owners, they are always re-investing in the site, it fact it is wonderful when you think we visited out of season in the middle of May & the site was over 80% full & some days totally full.

The weather was very kind to us, in fact we had just fours of light rain (early morning) during the week, the rest of the time the sun shone, so what more can you ask, a wonderful site & wonderful weather.

I took my sister to see the best the Exemoor as too offer, Dunster, Dunster Castle & Windmill, Dulverton, Minehead & my sister just loved the Tarr Steps. We can recommend the Royal Oak of Winsford, we had a lovely meal.

May we thank Christine & Paul, along with Debbie & Steve for a wonderful week, keep up the good work, we will be returning.

Brian & Martina Wilkins & Joy Croucher – Tonbridge, Kent

Previous     193 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019