Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site > Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 18/03/2022 to 17/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 216 Reviews
                9/10 from 216 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  216 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Guider 15 reviews from this member

 Just spent 6 nights at exe valley. We followed their directions and had no problem getting there. On arrival we were greeted with a cuppa made by the very friendly wardens. Where you pitch was left to you and there is no formality on which way round you prefer. We used the walking guides they kindly print and although we have a good map, we didn't need it. Just follow their directions on the sheet.

The toilet and showers were spotless although if it had been a full site they would be inadequate due to the wait that would arise i. E not enough showers. We used the local pub which was fine; nothing special but reasonable value, and the landlord was very chatty and helpful.

We did a number of walks to Tarr steps, weddon cross, Dunkery beacon and visited Dunster castle which was superb.

A good site and well positioned. I would use again 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

 This is a great site with friendly, helpful wardens. The approach road from the A361 is a little bit narrow in places and you have to be aware of large vehicles such as tractors approaching. It is a really good base from which to explore Minehead, Porlock, Porlock Weir, and Lynton and Lynmouth. Tarr steps, Dulverton and of course, Exmoor are very close. Unfortunately there are only 2 male and 2 female toilets on site ( which are kept spotlessly clean) and it would be much better if there were more toilets at the opposite end of the site. This is an adults only site because of the river. What a beautiful place it is where the river and millstream separate at the weir, so peaceful. All in all a really nice site. 
Management response: We are sorry that you did not find the other toilets. There are 4 toilets for ladies, and for the gentlemen there are 3 toilets and 2 urinals. These are in addition to the disabled toilet which is unisex. Because we are inside the National Park, we are restricted in the buildings we can have on the campsite and therefore unable to build further amenities.

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments: we hope to see you again.


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: St.bernard 10 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. The wardens Paul and Kathie were very helpful in every sense of the word. The site is immaculately kept. The toilet and shower blocks were very good. Washinf up room with washing machine and tumble drier extremely well priced, compared with some sites we have visited. The site is set in some stunning scenery, as is the surrounding area. The owners ( who are in the backround) were also helpful especially on the guided tours of their home, which is the mill house, really worth seeing for yourselves on Sundays. We shall certainly be visiting again, complete with carrier bags Paul! So mnow you know who` s writing this. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salwayne1 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful. Quiet, and friendly site, would go back again. Staff made you feel very welcome. We've never been to a site where you are offered a drink when you first arrive. Plenty of water points and although there is only analogue TV, they will lone you an aerial lead to connect the TV. Wi-fi available, but the only mobile signal was for Orange and 3. For us it was a nice break from the outside world. Washing facilities were clean, although the shower block was looking a bit tired - we have come across much worse. New toilet block was lovely. Well stocked shop and information place.

If you are there on a Sunday, the owner has the water wheel running for an hour. Him and his wife will give you a tour for free, it's worth a look. He also puts up national flags of the people staying, it's a nice touch.

Surrounding area was beautiful. Amazing scenery and not too far to travel. If you enjoy walking its a good base. Lots of places to go.

Tried local pub out. It's a must. Pity more of the campers don't use it. Good choice of drinks - real ale especially. Great food, well presented and reasonably priced. We ate there a few time over our 2 week stay and had no complaints at all, have to say the steak we tried on our last night was one of the best we've ever had. Landlord and Landlady very friendly, great for a laugh and good choice of music. Locals lovely too. We even went to watch the local cricket match. Wow, what a place. Beautiful club house and entertaining watching the team fishing the ball out of the river. Take a look, even if there isn't a match on. Thanks for helping to make our holiday special. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SCAWI 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our two night stay at Exe Valley. What a well kept site. Quiet, peaceful, next to the River Exe. We pitched next to the river and slept to the sound of the river flow. Bliss. Facilities are clean and pleasant. Shower block is older but had lots of hot water and is spotless. Toilet block is newer and also spotless. Laundry, dryer and dishwashing facilities and shop (9-6) all supplied. Rule to keep noise to a minimum after 11pm was abided by and slept well to the sound of owls. Staff are very friendly too. Couldn`t fault it and will return. Pub (Badger`s Holt) opposite - also friendly. 15 min drive to Mindhead. We enjoyed it so much, our one night stay became two. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lucasdog 4 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here in July. We love this site and the wardens are fantastic. The shop is a great asset for essentials and super local meats. The pitches are spacious and the dog walk is brilliant. There are some lovely places round about including pubs that do fabulous meals.

The only downside at all are the very tired and outdated showers. They do let the site down badly. The blocks themselves and the showers need upgrading as they do not do the job. Because of this your star rating comes down I am afraid. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyron 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site very hard to fault, the pitches are all adjacent to either the river or the stream serving the mill which is very relaxing.

The facilities are very good and always clean, very handy on site shop with the basics and good information centre with detailed walks from the site and pub info/menus, nearest pub is approx 100m which is very good and friendly.

The free wi-fi was handy because phone signal wasn't the best and also the free loan of the aerial cable for the tv hook up is a nice touch

The warden's & owners are very friendly and helpful, the site is kept very clean and tidy.

If the showers were as modern as the toilet block then this site would be faultless. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malcbev 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely site adults only. Quiet and peaceful at the side of the river. We were allocated a large pitch and had plenty of room to pitch tent and surface was flat Excellent ammenities always clean and tidy, nice little room for washing up, free use of microwave and freezer, washing machine 2x 50p for 70 minutes good value as I have paid 2 or more on some sites. Wardens very helpful, in fact give you a cup of tea or coffee on arrival. Handy little shop on site with everything you might need including gas. Pub just a short walk away that serves good food.

Situated well for exploring Somerset and Devon we were lucky as the weather was excellent. Do try the West Somerset Railway excellent day out, Minehead bit poor for shops but sea front lovely in fine weather.

Would visit this site again as lovely and peaceful. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rihizo 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at this lovely site. The location is beautiful and the Wardens are just fab. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely pitch next to the water mill. All pitches are a very good size and very well maintained.

We were however surprised at the out dated shower facilities. They really do not reflect the rest of the standard at the site. The ladies showers were cramped, damp and difficult to get dried and dressed in. Not to the standard we have experienced at other similar sites. This is a shame because in all other aspects this site is second to none. I do hope there are plans to upgrade these facilities?

All in all the site is well placed to visit the lovely surrounding area and we would return. We would have given 10/10 for everything if showers had been better. Decent washing facilities are important to us. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 12 reviews from this member

 A delightful adult only site. Excellent pitches of a generous size on mostly level ground. Facilities were slightly on the compact size, but of good quality with hot powerful showers.

A pleasant rural location, although you will have to drive to get to various places such as shops and main walking routes. Very friendly wardens, who made our stay a very relaxing experience. The first site we have stayed at where we were offered a free coffee on arrival.

I feel like quoting that famous Arnold Schwarzenegger line 'I'll be back!' 


Previous     216 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4191 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement