Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rihizo 2 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at this lovely site. The location is beautiful and the Wardens are just fab. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely pitch next to the water mill. All pitches are a very good size and very well maintained.

We were however surprised at the out dated shower facilities. They really do not reflect the rest of the standard at the site. The ladies showers were cramped, damp and difficult to get dried and dressed in. Not to the standard we have experienced at other similar sites. This is a shame because in all other aspects this site is second to none. I do hope there are plans to upgrade these facilities?

All in all the site is well placed to visit the lovely surrounding area and we would return. We would have given 10/10 for everything if showers had been better. Decent washing facilities are important to us.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 12 reviews from this member

A delightful adult only site. Excellent pitches of a generous size on mostly level ground. Facilities were slightly on the compact size, but of good quality with hot powerful showers.

A pleasant rural location, although you will have to drive to get to various places such as shops and main walking routes. Very friendly wardens, who made our stay a very relaxing experience. The first site we have stayed at where we were offered a free coffee on arrival.

I feel like quoting that famous Arnold Schwarzenegger line 'I'll be back!'

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ourvan 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I have visited this site several times now, although on weekends only. Those running the site are always helpful and nothing too much trouble. The main reason of enjoying this site is its peace and quiet. It was a while ago when we did experience some noise from young guys who were camping close by, who kept us awake from 4am by their loud talking etc. But upon mentioning this to the owner, to his credit he went and had a chat with them, explaining they had disturbed others. Thankfully we were not the only ones who complained. Other than that it has been a nice quiet site.

There are walks nearby, although some can be hilly.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pombear 3 reviews from this member

First time staying on an adult only site with another couple. Excellent site. We were able to pitch next to each other on the river side of the site. Looked like the site was pretty much full but we didn't really see anyone. No queue for the showers. There are 3 in the ladies, didn't ask hubby about the mens. Lovely toilet block which looks like it has only recently been added. Showers were excellent, no button to keep pushing and loads of hot water. Cubicles could possibly be a bit small for the larger person as the shower curtain kept getting stuck to me!

We did experience some heavy rain and a thunderstorm when we were there so the ground was very saturated. Would recommend wellies!

Our springer loved the little walk to the weir where she got to have a splash. It is only a very short walk where they can roam off lead, good for first wee and poo of the day and before bed!

We didn't try the local pub. Visited Dunster Castle and Gardens. Friends looked round inside and said it was very interesting, we looked round the gardens as we had the dog on the lead. There is a field area adjacent to the car park where dogs are allowed off the lead, and if you walk towards the left along the bottom of the field they can get in the water. We had lunch in the Victorian tea rooms by the car park rather than in the castle grounds. This was very nice and not expensive, they allow dogs in the garden.

Take the campsite directions with you as sat navs seem to send you down the most narrow lanes as a short cut, we were ok as we just had a tent but would be impossible for a caravan.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Safari Sue 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to this site. The first 2 being as campers. The site is lovely and open and well laid out. You are able to set up however you like with no restrictions on the way the caravan faces.

The facilities are nice and kept very clean.

As dog owners we found the site had lots of good features including great dog walking areas and a dog friendly pub in very close proximity.

The wi fi is a little weak but the owners have gone to lengths to rectify this.

The are lots of attractions in the area. However, many of them require some travelling.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappySpaniels 2 reviews from this member

Just back from six nights at this site (my second visit) and it was just as good as the first time.

Nice big, well tended pitches (you can chose where you wish to pitch (out of high season I would guess)). I pitched facing the river where I got the sun (when it shone). There is a good on site dog walk to the weir and nearby a longer walk where the dogs can run off lead. This is a great location for a base for touring Exmoor.

The facilities on the site were very good, clean and beautifully hot & powerful showers. Washing up facilities and freezer for cool packs plus washing machine/tumble drier.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffprinter 10 reviews from this member

Only stayed for 4 nights last September and did a review of the site then. This time we stayed for 8 nights as we enjoyed it so much last time. So this really is just an update. I am pleased to say the site is still just as good as I remembered it, and still the same wardens. I cant praise them enough, so helpful and friendly. Even after the really wet weather that part of the country had over the winter I can report the site is lush green and the pitches are fine. Every thing is still clean and well maintained and the area around the site is stunning. As I say this review is really just an update of my last one which contains more detailed info. So if your looking for an adult only site in Exmoor I can highly recommend this one. (My detailed review is a few posts down)

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CornishMaid63 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 6 nights at this site. This being my second visit. As the first time, we had a lovely level pitch by the river.

It was very nice to have a dog walking area so close and the longer walk opposite (where the dogs could easily access the river!).

I have no complaints about the facilities, only I wished I could have brought the showers back as they are much more powerful than mine at home! Another reviewer has noted that the shower facilities need a bit of a facelift, but in my opinion they are perfectly adequate and always clean - my only gripe, which I realise is purely personal - I don't need the radio playing when I am showering.

The wardens were friendly and the pricing structure sensible.

Its nice to stay on an adults only site which welcomes dogs.

I will return

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Papasteve 1 review from this member

Good to be back at this fabulous adult only site. Have been visiting here for 4 years now and we never tire of the tranquillity.

The park looks very good

Toilets and showers are always spotless.

The wardens are excellent and cannot do enough to take care of their guests.

Dunster and minehead are only a short drive and the wilds of Exmoor are only five minutes away with all of its varied walking and cycling.

Cream Teas can be found in abundance, and don't forget they will sell you one.

Chris and steve (portishead)

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 44 reviews from this member

This adults-only site is set beautifully in an almost level meadow in a deep valley between the River Exe and a mill stream, with a firm gravel drive running down the middle for pitches either side. Pitches on the mill stream side are a little higher and the ground there is firmer. We pitched on grass on the river side, with the rear of our heavy motorhome just a few feet from the water. After 4 days and some dampish weather the ground was getting soft but we got out unaided. The owners have put mesh under some of the riverside grass pitches to make them firmer. There are only a limited number of hard standings available.

All the facilities were very good and well serviced. There are plenty of drinking water outlets. The electric hook-up points include a TV outlet socket (strangely this is said to be analogue only - digital hasn't reached Bridgetown yet) as there is no terrestrial aerial signal available in the valley. We survive without TV/radio. There's even free fishing for those with a rod licence and it's said you can catch salmon and trout, although we didn't see any.

The site management/staff are extremely friendly and helpful and advise / recommend rather than impose umpteen rules and regulations. You can pitch how you want within your pitch provided you leave adequate space - front-in, back-in or parallel to the river.

The on-site shop had basics at this time of the year as they were running stocks down prior to winter closure on 20 Oct. Other shops are a drive away, and bigger supermarkets are only in Minehead or Tiverton.

The Badger's Holt pub about 50 yards from the site entrance is a traditional pub with good beer and a very good menu.

We liked it so much that we're squeezing in another stay in mid-October just before they close.

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938