Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peejay12 16 reviews from this member

This site is one of the best I have stayed at. It is the first time I have stayed at a site for more than three days.

The position is perfect, quiet, clean with very friendly wardens and owners with a real passion for their site.

The Sunday tour around the mill is not to missed, and the dog walk is magic. Being interested in wildlife I was delighted to see the 'Dippers' in action, have not seen these birds for over 40 years but down by the weir they were there every day.

The showers did need some patience but they we spotless and nice to have piped radio.

The wifi was great, it only went about 300 yards into the camp but the wifi 'shack' was ok and made up for the weak coverage.

The weather wasn't very good but there was a bus service to Minehead and Tiverton that passed by the camp and stopped on request and we found that the weather was a lot better just out of the valley situation of the campsite. A great bus service with very helpful and friendly drivers.

Minehead is a nice town, if you look beyond the 'kiss me quick hats', with a great railway station, if you like steam

Engines. Some great walks around the 'headlands 'passed the harbour were good.

If the weather is kind a walk to Winsford is a nice trip out. Not

A lot there but a nice tea room and a pub. If you do walk

There ask at the tea room for a walking route back, very

Helpful. The village green is great picnic place.

There is no phone, radio, or TV coverage, the camp provide a 4 channel TV service with plenty of spare cables, satellite coverage is good.

Wish I were there now!

Didn't think the pub at Bidgetown, just by the camp, was that friendly, the staff were but the landlord was a little 'distant'.

Love to go back there soon.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

This site is in a beautiful location, but it is remote and therefore I was a little surprised to find the 'shop' very basic. There is a village shop at Winsford, about two miles away but appeared to have very limited opening hours although it is very well stocked with the camper in mind.

Dulverton has everything but is seven miles away. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly, the owner likewise. Some friends who visited in a tent for one night complained of only luke warm water in the shower, I only used the water for washing up and did not find a problem. That might have been due to the time of day.

If the weather is wet there is a real problem and if you have a choice go for hard standing. There has been an attempt to improve drainage but it is not adequate. At one stage our awning was nearly ankle deep in water, likewise our next door neighbour.

As for the fishing, I really wouldn't bother. When the sun comes out the river is infested with 'adults' and dogs alike thrashing around throwing sticks etc. This happened on every warm sunny day during our stay.

Now for the real highlight of this area. It's the pub a couple hundred yards from the site entrance. The Badgers Holt. This is NOT one of those public houses that think they have a captive clientelle with a campsite nearby, It attracts local people from miles away, I spoke to one couple who travel from Minehead regularly and I can see why. The Landlord and Landlady are extremely welcoming and their staff friendly and efficient. The food on offer is exquisite and during our stay was so good it could compete with a one star Michelin restaurant. I forgot to point out that well behaved dogs are welcome in the bar where of course food is served also.

To sum up then: Make sure the weather isn't wet. Bring your own supplies. Don't bother to fish and make sure you visit the local pub!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rlemin 3 reviews from this member

We were met with a cup of tea, having arrived 4 days early. The site was very friendly allocating a pitch we could use throughout our extended visit.

You cannot fault the size of the pitches, big enough for even the most space hungry outfits. The showers and toilets were adequate, and the free wifi as advertised but not always possible to access the web.

The river running through the site has a good stock of salmon par and small trout, providing some interest in the evenings. It is possible to buy a permit for most of the Exe down to dulverton for 15 but the fly fishing is not for the novice. Excellent dog walking facilities both on and off site.

The local pub provides good food with very generous portions. Good value site we will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joodles 1 review from this member

We very much enjoyed our stay at this site despite the bad weather. The toilets and showers were clean and adequate. Washing up facilities were also very good.

The space for pitching was very generous and the site very quiet. Although near to a road we were not disturbed by the noise of traffic at all.

We had a meal in the Badgers Holt. I would rate the food as ok. We visited Dulverton, Dunster and Minehead while there. All worth a visit.

Had the weather been better we would have liked to have done a couple of long walks on Exmoor. Tarr Steps and Dunkery Beacon looked very inviting.

There is a lot of information provided in the information hut about walks in the area. The fact that this is an adult only site was a bonus for us. There is a small shop selling basic groceries.

We are planning to return when the weather looks more promising and would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adg147 4 reviews from this member

Nice site, very spacious, cup of tea on arrival was nice. Very spacious pitches. Toilets could do with updating ladies was a bit smelly, stayed for 5 nights but only had hot water in the shower once.

Shop was shut for 3 days while we were there so had to do a bit of driving for the basics. Site was a bit remote.

The badgers holt pub served good food and drink and is less than 5 minutes walk away.

Make sure you take a trip to tarr steps, dulverton, and dunster, we also visited clovelly which was very nice (about 50 miles from the site).

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walker187 3 reviews from this member

This is a long site bordered by a river on one side and mill stream on the other. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. There is a working mill which runs on Sundays.

Facilities are very good and clean and include small laundry, good showers and toilets and indoor dishwashing area.

There is a small shop, library, information hut and wifi area. As there are no children allowed the atmosphere seemed a little odd, it's strange to be at a campsite and not have kids playing.

It was a quiet site though. Good local pub nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rjscamping 3 reviews from this member

Having once given up camping. We have returned 15 yrs later! What a fantastic campsite to get our passion back. Greeted by our lovely Host and Hostess who couldn't be more friendly if they tried without being intrusive.

We booked for 2 nights and had the choice of pitches, glad we got there early on the Friday as it soon started to fill up. Pitched by the River Exe and although we don't have a dog we did walk the 'dog walk' which was clean and very pleasant, always on the look out for otters.

The showers were spotless with plenty of very hot water. Also a free use of a microwave was available. The WiFi Shed offers easy Internet access for those who wish! We even had access to the 'herb garden' for our exotic camping cuisine!

The dawn chorus wasn't just at dawn as the rooks were nesting in the trees above and with the constant run of water from the Mill House made the ambience just perfect.

The Badgers Holt pub 2 mins walk away was very welcoming and very tasty meals were served within restricted times, although we just sat there with a drink and did some reading, perfect relaxation in front of the log fire. Highly recommended for adults and dogs (although must say we did enjoy the sound of no children)

We would definitely go back there but want to experience lots of other sites too!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The whitehouse 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights, end of April begining of May. Site offers good value + is a great location for walking + exploring this part of Exmoor, it's very relaxed, even when full.

The toilet block is rather dated, clean, but has a bit of a 'public toilet' feel to it rather than campsite facilities. The shower block is better but only 2 showers + 2 toilet cubicles for men in total.

We used the Badgers Holt Inn over the road from site, an OK pub but I wouldn't rate it any higher than Ok.

There are some excellent walks in the area, Dulverton + Dunster are 2 villages that are well worth a visit. A bit further away Selworthy + Porlock are also good places for walking + taking in the sites. There's very good info on site on the surrounding area, even if you haven't done your homework there's enough info to sort you out, + free wifi in + outside the 'wifi shed'.

All in all a nice relaxed site in a great part of Exmoor.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Expression470 5 reviews from this member

We have enjoyed a week at this site in April with our puppy. The site is lovely, very clean and picturesque with the river Exe running alongside. A peaceful site, even when full. Very friendly wardens and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the mill on Sunday morning.

The dog exercise area is completely enclosed so you can let the dog have a good run without the fear of them escaping, and the weir at the end of the dog walk is a very peaceful place to sit and ponder while the dog has a good sniff around.

We used the loos, but showered in our own van, as we prefer to do that - no detriment to the showers on site. We would most certainly go to this site again. The A396 which runs alongside is absolutely no problem and not busy. The sun in April was mostly on the road side of the site. We chose the river side in the shade. Sadly I didn't see a kingfisher, but others did, so they are there. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TonyH 12 reviews from this member

Spent a week here just before Easter, chose the site based on location and reviews here, all I can do is concur with everyone else.

Super peaceful setting, very friendly and accommodating wardens and owner, for the wardens it was their first time as wardens on a site and were making a super job of it.

The owner opens his house which is the water mill and proudly shows you around his renovation project. Great pub just outside the site with wonderful food. Bus stops just outside the site so easy to get to Dulverton, Minehead etc.

Although the site is next to the main A road traffic noise was not a problem.

Bottom line - prices, very good value for money, if you're not bothered about EHU (and who really needs it) then under 10 per night in low season is a winner and should hopefully make the rip off merchants in the C&CC and others think again.

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938